troopy vs 80 series

Submitted: Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 17:18
ThreadID: 44679 Views:13777 Replies:9 FollowUps:9
hey guys. have been poking around and getting info here and there but nothing as concrete as i'd like. i am going around australia in 2 years and i am buying a toyota diesel to do it in but i am stuck on the troopy and the 80 series.

wondering what the troopy is like with bigger tyres? have driven 4 so far but all have had skinny tyres and feel like they're gonna fall over. the 80 series is nice but floated like a boat. it'll be a roof top tent with the canopy folding over the back of the car so i can make use of the barn doors on whichever i get. currently i own a 91 single cab hilux but want a wagon to travel in. any help would be greatly appreciated

Reply By: Member - Troopytrek - Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 17:50

Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 17:50
Hi Turbo-hopeful,
We currently own a 1995 4.5lt RV Troopcarrier. You have to ask yourself what options you would like the most.
1. Comfort
2. Storage
3. Seating
4. Vehicle passenger access i.e 2 ,4 etc

We have two children and have always owned a Troopcarrier. We to made a similar decision when we upgraded to the latest Troopy.
As you can see our question was answered , we went the Troopy.
We have BFG muddies 285/75/16 on and find the ride fine. Have a look at our rig have a list of things we have.
One thing that made our decision was the fact we had more room in the rear for fridges etc.. for quick access to the essentials for the set up of camp and relaxing after the long hard days driving.

It doesn't matter what you buy you will find something that you will have to modify to suit yourself.!MPG:3!

Trooptrek
AnswerID: 235567

Follow Up By: turbo_hopeful - Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 17:56

Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 17:56
wow! thanks for such a quick reply. i am doing my research and your info is really helpful. so many people swear by these things. they have a massive follwing. the back of the troopy does have a lot more room in it like you pointed out.

starting to read a lot about the diagonal support being the windscreen and the crackin a-pillars? i'll be sticking a roof top tent on for the duration of the trip.... anyone done anything to strengthen the troopy roof at all? internal bracing of some sort? is it needed? what about being top heavy?
FollowupID: 496723

Follow Up By: Steve from Top End Explorer Tours - Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 22:12

Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 22:12
Hey turbo hopeful.

If you find a troopy now and it doesn't have the cracked pillars its been fixed or not going to be a problem.

The problem was solved in the early 90s models, Toyota finally came good and (A) fixed in the factory and (B) sold a bracket that could be welded to the pillar.

Wide tyres on a troopy make it feel better to drive IMOA, and the troopy would make a good touring truck, and as the others have said the 80 series is a good touring truck as well just more comfortable.

Cheers Steve.
FollowupID: 496798

Reply By: sdr00y - Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 21:02

Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 21:02
I agree with Troopytrek, but then again I own a troopie RV too and am bias towards them!

If you don't have kids why not set out the rear of the troopie with a false floor to store stuff under and a bed on top? Saves you getting the roof top camper, you just sleep in the car.

We have kids so we have a forwards facing rear seat for them and cargo barrier behind them. That stops us from having a bed in the back. We just use a tent. Any particular reason for the roof top tent?

As for cracking "A" pillars, I would suggest that is caused by previous owners putting too much weight on the roof racks combined with rough roads. Not much you can do about previous owners apart from looking at the pillars and NOT buying one with re painted / fixed or not fixed cracked pillars.

The roof top tent wont be too much weight for a troopie as long as that is all you put on top. Sure, it will be more top heavy than without one, but you need to adjust your driving style to suit.

It sounds like you are leaving plenty of time for research and searching for the right vehicle for you, so don't do yourself a dis-service and buy one right at the last minute. I would suggest purchasing the vehicle 12 months before you go. That way you have plenty of time to do a 4wding course with that vehicle, preferably with it set up the way you will be travelling. You have time to learn the characteristics of the vehicle ie the top heavyness etc. You also have twelve months to get someone to help you service the vehicle and get to know how to change oil, change a tyre, grease all the grease points, change an alternator belt etc.

It will take a while but maybe it would be worth while searching through this site and looking at members rigs. There used to be a way of searching and looking for troopies for example. Then you have a squiz at their rig and you might get some photos of how others have set theirs up.

Please feel free to ask more questions too!

From your name I assume you are looking to get a turbo troopie? Me, I would not touch an aftermarket turbo troopie. Just another thing to go wrong. There isnt much wrong with a standard troopie for mine! They are slower than other cars when taking off at lights, but they still get to 110km/h. Besides, how many sets of lights are there in the outback?

