Lada Niva's-- Don't laugh

Submitted: Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 22:30
ThreadID: 44583 Views:12179 Replies:21 FollowUps:29
Is there anyone out there who actually OWNS/OWNED a Niva who is prepared to offer their opinion on the Niva generally.(Good and Bad).

I understand that they won the Paris Dakar a couple of times. True or false?

I'm considering buying one to use as a fishing truck locally, sandhills and beach driving mainly.

The DiscoTD5 will remain the No1 vehicle for touring and towing the 'van.

Reply By: Gerhardp1 - Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 22:31

Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 22:31
Hahahahaha
AnswerID: 235004

Follow Up By: Member - Steve T (NT) - Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 22:42

Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 22:42
Hahahahahaha
FollowupID: 496012

Reply By: Member - stefan P (NSW) - Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 22:35

Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 22:35
not me but I am sure "goingplatinum" would all there is about them!! LOL

Cheers Stefan
AnswerID: 235005

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 22:37

Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 22:37
Nobody will be man enough to admit owning one. :-)

AnswerID: 235007

Reply By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 22:45

Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 22:45
So may he laugh

History en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lada_Niva

AnswerID: 235011

Reply By: Shaker - Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 22:52

Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 22:52
I know a fair bit about them, although I have never owned one.
I would be happy to tell you all I know if you want to email me at .....
patrol6atnetspacedotnetdotau

There will be plenty of comments from 'experts' here that have never even sat in one!
AnswerID: 235015

Follow Up By: Member - Steve T (NT) - Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 22:57

Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 22:57
The only people that would sit in one.

Would be a Drip Under Pressure.

Couldn't help myself Steve.
FollowupID: 496016

Follow Up By: Member - Steve T (NT) - Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 23:01

Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 23:01
That should be.

A has been or a drip under presure.

FollowupID: 496020

Follow Up By: disco driver - Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 23:05

Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 23:05
Thanks Shaker,for your offer.

I'll wait and see if there are any constructive replies from those on this forum who actually can read.

I must admit that with two exceptions, (Yourself and Doug T) the replies were what I sort of expected ----absolutely bl##dy useless.

Disco
FollowupID: 496021

Follow Up By: Red Frog - Vic - Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 23:08

Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 23:08
get stuffed, whats wrong with my reply, these vehicles were built with large maunfacturing tolerances, if it holds togeher after a number of years it's probably ok, get stuffed
FollowupID: 496023

Follow Up By: Member - Steve T (NT) - Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 23:29

Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 23:29
Hey disco driver.

Your thread's title is Lada Niva's don't laugh.

You already new what was going to happen and if you can't have a laugh.

Build a Bridge and get over it.

Just having a laugh Steve.
FollowupID: 496031

Follow Up By: On Patrol (Aust.) - Sunday, Apr 22, 2007 at 21:05

Sunday, Apr 22, 2007 at 21:05
The saying goes:
EXPERT= EX is a "has been" and SPERT is a "drip under pressure".

I should know, i am an exspert.
Colin
FollowupID: 496199

Reply By: Red Frog - Vic - Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 22:55

Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 22:55
If it's still running around it's probably ok, buy it.
AnswerID: 235017

Follow Up By: disco driver - Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 23:16

Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 23:16
Red Frog
There has been a response time problem.
I was typing my response when you posted yours.
and therefor it couldn't apply to you.
My apologies if you're upset

Disco
FollowupID: 496027

Follow Up By: Red Frog - Vic - Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 23:27

Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 23:27
My apologies Disco, too much agro for a Sat night. There will always be crap replies and clowns making jokes on any forum, I'm one of them sometimes.
FollowupID: 496030

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Apr 22, 2007 at 17:45

Sunday, Apr 22, 2007 at 17:45
I wondered what happened there

FollowupID: 496139

Follow Up By: Red Frog - Vic - Sunday, Apr 22, 2007 at 17:52

Sunday, Apr 22, 2007 at 17:52
You're a good man Bonz
FollowupID: 496140

Reply By: Member - Kiwi B - Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 23:17

Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 23:17
DD,
You're brave enuff to call yerself "disco driver" so I'll be silly enuff to admit to having owned one of these beasts. 'Twas on the South Island of another country and we did over 80,000kms in 3 years (1987-90) but had to increase vehicle size eventually as the family outgrew the midget.

Brilliant little off-roader which opened many eyes on club outings, but it certainly kept the mechanical hands working at times. Just little things like keeping the timing-chain and tappets adjusted.

