10yo twin cab diesel fuel consumption

Submitted: Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 23:21
ThreadID: 45001 Views:11760 Replies:9 FollowUps:16
Hi there,

in the market for my first twin cab 4x4 and after your experiences. Can probably only afford something around 10 years old, definitely only going for diesel. One of my primary considerations is fuel consumption, but it's hard to find published figures online. Anyone been tracking their use? Say mid-late nineties models?

How likely is it I'll get something that does around 9 L/100km on the highway... or better?

Reply By: fisho64 - Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 23:47

Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 23:47
My LN106 Hilux uses 11/100km, and I think you will find that as being typical of most 4 cylinder diesels of that era. As technology has advanced power has gone up but I cant say I really know of any below 10/100km, from back then. You could easily get it down to that by putting an egg under the gas pedal, but most just drive it how it should be. There isnt really much difference between 9 and 11/100km. If you do 200km a week it is about $5 a week.
AnswerID: 237319

Reply By: Stiphodon - Wednesday, May 02, 2007 at 07:05

Wednesday, May 02, 2007 at 07:05
I have a 1996 rodeo 2.8td, which averages around 8-9L/100km
AnswerID: 237333

Follow Up By: jono98 - Wednesday, May 02, 2007 at 09:19

Wednesday, May 02, 2007 at 09:19
Thanks Stiphodon, you're the second person to say that the td rodeo of that era is pretty efficient. Is yours a twin cab?
FollowupID: 498367

Follow Up By: Stiphodon - Saturday, May 05, 2007 at 09:54

Saturday, May 05, 2007 at 09:54
Yea, dual cab, fully fitted out
FollowupID: 499156

Reply By: Pnut (cns) - Wednesday, May 02, 2007 at 09:43

Wednesday, May 02, 2007 at 09:43
Jono
Have had a 95 2.5td dcab triton 4 6 yrs. urban use gets 650k on 60-62l (75L tank) (around 9.5l/100) This figure is also similar to highway, as revs 2850rpm @ 100k, and has aerodynamics of a brick.
You could get better if you sat at 90k, but comes down to gearing. The rodeo returns better economy (best in class for that era I'd say) with the direct injection motor, but is noisier.
If rear legroom is also a factor, The Triton is S##thouse, rodeo has the most space. Also, Brother-in-laws petrol 96 rodeo only has a 53L tank, not sure if this is the case with the diesel.
The 2.8 lux would probably return better than 11 with a turbo?

Pnut
AnswerID: 237363

Reply By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Wednesday, May 02, 2007 at 10:14

Wednesday, May 02, 2007 at 10:14
I use to have an LN106 d/cab hilux (Toyota) and was pretty well consistantly getting tens some times 11 pulling camper. Highway, freeway, sand, beach, didnt really matter what I was using it for was always around the ten some times 9 on the open road with out towing and keeping it under 100klm. Take one for a drive as well. They are very gutless but do there job well. Pretty well have foot flat to the boards all the time where as the rodeo will leave the hilux for dead in all cases except ground clearance the hilux wins. Good luck trying to find a rodeo if you go for one of them. Bloody nearly impossible to find one. Dont go the petrol version in any form all very thirsty except I reckon the 3litre mitsi's seem fairly frugal on fuel but there 2.8 turbo diesel have had head issues in the earlier ones. Thats what Ive heard not from experiance. Regards Steve M
AnswerID: 237368

Follow Up By: jono98 - Wednesday, May 02, 2007 at 10:34

Wednesday, May 02, 2007 at 10:34
Thanks Steve,

stupid question - LN106??? I don't have the model numbers/names. If you could let me know which year/engine you're talking about that'd be great. Actually does anyone know if there's anywhere that lists the model numbers, variants etc for second hand vehicles?
FollowupID: 498381

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Wednesday, May 02, 2007 at 13:04

Wednesday, May 02, 2007 at 13:04
I think this is the code for all 2.8 Diesel hilux D/Cabs. Not 100% as they also come in solid front end and IFS. Solid, better wheel travel ,IFS not too bad but are proned to having a week front diff if given a hard time or if you lift a wheel then it comes back down and bites the ground is when they rip a tooth off and nearly impossible to get second hand as it is such a common thing so all the goods one have gone. Over $1000 bucks to repair. My mates cost him and he isnt that rough with it. Depends on what you are going to use it for if really want to do some rock hopping then you wont go past a patrol. The LN106's started in 88 and the same shape followed all the way through till 97 but there are different codes eg petrol, diesel. There is some thing with all the different types of codes but not sure what you would look for on the net unless you tryed www.redbook.com.au Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 498420

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Wednesday, May 02, 2007 at 23:33

