Tyre pressure monitors....

Submitted: Friday, May 18, 2007 at 18:18
ThreadID: 45628 Views:4026 Replies:10 FollowUps:9
Who uses them and have you found them useful?

Landy...

Reply By: True Blue - Friday, May 18, 2007 at 18:41

Friday, May 18, 2007 at 18:41
Landy.

I've got the Smartire system with the full display which I have had since early this year. We got this one because it was expandable so that we can monitor the tyre pressures on our van as well as the car.

I have found it accurate to within 1 psi, it's easy to monitor and programme, especially when you going off road and airing down and up etc. It's very quick and easy to re programme it with your pressure variations. Otherwise, in normal touring conditions, say cruising along, you won't hear a beep out of it unless there is a problem. As far as I'm concerned it does exactly what I wanted a tyre pressure monitoring system to do.

It's not only perfectly suited to those wanting to do some serious touring but is also invaluable to any motorist who wants to know what the tyres are doing and goes along way towards saving tyres which might have a slow leak, not to mention blow outs and their consequences.

I can't think of a single negative with the system, apart from the price. I got mine on special at one of the 4WD shows and was pretty close, cost wise, to two new tyres. I think they are a great 'investment'.

True Blue.
AnswerID: 240845

Follow Up By: KiwiAngler - Friday, May 18, 2007 at 23:21

Friday, May 18, 2007 at 23:21
I had the same experince with the smartyre and also purchased it for its expandability . I had 5 senders on the 4x4 and 2 on my boat trailer and 6 on my caravan

That way no mater what I had hooked up to the 4x4 I could moniitir

You may note the use of the word "had' in my reply

This system was fitted to my Toyo that was stolen about 18 moinths ago - But I am about to install same setup in my new Nissan :-)

The only 'negative; is that you MUST remeber to tell the tire guys to watch out for the sender when they change tires. I had a new Cooper case put on and even though I tiold the srvice guy he still manged to 'forget' and broke the strap that holds the sender onto the rim - he paid for anew one but I had to go back to have it refitted
FollowupID: 501812

Follow Up By: True Blue - Friday, May 18, 2007 at 23:56

Friday, May 18, 2007 at 23:56
Oh yeah Kiwi, I can relate to that alright.

Just before easter I had some new rubber put on and told the guy about 10 times to be careful with the sensor. I told him exactly where it was, the size, etc.
"No worries, I've done heaps of these". Sure enough, the first 3 tyres, no problem.
The fourth came along and I suddenly heard him swearing and cursing himself.
I didn't have to ask what happened, I knew straight away that by the time he got to tyre number 4, he had forgotten. Sure the tyre crowd had to pay, but I had to do a little bit of chasing around, and go back the next day to have the job completed.
There certainly are some cowboys in that trade, from my experience.

T.B.
FollowupID: 501820

Reply By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Friday, May 18, 2007 at 18:50

Friday, May 18, 2007 at 18:50
Baz ,

Forplayful , a fellow forumite has them . He came with us into the desert west of Alice last year . H e spent the entire trip worried about each change in the temperature of his tires and really , it meant nothing 99% of the time .

I think it is a bit anal really .

Willie .
AnswerID: 240848

Follow Up By: KiwiAngler - Friday, May 18, 2007 at 23:32

Friday, May 18, 2007 at 23:32
You may consider it a 'bit anal' ( interesting sig pic, one could almost detect a common theme here :-)) but many don't - in fact the USA NHTSA have a scheduled 'roll out' whereby all new, light vehicles, will have tire monitoring systems fitted 100% compliance by end of 2007.

It sounds like Forplayful may have fallen into the trap that w e all do when we first get the units and either set the tolerances too close (and therefore gettting excess warnings) or just dang loved to fiddle with his new toy :-)

Once u have had the gear in for a while and set the tolerances sensibly they become 'seamless' and it just runs in the background until either the temp goes up or pressure comes down
FollowupID: 501815

Follow Up By: Ron George - Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 08:36

Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 08:36
Definitely... "ANAL" Q, how many do-hickeys does one need to get from point A to point B??? A. Bugger all really!!!! And who really gives a flying fig about what the "Septics"get up to over in the good ol US of A, after all they did give us good old Iraq-an roll... But isn`t that just typical of the American psych, they just "dang love to fiddle!!! Cheers RG.
FollowupID: 501836

Follow Up By: The Landy - Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 08:50

Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 08:50
Thanks, a trap to fall into with these tupes of 'gadgets', but if it prevents a tyre shredding you preserve a spare, especially if in remote areas.

FollowupID: 501841

Reply By: Member - GeeTee (NT) - Friday, May 18, 2007 at 19:01

Friday, May 18, 2007 at 19:01
Yep I use them. I have a "Tyre Alert" set up.
I had it in the Prado for a few years and have just transfered it over to the new Nissan Patrol.
Works great, keeps you across temp and pressure. Saved a tyre on the Gibb River Road by indicating pressure loss before it ran flat. I had it off and replaced (rock spike) before it went flat.
AnswerID: 240851

Follow Up By: The Landy - Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 08:49

Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 08:49
Thanks GeeTee, I guess that is why I am looking at one. Save one tyre and it has paid for itself. also in remote country you want to preserve your tyres...if you shred one you loose a spare.

