Anyone have/had an 80 series pov pack?

Submitted: Wednesday, May 23, 2007 at 05:53
ThreadID: 45778 Views:7546 Replies:14 FollowUps:12
I recently bought a pov pack 80 series (split rims, vinly trim etc.)
Can anyone tell me more about it? mine's 1997
eg.
-does it have a lsd? is there a way to tell lsd's from non-lsd's?
-can I replace the instrument cluster with one that has a tacho without too much bother? (I know I can't put a petrol one in and mine being electronic it would be a pain to put a cable one in)
-being originally from the mines in western aus (I think) are any of the gear/transfer/diff ratios different from normal? (it feels awfully low geared, by my estimates doing at least 3k in fifth at 100kph) If so, is there a cheap way of reversing this...

My guess is it may have a limited slip diff because today it just got up a crazy slope that my friend's troopy can't (he doesn't have a lsd but his prob may also be that his suspension is very stiff i.e. on undulating ground I think his wheels come off the ground easier).
With regard to wheels I've already made the mistake of buying 15x7 sunraysia's and seeing my rear calipers scape the inside of the rims... Now have a set of 80series GXL standard rims (16x8) Are these illegal for me cause I don't have solid flares? (it has rubber things) Also did I pay too much for the gxl rims? (I paid $650 for four rims and almost unroadworthy tyres .. the wrecker could tell I really wanted them...!)
Now that I have 4 16x8's and a split as a spare, how bad is it to use the split (I'm guessing different diameter) on the back if I have a flat (if I have a lsd)
Has anyone put a turbo on one like this? is it worth it (performance vs. increased fuel consumption) maybe cause mine's not as noisy inside but it feels slower than my friend's 86 troopy...
My vehicle has this red 'dust' everywhere and it's almost impossible to remove (in aircon vents, around headlights, mirrors) From this info can anyone tell what type of mine it was at and what this red stuff is? Is there an easy way to clean it off...?
Also, where do these vehicles tend to rust first?
Any other suggested modifications?

Wow that's a lot of q's! lol
...any info on any of this would be greatly appreciated!
Thanks in advance :)

Reply By: thomasando - Wednesday, May 23, 2007 at 07:08

Wednesday, May 23, 2007 at 07:08
Hey Dicko2.

I have a 97 poverty pack, hope I can help a bit.

I believe they have an LSD in the rear - don't know how to tell the difference if it is or not, though.

I think it's possible to fit a tacho out of diesel a GXL, however from memory it's a bit of stuffing around - I think I remember reading on a forum (can't remember which one, sorry) that it was possible, but hard. If you do this you'll also need probably an overhead console from a GXL for the sub tank fuel gauge. My uncle has a 96 povo pack and he fitted a cluster of after market gauges immediately to the left of his instrument cluster. Not sure of exact details, but I know he has a tacho in there. He was looking at the GXL option but it was going to be expensive and difficult.

Not sure about the gearing, or the red dust, or the rust (mine doesn't have any) sorry.

My uncle put a turbo onto his. I can't answer whether or not it was worth it, but put it this way it goes better than mine! I don't think the fuel consumption increases a whole lot. It may improve in some cases. Check out Outer Limits Toyota forum. Do a bit of searching around there and hopefully you'll find the info you want about turbo's.
AnswerID: 241768

Reply By: Twigiee - Wednesday, May 23, 2007 at 07:39

Wednesday, May 23, 2007 at 07:39
Hi Dicko
-check the drain plug for your rear diff - my GXL 80 (and most vehicles) has a label stating 'LSD oil only'.
-Red dirt would generally mean an iron ore or bauxite mine (aluminium) i'd be guessing its from the norther part of WA.
-3k at 100kph is about right. I usually cruise at 90kph and the tacko reads 2800 from memory.
-i believe the rule on wheels is no more than 2in larger than standard to be legal. this is based on the original rolling diameter of the tyre.
- lots of people have put turbo's on these - search the post archives. Denco make a good kit. In my opinion you need to be careful with boost as the big end bearings in the 1hz tend to let go - especially with too much boost i.e. greater than 9psi, i change mine every 100k.

