plastic v steel bullbars

Submitted: Thursday, Apr 19, 2007 at 22:54
ThreadID: 44523 Views:12717 Replies:12 FollowUps:30
I know this has been around before but perhaps more experience now? Clearly many say to forget alloy because not reliably strong enough. the whole point is not to get stranded; so the plastic sounds good except the absorption of a heavy hit may damage the vehicle anyway? how much risk is the issue, because I like the weight saving, saftey to others etc. Not fussed about winch points (hand winches and chassis points are fine for me).
Are the WA Smart Bars the only poly game in town?
Nigel

Reply By: Member - Mungo Explorer (NSW) - Thursday, Apr 19, 2007 at 23:06

Thursday, Apr 19, 2007 at 23:06
I was keen to have a Smartbar but they are only available for a limited range of vehicles and not mine (Suzuki XL7), so I went for a steel "nudge" bar rather than for a full-size roobar, to save on weight. The bar serves mainly as a fixing point for the Lightforce driving lights, and protection for the radiator. If the plastic bars had been available for my vehicle I would have gone for the full works.

The bottom line is a big roo will always do damage, and the only really effective protection is not to drive after dark, and to slow down when you have to. By "slow down" I mean something like 60km, not 90.
AnswerID: 234631

Follow Up By: hiab - Thursday, Apr 19, 2007 at 23:43

Thursday, Apr 19, 2007 at 23:43
in the days of open speed limits on territory roads, if you hit a roo, wallaby, at 140 plus ks, you want to be behind steel.
FollowupID: 495574

Follow Up By: ExplorOz Team - Kerry W (QLD) - Friday, Apr 20, 2007 at 15:42

Friday, Apr 20, 2007 at 15:42
Hi Guys

Site Link

A link to our Article on Bullbars - explains a bit about the NEW Polymer bars.
I have to admit they have improved and in some cases will cause less damage than a steel/alloy to vehicle/chassis.
But read and make up your own minds cause this is very subjective.
In my experience a lot depends on what you hit, how fast, and what you are driving and where it hits, if you are driving straight or turning when it hits etc etc.

A Very good debatable topic.

have fun
Kerry W
Kerry W (Qld)
Security is mostly a superstition. It doesnt exist in nature. Life is either a daring adventure or nothing.
-Helen Keller

FollowupID: 495691

Reply By: hiab - Thursday, Apr 19, 2007 at 23:14

Thursday, Apr 19, 2007 at 23:14
cant beat steel
AnswerID: 234635

Reply By: hiab - Thursday, Apr 19, 2007 at 23:21

Thursday, Apr 19, 2007 at 23:21
i hit wallabies almost every night, agile wallabies to be exact, and have bumped a few reds on trips out to lajamanu, you cant beat steel, i have no damage to the car, just a few busted spotties, lightforce, you just have to hit them square on, dont try and swerve or you will end up in the table drain upside down. if you have barwork and you see a roo and you know you are going to hit it, hit it,
AnswerID: 234636

Follow Up By: Shaker - Thursday, Apr 19, 2007 at 23:27

Thursday, Apr 19, 2007 at 23:27
Have you considered slowing down?
FollowupID: 495571

Follow Up By: Zapper - Thursday, Apr 19, 2007 at 23:34

Thursday, Apr 19, 2007 at 23:34
Yeh try slowing down
FollowupID: 495572

Follow Up By: hiab - Thursday, Apr 19, 2007 at 23:36

Thursday, Apr 19, 2007 at 23:36
mate, you could drive at 20ks per hour and you will still hit some, but you wont kill them, they will be buggered on the side of the road, or in the traffic lanes, hit them and hit them hard, they will die instantly, if i dont kill them i will go back and despatch them quickly. no need for them to suffer.
FollowupID: 495573

Follow Up By: hiab - Thursday, Apr 19, 2007 at 23:46

Thursday, Apr 19, 2007 at 23:46
would people in the cities know how to despatch them? and would they do it?
FollowupID: 495576

Follow Up By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Friday, Apr 20, 2007 at 07:05

Friday, Apr 20, 2007 at 07:05
Hi hiab,
Without wanting to get into a city vs country debate, Ive lived and worked in both.
Met people in the city that you'd swear belonged out on the country, equally have met people born and bred bush that would fit straight into city life without a blink.

Just like any walk of life, both have their "braindead dropkicks" also.

Lionel.
FollowupID: 495586

Follow Up By: Member - Dedalus (SA) - Friday, Apr 20, 2007 at 09:23

Friday, Apr 20, 2007 at 09:23
I agree ... you can try to avoid them sloiing down, but if it happen it is better hit them hard! No pain for both ... I hate stop the 4wd and kill them with people watching (tourist) on board!