FollowupID: 501839

Reply By: lloydb - Friday, May 18, 2007 at 20:25

Friday, May 18, 2007 at 20:25
Just fitted one of these systems.

www.wtpms.com

It works very well only problem is there was no sender for the spare so will just have to do a four wheel rotation from now on unless I want to change all the senders around.

It was the best price of any system I could find.
$295 on ebay.
Fitted it all myself using r & r beadbreaker.

Lloyd B.
AnswerID: 240874

Reply By: Wayne (NSW) - Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 00:37

Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 00:37
Baz,

I think Vic has a set now, I know Peter has a set that he had put on last year just before he did the Canning with me. The unit that Peter has is not cheap, but it has 6 sending units so that he has them in the spare tyres as well as the four on the vehicle.

They will not stop you getting a flat, but will let you know if there is a change in pressure or temperature.

Wayne, one of the new drivers had a set but it was a cheap version and didn't work very well. A lot of high temp and air pressure readings that were way out.

I don't know what make of tyre pressure monitor they have but can find out if you want.

AnswerID: 240925

Follow Up By: The Landy - Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 08:56

Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 08:56
Hi Wayne

Thanks, I'd be interested to know what typre. I guess like anything you get what you pay for.

I'm canvassing the idea of putting one on to ensure you have every chase of 'preserving' spares when remote, once shredded it is useless.

I checked with Julie (GDT) the other day regarding your last trip....appears still room so if planning doesn't work out down the Hay River area might look to join you guys.

At this stage looking into going has far as Camp 16 from Batton Hill and return...but depends on whether a mate is coming..

FollowupID: 501842

Reply By: Willem - Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 00:53

Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 00:53
Next thing on the market will be a device that tells you if your stress levels are up or down...hahahaha. They should be of good use to Truck drivers

Not for me. I just drive and get there without worrying if the LH front tyre has 2psi more in it than the RH rear tyre.

AnswerID: 240927

Follow Up By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 07:12

Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 07:12
I personly cant see the point either.

all the best
FollowupID: 501826

Follow Up By: The Landy - Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 08:59

Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 08:59
I understand what you are saying....I was looking at it from the point of view of damaging a tyre because you have detected the 'flat' soon enough.......usually I'd expect you would....

Baz
FollowupID: 501843

Reply By: Derek from Affordable Batteries & Radiators - Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 09:30

Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 09:30
Hi Landy

Have a look at post 44829.

a href=" Sensatyre" target="EOF" class="lbg">Site Link vs Smartire

We have 20 sets on order for trial and then may stock them as a product line.

Cost should be $250.00 for monitor and set of 4 sensors and $25.00 per extra sensor.

There are 6 forum members on the waiting list and I can ask them to contact you to tell you what they think of them once they have tested them out.

Derek.

AnswerID: 240953

Reply By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 10:33

Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 10:33
To me its just another gadget and I have enough trouble with a GPS lol ...... Currently while I don't travel as much as many on this site I do check tyres (including spares) and fluid levels in the morning also when I stop for a break (which is often) I do a walk around the vehicle and check my tyres visually.

So far this has served me well.

Mind you if it saves a tyre from shredding maybe worth the $$$$ as saving one tyre its payed for itself really :).

Then again I thought the inline water level thingie was just another gadget but I now have that, just got to fit it.

If you feel comfortable using them and feel more at ease "get it" does not matter what others think, that don't have them really.

AnswerID: 240964

Reply By: Member - Drew T (Melbourne) - Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 15:29

Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 15:29
I've written off 2 tyres now .. one near dalhousie springs & one on the gibb river road. both times i didn't detect the leak quickly enough & one less spare tyre decreases my safety margin (.... it's almost impossible to buy non-standard sizes outside major cities)
I am going to buy TPMS (via Derek above) for 3 reasons:
- with tyres at about $300 each, these systems pay for themselves by saving just 1 or 2 tyres
- when on more remote trips I am happy to fix leaks but not have tyres destroyed .. as i said, this decreases your safety margin
- i use 17" tyres (cooper ATR) & you can't readily buy replacement tyres except in the bigger cities .. the same applies to the brands/sizes on many other modern 4WD

I would argue that your tyres are one of the most vulnerable parts of your 4WD when offroad & a TPMS (whatever brand) seems really cheap insurance to me
AnswerID: 241013

Reply By: acdc - Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 21:06

Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 21:06
The landy,
I have a Sensatyre kit on my hilux, been on there for 2 years now with no problems and saved ! 2 tyres from destruction.
Looked at other brands but battery life was very short, Sensatyre has 10 year battery life.
AnswerID: 241078