Reefer question

Submitted: Thursday, Apr 26, 2007 at 17:56
ThreadID: 44749 Views:3053 Replies:10 FollowUps:42

Do all reefers have a built in 12V battery changers?

See it on their old web site
http://72.14.253.104/search?q=cache:eRH4_Ke7jB8J:reefer.com.au/portable.htm+reefer+freezer&hl=en&ct=clnk&cd=3&gl=au&client=firefox-a

Craig

Reply By: Hairy - Thursday, Apr 26, 2007 at 18:39

Thursday, Apr 26, 2007 at 18:39
Jeezzz we still use cigarette lighters here....Talk about behind the times!

AnswerID: 235962

Reply By: Trevor R (QLD) - Thursday, Apr 26, 2007 at 19:00

Thursday, Apr 26, 2007 at 19:00
You had me sucked in as I thought you might have been talking about the reefer festival being held in Nimbin (this weekend I think). One hell of a party "so I am told" hehehehe.

I know nothing about the reefer fridges unfortunately.

Cheers Trevor.
AnswerID: 235974

Follow Up By: Hairy - Thursday, Apr 26, 2007 at 19:02

Thursday, Apr 26, 2007 at 19:02
You should get hold of some of those 12v self lighting ones and sell the at Nimbin, youd make a fortune!
FollowupID: 497129

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Thursday, Apr 26, 2007 at 19:24

Thursday, Apr 26, 2007 at 19:24
Craig, The old Liemack has a 300 watt 240volt inverter, Some of the early Reefer branded units have this also but the later units dont have this as the company that manufactures them say it upsets the electronics since they modified them. Just in case you are not aware, the original company was Liemack Refrigeration and it was sold to Refrigeration Research P/L!!! Hence the stupid name change to REEFER. Michael

AnswerID: 235980

Follow Up By: Mainey (WA) - Thursday, Apr 26, 2007 at 23:37

Thursday, Apr 26, 2007 at 23:37
Yes, the original Liemack had a basic 300w inverter, however when Refrigeration Research took over the production of the fridge (they did not buy Liemack) the Reefer "premier" series fridge had a "soft start" power management system integrated with-in the new computerised electronics.

The electronics package was not 'modified' but a totally new Australian designed & built computerised electronics unit with the battery charger integrated with-in the electronics was utilized.
FollowupID: 497201

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Friday, Apr 27, 2007 at 07:24

Friday, Apr 27, 2007 at 07:24
bloody hell....you all know my thoughts on those power hungry heaps of craaaaap!...so i aint saying noothiiiiin
FollowupID: 497228

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Friday, Apr 27, 2007 at 07:45

Friday, Apr 27, 2007 at 07:45
Mainey!! Im glad we straightened that out!!! And Member #1, they are actually are a great fridge BUT like most things in life, there are trade offs and the downside to Liemack fridges is the power consumption. Sadly this is not really handy in a 4x4. Michael

FollowupID: 497230

Follow Up By: Mainey (WA) - Friday, Apr 27, 2007 at 10:13

Friday, Apr 27, 2007 at 10:13
Michael, the old Liemack 300w inverter driven fridge is long gone.
Yes, the Reefer Premier draws 10 amps, however it still uses the same stainless steel cabinet BUT has a totally new Australian designed & built computerized electronics package with a Motor Driver in there that supplies the compressor it’s power & will also recharge the Aux battery system when on 240 Volts.

I sometimes run my 70Lt fridge/freezer from my inverter (240v) when camped in shady areas for extended times and the Premier fridge then recharges the Aux batteries each night, I have checked the voltage this morning before posting to confirm, 12.7v was showing on the digital battery voltage screen, this would be because the fridge temp was +5.8° the compressor turns on at +6° and the fridge had obviously not run for some time so the Aux battery system had fully charged during the night. The fridge only turns on twice during the night when in Dunsborough, however more often when in the NT.

I use a 70Lt fridge/freezer and the Mitsubishi rotary compressor draws ~10 Amps, @ 18 to 20 min’s run time = ~3ah (hopefully no1 will extrapolate) and I’m sure he will also confirm, the Reefer Premier has the FASTEST cool down time from any temperature, of all 12v fridges, due to its huge compressor capacity, and with that performance you have to compromise battery power slightly.