Price was the biggest bonus.

You could buy worse,
AnswerID: 235024

Follow Up By: Shaker - Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 23:26

Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 23:26
They are independent suspension with constant 4wd & third diff like Range Rovers were. A lot of components interchange with Fiat 125, engine is basically 125 as well.
FollowupID: 496029

Follow Up By: Smudger - Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 23:43

Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 23:43
They have a full ladder chassis, based on the range Rover, which puts them in rare company as a fair dinkum 4WD. and gearbox are also an RR knockoff. Engine is Fiat, but bored out a coupla' mm so parts could not be exchanged, although many Fiat parts do actually fit Lada's. They are as tough as old boots. I heard that in Russia the locals were told that when you need to work underneath your Lada, you put a few bales of hay next to it and get a couple of mates to help tip it on it's side. They are a bit tight in the foot well area, but so are Defenders. Very austere, like a Defender. A well maintained Lada would give most of today's fashionable fourbies a run for their money as an off road machine. I know of one that regularly pulls it's owners' father-in-law out of the bleep in his Prado. (Which as we all know is a HiLux wagon, supposedly a pretty capable fourbie.)
They made a Toro, which had some good stuff on board. The later models had a drop down tray, earlier ones had a boot well, not as useful. Rack & Pinion steering, which was pretty easy to handle, just keep your thumbs from wrapping around the wheel, and stick to skinny tyres, or the steering will get very heavy ..but that's true for any fourbie in my opinion. Lada's were never a fashion statement ..but it seems that laughing at them has become one.
FollowupID: 496033

Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Sunday, Apr 22, 2007 at 07:05

Sunday, Apr 22, 2007 at 07:05
Hey Smudger,
"....based on the Range Rover,.....and gearbox are also an RR knockoff".
Is this real or just a rumour ?

I have seen these vehicles leave many of the other 4wd's of the day far behind in their ability off road. Don't get to carried away with your comments guys as you are only showing up your own ignorance (taking the bleep is ok :-)), they were very capable and cheap.
FollowupID: 496045

Follow Up By: Smudger - Sunday, Apr 22, 2007 at 13:17

Sunday, Apr 22, 2007 at 13:17
Wasn't there when they were designed, but that's the info I have. The chassis is almost a diretc knockoff, and others have also commnted here that the tranfer and gearboxes are very similar. Do some research, you've got the net at you fingertips.
FollowupID: 496108

Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Sunday, Apr 22, 2007 at 14:57

Sunday, Apr 22, 2007 at 14:57
Thanks Smudger, hadn't heard that before.
FollowupID: 496120

Follow Up By: Mark- Sunday, Apr 22, 2007 at 15:53

Sunday, Apr 22, 2007 at 15:53
Sorry - they DONT have a full ladder chassis, they are unitary body construction but very strong due to the very thick sheet metal used. The amount of misinformation which circulates on forums like this is astounding.
Front suspension is independant, rear is solid coils.
The only similarity to a Range Rover is the constant 4WD, the rear coils and the quirks inherant in a non Japanese 4WD........

I have owned one for about 12 months. Only issues were some hassles with the carby - I replaced it with a weber off a Fiat. Apart from that, it was fine. Excellent ride on rough ground and good off road. Low range could have been a bit lower........ I also found the interior quite pleasing on the eyes. You can get them very cheap these days and for the money they are great value for what they are.
FollowupID: 496124

Follow Up By: Smudger - Sunday, Apr 22, 2007 at 18:05

Sunday, Apr 22, 2007 at 18:05
Thanks for the lesson Mark. I did some reseach myself and seems I've been travelling misinformed.

( Site Link

Smudger
FollowupID: 496143

Follow Up By: Jimbo 2121 - Sunday, Apr 22, 2007 at 22:44

Sunday, Apr 22, 2007 at 22:44
They use a steering box (worm and roller), not rack and pinion as Smudger has said.
FollowupID: 496235

Reply By: Crackles - Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 23:21

Saturday, Apr 21, 2007 at 23:21
I know it's not Friday but why do Lada Niva's have rear window demisters ?........................So you don't get cold hand when you're pushing :-)
Sorry Craig..............
AnswerID: 235025

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Sunday, Apr 22, 2007 at 09:02