Enjoy your trip, when you finally take it.

sdr00y
SD

AnswerID: 235629

Follow Up By: turbo_hopeful - Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 22:14

Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 22:14
yeah....leaving HEAPS of time for research. hahaha. probably wont get one for another 8 to 12 months but the fact that my GF is leaving it up to me to buy a car i can't help but get a little over excited and want to dive right in.

the troopy is the stand out at the moment. from all the forums i've had a look at today the troopy seems to edge out the 80 series as a tourer for the fact that it's a bit more rugged and will take a fair beating. one thing that is very apparent though is replacement seats and suspension to help out with the rough ride. having driven an all leaf sprung 2.8 diesel hilux for years i dont think it'll be too different. the other main problems i've noticed are gearbox and A pillars which is something you can check. my thoughts on rolling over have been quashed as not too many people have had that specific problem at all.
FollowupID: 496800

Reply By: Member - Kimberly Kruiser - Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 21:59

Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 21:59
Had both.

Troopy - Best all round tourer just a bit agricultural in base form but can be tickled up. Just sold it, was like shooting an old friend.

80 - Still a great tourer, more comforts. More family orientated tourer.

Final choice will be what you feel more comfortable with and either will do whatever you want it to do.
AnswerID: 235649

Follow Up By: turbo_hopeful - Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 22:18

Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 22:18
i hear you about feeling like you've shot an old mate. i have to sell my hilux and i really dont want to. been a lot of great places in that ute and selling will pretty much just suck. all good things come to an end though. with another 4wd in sight it makes it a bit easier.
FollowupID: 496801

Reply By: Member - Duncs - Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 22:12

Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 22:12
Hi Turbo,

I don't own any Toyota so my info is based on what I have seen. I have ridden in and travelled with both types of vehicle.

I have seen some great setups in Troopies. Probably the best was on Cape York. The guy was a boler maker and had built a single draw full length of the rear of the Troopie. Everything was compartmented and the outside end of the draw was set up as a kitchen and dining area for two. It worked a treat. He also had water storage and a hot water system. His bed was above this draw and could be left made up all the time. It took him about 2 min to get into bed at night. Hand break on, engine off, walk to tree, return to Troopie and climb into bed. I was pretty sure that was the way I would go once the kids left us alone.

On a later trip with a different couple along I had the opportunity to ride in a Troopie. This thing was set up for beach work with big wide radials, tyre pressures were down because we were in an area that had frequent soft sand drifts over the track. I have never been so uncomfortable in my life. It was like riding a jack hammer.

On the other hand another friend of mine had an 80 for some time and it was a very nice car to travel in. I did a couple of rough tracks as a passenger in the 80 and it felt sure footed and very comfie at all times. I have never seen an 80 with what I would call a great setup for two people though.

As others have said if there are only the two of you the Troopie could be very functional without the rooftop camper. You would not as easily sleep inside an 80. Alternately the 80 will be more comfortable.

AnswerID: 235655

Follow Up By: turbo_hopeful - Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 22:36

Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 22:36
seems that comfort and slight practicality or practicality and slight comfort are the deciding factors in the 2. it's good to have input from someone who has been a passenger in both. that's usually when you notice the difference. i'm going to hopefully get around and have a look at a few over the coming months and get a feel for what i do and dont want. at the moment i am favouring the troopie.
FollowupID: 496805

Reply By: Muzzgit [WA] - Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 23:56

Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 23:56
Once you've done a few miles on coil springs, going back to leaf springs (and bloody stiff ones at that) takes some getting used to.
AnswerID: 235674

Reply By: Twintrail(W.A.) - Wednesday, Apr 25, 2007 at 00:13

Wednesday, Apr 25, 2007 at 00:13
tubo i have an 80 series no problems with 235 80r 16 tyers. been to krumber and back via grib river and wallcott inlet. no problems .bite the bullit and by the troopie. i have orderd the new 70 series troopie .because 78 series are not on the maket.regards pedro
AnswerID: 235675

Reply By: Outa Bounds - Wednesday, Apr 25, 2007 at 14:36

Wednesday, Apr 25, 2007 at 14:36
We've had all the toyota's, when I met my husband he had the 75 series ute, it had a canopy and we decked it out with cupboards under the mattress for travelling. A bit high to get into over and over agiain as it had a suspension lift.

Then we had a troopie, even got a chev V8 put in it. At that stage we purchased a 3k box trailer type camper to tow behind. Seemed to have a big turning circle and all the rest of it, from a womens perspective I didn't think much of it off road, seemed a bit top heavy particularly compared to the ute.

Now we have an 80 series, got it probably 9 months after our first kid came along. If you have a family I have found it to be a much more family friendly car. We've put a chevb V8 in it too for better fuel economy & camper trailer towing. Haven't done real serious off road stuff as yet, but hopefully not too far down the track. It's great with a draw system and fridge in the back and we also have dual wheel carriers. (it's not barn door - the other type). The 80 series is a '91 model I think the troopie was a '97 or '95.

Troopie would probably be pretty suitable for a couple - we had a bit of wood we could put in the back to make a bed on travels - and some foam off seats from our old caravan. But if there's more than 2 of you then an 80 series is probably a must.

We only have one car & I couldn't imagine climbing over all the shopping all the time to get the kids out. Mind you the 80 series with dual wheel carriers isn't the easiest to park everywhere if you happen to live in a big city.