It’s not such a large power drain when explained as above, but yes the 10 amp draw ("draw" not "ah") looks horrendous when printed alone, when in advertorial blurb we see ~2.5ah from others.

Mainey...
FollowupID: 497256

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Friday, Apr 27, 2007 at 10:25

Friday, Apr 27, 2007 at 10:25
???? mainey....I think you must be trying to pull our leg if you can run your 12vDC -240vAC inverter, to power the fridge, and then it charges your auxillary battery...PLEASE EXPLAIN HOW THIS WORKS...its got me beat

(you said it not I...or is that a typo?)

as for the fridge and its power consumption etc etc..i have had my ten bobs worth on that
FollowupID: 497259

Follow Up By: Mainey (WA) - Friday, Apr 27, 2007 at 10:43

Friday, Apr 27, 2007 at 10:43
If you organise a qualified auto elec up in PERTH, that you trust explicitly and believe will not fiddle any results, I will take my vehicle up to him and he can fax the results direct to you and post them on this site.

Now if I'm proven wrong I will pay for his time and effort, however if he proves I'm correct I do expect you to pick up the complete tab, which will include one nights stay at a Motel for me & her too...(inc accommodation, food & drinks x2)

Your decision is eagerly awaited :-))
FollowupID: 497261

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Friday, Apr 27, 2007 at 10:55

Friday, Apr 27, 2007 at 10:55
i reckon your holding back so before i call you a wan...err a name, give me some
more info ...what is primary source of power?...your auxillary batteries...
FollowupID: 497263

Follow Up By: Mainey (WA) - Friday, Apr 27, 2007 at 11:04

Friday, Apr 27, 2007 at 11:04
I have posted information that you obviously don't understand and so you attempt to denigrate the information and myself.
I have reread the post and don't see any 'typo's"

It is now a case of 'put up' or 'shut up'
and
I'm stand very prepared to 'put up' :-))

My generous "offer" above stands, I eagerly await the name and address of the chosen auto elec

FollowupID: 497264

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Friday, Apr 27, 2007 at 11:48

Friday, Apr 27, 2007 at 11:48
if your camping i guess you dont have a mains power be it supply authority or genny...so I am assuming you are running your 240v compressor driven fridge from a 12vDC-240vAC inverter......does your frige have a 12vdc charger in it

FollowupID: 497273

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Friday, Apr 27, 2007 at 13:14

Friday, Apr 27, 2007 at 13:14
Member #1, The old Liemack does have 240 vac compressor and a huge inverter, i guess thats why it weighs about 50 kgs, i guess you can run any fridge that is 240v if your inverter is big enough.(and your batteries). Rays outdoors had a 240 volt only fridge the other day for $179 i think, about 40 litres, if you work out the power comsumption and hook up a suitable inverter, it will work.. Michael

FollowupID: 497285

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Friday, Apr 27, 2007 at 13:19

Friday, Apr 27, 2007 at 13:19
OOOOPps #1 i misread your post, yeah got me beat also!! AAHHH Pepetual Power, im looking for that you know!! Michael

FollowupID: 497287

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Friday, Apr 27, 2007 at 13:28

Friday, Apr 27, 2007 at 13:28
Mainey!! I tried to get onto the Reefer web site last week and it was unavailable, just tried it again and still down,,,, hhmmm. Michael

FollowupID: 497288

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Friday, Apr 27, 2007 at 15:26

Friday, Apr 27, 2007 at 15:26
yep ditto Michael...i dont think Mainey can do what he says eh?

FollowupID: 497303

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Saturday, Apr 28, 2007 at 10:36

Saturday, Apr 28, 2007 at 10:36
come on mainey...you are crapping on again eh?

as Michael says ..perpetual power!!! its impossible you wan....err err...wandering idiot!

what was your primary source of power?
FollowupID: 497449

Follow Up By: Mainey (WA) - Saturday, Apr 28, 2007 at 20:57

Saturday, Apr 28, 2007 at 20:57
Obviously the ONLY way this can actually be proven to work, or NOT to work, is to actually have it tested by a QUALIFIED Auto elec.

As I have posted above I’m prepared to go up to Perth to see who-ever you nominate that you believe can prove to ‘YOU’ that he knows his job, and his answer will be taken as honest, truthful and above all “expert” evidence of his findings.