Sunday, Apr 22, 2007 at 09:02
ROFLMAO
FollowupID: 496064

Follow Up By: CLC50 - Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 16:47

Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 16:47
gee I heard
Windscreen washers so they can keep there hands clean when pushing
FollowupID: 496406

Reply By: DIO - Sunday, Apr 22, 2007 at 00:01

Sunday, Apr 22, 2007 at 00:01
If interested I have quite a collection of information on the LADA including long term test reports by Overlander etc. No record of the Lada actually winning dakar although I believe that it was successful in many events in Australia and elsewhere throughout the world. Provide me with an address (snail or e-mail) and I'll load you up with some specs and other interesting matter on 'Ivan' (nickname for Ladas).
AnswerID: 235032

Reply By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Sunday, Apr 22, 2007 at 07:51

Sunday, Apr 22, 2007 at 07:51
Hi yah disco,
Ive got one, and only use it if Im playing in terrain too tough for the Patrol or the Defender.
Im deadly serious.
IMHO, probably the most under rated 4WD ever produced.
Although lacking in most creature comforts the Niva with its constant 4WD, coils all round, on the fly c/lock makes for a very tough go anywhere vehicle.[if your not in a hurry to get there, hehehe].
The only weak point the Niva has is the front diff mount bolt which can break under extreme conditions ie rock crawling, high jumps etc, but still gets you home.

Oh! one thing though, ditch those russian tyres, they whine more than a barrell full of poms....hehehe...205 x 16s are the go.

It looks like a brick, drives like a brick and is solid as a brick.

Cheers mate,

Lionel
AnswerID: 235052

Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Apr 22, 2007 at 08:14

Sunday, Apr 22, 2007 at 08:14
Lionel

I nearly bought one for $800 not so long ago. It seemed to be in good nick for its age but the oil pressure guage was just above zero and that scared me off.(My Nissan's oil guage fkuctuates as well and I don't worry about it...lol)

FollowupID: 496053

Follow Up By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Sunday, Apr 22, 2007 at 08:36

Sunday, Apr 22, 2007 at 08:36
Hi Willem,
My brother has had 3 of them and myself 2. All have oil gauges that read low, must be inherent with the vehicle.
I paid $1000 for a 1994 Niva 3yrs ago and picked up a spare car [1988 model] for parts $300.
Everything the same except the grill.

Cheers mate,

Lionel.

FollowupID: 496059

Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Apr 22, 2007 at 08:41

Sunday, Apr 22, 2007 at 08:41
There ya go. I should have allayed my fears and bought it.

I bought a Valiant instead and then later swapped that for a Landcruiser which eventually I sold to an EO Members son. The LC is still being run on a daily basis on the farm.

Down to 2 Nissans and 2 trailers now and more space in the yard...lol

FollowupID: 496061

Follow Up By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Sunday, Apr 22, 2007 at 09:22

Sunday, Apr 22, 2007 at 09:22
1 MK Patrol..................touring.
1 Niva..........................playing.
1 XF panel van.............work.
1 each of the above......parts.
1 tradies trailer............work.
1 trailer chassis............soon to be C/T.
1 house.......................desperate need of renovations.
1 job...........................6 & 1/2 days per week
1 missus......................keeps reminding me of the renovations.
1 S1 Landy...................currently being looked at to save it from wreckers yard.
1 missus......................still reminding me about the renovations.
1 problem....................how to tell the missus about the Landie.
1 piece of dead meat....if I do.hehehe!
WHERE ANGELS FEAR TO TREAD.

Lionel.
FollowupID: 496068

Reply By: Member - Bruce and Anne - Sunday, Apr 22, 2007 at 08:13

Sunday, Apr 22, 2007 at 08:13
We had one for about five years, it was a great little 4WD. One of the best handling 4WDs I've owned, constant 4WD work great and I did Five Rocks (North of Yeppoon) quite a few time and the first time I got all the way up there and on the way back got stuck on probably the biggest dune, back off checked the tyre pressures s..t 45psi dropped to 35psi and away we went. There was not to many other 4bys that could get near that little truck.
Build quality was a bit of a problem, well if you were getting paid two bottles of Vodka a day (probably drank it a work to) you would not be to enthused either.
Some one said about the timing chain, that was the end of my ownership when it let go and put every valve through every piston, what a mess. But I sold it to a mate who put another motor in it and after a couple of years still registered retired it to his farm and used it for pulling lantana. So if I had the money for a toy I would get another and put the Fiat 1600 twin cam motor in it.
Cheers Bruce
AnswerID: 235057

Follow Up By: Member - Arkay (SA) - Sunday, Apr 22, 2007 at 08:28

Sunday, Apr 22, 2007 at 08:28
Fiat, Fiat? Isn't that the same Company as Ferrari? Heck man, don't hold back, put a decent Ferrari motor in it - watch it go! Go..............
FollowupID: 496055

Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Sunday, Apr 22, 2007 at 09:48

Sunday, Apr 22, 2007 at 09:48
Ya know what Fiat stands for?

