Charging AGM Batteries

Submitted: Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 19:20
ThreadID: 44682 Views:4286 Replies:10 FollowUps:8
After much research both within this forum and on the net in general I am now even more confused about how to successfully charge AGM batteries and get the best performance from them. I know that a good quality 3 stage smart charger is the way to go when charging from 240v to prevent damage to the batteries, but I have found conflicting opinions on whether a car alternator will charge AGM's to more than the usual 70-80% that is the norm for other lead-acid batteries. Does anyone know, with absolute certainty, whether it is possible to fully (or very close to) charge AGM batteries while driving. The batteries in question are 2 x 120Ah AGM's which are in our camper trailer and are charged via an Anderson plug.

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 19:46

Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 19:46
I use an Arrid Twin Charge for my charging needs when running the vehicle. This uses a reasonably light 12 volt cable (no need for a Anderson Plug) and has a 20 amp output. It charges my 120a/h Fullriver AGM very effectively.

I am about to install a 2nd unit in the camper trailer for the 2 Supercharge Gold Series batteries in there; at the moment I am just relying on the trickle-down effect from the AGM, which seems to work okay too. So, effectively, the Arrid unit is presently charging 3 batteries when I am towing my camper.
AnswerID: 235603

Follow Up By: Member - Wilgadene (QLD) - Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 20:10

Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 20:10
Thanks for your reply Roachie. Our batteries are the Fullriver brand also. Do you have a rough guestimate on how long you need to drive for in order to recharge your battery if it's remaining charge is fairly low, i.e. <40%.
FollowupID: 496758

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 20:16

Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 20:16
Sorry, I can't really answer your question with any degree of accuracy. Our style of travelling generally sees us simply camping overnight and drive on and off for most of the day. As such, my batteries never tend to get below about 12.4 volts. As soon as I start the Patrol each day, the digital volt meter (attached to the Fullriver) almost immediately jumps up to 14.4 volts and stays there all day.

I guess the other factor would be how much gear you are running off the battery once you are on the road.

Sorry I can't be any more assistance.
FollowupID: 496760

Reply By: Philip A - Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 20:27

Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 20:27
I have a second alternator ( about 65 Amp) on my Range Rover connected to my 95AH AGM.
I find that it takes about 2 hours to get to 80% and another 2-4 to get to 100% from effectively flat (say 11.8volts)

I can tell this from my digital meter which reads about 13.7 Volts for 2 hours then slowly rises to 14.2 over the next 2-3 hours.

So I think it will take longer than that for a second battery on the one alternator, although if you have a late model with a 125amp alternator, it may be just as quick..
I guess it depends on the initial available/surplus power over and above your ignition,aircon,lights etc etc in the high charge phase,as I would think the taper phase would be similar.
Regard sPhilip A
AnswerID: 235616

Reply By: Member - Wilgadene (QLD) - Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 20:41

Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 20:41
Thanks very much for the input guys - appreciate you taking the time to reply. Have a good one.
AnswerID: 235620

Reply By: Member - outback2 (WA) - Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 20:45

Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 20:45
we run 2 X 100 amp hour AGM's in the camper trailer fed from the vehicles alternator via an Andersen plug. However this power is fed through a shunt monitored by a Plasmatronics PL20.

The PL 20 records amps in and out over a 24 hour period...By using the shunt the PL20 then can allow for amps in so as when we make camp and feed the PL20 with solar panels it can take into its calculations the amps already topped up in to the batteries it is managing. Cable size from the alternator is critical....unless you calculate that correctly your alternator will still only deliver a trickle of amps at the other end.

Unless you have a battery charging system device that isolates your batteries and charges them as an independent system then once the start battery is recharged then all you are doing is connecting all your batteries in parallel.....you will never get a true state of all batteries at 100%

I have been told that as a rule of thumb each battery connected down the line will be around 10% lower than the one up the charging line.... how true that is i dont know

All I can say is that the more people you ask the more differing opinions you will get. Our system works for us.

Try this site and it's links www.fridge-and-solar.net/agm.htm

Life is a journey, it is not how we fall down, it is how we get up.
VKS 1341

AnswerID: 235622

Follow Up By: Member - Wilgadene (QLD) - Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 21:15

Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 21:15
Thanks outback2
I had read the articles on fridge and solar before but then when I've read other articles they seemed to contradict it. I think we'll just accept it as the gospel and keep charging our batteries by running the vehicle for a while when bush camping as this seems to have worked reasonably well in the past. To quote the fridge and solar article -

"because of their very low internal resistance these batteries will fully charge at a lower voltage, and accept a much larger charge current, so when charging from a standard car/truck alternator these batteries will all but fully charge, and fast too, in about 2.5 to 3 hours!"