His answer will be totally absolute, final and binding……as I say he can fax the answer to you direct and I fully expect you to place it on this forum with a link to your miss-believing or is it miss-understanding of modern 12v computerized charging systems.

The only problem you have is choosing the auto electrician and organizing the motel accommodation for me, nothing hard about that I would think.

As usual I await your confirmation of this 12v test, I would think you could organize it on Monday morning :-))

Mainey...
FollowupID: 497570

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Sunday, Apr 29, 2007 at 11:43

Sunday, Apr 29, 2007 at 11:43
Before you, or I, (yes me),make a fool of ourselves what am I supposed to proving you wrong on.....

is it, that your primary source of power, a 12vdc aux battery under your bonnet can run an Inverter, a fridge and still charge the (itself) Aux battery under the bonnet?

if not, what...
i need to be clear and have all the facts up front...no assumptions
I note that you are holding back on telling me what was your primary source of power...why?

FollowupID: 497657

Follow Up By: Mainey (WA) - Sunday, Apr 29, 2007 at 12:21

Sunday, Apr 29, 2007 at 12:21
Mr, No 1...
you have both posted & also confirmed the posts as 'pasted' below....

*Member No 1 posted this followup
???? mainey....I think you must be trying to pull our leg if you can run your 12vDC -240v AC inverter, to power the fridge, and then it charges your auxillary battery...PLEASE EXPLAIN HOW THIS WORKS...its got me beat

*Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) posted this followup
yeah got me beat also!! AAHHH Pepetual Power, im looking for that you know!! Michael

yep ditto Michael...i dont think Mainey can do what he says eh?

come on mainey...you are crapping on again eh?
as Michael says ..perpetual power!!! its impossible you wan....err err...wandering idiot! what was your primary source of power?

Mr. No 1, you know my ONLY source of power is strictly limited to a 200+ah AGM Deep Cycle battery system.

This battery system is powered by a 200+watt Solar system, which is NOT relevant to this post, simply because ALL the numbers posted are from when Solar power is obviously NOT available.

The external 300wt pure sinewave Inverter supplies 240 Volts to run the Reefer Premier fridge and the Computerized fridge electronics system recharges the Deep Cycle AGM battery system.

I'm not attempting to hide any facts from you, you allready know what fridge & battery system I recomend - and use myself, that's no secret.

Please don’t try and wriggle out of this by throwing up lame excuses,
as I have posted, it’s now time for you to put up or shut up :-))

No 1, just admit you may be wrong......
OR
simply organize any Auto Electrician in Perth, to actually prove you are wrong :-))
FollowupID: 497660

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Sunday, Apr 29, 2007 at 15:41

Sunday, Apr 29, 2007 at 15:41
is this what your saying,

Your 200+ah AGM Deep Cycle can run a 12-240vac inverter which in turn is connected to and operating a fridge which has a 12vdc output capable of charging the same 200+ah AGM Deep Cycle battery.

FollowupID: 497693

Follow Up By: Red Frog - Vic - Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 12:33

Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 12:33
lol, crazy stuff eh nudie
FollowupID: 498114

Reply By: ozcraig - Friday, Apr 27, 2007 at 11:54

Friday, Apr 27, 2007 at 11:54

These reefer fridges do kick up a storm. It is like a holden/ford war.
I have a Aussie HJ61, towing a '80s 18'6" baron sportsman.

These fridges are great. Been a 4WD/fisherman freezing is a important factor. If it takes more juice or a generator for 1 hour so be it.

Thanks for all you detailed reply from both of my threads. I'm better informed and can start looking at deep cycle batteries and maybe a solar panel latter.

FYI, there is still a new reefer for sale down Mandurah in a tackle shop. I bought the ST50 the last but there is a DT70 for $1100, no warranty. I bought mine for $1100 on reputation alone.

Craig
AnswerID: 236157

Reply By: Mainey (WA) - Sunday, Apr 29, 2007 at 10:56

Sunday, Apr 29, 2007 at 10:56
Re the "original post" titled: -> Do all reefers have a built in 12V battery changers?

Further digital readout inspections revealed the following numbers.

Note:
arrived 'home' at 6.50pm after driving back from Perth 4x4 show, so aux battery system had a decent charge !!

