Off road caravans

Submitted: Wednesday, May 23, 2007 at 19:26
ThreadID: 45801 Views:5350 Replies:5 FollowUps:6
I am seriously considering replacing my Jayco Freedom and buying an off road caravans, but as it will be my last purchase ( superannuation paypou running low) I want to get a good one at a reasonable price. Avertised in the trader section is a 20ft built by Whitelines Rv. Has anyone any experience of these either good or bad.
Thanks, Geoff

Reply By: GeoffMc - Wednesday, May 23, 2007 at 19:35

Wednesday, May 23, 2007 at 19:35
Mate, if "it will be my last purchase ( superannuation payout running low)". then (IMHO) you only have 3 choices in true offroad cararavans.

Bushtracker www.bushtracker.com/

Kedron www.kedroncaravans.com/

Phoenix www.phoenixcaravans.com.au/

AnswerID: 241907

Follow Up By: Transient - Wednesday, May 23, 2007 at 20:12

Wednesday, May 23, 2007 at 20:12
Surely Trakmaster would have to be included in that list (maybe at the top).

www.trakmaster.com.au

FollowupID: 502897

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Wednesday, May 23, 2007 at 23:47

Wednesday, May 23, 2007 at 23:47
From my research, GeoffMc has the right order. A good one is an investment that holds it value. A lightly built cheaper caravan will have depreciated considerably after knocking around Australia. Something to consider when you're down to your last $$s.

And Geoff, don't be afraid of buying a sturdy van second hand. Better to buy quality in and older van than put the same money into a shining new van full of pretty features with a structure that may not last the distance.

FollowupID: 502969

Reply By: Member - lyndon K (SA) - Wednesday, May 23, 2007 at 19:36

Wednesday, May 23, 2007 at 19:36
Hi Geoff
Don't know your price range?. Tell people, then they know your price bracket.
Have looked at a couple, not in the market for one ourselves.
For a smaller van you can't go past the Kimberly Karavan, about 70k optioned.
Full size van, bush tracker,know people who have done some serious 4X4 with there's, cost dunno.
Cheers Lyndon
Now is the only time you own
Decide now what you will,
Place faith not in tomorrow
For the clock may then be still

AnswerID: 241908

Follow Up By: 13gef13 - Wednesday, May 23, 2007 at 19:53

Wednesday, May 23, 2007 at 19:53
I was hoping to keep it below about $60k but would like an 18ft or bigger, don't intend to do too much rough stuff but would like to do the Plenty, Tanam, Gunbarrel type of roads. Also I tow with a GUlll patrol ute and am limited to 2.5 tonne towed weight.
Thanks, Geoff
FollowupID: 502889

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Thursday, May 24, 2007 at 00:03

Thursday, May 24, 2007 at 00:03
We have been towing our 18' Bushtracker with a 2.2 TARE with a 3 ltr auto Patrol - so laden were well over it's limits, so i see your dilemma. Have you considered an off-road camper trailer?

From what i have been reading on the forums and from people's trip diaries recently, you'll meet some pretty rough stuff on the roads you mention (no personal experience of them as yet).

FollowupID: 502971

Reply By: titl4 - Wednesday, May 23, 2007 at 20:41

Wednesday, May 23, 2007 at 20:41
IMO if want 18+ ft with a 2500kg limit the offroaders mentioned previously are out. A 'dirt roader' with a good independent suspension should still take you where you want to go even if a little more slowly. There's any number out there - the Golf Outback is an example.
AnswerID: 241930

Reply By: Member - Ian W (NSW) - Thursday, May 24, 2007 at 06:22

Thursday, May 24, 2007 at 06:22
Have a look at the Trakmaster Site and ask them for an info pack. Of the generally recognised builders of "off road vans" I reckon they are closest to what your looking for from the weight/cost perspective.

They are the only people I know off who will give you any realistic weight guides etc: Their info pack is quite informative in comparison to what you will receive from other manufacturers.

I got an info pack from Bushtracker that was full of hyperbole but did not tell me much other than I should visit the factory where all would be revealed. Trakmaster included a comprehensive price guide that allowed you to calculate the cost of various add ons to their base prices.

AnswerID: 241974

Follow Up By: flappa - Thursday, May 24, 2007 at 11:36

Thursday, May 24, 2007 at 11:36
When my parents did all the research on buying an offroad van, the Bushtracker was high on their list.

Bushtracker would not talk to them at all over the phone. Would give no indication on price, or specs , or suitablility to be towed (by parents GQ Patrol).

They had to visit the factory to get ANY info.

Parents ended up buying a Phoenix and have been pretty happy with it , EXCEPT, Phoenix have changed hands approx 3-4 years ago. the original owners made very fine vans. Apparently things are NOT so great at present.

That is NOT to say Phoenix dont still make a good van , do your own homework , as I believe the current vans are VERY different to the old ones.
FollowupID: 503012

Follow Up By: Member - Ian W (NSW) - Thursday, May 24, 2007 at 17:07

Thursday, May 24, 2007 at 17:07
Yeah Flappa,
You came right out and said what I was skirting around. I reckon Bushtracker are probably not interested in expending much effort untill they get you in a headlock at the factory.

FollowupID: 503071

Reply By: TroopyTracker - Thursday, May 24, 2007 at 19:34

Thursday, May 24, 2007 at 19:34

Keeping an 18ft plus van built by any of the top four off road vans (mentioned above) under 2500kgs is not going to happen. You will either have to change vehicles/buy smaller/ or buy something with lighter construction/less toys.

If you need real off road and choose to go the smaller van option, Trackmaster seem to have this corner of the market covered(though the others will do it). A single axle 15 or 16fter built by these guys should be able to be kept under your tow limit with afew hundred kgs to spare. This would be my choice though depends on how long you want to spend away in the van/where you plan on going.

If you choose to go for a lighter built van-be carefull. It's a mine field out there. Plenty of the quality (very few) on road vans are very close in weight to there off road cousins-especially if all the same gear is added (solar/batteries/water tanks etc etc). As for the rest of them-there is some stuff being served up as quality that is nothing but thrown together c%$^$%p. Going down this road you can set yourself up to go off with the vehicle for a week or two at a time, doing loops into the rough stuff. Not the same but a good option for many.

Good Luck,

Matt

AnswerID: 242101