Luca
FollowupID: 495614

Follow Up By: Member - Steve T (NT) - Friday, Apr 20, 2007 at 10:04

Friday, Apr 20, 2007 at 10:04
Hey Hiab.

I've been driving the Territory roads since 1982 and in that time I would have hit less than 10 wallabies.

I've probably averaged 90000 km per year as well, so I don't think I will take driving lessons on how to hit or avoid wallabies from someone who claims they hit one daily.

Steve.
FollowupID: 495618

Follow Up By: Shaker - Friday, Apr 20, 2007 at 12:25

Friday, Apr 20, 2007 at 12:25
I live in the country & have had to 'despatch' other peoples hits!
FollowupID: 495633

Follow Up By: Rod W - Friday, Apr 20, 2007 at 15:08

Friday, Apr 20, 2007 at 15:08
"I've been driving the Territory roads since 1982." Bejusus Steve T (NT) ta must be bloody tired!
FollowupID: 495677

Follow Up By: Rod W - Friday, Apr 20, 2007 at 15:08

Friday, Apr 20, 2007 at 15:08
"I've been driving the Territory roads since 1982." Bejusus Steve T (NT) ya must be bloody tired!
FollowupID: 495678

Follow Up By: Smudger - Friday, Apr 20, 2007 at 15:18

Friday, Apr 20, 2007 at 15:18
..and another thing, my memory's starting to go ..
FollowupID: 495680

Follow Up By: Smudger - Friday, Apr 20, 2007 at 15:19

Friday, Apr 20, 2007 at 15:19
...and another thing, my memory's starting to go..
FollowupID: 495681

Follow Up By: Member - Steve T (NT) - Friday, Apr 20, 2007 at 15:21

Friday, Apr 20, 2007 at 15:21
Sorry can you repeat that.
FollowupID: 495682

Follow Up By: Rod W - Friday, Apr 20, 2007 at 15:23

Friday, Apr 20, 2007 at 15:23
Bejusus fellas I did a typo... ta should have been ya.
FollowupID: 495683

Follow Up By: Smudger - Friday, Apr 20, 2007 at 15:33

Friday, Apr 20, 2007 at 15:33
If a deaf person has to go to court, is it still called a hearing?
FollowupID: 495688

Follow Up By: hiab - Friday, Apr 20, 2007 at 23:58

Friday, Apr 20, 2007 at 23:58
so you have driven 90.000k and only got ten?hmm, in darwin.
FollowupID: 495837

Follow Up By: Member - Steve T (NT) - Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 11:12

Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 11:12
Hiab

Read it again I said I have averaged 90000 km per year, I used to live in Darwin now I live in Jabiru.

Those 90000 km per year have been between Arnhemland and Broome, as 95 % of my working life has been Surveying and Tour Guiding.

Steve.
FollowupID: 495888

Follow Up By: Smudger - Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 11:49

Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 11:49
That is a good record Steve. My wife and I have clocked up heaps of 100's of thousands of kms right around Australia and we've only ever managed to hit 2 roos, 1 each, in 36 years. Heaps of near misses, but they don't count.
Lucky? Maybe. We used to drive all night, not any more. I've always worn yellow night glasses and we swap drivers while we're still sharp. And for the past 15 years I've used roo whistles, they work! Every trip now I see Skippy looking up at us comming and jumping away from us. Before whistles, they didin't hear us comming and would head-off startled in any direction, half the time straight in front of us.
FollowupID: 495894

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Saturday, May 12, 2007 at 11:50

Saturday, May 12, 2007 at 11:50
Why do you need to hit wildlife every night , I have not hit an animal for just on two years, seems you have a lot to learn, I do not mind giving advice , it's your choice if ignore it,
1 Don't dip the lights.
2 slow down a bit or a lot, depends on situation.
3 don't blow the horn.
4 Forget Bloody Sho-Ru BS you will hear,
5 Look for Number 2 Roo comeing after No 1
6 Be aware of post reflectors going out and on again

FollowupID: 500496

Reply By: Member -Dodger - Thursday, Apr 19, 2007 at 23:49

Thursday, Apr 19, 2007 at 23:49
A steel B/Bar gives the best protection when one hits a roo at highway speeds.
Slowing down does help however there are times when a roo cannot be missed so just line it up and do not swerve, by all means brake to reduce impact speed.
At least with a steel bar you can get your vehicle home or to the nearest repair yard. The plastic fantastic do afford some protection . But with none then the radiator cops it and the vehicle is usually underivable.
I used to have a handle on life, but it broke.

Cheers Dodg.

AnswerID: 234645

Reply By: BennyGU - Friday, Apr 20, 2007 at 00:00

Friday, Apr 20, 2007 at 00:00
Ask yourself this:
If I was to hit a roo at 100km/hr+ with my tribe onboard, would I want to be behind a lump of steel or a bit of plastic?