Last night, fridge temperature @ 10.33 pm = 5.3° and battery 13.0v - Solar reg shows 12.7v

Today, fridge temperature @ 8.08 am = 4.3° and battery 12.8v - Solar reg show 12.5v

I can't ever remember seeing the digital voltage readout showing less than 12v unless the fridge is actually running during the night WITH-OUT being connected to the (external) 300w psw inverter.

I'm really looking forward to this free 'dirty weekend' no1, ha ha ha
AnswerID: 236559

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Monday, Apr 30, 2007 at 11:29

Monday, Apr 30, 2007 at 11:29
why do you mention solar reg?...i thought it wasnt being used in the evaluation

And as for the dirty weekend...you must learn to keep your hands out of your pockets Mainey..its not polite in public
FollowupID: 497874

Follow Up By: Mainey (WA) - Monday, Apr 30, 2007 at 11:44

Monday, Apr 30, 2007 at 11:44
Mr. No 1, I only mention the Solar regulator because its installed there showing the Aux battery voltage and working as a solar regulator, however because it was dark there was no solar power going to the Aux battery system.

Yes, the Reefer Premier ALONE was recharging the 200+ah AGM battery system.

I suppose you want me to fully explain why the difference in voltage is posted also lol

So Mr. No1, what Auto electrician do you want me to take my fridge to up in PERTH just to prove to you that it will recharge the 200+ ah AGM DC battery system as I have posted... I have nothing to hide ha ha ha

I'm looking forward to the weekend at your financial expense lol

FollowupID: 497878

Follow Up By: Mainey (WA) - Monday, Apr 30, 2007 at 12:04

Monday, Apr 30, 2007 at 12:04
Mr.No 1
just name the Auto Electrician in Perth and I will gladly take it all to him for a complete electrical test and then you can say you were correct and I was stupid and wrong, until then you have to accept the numbers I post are correct.

Obviously you have no real knowledge of the Reefer Premier fridge.

To PROVE me wrong just advise me of the Auto elec and you will be happy.

How about I double my 'offer'
if I'm NOT correct, I will pay your accommodation in ANY capital city including air fair for a weekend.

Now is the best time to organise the test, you claim your correct, you can't loose L0L

FollowupID: 497883

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Monday, Apr 30, 2007 at 18:48

Monday, Apr 30, 2007 at 18:48
your an idiot mainey if you think the rest of us will believe you have found the secret of perpetual power

get your hands out of your pockets & stop playing ....now!!!
FollowupID: 497946

Follow Up By: Mainey (WA) - Monday, Apr 30, 2007 at 23:49

Monday, Apr 30, 2007 at 23:49
"bloody hell....you all know my thoughts on those power hungry heaps of craaaaap!...so i aint saying noothiiiiin"

Regrettably you could not keep your word lol, however your opinions are entirely erroneous, incorrect and even malicious lies, because either you simply don't know the truth, or are not prepared to tell the truth, for what ever reason unfortunately only you know.

As you know I’m prepared to present my vehicle to a full 12/240 Volt electronics test, by a qualified auto electrician, however you won’t advise where you want it done.
I’m sure that’s because you know it will prove beyond all doubt you don’t know what you’re talking about, and the voltage, time and temperature numbers I have posted are absolutely accurate.

As I said initially it’s now “put up or shut up” time, it’s your choice……..

Mr. No 1, you can PROVE that I’m wrong simply by organizing an auto electrician in Perth to check my 12v power system.

Maybe I should just ask you to pick an auto electrician from the Perth yellow pages and go there at my own expense.
Because you obviously can’t or don’t want to pay the obvious costs associated with the testing, let alone the weekends food, drink and accommodation costs, because you are absolutely terrified of being proven publicly to be incorrect & wrong.

Have just done a 9.00pm check..
Fridge temperature @ 0.0° (zero) 12.4v on digital display and 12.2v at solar regulator.
Yes it's 9 o'clock at night and the motor has not been started for well over 24 hours.
The zero degrees indicates the fridge has recently run and turned off probably at about 8.50pm.
It's rained and been cloudy all day down here so not typical Solar power weather.