Twigiee

AnswerID: 241772

Reply By: Member - lyndon K (SA) - Wednesday, May 23, 2007 at 07:40

Wednesday, May 23, 2007 at 07:40
Re the LSD, i think if you jack up both rear wheels, have the car in 2 wd ofcourse.
Start the car and put it in gear, you should be able to stop either of the wheels by hand without to much trouble, if you can't it has a LSD. Don't complain if you tear your hand of in the process!!!!!!!!!!!!. But have done this myself with no problems.
Cheers Lyndon
Now is the only time you own
Decide now what you will,
Place faith not in tomorrow
For the clock may then be still

AnswerID: 241774

Reply By: age - Wednesday, May 23, 2007 at 08:05

Wednesday, May 23, 2007 at 08:05
Dicko2

Re LSD - Usually a code/number on the compliance plate will indicate which diff is in them - if you can get a hold of a manual, it will show a decoding chart for which number corresponds to which diff set ups (5 and 9 in an axle code I think - one is LSD the other not)

Rust - back door rubbers around glass - seem to hold water. If you are doing a lot of beach, watch where the sill protectors/trims are located on the door sills. Surface rust around locating holes. Bottom seam/weld in door will swell and seams around bottom of body shell/door frame as well. Welds on roof join will pox out as well especially with a roof rack

Red Dust - compressed air and elbow grease - pull apart trims/vents/tail lights etc and wipe off what you can

Wheels - yep you were touched bad

A
AnswerID: 241788

Reply By: Steve from Top End Explorer Tours - Wednesday, May 23, 2007 at 08:42

Wednesday, May 23, 2007 at 08:42
Hey Dicko..

The rear diff is exactly the same as a,75/78/79,100, so yes it is a LSD.

Put a external Taco on, The rims are fine, No need for a Turbo.

These things are Bullet proof, stop worrying.

Cheers Steve.
AnswerID: 241794

Follow Up By: Steve from Top End Explorer Tours - Wednesday, May 23, 2007 at 09:22

Wednesday, May 23, 2007 at 09:22
Get yourself a proper spare as well.

Steve.
FollowupID: 502735

Reply By: Footloose - Wednesday, May 23, 2007 at 08:51

Wednesday, May 23, 2007 at 08:51
I have owned a 97 povo pack for 10 years. They're brilliant in the bush, but a slug around town.
They have an LSD which wears out after around 30K km. It then becomes inneffective. The LSD can be repaired for around $350
How many km has it done ? Putting a turbo on them is fine if the engine has relatively low km.
If its a high mileage unit, flush the engine and consider doing your injectors and pump..
Don't worry about the tacho route unless you are prepared to swap alternators to get a sender unit.
Using a different wheel/tyre combo on road probably isn't legal, and is sus at the least. In the bush you can use square wheels and no tyre to get you to the main track, but its a no no on the tar.
Try Nappisan and warm water and some elbow grease to get rid of the red stain.
Be prepared to spend $ on it if its come from the mines. Also look out for it rusting, its a pretty nasty cocktail around mines.
Have fun.

AnswerID: 241795

Reply By: Drew - Karratha - Wednesday, May 23, 2007 at 15:38

Wednesday, May 23, 2007 at 15:38
Hi Richard
I have a 97 Povo pack and bought shallow offset 16x7 alloy rims (CSA Stampede - $150 each secondhand, but as new) with 265/75/16 tyres on them - they line up exactly with the edge of the body - so no legal issues...
Yes, it has an LSD, but no it doesnt work very well (from new)
Drew
AnswerID: 241855

Reply By: Dicko2 - Wednesday, May 23, 2007 at 16:42

Wednesday, May 23, 2007 at 16:42
Thanks for all the info so far :) Didn't realise so many people read these forums! It's great...!

It's done 190000kms. Is this equivalent to 300000 highway k's cause it's been in the mines? It's definitely got worn synchros on 1st 2nd and 3rd...

Are timing belts done every 100k on these? is there any other preventative maintence that could be required?

What usually goes wrong with the ex-mine vehicles...?

;) Rich

ps I have another unrelated question, why does my friend's 86 troopy have a vacuum hose connected to the back of the alternator??
AnswerID: 241867

Follow Up By: Steve from Top End Explorer Tours - Wednesday, May 23, 2007 at 16:54

Wednesday, May 23, 2007 at 16:54
Yes, don't know and Yes

Steve.
FollowupID: 502828

Follow Up By: Dicko2 - Wednesday, May 23, 2007 at 18:27

Wednesday, May 23, 2007 at 18:27
So I take it a yes the forum's great :)
and yes timing belts on 1hz's should be done every 100k? cause I read on another thread something that made it sound like 150k...
FollowupID: 502865

Follow Up By: Steve from Top End Explorer Tours - Wednesday, May 23, 2007 at 18:47

Wednesday, May 23, 2007 at 18:47
Yes timing belt ever 100k for 80 series and 78 /79 100 series 150k .

Don't know troubles with mine trucks.

