Vacuum Sealing Food
Submitted: Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 11:32
vcbb
What experiences are out there in using the vacuum sealers, I notocied on E Bay there is an Oz Plaza unit, which has 12 volt power.
How do these units compare to a manual pump I have seen elsewhere?
Reply By: Russ n Sue - Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 11:40
Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 11:40
Can't help you with that particular brand, but so far as vacuum sealing goes, we have had a lot of success. Vegetables such as cabbage, corn, peas, beans, carrots etc last many times longer in the fridge than if not vacuum packed.
Meat keeps about twice to three times as long as it would but you can freeze meat anyway. Some salad items work
well but we did find that lettuce was a problem. The vacuum sealing sucks all of the moisture out of the lettuce and it is very dry when you open it to use it. Still crisp, but dry.
Bread is a no-no because it collapses and loses all of the air in the little air pockets. All in all, it has extended the time we can still be eating "fresh" produce to a maximum of 3 weeks from purchase. As we will be camped out for at least that long, it gives us a good head-start before we have to switch to canned/dehydrated/frozen food.
Russ
Follow Up By: Smudger - Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 12:02
Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 12:02
How would bread go if you pre-freeze it before sealing? (and lettuce for that matter)
Follow Up By: Russ n Sue - Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 12:47
Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 12:47
Bread after freezing? Probably would be OK. The problem is that if you can freeze bread (which we do) why bother vacuum packing it? Although having said that, to freeze bread in meal size portions and to prevent it from getting ice crystals in it - yep I think your idea is a winner. If you are vacuum packing it for the fridge, it doesn't work because bread goes stale quicker at fridge temperatures than it does if left out of the fridge altogether.
Russ
Follow Up By: Russ n Sue - Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 12:48
Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 12:48
Oops, forgot to mention lettuce. You just can't freeze lettuce. Full Stop.
Russ
Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 22:54
Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 22:54
Thats why you dont see vac packed veges etc. If anything they are gas flushed. A feature comercial cyovac machines can have. Itis when air is replaced in the back with nitrogen (I think) stops oxidation without vac paking. If done properly meat should last longer than 3x or so remember it sill sould b kept at around 0 degrees for optimum life
Reply By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 12:04
Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 12:04
Mr/Mrs vcbb ,
I have a "Magic Vac " unit which I bought at a 4wd show . We think it's just the best gadget for the same reasons Russ mentions above .
Our local butcher also packs meat in dinner size portions and we often take away at 20 vacume packed meat meals with us .
I must try Russ's suggestion of doing cabbage . Russ , do you chop it up first ?
I have never seen a 12 v unit nor a manual pump , so I cannot help you there . We do not take ours on trips , we just use it for taking stuff from
home .
Cheers ,
Willie .
Follow Up By: Russ n Sue - Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 12:41
Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 12:41
G'day Willie,
yeah mate. We break the cabbage up fairly roughly into meal-size portions. It packs nice and flat and cabbage can last a very long time when vacuum packed.
Russ.
Reply By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 14:00
Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 14:00
Vacuum packed meal size portions of meat sealed in plastic is great as it does not leak in the fridge. that on its own makes it all worthwhile.
Reply By: Busy Bee - Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 20:33
Monday, Apr 23, 2007 at 20:33
The trap is in the plastic bags with the cheaper sealers, you need the ones with a checkered pattern on one side to enable air to pass, and someone has the market sewn up. They can be quite expensive at electrical retailers whether they come on a roll or as ready made bags.
Shop around for a source at reasonable cost. I found my local Butcher's Supplies
shop the best bet, 50 bags at $30 odd depending on size.
You can reuse them so it's not all bad, nor recommended for meat though.
The best thing for me about vacuum sealed food (meat, cheese etc) is that if you are living out of an esky for a few days it doesn't matter if stuff ends up in the water at the bottom of the esky whereas with ordinary bags no matter how tight you try to seal them water always gets inside.
Reply By: JAS095 - Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 10:05
Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 10:05
We have one of the ones off of ebay and have found thast it works great. So what have we have packed
* meat that lasted foe 3 weeks on a trip across to SA and back WA in summer
* we make up coleslaw in mael sizes and then just add the dressing when opened. * sandwich meats in to portion sizes for lunches.
* oiions choped for the BBQ
* curry pre made and just need to be heated
* picel onions and gerkins for lunches
* divide a kg of cheese up into dayly portions
* vegies eg. Pumpkin in to mael size portions
* meat with maronade (nothing beter than meat that has been marinating for a week or so for flavour)
* nuts so they stay fresh
As far as bags go I just go the local butcher supplier as our machine does not require the fluted bags and pick up pack of 100 for around $11 (average sized bags)
The best thing that we have found is that we are able to fit more in the fridge as we now do not have as many jars or containers in the fridge and most things vac rather flat so the can easily be packed.
Follow Up By: vcbb - Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 19:02
Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 19:02
Which one from eBay did you purchase?
Follow Up By: JAS095 - Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 20:46
Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 20:46
this is the one that we got
Site Link
Follow Up By: Member - Pedro the One (QLD) - Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 23:44
Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 23:44
Hi JAS05 ................
Timely post for me .... was looking at the same eBay one last night and am seriously considering it.
Have you ever vacc'd fresh/frozen FISH in yours ?? Just love my fish and so easy to
cook in
camp, but have to normally eat it for some days in a row, otherwise I lose a bit from 'going off!"
Thanks ...... Pedro
Follow Up By: Member - Pedro the One (QLD) - Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 23:47
Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 23:47
And another Ooooops !!
Last should also have been directed to RUSS & SUE .....................
Follow Up By: Russ n Sue - Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 23:52
Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 23:52
G'day Pedro,
with fish I dry it thoroughly with paper towel before I vacuum pack it. It then stays fresh for about 10 days in the fridge. You know when it is "turning" because it starts to go slippery. That's why I dry it first, so that I know the difference between being wet and being off.
Russ.
Reply By: Robin - Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 10:23
Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 10:23
Never use them personnaly vcbb - tend to do food as per reply in other current food post.
Several friends have got them - one or two have used them once or twice then given up and at least one never even used these after purchase.