My Cobb Cooking experiance
Submitted: Monday, May 14, 2007 at 04:52
Ozymacca
I bought this cobb cooker from the Anaconda adventure store for $229 after reading about it in some 4x4 magazines & Exploroz so I thought I would give it a go, mate either Macca can
cook on any thing or this thing is a ripper so little cost to run it (ie)
3 heat beads - scones done in 24 min
6 heat beads - mixed vegs cooked in 1hr 15min
7 heat beads - 1.7 kg stuffed chook cooked in 2 hours I put 250mil of VB beer in the mote on this one best chook I have ever tasted
8 heat beads - 2.6kg leg Lamb with vegs with wine put in the mote below 3hrs all times could have been less if the bloody photographer stopped taking the lid of to take photos
I tell you what im impressed what a handy little item this could compliment any barbecue or a handy little picnic and camping item & the best thing is its 90% of it is made of marine grade stainless Macca loves stainless steel
Cheers to you all
from Macca
I have pasted a link below if you wish to view some of my cooking pics:
www.flickr.com/photos/8188630@N03/
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Reply By: Member - Wayne & Cheryl (QLD) - Monday, May 14, 2007 at 07:35
Monday, May 14, 2007 at 07:35
Totally agree re the Cobb. We have had one for two years now. Use it on all our camping trips. Great for making bread and having scrumptious fresh bread available when in remote areas. Great to be able to put a meal on, catch up on chores around
camp without having to worry about fires, etc. Meal ready when you are finished setting up
camp, and you can sit down and enjoy.
Uses very little fuel, easy to use. lightweight, versatile. We have done meatloaves, quiches, cakes, scones, roasts, and more.
Have it all packed and ready to go to the Cape in 4 weeks time. One of the first things to go in the camper trailer!
Cheryl
Follow Up By: Ozymacca - Monday, May 14, 2007 at 15:59
Monday, May 14, 2007 at 15:59
Hi Wayne & Cheryl
I have had roast meals cooked in the
camp oven & cooked in the Cobb. I enjoyed them both. But the cobb cooker is so simple to use & lightweight so now I have 2 of them in my caravan. I hope you have a great trip to the Cape.
Cheers Macca
Reply By: Scoof - Monday, May 14, 2007 at 09:04
Monday, May 14, 2007 at 09:04
Hi sounds like a great bit of kit, it's about the only way I would use VB , LOL.
Scoof
Follow Up By: D-Jack - Monday, May 14, 2007 at 10:58
Monday, May 14, 2007 at 10:58
Imagine how much better it would have tasted with Coopers Pale Ale!
Follow Up By: Scoof - Monday, May 14, 2007 at 12:10
Monday, May 14, 2007 at 12:10
Yeh why didn't I think of that.At least you could drink the rest of the can.
Scoof
Follow Up By: Ozymacca - Monday, May 14, 2007 at 16:59
Monday, May 14, 2007 at 16:59
D-Jack & Scoof I'm open to any thing mate I will try Coopers Pale Ale next time I will let you know how that turns out.
Cheers Macca
Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Monday, May 14, 2007 at 19:34
Monday, May 14, 2007 at 19:34
VB makes good burley too.
Follow Up By: D-Jack - Monday, May 14, 2007 at 19:57
Monday, May 14, 2007 at 19:57
Eat lots of bread and sardines, then drink a can of VB which makes you throw up and presto, burley!
Follow Up By: Ozymacca - Tuesday, May 15, 2007 at 06:52
Tuesday, May 15, 2007 at 06:52
I think I better change what beer I drink. What must I try.
Cheers Macca
Reply By: Transient - Monday, May 14, 2007 at 09:45
Monday, May 14, 2007 at 09:45
My God Macca !! Are you good on the tooth or what !!??
Follow Up By: Ozymacca - Monday, May 14, 2007 at 17:02
Monday, May 14, 2007 at 17:02
Transient I do try my best for my mates they always come back for a feed so it must be okay.