The correct answer to Craigs question “Do all reefers have a built in 12v battery changers?” is NO, not ALL Reefers have 12v battery chargers installed, however those that do will give the same results I have posted above - when used with an external “quality” 300wt psw inverter, I have one so I know how efficiently they work, ha ha ha
FollowupID: 498058

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 07:54

Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 07:54
i told you to keep your hands out of your pockets!!!
FollowupID: 498079

Follow Up By: Mainey (WA) - Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 09:08

Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 09:08
Yes, thanks for that info, I found it hard to type that way lol
I would have thought you would have jumped at the opportunity to disprove what I have posted, but no you just use (sik) humor because you know you can't disprove the truth, or you would have done it already.
No. 1, will you please contact an auto electrician in Perth to verify the facts I have posted, or is it that are you really afraid to be shown publicly just how incorrect you are, yes of course that's the ONLY reason you won't nominate an auto electrician to verify the battery charger numbers, it will prove beyond any doubt your complete lack of knowledge on the Reefer’s computerized electronics system that’s beyond your realm of understanding lol
I’ve given you all the clues I can, do you want to phone me (again) to ask some more inane questions ha ha ha ha

Back to some relevant results
Tuesday, 5.10am, digital display shows fridge temperature is -0.5° and battery is down to 12.2v.
Therefore fridge has recently turned off and that shows by the low temp and the low battery reading - because the battery charger has not yet raised the battery voltage.

Note; vehicle has not been started since about 7pm Sunday night and fridge runs 24/7, the psw inverter is also charging some 'aa' &'aaa' batteries and a Coleman lamp as well as supplying the 240v power for the fridge.

Note, these results can't be obtained with a conventional wetcell (Cranking or Deep Cycle) battery because they recharge far too slowly compared to an AGM Deep Cycle battery.

Last temp & battery voltage will be posted at 8am today as I believe the results are adequate to understand the efficiencies of the Reefer Premier battery charging system.
FollowupID: 498092

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 09:15

Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 09:15
you are truly a wanker Mainey lol lol lol
cheer up mate...you'll see the light one day
FollowupID: 498094

Follow Up By: Mainey (WA) - Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 10:05

Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 10:05
Unlike you No 1 I've seen the light long ago.......
As I say the only reason you don't want an auto electrician to test the system is because it will show you are wrong....

You just don't want those confirmed results posted here - do you, because then you will be arguing with some one else about the same result performance.
FollowupID: 498100

Follow Up By: Mainey (WA) - Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 10:13

Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 10:13
Fridge temperature is 3.2° and voltage is 12.3v after 31 hours of powering the fridge and accessories without running the engine.

FollowupID: 498102

Follow Up By: Red Frog - Vic - Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 12:44

Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 12:44
lol, crazy stuff even for Mainey. I think he's having a laugh at you expense nudie, ignore him, not many have brought into this for good reason.
FollowupID: 498120

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 13:39

Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 13:39
I try very hard to ignore jerks
But as for Mainey. and although I have called him one in the past I really think he has lost the plot and needs all the help we can give him...yes that means all of us on here

Who in their right mind can expect a battery to run a inverter and the fridge's internal 12vdc charger which in turn can charge said battery...he is loopy and derserves our help...dont you agree? lol
FollowupID: 498129

Follow Up By: Red Frog - Vic - Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 14:37

Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 14:37
LMAO, nah I don't think he's gone of the rails, bluddy funny stuff though.
FollowupID: 498143

Follow Up By: Mainey (WA) - Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 16:36

Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 16:36
"Who in their right mind can expect a battery to run a inverter and the fridge's internal 12vdc charger which in turn can charge said battery, he is loopy and derserves our help... dont you agree? "
Wooops, the first reply you get doesn’t look too good for you, does it lol

No 1, as I have said it's ONLY you who does not understand the principals behind the computerized electronic battery charging system, as you can see this has become a 'you verses me' thread, (unfortunately I have to now say it, as I have never ever previously disparaged any forum poster previously) you have not got the intestinal fortitude to organize an auto electrician up in Perth who you believe will show you I’m “loopy” but you already know the auto lecy will actually PROVE that the information I have posted is fact, accurate and technically correct.

I have even offered you a weekend away in any capital city in Aussie, with airfare and accommodation free, and still you refuse to organize the electrical test. (now cancelled)

That complete lack of commitment just confirms with me, and I believe also at least some of the readers of this one sided thread titled: -> ““Do all reefers have a built in 12V battery changers?”” that you already know you are incorrect and have dug yourself into a huge hole that now you can’t climb out of with-out loosing face and showing your lack of technical knowledge, is the website wrong too??