Fix It Again Tony!
FollowupID: 496072

Reply By: Jimbo Vic - Sunday, Apr 22, 2007 at 08:38

Sunday, Apr 22, 2007 at 08:38
Very few people know this, but I guess it's time to come clean.

I did own a Lada Niva.

Now to be fair to it, it was second hand and hadn't been lovingly maintained. Even taking that into account it was the worst vehicle I have ever owned, and I've had plenty.
AnswerID: 235061

Reply By: MintabiePete - Sunday, Apr 22, 2007 at 09:28

Sunday, Apr 22, 2007 at 09:28
why not , when I went down to the opal fields in Mintabie from the Alice I had a little Mini minor , when I got bogged in the sand I just pulled it out , you would be one up on me , at least you have 4x4 [img] Site Link
AnswerID: 235069

Reply By: Member - Captain (WA) - Sunday, Apr 22, 2007 at 11:06

Sunday, Apr 22, 2007 at 11:06
Hi Disco Driver,

I am another one who will fess up to owning a Niva. As mentioned above, they are a very under-rated 4WD capable of mixing it with the "real" 4WD's. Many a time I recovered landcruisers and the like.

Mine had a 60L aux tank as well as the 40L main, rasied suspension and marginally bigger tyres and went very well. It has a wide track for its height and is very stable compared to say a Suzuki. Would you believe that a set of Rola racks I had needed to be cut DOWN to fit an 80 series cruiser - they are that wide!

But the archilles heel with the Niva is its reliability. In the 12 months I had it the gearbox "donut" (the rubber connection between the motor and transfer case) went, along with 5th gear. Cost over $1,000 to get it back on the road. Also, it used to run hot in the sand, but a quick fix to that was to open the bonnet to the first click (its a rear opening bonnet) and it allowed the heat out much better.

As a "fishing truck locally, sandhills and beach driving mainly" vehicle, it could prove to be a real cheap way to go. It will certainly get you there, probably better than many of todays 4WD's. However, spend a few extra $$$ getting a well maintained one as this is where it can get expensive. Especially check the gearbox and engine, the timing belt is another thing that must be changed on schedule.

AnswerID: 235086

Follow Up By: Jimbo 2121 - Sunday, Apr 22, 2007 at 22:42

Sunday, Apr 22, 2007 at 22:42
It uses a chain not a belt. As long as it gets adjusted every service 10,000km it gives no trouble. It's a 2 minute job to adjust it.
FollowupID: 496232

Reply By: Findlater - Sunday, Apr 22, 2007 at 11:29

Sunday, Apr 22, 2007 at 11:29
G'day Disco

I've had a Lada ,Rangie ,Landie 2a and a couple of TD5's now with a Triton GLX-R 05..

About the Lada . the gear box is bolted to the floor pan ,check for cracking. It will be cracked and repaired. The driveshaft will have a harmonic humm over 80 km/hr in 5th . This needs to be foam filled and rebalanced . The standard shocks won't carry much weight in the back and if you have larger tyres will rub on the wheel arch ..XC falcon ( I think) front coils will replace the back ones on the lada and lift everything .Mine also always over heated on a beach run .Tyres at the right pressure and all.Also No Garage will want to know you so I hope you are a good mechanic. On the plus ,My mate in his tojo could not progress up a beach any further. We let my tyres down to 5 psi and did an extra couple of bays down near Margs WA
Buy a little suzuki heaps of parts and lots of spares.A few extra dollars but at least you wont be getting hammered for asking questions about Ladas on any forums every other week.