Thanks for your suggestions.
FollowupID: 496773

Reply By: Mike Harding - Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 21:25

Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 21:25
No question: you should buy the most expensive three (or 68) stage charger available – if it costs less than $600 or $700 it’s rubbish.

Next step: when you want to recharge in the field you _must_ fit a second alternator to your vehicle (with, at least 160A capability) and ensure it has krypton brushes – anything else is useless. It probably needs 14 safety certifications too!

PS. I’m currently being paid good money to test various lead acid batteries to ensure they comply to Australian Standard 4029 (iirc) but I recharge my 88Ah AGM from a $98 Bunnings generator - however I’m sure many on this forum will soon post to tell me I’m doing it all wrong.

PPS. This is a satirical post.
AnswerID: 235636

Reply By: Member - Paul H (NSW) - Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 21:57

Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 21:57
G'day mate,

I have a Fullriver 120a/h in the camper as well as a Xantrex Battery monitor that monitors all amps going in and out of the battery.

After driving the max charge I have ever got from the car's alternator (via anderson plug) is 99.7% so I think you can safely assume that you will get relatively close to full charge from your cars alternator.

Paul.
AnswerID: 235648

Reply By: obee - Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 22:04

Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 22:04
I am all for a spare cranking battery to run the fridge. They can charge up quick and the amount of current draw overnight is not all that much as to cause the battery to have so much loss of overall life. In the event of one dying as they are bound to do sooner or later, I can use the other to run the car. Just got to see that it gets charged up every day so the percentage of charge dont drop dramatically. Charging from the car motor would take a lot less time than an agm or deep cycle = less idling the motor on site.

Of course if you are running a lot of other current hungry devices and not running the motor every day then deep cycle with external means of charging I would agree with. I am not on the road for long periods out of each year or running a live aboard yacht so I look to the comparative cost/efficiency chart and conclude I would be better not spending on expensive 240 volt chargers and batterys.

Horses for courses.

Owen
AnswerID: 235653

Follow Up By: Mainey (WA) - Wednesday, Apr 25, 2007 at 02:05

Wednesday, Apr 25, 2007 at 02:05
Owen,
Sorry, I just can't agree with-> "I am all for a spare 'cranking' battery to run the...... Charging from the car motor would take a lot less time than an 'AGM' or deep cycle = less idling the motor on site"

Reason being:
AGM (cranking) batteries do recharge much faster than wetcell (cranking) batteries!!!

Deep Cycle batteries however, ONLY if they are conventional 'wetcell' batteries, will as you say take longer than a wetcell 'cranking' battery, due to their build specifications, eg thicker plates.

However, AGM 'Deep Cycle' batteries will also recharge faster than wetcell 'cranking' batteries!!!

Mainey...
FollowupID: 496832

Follow Up By: obee - Wednesday, Apr 25, 2007 at 07:29

Wednesday, Apr 25, 2007 at 07:29
thanks for that Mainey. I stand corrected. I am mixing up agm with deep and obviously havent been paying enough attention to the subject.

owen
FollowupID: 496850

Reply By: Russ n Sue - Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 22:13

Tuesday, Apr 24, 2007 at 22:13
I found this webpage a while ago. It answers just about every question about batteries and charging that you could think of. I have spent hours researching the subject and this site appears to have summarised everything with the best accuracy. Have a read and see what you think.

Site Link

AnswerID: 235656

Reply By: Mainey (WA) - Wednesday, Apr 25, 2007 at 02:28

Wednesday, Apr 25, 2007 at 02:28
Said very simplistically:
If you put more 'power' into a battery, than is presently in the battery
then it is in fact being charged.

It does not matter if the 'power' is coming from a $2,000 3x (or 27) stage battery charger, a solar system or the vehicle alternator/regulator.

Scenario:
If the battery is only holding 12.2v and your alternator/regulator is capable of putting out 14v (~every alternator/reg will) then it will charge the 12.2v battery to a higher level, it will in fact charge the battery fully - 12.66v.