A simple phone call to an auto electrical specialist up in Perth would have cleared up any lack of knowledge you have, just like the last phone call you made when you asked technical questions about the Mitsubishi compressor and you spoke with ummm m* lol, ha ha ha ha ha ha ha

Yes No 1, next time you need "help" just phone me, or should that be m* or m# on second thought - don't.

I wonder why you did not challenge the voltage numbers I posted relevant to the fridge power consumption being ~3ah or that the Reefer Premier -HAS- the fastest cool down time of any fridge. "I use a 70Lt fridge/freezer and the Mitsubishi rotary compressor draws ~10 Amps, @ 18 to 20 min’s run time = ~3ah (hopefully no1 will extrapolate) and I’m sure he will also confirm, the Reefer Premier has the FASTEST cool down time from any temperature, of all 12v fridges, due to its huge compressor capacity, and with that performance you have to compromise battery power slightly.
It’s not such a large power drain when explained as above, but yes the 10 amp draw ("draw" not "ah") looks horrendous when printed alone, when in advertorial blurb we see ~2.5ah from others"

Mate you just can't be told, so I will stop using this thread in an attempt to improve your technical knowledge, as it's obviously 1 sided & can't be altered, bye!!
{fridge temp is 1.2° and battery is 13.8 Volts} sunshine is free lol
FollowupID: 498165

Reply By: navaraman - Sunday, Apr 29, 2007 at 14:02

Sunday, Apr 29, 2007 at 14:02
I run an old Reefer 50L fridge. I find it very heavy to lift into the back of the car, even when empty. It has never let me down though and I've never had battery problems although I would rarely camp in one spot for more than a couple of days without going for a drive somewhere. I probably wouldn't buy one again due to the weight and physical size for it's capacity, however mine still looks as good as new despite it's age and it's certainly well constructed.
I believe that research refrigeration are no longer trading, or if they are they have moved from Mt Barker in SA.
AnswerID: 236602

Reply By: Mainey (WA) - Monday, Apr 30, 2007 at 09:07

Monday, Apr 30, 2007 at 09:07
6.40am Monday (WA time) report on Reefer Premier fridge with in-built battery charger...

Fridge was running the digital display was showing @ +1.3° and the battery voltage @ 12.0v, with-in a few minutes of the fridge stopping the temp was -0.4° and 12.2v
(Fridge is set to turn off @+1°)

7.00am, fridge is +1.7° and battery is 12.5v

Yes all these numbers posted will be verified by Mr. No1's Auto electrician on the weekend.

Temperatures, times and voltages inclusive are to be verified as correct... So what Auto elect do I go to for this testing procedure is the only remaining question and I'm sure to get the answer today.

AnswerID: 236792

Reply By: Mainey (WA) - Wednesday, May 02, 2007 at 17:02

Wednesday, May 02, 2007 at 17:02
After reading the post in full it can be clearly seen I’ve never claimed to be able to create ‘Perpetual Power’
The battery voltage numbers I’ve posted states the voltage has dropped, yes reduced, from 12.7v down to 12.3v in five (5) days of running the fridge and also recharging various other batteries.

Reason being, running the fridge & inverter & battery charger & the other 2 x accessories also connected to the inverter and being charged simultaneously, uses more power than the Reefer Premier computerized battery charger actually replaces.

However, when the fridge is connected direct to an external 240v source, the battery system is fully recharged in only hours and that is the real benefit of the electronic charging system.

Five (5) days run time and still staying above 12v is not a bad result for what No 1 claims to be a “power hungry” fridge, but the exact same result can’t be achieved using wetcell cranking batteries due to their much higher electrical resistance, therefore longer charging times.

Mainey...
AnswerID: 237439

Follow Up By: Red Frog - Vic - Wednesday, May 02, 2007 at 17:51

Wednesday, May 02, 2007 at 17:51
lol, your perpetual power claim and now retraction is the funniest stuff I've read from you in a while :)
FollowupID: 498462

Follow Up By: Mainey (WA) - Thursday, May 03, 2007 at 08:15

Thursday, May 03, 2007 at 08:15
Red Frog - Vic, I've NEVER made any claim of ‘Perpetual Power’ and have reread the entire thread again and still can't see anywhere where I even mention or make any thing like a claim of ‘Perpetual Power’ :-))
Therefore, I can't 'retract' what I’ve NOT claimed, however is good to read from you that the thread has you 'entertained' as there is not a lot of 'fun' in 12v posts generally lol.