Wednesday, May 02, 2007 at 23:33
how many k's from a tankful Stephen?
I have had 4 diesel Hiluxes including one 2.8 turbo (the best economy) and none got anywhere near 9litres/100km even on the highway (maybe the TD would have at 90kmh?) The N/A were flat out to do 90 to 110.
Whats the secret? I would be suprised if anyone could get 10 on sand though?
FollowupID: 498610

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Thursday, May 03, 2007 at 08:01

Thursday, May 03, 2007 at 08:01
Hi there fisho, I pretty well got that all the time. If I kept it under 100 or at 100 I could manage 9 thats with out towing also. If I had camper on back and was sitting on 100 it would use 11. I have been to stockton beach and filled up at Lavis Lane servo then gone onto beach come out at the same spot and refilled before hitting the freeway and was calculated at 10. Maybe I have been lucky and the sand has not been as boggy as other days. Even 4wdriving on some tag along tours and stuff might have hit 11 once or twice but ususally tens. I seem to be lucky with fuel for some reason not sure if its where I fill up or not. Have heard some people say they get more or less klms depending on where they fill up. Why I dont know but seems to be a general coment. I just got 12.8 out of the prado for a week running around Penrith (previous post tuesday 1st) 3.4V6. Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 498640

Reply By: madfisher - Wednesday, May 02, 2007 at 12:07

Wednesday, May 02, 2007 at 12:07
Bear in mind if you do a fuel pump or a set of injectors all your savings go up in smoke. The bigger the diesel the more reliable they are and the more sence they make. The diff in fuel economy between 2.8 diesel hilux and a 22r is about 2.5 l per 100ks, BUT you have to service a 2.8 at least every 4000ks if you want it to last, the 22r will get by on 10000k intervals.
In the long run their is not much diff but the diesel is better off road but a slug on road
Remember condition condition condition is every thing, be a bit flexible and you will get a better buy
Goodluck Pete
AnswerID: 237377

Follow Up By: jono98 - Wednesday, May 02, 2007 at 13:42

Wednesday, May 02, 2007 at 13:42
Thanks everyone for the info. So my impression was the diesel engines will way outlast petrol, which is one reason for my going for them. Is this really the case?

Also, RE - the more regular servicing, is that just a matter of 4k oil changes, which I can do myself in between the full 10k services by a qualified mechanic?
FollowupID: 498425

Follow Up By: mike w (WA) - Wednesday, May 02, 2007 at 15:04

Wednesday, May 02, 2007 at 15:04
For the rodeo, oil change every 5000 (DIY), oil and filter every 10,000. (DIY). No fancy electronics or injector timing (on mine atleast) to adjust, makes it easy. Just make sure you service as per the log book, that way you cant go wrong.

FollowupID: 498443

Follow Up By: madfisher - Wednesday, May 02, 2007 at 21:57

Wednesday, May 02, 2007 at 21:57
Jono how long a engine lasts depends on how its been serviced and how its been driven. I have heard of isuzu v6s and most toyota petrol motors doing in excess of 400000ks, while I have heard of plenty of 4 cylinder diesels not making 200000ks.
The lower stressed the motor is generally the longer they last.
See if you can find a copy of the Dog and Lemon Guide in newsagents, it is written by mechanics not journos
Big diesels last a very long time eg 4.2 toyotas and Nissans easily do 500000ks.

My mate has got a Hino concrete aggi that has done 15000 hours and still going

FollowupID: 498590

Reply By: banjodog - Wednesday, May 02, 2007 at 12:56

Wednesday, May 02, 2007 at 12:56
Have you thought about the Land Rover Defender style dual cab 2.5L diesel. Has good cabin space and a good size tray - sorry, I can't comment on fuel economy but I believe it's around what you're looking for - 10L/100Km.

Also take heed what said above about the repair costs of diesel engines - might be cheaper to run on a weekly basis but open your wallet wide for repairs.

I have a 1984 Hilux diesel and the fuel pump ( finally ) failed just last Thursday - going to cost well over $1,000.00 today when I pick it up from the repairer - and in realty the whole car is not worth much more than that on the open market.

So choose wisely and weigh up the purchase price of a petrol engine as against the ongoing servicing and repair bills of a diesel engine of that age you're looking at.

Buying a diesel vehicle might be cheaper to fill up but can make a grown man cry to shell out lots of cash to keep it on the road. If you're able to research the service history on the vehicle you're considering buying would be a good thing too – things like the fuel pump and injectors may have already been replaced in recent times.