PS: Have bowled aver a 2m tall eastern grey in a 100series v8 with a steel bullbar at 125km/hr. Result; roo goo every where and a bleep tered headlight, truck still A-OK and tribe all alive albiet needing new change of jocks. The GU is too good to chase roos in though so its fitted with a 'genuine' alloy job.
AnswerID: 234647

Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Friday, Apr 20, 2007 at 07:37

Friday, Apr 20, 2007 at 07:37
Hi BennyGU,
There is plastic and there is plastic. The high impact resistant poly..... (whatever) bars are very strong and have some give just like crumple zones. They absorb the impact and because they are lightweight they do not effect a vehicles handleing or require super-dooper brand expensive after market suspension upgrades to hold the front end up. There's nothing wrong with the good ones and I would rate them with alloy bars for strength and durability.
FollowupID: 495592

Follow Up By: BennyGU - Friday, Apr 20, 2007 at 12:54

Friday, Apr 20, 2007 at 12:54
Gonna give you hell in the test match tonight Kiwi Kia :)

The main problem I have got is that the plastic bull bars do crumple and if I hit a roo I dont want a crumple in the radiator. I have also fitted a big fat steel brace behind the centre of the alloy bar in the Patrol just to make sure it doesn't crumple if skippy gets to friendly. I also replaced all the plastic underbody 'guards' with 6mm thick chequer plate for safety offroad but also if roo goes underneath instead of getting bunted away.

Also if I was fitting out a fourby to do the great trip then I would be looking very seriously at the stock suspension getting replaced anyway as it a compromise job anyway.

Go the Kanga's (the football ones that is)
FollowupID: 495638

Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Friday, Apr 20, 2007 at 16:05

Friday, Apr 20, 2007 at 16:05
Benny

If we took all the Kiwi's out of the NRL it would be a wimps contest (he he he).
Did you use alli or steel chequer plate ? If it is steel then you must have a lot of extra weight on the front end. Have you noticed how Mr Yota's shocks seem to last 250,000 km on the Troopie's but many other brands with be-all km crap out in the middle of the Canning or some other rough road ? Now I do agree that other brands give a better ride but I don't reckon they last and all that extra weight won't help.
FollowupID: 495697

Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 07:54

Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 07:54
Hi Benny You were right
We lost the cricket :-((
We lost the yachting :-((
We lost the league :-((
FollowupID: 495859

Follow Up By: BennyGU - Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 10:41

Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 10:41
Ditto about the troopy shocks. Ultra heavy duty jobbies designed for carrying real heavy stuff over harsh terrain for a long time, which what a lot of the troopies do, especially in mines. Had a 2003 hilux last year with us when we were going to the cape and it blew apart its stock rear shockiesafter an hour on them corrugations.
The patrol had its particuarly sorry looking factory items pulled out as soon as I could afford it and replaced with OME coils and Nitrochargers. Just happened to get the ones that were 2" taller whilst SWMBO was looking the other way......

The guards I knocked up were out of ally plate as steel was just too heavy, was a p.i.t.a to weld though. I also added a few more breather holes in it to improve air circulation and cut down the weight a bit further. The 2.8s already got enough of that to lug around. It has ran about two mm cooler on the temp gauge too since fitting so I happy as an Aussie sports fan at the moment.

Would have like to see Dan Vittori get a few more games in the world cup. Bloody Legend that man.
FollowupID: 495879

Follow Up By: BennyGU - Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 10:47

Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 10:47
Heard the Leader of the Opposition talking to her sister about some shoes sale (talked to loudly to put that one past my unusually receptive ears) that she was going to sneak past me. Excellent says I.

New Steering Stabilizer next week!
FollowupID: 495882

Reply By: wheeler - Friday, Apr 20, 2007 at 08:01

Friday, Apr 20, 2007 at 08:01
Call into yuor local ARB store and ask to see the video of the comparison testing they did on Plastic vsv Alloy vs Steel.
AnswerID: 234675

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Friday, Apr 20, 2007 at 12:22

Friday, Apr 20, 2007 at 12:22
Yeah, that was pretty unbiased.
And I think Smart Bar have a video of their own :-))
FollowupID: 495631

Reply By: Member - Shane L (SA) - Friday, Apr 20, 2007 at 09:11

Friday, Apr 20, 2007 at 09:11
Hi Nigel, I was looking at going the same way until I found out the price of them, they have nearly doubled in price over the last few years and for my RA Rodeo it was cheaper to get ARB Steel bar fitted than just supply of the Polybar (over $1100 to buy the poly and $1050 supply and fit Steel)

Shane
AnswerID: 234690

Reply By: Member - Karl - Friday, Apr 20, 2007 at 09:40

Friday, Apr 20, 2007 at 09:40
I have got one on my 80 Series Cruiser and I think it is great, though (touch wood) I haven't hit anything yet. I am confident that in the unfortunate situation that if I do hit something that it will do the job.