I've posted relevant battery voltage numbers that start at 12.7v and each day they gradually reduce till they eventually get down to 12.3v, and that's definitely NOT ‘Perpetual Power’ however it's using a very small amount of power to run a 70Lt fridge/freezer and recharge two other sets of batteries with-out external assistance.

Any auto electrician could have 'monitored' the voltage drop and confirmed this as I had offered to go to Perth for the relevant tests, but No1 did not want to challenge the battery voltage numbers, only do what he does best, attempt to shoot the messenger just to take the 'heat' out of his lost argument lol

Remember No1 has NOT challenged the 10 Amp draw issue or the fact that the Reefer Premier is in fact the fastest cooling fridge either... even he can't find any 'evidence' to dispute the facts, so he just chooses to 'shoot the messenger' as his only defense.
FollowupID: 498645

Reply By: Nifty1 - Wednesday, May 02, 2007 at 18:18

Wednesday, May 02, 2007 at 18:18
So Mainey, if you started with a fully charged battery, and you just ran your magic fridge from it, and used the special built-in charger to recharge the battery again, you'd still have a full battery after a couple of weeks? That is awesome. I'd pay heaps for one of those. I wouldn't even care how heavy it was.
AnswerID: 237461

Follow Up By: Mainey (WA) - Thursday, May 03, 2007 at 08:45

Thursday, May 03, 2007 at 08:45
Nifty1
I can only 'assume' that you can actually read, and of course you can also interpret and understand the written English word, LOL

So therefore you would know, because you can and have actually read the post, that the battery DID drop by O.4 of a Volt (yes almost ½ of 1 volt) in 5 days, from 12.7v down to 12.3v and I'm sure I do not have to tell you that's NOT still 'fully' charged as you write, so obviously you can't read or even understand English that well after all, lol

Or maybe you really don't know that 12.3 Volts NOT a fully charged battery ?

FollowupID: 498649

Follow Up By: Red Frog - Vic - Thursday, May 03, 2007 at 08:53

Thursday, May 03, 2007 at 08:53
Thats good Mainey, at last you understand that your claims don't work, you should thank nudie for not taking your money.
FollowupID: 498652

Follow Up By: Nifty1 - Thursday, May 03, 2007 at 08:58

Thursday, May 03, 2007 at 08:58
It's becoming clearer. Even though the magic fridge's charger is charging the battery that is supplying it, it's still not supplying enough power to make up what the fridge is using. Bugger - thought you had something useful there.

Now, the interesting thing to try would be to disable the fridge's charger. You might find that the battery voltage wouldn't drop so quickly.
FollowupID: 498654

Follow Up By: Mainey (WA) - Thursday, May 03, 2007 at 18:50

Thursday, May 03, 2007 at 18:50
Red Frog,
What exactly are these "claims" you are referring to ??

Can you please 'copy & paste' them for me.

I have reread the thread and can't find where I have made any claims of relevance.

All I wanted an auto leccy for was to assure No1 that the voltage numbers were not fiddled and were correct and accurate, nothing less than the complete & honest truth and that I have nothing at all to hide.

Nifty1, the battery voltage drop of only O.4 Volts (less than ½ of 1 volt) after running "everything" for the 5 days IMO is far better than reasonable.
The computerized battery charger ONLY works with the external 240v power supply, and not when the fridge is running on 12v as it is then recharged by solar power.
FollowupID: 498783

Reply By: ozcraig - Wednesday, May 02, 2007 at 18:23

Wednesday, May 02, 2007 at 18:23
What type of battery do you run 'wet cell', 'gel pack' or 'dry cell'

What battery changes the fastest.
I'm going to buy 100ah battery and run it off a 2-stroke generator when needed.

Craig
AnswerID: 237463

Follow Up By: Mainey (WA) - Thursday, May 03, 2007 at 08:51

Thursday, May 03, 2007 at 08:51
I use 2 x Firstpower 100+ ah Deep Cycle AGM batteries in parallel ~230ah total.

AGM's charge faster when compared to conventional wetcell batteries of same capacity.
Eg, Exide Extreme 80ah v AGM 80ah
FollowupID: 498651