However, if the battery is 'faulty' or is attached to an inadequate wiring system, then it may not hold its full charge, and then will appear to not be fully charged.

Mainey...
AnswerID: 235682

Reply By: Grungle - Wednesday, Apr 25, 2007 at 07:59

Wednesday, Apr 25, 2007 at 07:59
We have a 260AHr Fullriver in the back of the Patrol with current shunt and amp meter to monitor charge progress (only way to check really IMHO).

On a recent run from Rollestone (North of Townsville) to Mackay (approx 6 hours @95km/hr) I noted the following (battery was at 12.25V which equates to approximately 65% capacity):

@ idle - 750rpm, there was 26 Amps going into the battery.
@ 1800rpm there was 55 Amps going into the battery (max it could draw from the alternator either because of battery design or alternator capacity)
1. From time 0hr to 1hr, it went from 55 Amps to 42 Amps (draw)
2. From time 1hr to 2hr, it went from 42 Amps to 31 Amps (draw)
3. From time 3hr to 4hr, it went from 31 Amps to 23 Amps (draw)
4. From time 4hr to 5hr, it went from 23 Amps to 15 Amps (draw)
5. From time 5hr to 6hr, it went from 15 Amps to 9 Amps (draw)

When I worked out the average for each hour (start draw + finish draw divide by 2), I came up with 133 Amps of charge going back into the battery over the trip. Considering there are losses due to heat etc when charging, I considered the above to be reasonably accurate.

So to fully charge the battery I would probably have to drive another 1-2 hours. A battery will only draw as much current as it is designed ie. having a 200 Amp alternator is no better than a 100 Amp one if the battery will only draw a max of 55 Amps.

If anyone wants to know what their battery is doing, buy a current shunt and digital amp meter (cost me $20 all up) and see what current the battery is drawing. it will get less and less as the voltage rises and its capacity increases.

AnswerID: 235689

Follow Up By: Grungle - Wednesday, Apr 25, 2007 at 10:23

Wednesday, Apr 25, 2007 at 10:23
I should also say that a battery is fully charged when it _Affordable_Storage_Drawers.aspx no current from the source. What voltage this is is dependant on the manufacturer, model / type of battery and its capacity.

This is why relying on voltage for a true indication of a batteries capacity is not accurate.

Also if you take out 50 Amps from a battery, you will need to put in 50 + X Amps to get it back to 100% (X being an unknown quantity but relates to losses due to heat, external resistances (cables, terminals etc) etc.). This can be high in some case but in my experience is usually 1/4 of the amount of amps removed from the battery to start with.

Even when using a smart charger where up to 90% of a batteries capacity is replaced during bulk and absorbtion modes, it will still take a number of hours (determined by total battery capacity and charger capability) to get it up to 100% as it only trickles back the remaining 10%.

From everything I have mentioned, what I am trying to say is that there are hundreds of different variables in a charging system and to ask how long it will it take or at what voltage will it happen is an impossible question to answer.

FollowupID: 496867

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Wednesday, Apr 25, 2007 at 10:37

Wednesday, Apr 25, 2007 at 10:37
Good post David.

AS4029 defines a lead-acid battery as being fully charged "when there has been no change in the charging current for two hours" which is a pretty fair assumption.

As you suggest an ammeter is an excellent way to see what your charging system is doing although I prefer a moving needle meter to a digital for this type of application because it's easier to see trends and anomalies than with a digital system.

FollowupID: 496868

Follow Up By: Mainey (WA) - Wednesday, Apr 25, 2007 at 13:20

Wednesday, Apr 25, 2007 at 13:20
David you post,
"On a recent run of approx 6 hours I noted the following.
(battery was at 12.25v which equates to approximately 65% capacity"

However, you missed out on the hour 2 to 3 . . . . . lunch break :-))

0 to 1hr = 13a drop = 48.5 average
1 to 2hr = 11a drop = 36.5 average
2 to 3hr = ? ? drop (~32 average) ? ?
3 to 4hr = 8a drop = 27.o average
4 to 5hr = 8a drop = 19.o average
5 to 6hr = 6a drop = 12.o average

{Approximately 175 amps going into the battery ~29ah}

Due to the uninterrupted straight line power curve average, I would guess a fridge was not running from the battery on the 6 hour trip, but then I have to think it must have been previously for the AGM battery to be at only 12.2v, was it disconnected for the battery test ?

FollowupID: 496888