As stated there is different types of plastic and the Smart Bar are made out of the high impact resistant type.

Also just a thought - and a bit off topic - most bullet proof vest these days are made out of kevlar and other high impact restiant products, including certain types of plastic. They are designed to stop military grade projectiles travelling at speeds inxcess of 990 meters per second and they do it well. They are certainly a lot stronger than steel and weigh less.

Be objective when veiwing promotional videos - such as the ARB one, they have a product to push and it's not a Smart Bar. Smart Bar has one as well and it shows their side of the story.

I would suggest maybe contacting Smart Bar and ask for some referneces for you to contact so that you could speak to them about their experiences.

Karl
AnswerID: 234696

Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Friday, Apr 20, 2007 at 16:08

Friday, Apr 20, 2007 at 16:08
Yes, good point Karl.
FollowupID: 495698

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Friday, Apr 20, 2007 at 09:43

Friday, Apr 20, 2007 at 09:43
What vehicle do you have?
AnswerID: 234697

Follow Up By: nigelp - Friday, Apr 20, 2007 at 18:05

Friday, Apr 20, 2007 at 18:05
Phil, I will have (in June) a mits pajero GLX T/D manual. Unfortunately (but too god a deal to resist) it's a fleet vehicle and the company won't fund a bullbar. reluctant as I am to invest in their asset, I'm also concerned to insure againt the likelihood of getting stuck in the wilds, C/T on back, and 2 small kids.
I've done a fair bit of bush driving in the past and not hit anything (i note the advice about after dark, speed etc, and consider myself cautious but not doddery.On the other hand I lent the old troopy to a mate 20 years ago and they hit a cow in the duststorm oif a roadtrain, and I saw the comment earlier about the emu around the corner.
bit of a dilemma, but the cautious path would seem to be steel?
np
FollowupID: 495727

Reply By: Smudger - Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 11:58

Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 11:58
Nigel,
I've cracked a big ally bar gently tapping a tree. Irrepairable! Steel used to be the only real choice. Now, I really like the plastic fantastics. I've seen the video footage which does confirm they work. I've also seen pics of the bent plastic bar after it hit a big red, and the next morning, after it had slowly repaired itself. They are available with winch mount and I reckon they're design is more 21st Century than the old steel front gate. Your local OL guy will probably have the video in store. I believe the honcho from OL is a convert .
AnswerID: 234916

Reply By: keepingitreal - Sunday, Apr 22, 2007 at 14:52

Sunday, Apr 22, 2007 at 14:52
It all comes down to how you hit things and personal choice or preference. I have had a smart bar on a commodore one tonner and hit a very big roo at reasonal pace with minimal damage ( none to vehicle, only to driving lights), same token yesterday I hit an emu at pace with 100 series factory Alloy bar (on it when I bought it!) with absolutely no damage, but a lttle blood spilt on duco. Choose what will look good on your vehicle and consider how much night driving you will be doing. In my widespread night time driving experience, if you have reasonably good quality driving lights (brighter the better ) most of the wildlife tend to sit and watch rather than jump in front of you. For absolute comfort for your safety if doing a lot of night time driving go for a steel one. Have a steel on RV Landcruiser Ute, have hit numerous roos etc with minimal damage. Best to try and avoid them though. It's not as if you go out trying to hit things in you pricely possesion. My two bobs worth. Regards Kirsten NSW
AnswerID: 235111

Reply By: RobAck - Sunday, Apr 22, 2007 at 20:14

Sunday, Apr 22, 2007 at 20:14
Some interesting comments on this one. Team Poly in Adelaide are the only maker and supplier of woven poly bars in the country. If you want a measure of success then consider the fact that Elders has standardised on their product nationally for their vehicles after considerable research. So they are good.

The big question is why you would want a bar in the first place. If you don't travel at night, so become at risk to animal strike then why bother going to the expense.

If you consider you need one then the poly bars are very good at returning to original form after an impact. Alloy wont and given I am on my second alloy bar then I can vouch for that fact. Your comment on the damaging vehicles is directly dependant on the impact itself and when measured against both alloy and steel the poly bars are actually better.

If you have a winch then there are very few poly bars that will be suitable. If no winch then you have a reasonable choice.

If you select a bar other than poly and are looking to have it repaired then steel is the way to go as they are much easier to repair in remote areas. MIG and TIG are still not that common in some places.

Mitsubishi offer an OE bar made by team poly already so they have put their faith in the technology along with several large scale fleets in Australia.

Boils down to two choices. Don't drive at night and avoid the issue almost completely or you have steel bars that are easier to repair if damaged or poly bars if you don't need a winch

Challenging but it is almost black and white

RobA
AnswerID: 235174