But ultimately when the kids grow up (they're 2yrs and 4yrs) hubby want's to go back to a 75 series ute (or something to that effect).

There is an option for you - a ute with a removable tray top type camper?
AnswerID: 235739

Follow Up By: turbo_hopeful - Wednesday, Apr 25, 2007 at 17:22

Wednesday, Apr 25, 2007 at 17:22
interesting thoughts there. never thought of the removable caravan set up which would be good for when you wanted to 4wd as you could leave it behind.

there is just my gf and i travelling and we are pretty cruisy so there wont be very hardcore 4wding.

we sat down and had a chat last night and figured that we would mostly be touring and needed something that would be capable on and off road and would stand up to the outback conditions. the top heavy thing does worry me a little though. i remember pulling to the side of a track on frazer in my hilux and i was on a fair lean and a troopy came past and had to do the same thing and it was swaying a fair bit which freaked the hell out of me as it nearly hit my canopy on the lux. it did have a bit or stuff on the roof though so that would clearly be a factor.

to all the troopy users who have commented in here can you guys let me know how capable they are off road? situations i'll be using it for will be whatver australia can throw at it. hahaha. which could be bloody anything on any given day. hoping to put away the CSR on my way round so i am guessing that'll be the biggest test. thanks to everyone so far and the detailed answers and stories. very much appreciated.
FollowupID: 496929

Reply By: turbo_hopeful - Wednesday, Apr 25, 2007 at 19:27

Wednesday, Apr 25, 2007 at 19:27
have been jetting about autos.groups.yahoo.com/group/troopyoz/ and some of the things they are getting up to in those troopies have made up my mind that they will do the trick.

there are some great set ups for all occasion and with all the info on this site and the yahoo one i could pick and choose and with a little bit of my own ingenuity i could have a great set up.

there are pictures of troopies on 3 wheels right out to the peak of articulation and still looking like they are gonna be fine. also pics of them set up for outback touring with wiring that would make any auto sparky look twice. they seems to be the ultimate base for customisation with plenty of space to work with.

all in all.....I'M GONNA GET ME A TROOPY!
AnswerID: 235787

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Thursday, Apr 26, 2007 at 00:00

Thursday, Apr 26, 2007 at 00:00
If you want some idea as to where we take our Troopies then have a look at my profile on here.
The photos will give you some idea as to what I have done with mine.

Also other than Firestone Air bags my suspension is stock standard.

And that Troopy in the picture is for sale as I have now bought another new one.

FollowupID: 497016

Reply By: Mal Watson - Wednesday, Apr 25, 2007 at 20:01

Wednesday, Apr 25, 2007 at 20:01
I have a 94 model Troopy, diesel that has just turned over 200K ( I use another vehicle around town) It came with narrow tyres and I have continued that way. They are easy to buy everywhere as most stations have 75 series running these. The skinnies have got me across the Simpson several times, twice to Cape York and once up the Canning plus numerous other destinations. I have a 60 litre water tank from OOT underneath with a pump, a bullbar and winch. I replaced the front passenger seat with a comfortable aftermarket one with arms, built a shelf in the rear to hold the frig, gas bottles, tent, kitchen box etx and chairs card tables slide under shelf. I built two plywood boxes up each side held down to the original seat and seat belt bolts in the floor. These have hinged lids on the top and sides giving dual entry. The top of these boxes is underside of windows and I carry some plywood that just fits across the "aisle" between the boxes to deck it out completely if we (only two of us) need to sleep in it. This is usually only for overnights on side of road or when pouring rain and inconvenient to set up our usual tent. We sleep on foamies that we store just under the roof on straps spanning across at the top of window level. We are more than happy with this arrangement and are off in early July for 3 months in WA. If interested I could probably post a couple of photos.
Mal
AnswerID: 235794

Follow Up By: turbo_hopeful - Wednesday, Apr 25, 2007 at 21:41

Wednesday, Apr 25, 2007 at 21:41
g'day mal. photo's would be great. i have been looking at heaps of set ups and yours sounds pretty damn good. the interior roof storage is something i've come across in only a few though which quite honestly i never thought to look at. like i said photo's would be great and i'm sure all the other owners on here would get a kick out of seeing another custom decked out troopy.

FollowupID: 496995

Follow Up By: ross - Wednesday, Apr 25, 2007 at 23:46

Wednesday, Apr 25, 2007 at 23:46
I have a 1995 75 series diesel trayback but Im sure the troopy will suit you better than the 80 ,although the 80 would be a nicer drive.
The 75 series suspension will be softer and the ride more steady with a load on.

Racing cars they are not,but when going is tough ,they are thoroughbreds;)

I would think twice about attaching campers to a vehicle. I would rather have a tent,they are quick to erect and cheap these days. You will also have the convenience of being able to move the vehicle without disturbing the accomadation .
Ranger camping had a tent that had a hole with elastic that was large enough to reverse a 4wd into so you could access the rear of your car without leaving the tent.

FollowupID: 497015