Good luck.
AnswerID: 235089

Follow Up By: Findlater - Sunday, Apr 22, 2007 at 12:03

Sunday, Apr 22, 2007 at 12:03
Sorry said shocks ment Coils
FollowupID: 496096

Reply By: ross - Sunday, Apr 22, 2007 at 16:47

Sunday, Apr 22, 2007 at 16:47
I had one for a few years .It turned out to be a very cost effective 4wd.I only had to replace an alternator and had some repairs to the starter.
I also had the T/case rebuilt but I knew that when I bought it.
A rep from Wynns warranty insurance said the early Discos had more blown gearboxs claims than the Lada had LOL
I was lucky enough to meet a Serbian mechanic who was no longer in the game and he showed me a few tricks to quieten them down.
I had some fun with it although I found that the beach was hard going for them. The little 1.7 engine in 1300kg vehicle just couldnt get up enough speed in the really soft sand .
It got about 27 mpg and could do 137kph flat out.
Very friendly to home maintenance .
I sold it for about 90% of my purchase price to someone who was glad to buy it.

Before you criticize a Lada ,they cost about about $10K for the basic model when its nearest competition,the Sierra was about $18k and the Lada was faster and more stable on the road.

They were designed in the late 70s for internal use in the USSR and could be fully rebuilt on the communes wherever there was a combine harvester work shop.
In the early 80s they had a well equipped interior compared to what was on offer at the time.
The whole vehicle is a based on a Fiat 124 wagon.
I towed and pulled many other vehicles but was never towed home or pulled out myself.

I believe it won the Dakar in its class 3 times but not an overall winner
AnswerID: 235127

Reply By: Mike Harding - Sunday, Apr 22, 2007 at 21:22

Sunday, Apr 22, 2007 at 21:22
I got bored reading the silly responses above.

Tony in Cairns from aus.cars.offroad who knew a thing or two about vehicles and 4WDing had one and swore by it providing you replaced all the electrics with something more reliable.

A friend of mine owns one (paid $500 for it and did it up) and I've followed it around a few trails in the Vic High Country which I suspect some of you have been winched out of?

Cheap, simple, basic but does more than OK off road - don't be too superior people.

AnswerID: 235192

Reply By: dawesy - Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 16:05

Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 16:05
I know nothing about the cars, but I know 4WD monthly did a review on them in the past, must be at least a couple of years ago as it's been nearly that long since I bought a copy. Worth a read if you put stock in such things and can find the back issue, they have a hotline for that I believe.

As I recall the general gist was they're capable and tough.
AnswerID: 235322

Reply By: disco driver - Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 16:36

Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 16:36
Thanks to all who replied.

I went to make an offer this morning and, guess what>
The Niva sold yesterday at asking price ($1000.00).

Guess I'll have to look for something else around that price. (SWB Landrover Series2 or 2A might fit the bill, if the price is right).

Once again thanks to all who responded, even those who laughed at the idea.

Disco
AnswerID: 235329

Reply By: disco1942 - Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 16:42

Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 16:42
Nothing has changed. The drivers of the big machines have always had a misunderstanding of the reliabilities and capabilities of the smaller machines. Maybee it is the snob value of owning a large machine. Same thing happens in the motorhome world, the Swagman owners look down on the smaller ones.

The problem with the Ladas was the sedan that came out slightly before the 4x4. These came out of a different factory and their reliability was extremely low. They all disappeared so long ago I forgot what their model name was. Those who had little contact with the Niva unfairly branded it with the same poor reliability and this sticks today.

AnswerID: 235330

Reply By: Cruiserman1961 (QLD) - Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 07:11

Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 07:11
Hi Disco,
I had a few of them in Germany. Amazingly capable little beasts. They have a lot of quirks though. Built quality is very average (but you should be used to it driving a disco, hey), the quality of the material used to built them is cheap and nasty. The electrics put tears into your eyes (but then again you drive a disco, so whats different....). They rust so fast you can actually see it progressing. Fuel consumption and tyre wear is a bit on the high side due to the constant 4wheel drive and the ancient fiat engine. Mine hovered around 14 to 16 liters per 100 k's with tyres only lasting around 25000. And i am not a lead foot i might add. The seats are terrible and the resale value is zilch.
On the other hand, the little beasts go anywhere. The heaters are the best i have every seen in a car. The ride is not too bad. If you are prepared to look after them a bit and can score a secondhand one in a good condition they make a great second car.
Excuse the fun i made of your disco mate, couldn't help myself, lol...
Cheers, Udo (cruiserman1961)
AnswerID: 235474