Cheers Macca
Reply By: Red Frog - Vic - Monday, May 14, 2007 at 10:33
Monday, May 14, 2007 at 10:33
That's all great looking tucker Macca, My God you have a great collection of spits there, wouldn't mind getting an invite to one of your bbq's..lol
Follow Up By: Ozymacca - Monday, May 14, 2007 at 15:44
Monday, May 14, 2007 at 15:44
Red frog would you believe that 11 months ago I did not know how to boil a egg. But once I started cooking I enjoyed it. Cooking is not that hard. Preparation is the hardest & cleaning up is a bit of a pain. The best thing that I purchased is a digital temp probe from a catering supply
shop I rely on this a fair bit when cooking spit roasts or cobb cooking. I had one of those dial indicator ones from the barbecue
shop I found them not very accurate.
Cheers Macca
Follow Up By: Red Frog - Vic - Monday, May 14, 2007 at 19:44
Monday, May 14, 2007 at 19:44
Yes with a spit collection like that you obviously enjoy outdoor cooking. I have a weber digital wireless probe, the probe is inserted and stays in the meet while cooking, the temp is picked up and displayed by the remote receiver that you can place anywhere handy, I love it.
Reply By: Member - Crazy Dog (QLD) - Monday, May 14, 2007 at 19:18
Monday, May 14, 2007 at 19:18
Yo Ozymacca,
Is your
scone mix a premix or do u do it yourself...
They look yummo!!!
Grrr!!!
Follow Up By: Ozymacca - Monday, May 14, 2007 at 20:19
Monday, May 14, 2007 at 20:19
Crazy Dog I used the
recipes from the cobb cookbook the only thing I added was sultanas I got to have my sultanas.
Lemonade Scones
3 cups self-raising flour
1 cup lemonade
1 cup cream
pinch of salt
1 teaspoon baking powder
Sieve dry ingredients into a large bowl.make a
well in the centre and pour in the cream and lemonade.Mix with a knife until mixture combines.Turn dough onto a lightly floured surface and pat into shape.Using a glass cut into shape.Spray grill and bake for 7-10 minutes.Turn over and bake for a further 8 minutes.
USE THREE HEAT BEADS
I hope this helps
Cheers Macca
Reply By: Bill from Custom Boat Loaders- Monday, May 14, 2007 at 21:11
Monday, May 14, 2007 at 21:11
Hi Tom,
On your recommendation we bought one today - at Caloundra now - so will contact you for the finer points of cooking our first leg of lamb!!
cHEERS
Di
Follow Up By: Ozymacca - Tuesday, May 15, 2007 at 06:50
Tuesday, May 15, 2007 at 06:50
Hi Di & Bill the only thing I do different to the cobb cookbook is I turn the leg of lamb after 20 minutes. Then after another 20 minutes I turn it once more then I leave it. The cobb cookbook says roasting rate is approximately 1hour 30min per kilo I would have to say that is about right for lamb cooking. Another tip I found in the book was to put a light coating of olive oil on the leg then roll it in French onion soup mix. I buy the no frills French onion soup mix & now I roll all my red meat that I spit roast or bake in the soup mix I love it.
Di & Bill my anderson plug is wired up to the back of my patrol with a 50amp circuit breaker ready for my fully electric custom boat loader that you are in the process of making for me. I itching to load my boat onto my rack, hitching my caravan up & make sure I have heat beads for my cobbs & take of for a few months.
Cheers Macca
Reply By: tuck 01 - Tuesday, May 15, 2007 at 10:48
Tuesday, May 15, 2007 at 10:48
I'm sure everyone with their glowing reports of meals done in the Cobb are fair dinkum, but our's has not left the shed after the first few goes with it.
Takes up too much room when we go away, heat beads crumbled to dust on a high country trip, too slow.
It's the plastic base model. If anyone wants it for $125, it's yours.
I'm about 15 minutes west of Geelong.
Reply By: Outa Bounds - Thursday, May 17, 2007 at 11:53
Thursday, May 17, 2007 at 11:53
We recently purchased one ourselves, got a free griddle too - bargain, about to give it a go doing a beef roast at
home this arvo.
Always thought about getting a
camp oven but so often fires aren't allowed in certain
places etc etc. Should be great at least for cooking damper on the road because I can't live without bread!
Follow Up By: Love The Outback - Thursday, May 17, 2007 at 15:08
Thursday, May 17, 2007 at 15:08
I bake bread from my own mixture in the Cobb twice a week, even I have top of the range Kleenmaid self-cleanable oven. I find the taste of bread far better than bread baked on gas or electricity.