AnswerID: 237384

Follow Up By: The Landy - Wednesday, May 02, 2007 at 22:31

Wednesday, May 02, 2007 at 22:31
Go the Landy!
FollowupID: 498596

Reply By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Wednesday, May 02, 2007 at 13:09

Wednesday, May 02, 2007 at 13:09
Shame it wasnt a month ago could have sold you mine. Went for 10k SR5 with 290 on it had every service every reciept including wiper blades since brand new. Oil and filter done every 4k and all documented and all Toyota parts. If getting the 2.8D in a hilux oil changes are vital and get documentation otherwise walk. Anybody can change the oil and filter 5 mins before you look at it. This really goes for all diesels but especially hilux's bad for throwing a bearing if oil hasnt been done. Regards Steve M
AnswerID: 237387

Follow Up By: Pnut (cns) - Wednesday, May 02, 2007 at 13:46

Wednesday, May 02, 2007 at 13:46
Agree with Stephen here.
I would put emphasis on service history over economy any day if I were in your shoes. Of all models available in that era, there's buggar all difference in fuel use.
If you had a choice of Stephens old lux for example, or , say, a rodeo that is a few years newer, and low k's, BUT, only the first few services documented, what would you choose for peace of mind?
I'd be knocking on Stephens door.......

Pnut
FollowupID: 498426

Follow Up By: madfisher - Wednesday, May 02, 2007 at 22:08

Wednesday, May 02, 2007 at 22:08
Actually it is not a bad idea to get a mechanic to remove the sump if buying a diesel you can then get a better idea of service history. Heard a recent case of a 2.8 where the sump plug was removed and nothing came out
FollowupID: 498591

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Wednesday, May 02, 2007 at 23:42

Wednesday, May 02, 2007 at 23:42
thats a great idea if your buying a car Mad, but if I was selling one (and anyone in their right mind) I would LMAO if someone wanted to pull my car apart before they bought it!
Would you allow it? obviously he wouldnt want to use your mechanic, so it would be a stranger doing it.
FollowupID: 498612

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Thursday, May 03, 2007 at 08:06

Thursday, May 03, 2007 at 08:06
Im with fisho on this one, no way some clown/mechanic or other wise would be pulling my sump apart to check it. No hope in hell of that happening. I had some clown wanted me to try the wiper squirters out to see if they worked I told him they did. I had just washed and polished it and cleaned all the windows so wasnt about to spray soapy crap all over the windscreen. He wasnt impressed that I wouldn't use them. Told him to come back the next week before I wash it and he can try them out. He was a time waster anyway. Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 498642

Follow Up By: The Landy - Thursday, May 03, 2007 at 11:43

Thursday, May 03, 2007 at 11:43
Well depends on what you intend to do with the vehicle. In my case I actually looked for a vehicle where the engine, drive lines etc were worn and needed replacing because that is what I intended to do with the vehicle in any case.

I wanted to bring it up to my specs as it is going to be used for remote outback travel. I wasn't going to trust any service history in preference to pulling the whole thing apart and putting it back together so you know it is done properly.

I'm sure not everyone will go this way, but if it is to be used for remote travel there are two options, buy new, or pull it apart to make sure there are no surprises before you are in the middle of no-where.

The reason we went (back) to a 10 year old vehicle, previously had a Td5 110, was to get away from electronically controlled vehicles....

FollowupID: 498687

Reply By: Gerhardp1 - Wednesday, May 02, 2007 at 16:36

Wednesday, May 02, 2007 at 16:36
You should also consider the Rodeo petrol 2.6 4 cylinder variant.

They will have more power than their diesel counterparts, and will do 700,000k plus if serviced properly. Same body.

Someone said the 3.2 V6 was very thirsty, but that is not exactly true - if driven moderately, the 3.2 is not bad on fuel. The 3.5, on the other hand, is definately an oil company friend.

But as people have said, good luck finding a loved one....
AnswerID: 237434

Follow Up By: madfisher - Wednesday, May 02, 2007 at 22:20

Wednesday, May 02, 2007 at 22:20
The 2.6 isuzu motor is a chrome bore motor same as large trucks.
In Jacks the 3.5 is more economical than the 3.2 because you do not have to rev them. My 3.5 copes with skip shifts with ease eg 1st, 3rd , 5th.
When I picked it up we covered 400ks in 4 hours (SAle to Cooma) for 53lts and I later discovered all the tyres were 22lb( no wonder it rode well lol) . For a 158 kw motor
I am happy with this
FollowupID: 498593

Reply By: The Landy - Wednesday, May 02, 2007 at 22:25

Wednesday, May 02, 2007 at 22:25
Go the Landy 130 Twin Cab, bit of imagination and you can do anything with it...

I'm getting around 11.5/12.5 on average and it weighs in around 3,100 kg in touring mode.

AnswerID: 237555