Yes 2h have vacuum hose on alternator

Cheers Steve.
FollowupID: 502869

Follow Up By: Dicko2 - Wednesday, May 23, 2007 at 19:57

Wednesday, May 23, 2007 at 19:57
Hope you don't mind me asking, but isn't the 1hz in the 80 series and the others too? Why 100k in 80 and 150 in others...
;) Rich
FollowupID: 502890

Follow Up By: Steve from Top End Explorer Tours - Wednesday, May 23, 2007 at 20:12

Wednesday, May 23, 2007 at 20:12
Its just the specs, I had an 80 series and it said 100k, I have 3 100 series and a 78 series it says 150k.

Steve.
FollowupID: 502896

Reply By: ross - Wednesday, May 23, 2007 at 17:24

Wednesday, May 23, 2007 at 17:24
I wouldnt assume that it came from the mines. Once you leave the coastal plains of WA ,pretty well everywhere is red dust country.\
It could be a farmers old vehicle or an Education dept vehicle.

Its done 300000 klms and if it was going to die would have done so by now,so its obviously had some servicing done.

The easiest way to tell if it has LSD is to look at the aluminium plate.
Where it says axle it should have K085 .
K= 9.5 inch diff,
08= 4.11 ratio,
5= 4 spider gears and LSD.

Being a 97 it may have a 4.3 diff ratio

It would be easier to fit an aftermaket tacho. Im surprised it has no tacho.
Other models have the pick up on the rear of the fuel pump.

Whats the red stuff?LOL ,I always thought it was iron oxide
AnswerID: 241875

Follow Up By: Dicko2 - Wednesday, May 23, 2007 at 18:25

Wednesday, May 23, 2007 at 18:25

If I want it to cruise more comfortably on the highway, do you know if there's an easy way to alter a gear ratio somewhere, maybe in the gearbox? Even though everything's working I'm thinking of pulling the gearbox out for a number of reasons:
-At the moment it drives like a rotary when you pull off in 1st, you have to be very nice with the clutch or the shuddering sounds/feels awful, so I was guessing this may be to do with the clutch/flywheel maybe needing replacement/machining
-synchro on 1 2 and 3 is pretty crap, so thinking of doing something about that
-have to drain oil anyway cause front seal on transfer is leaking. Actually I don't even know cause this is my first 4wd and I haven't looked, does the transfer and gearbox share the same oil?

So yeah, maybe there are other things that I should replace in the gearbox while I have it apart?

Rich

PS Sorry I shouldn't have said maybe from the mines, when I was at QLD transport I saw the rego history and first owner was BHP in WA...

Anyone know of what goes wrong first in ex mining vehicles?
FollowupID: 502863

Follow Up By: ross - Thursday, May 24, 2007 at 00:23

Thursday, May 24, 2007 at 00:23
The easiest way to achieve a ratio change is a rubber overdrive which is larger tyres.
The next best way is to change the diff ratio which has to be done to 2 diffs.
The gearbox and t/case use the same type of oil(castrol vx 80 ) but shouldnt be sharing it unless the seal has gone.
There is also special sets of gears from Marks Adapters for the t/case which give a lower 1st and a higher 5th.
Many owners take off in second gear and only use 1st for steep hills and parking bays

On the aluminum plate there is also the type of gearbox. It should be a H55f.
These are not a bad box ,the later model used a type based on a Hilux design which is not so good.
If you have the gearbox out ,you might as well do the t/case and clutch and rear main seal in the engine.
Some clutch shudder is not uncommon to landcruisers.

The 1st thing to wrong with mining vehicles is the gearbox from people changing too fast (destroys the synchros),but at 300000 klms even looked after gearboxes can need rebuilds.
FollowupID: 502974

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Friday, May 25, 2007 at 22:13

Friday, May 25, 2007 at 22:13
Could be BHP exploration which wouldnt be to bad. To answer your question what gos wrong with mine vehcles
- Rust if there from the Goldfields they are run through mud created from water 10x saltier than sea water and depending on the site never cleaned
- Radiators block up solid with mud to the radiator
- Above condition causes heads to crack - No one care the vehicle boils its head off after getting pulled up
- Brakes, brake linesdiscs pads, load proportioning valves all carrode, get chewed out etc etc
- pinion seals get chewed out by mud
- Low range levers get rusted in solid
- power steering lines corrode through
- springs crack and snap

The list gos on.................
FollowupID: 503383

Reply By: Crackles - Wednesday, May 23, 2007 at 18:28

Wednesday, May 23, 2007 at 18:28
Dick so many questions & all of which have been answered on this great site for Cruiser owners. lcool Site is currently down at the moment while they change servers but for tech information it's a great resource.
Cheers Craig................

AnswerID: 241894

Reply By: crfan - Thursday, May 24, 2007 at 00:02

Thursday, May 24, 2007 at 00:02
Hi Dicko,
Rule of thumb is never buy a ex mine vehicle ever, unless you know some at the mine that knows the vehicle .
I have a 97 pov pac fitted a turbo at 97000 kms done a 195000kms now probs
(I am a mech with 25 yrs exp.Another mate also a mech fitted a turb to a troopy same motor a 1hzj with around 200000kms on the clock replaced the bigends after a 100000kms they still looked like new)we both said we would have left them in if we could have seen them before pulling them out.
I am a toyota fan but the LSD(all 80s had them) doesnt last more than about 400000kms(sorry).
The price you paid for the rims is a good price for genuine GXL rims if they are in good nick but you are better paying for alloys.
you can not fit a factory tacho unless you use the factory gxl fuel pump and dash pod but then you need the over head console so you still have your sub tank fuel gauge.
keep the 80 when you have more cash buy the 100s pov pac it has the tacho/door pockets/cup holders/power socket in the rear/ etc etc.
hope this helps
PB..
AnswerID: 241966

Follow Up By: ross - Thursday, May 24, 2007 at 00:09

Thursday, May 24, 2007 at 00:09
I wouldnt call it a rule of the thumb. Some astute buyers get some real bargains from the auctions bidding on mine vehicles.

It all depends on the price paid. Im talking about vehicles from open cut mines not underground.

There is some polished POS out there that have been privately owned and go 30000 klms without an oil change,something that would never happen in a mine or outback vehicle.
FollowupID: 502972

Follow Up By: crfan - Thursday, May 24, 2007 at 00:19

Thursday, May 24, 2007 at 00:19
Yeh ross thats sort of what i said unless you know the vehicle dont buy it .I am from wa and know a lot of mechs on the mines it would scare you to here of some of the the thungs that happen(you may know as well ) with the vehicles out there (under ground as you said ) But if you dont know the back ground dont touch it same goes for private vehicles unless you want to take a chance .
FollowupID: 502973

Reply By: Muzzgit [WA] - Thursday, May 24, 2007 at 00:08

Thursday, May 24, 2007 at 00:08
Dicko, it might seem a bit high but 2850rpm at 110k is normal for a manual 5 speed diesel. Just imagine having an early diesel cruiser or patrol without fifth gear!!!

Firstly, have the radiator and block/head pressure checked and have the car checked out by a good mechanic. If all is OK, then just a few jobs and your away.

I would have the wheel bearings looked at and get the timing belt replaced NOW, don't assume it's been done! Drop all oils and filters and grease up anything that will take a grease gun.

AnswerID: 241967

Reply By: jon p qld - Thursday, May 24, 2007 at 21:27

Thursday, May 24, 2007 at 21:27
G'day Richard
I also have a 97 povety pack 80 series. Mine was an ex nsw police vehicle that I've owned for 9 yrs. Yes it has an LSD, it also has a genuine tacho as part of the instrument cluster, and at 110kph is doing 2700rpm. I thought that all the latter 80 series povety packs had the GXL instrument cluster so I'm surprised to read that they didn't. Anyway they are a great vehicle I don't think I'll ever part with mine.
Enjoy it regards Jon
AnswerID: 242161

Follow Up By: Dicko2 - Friday, May 25, 2007 at 09:24

Friday, May 25, 2007 at 09:24
Jon,
Yeah that's why I've been scratching my head .. mine does more like 90kph @ 2700rpm :(

If it did 110 @ 2700 I wouldn't be complaining at all... lol
Rich
FollowupID: 503212

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Thursday, May 24, 2007 at 22:18

Thursday, May 24, 2007 at 22:18
- It has an LSD but it would no longer work the reason it kicked the troopys but is it has twice the wheel travel (30cmvs 16 cm)
- why reoplace the instuments - fuel gauge temp gauge - what more do you need ?
- ratios should be standard in 5th you should get around 40kph per thousand RPM eg 3000 rpm is 120kph
- You bought 15 inch rims?? what were you thinking most tyres in 15 inch are 6 ply and best for bitumen use
- without flares even 235 tyres stick out a bit so yea your probably lillegal

- your splitty should be the same diameter as 265x75 so that is fine - if you have 285 tyres then they are smaller diameter
- they rust around the rear window
AnswerID: 242171