new patrol engine

Submitted: Thursday, May 24, 2007 at 18:58
ThreadID: 45847 Views:4031 Replies:6 FollowUps:13
our local nissan dealer came in today to pick up a vehicle we had done some work to.
having a yack the subject of the new motor came up.
according to mr local nissan the new motor has been released
its the 3ltr with common rail.
i hear you all saying yeh we know that but thats the thing there is no new bigger motor in the pipeline not untill at least the end of 2008.
even then he still dosnt know what there doing.
there was talk about the same motor as in the new navara but with 2 extra cylinders but they have stopped thinking about that now.
he also mentioned that theres only 4oo utes left and none planned for australia till 2008 and there 3 ltr now
dont blame me if its all bull its only what i was told

Reply By: jeffwa - Thursday, May 24, 2007 at 20:42

Thursday, May 24, 2007 at 20:42
Ok....

Good thinking there Mr Nissan.

So let's just imagine I have actually got some money to spend and want a new 4x4.

So I go to the Nissan yard and I can have a great big 4wd with a 3.0L 4 Cyclinder Holden Astra motor or I can go down the road to Toyota and get a great big 4wd with a twin turbo common rail V8 engine....

Hmmm, let me think.....

Good luck to em' if they think that's going to be a good move.
AnswerID: 242147

Reply By: montana - Thursday, May 24, 2007 at 21:24

Thursday, May 24, 2007 at 21:24
yep the cruisers are doing great,only 4 gearbox failures so far in nsw.i know one owner and his was definitly not abuse.
AnswerID: 242158

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Thursday, May 24, 2007 at 21:50

Thursday, May 24, 2007 at 21:50
There blowing holes in no 1 & 8 pistons as well !!.
FollowupID: 503155

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, May 24, 2007 at 22:52

Thursday, May 24, 2007 at 22:52
Doesnt the future of 4wd's look so golden.... grenades all round.
FollowupID: 503172

Follow Up By: SARocks - Friday, May 25, 2007 at 09:34

Friday, May 25, 2007 at 09:34
one here completely seized waiting for a tow truck 1240k
the guy was spitting blood he was so unhappy
phoned the Tojo dealer who told him he better phone a tow truck and what was he calling him for.
FollowupID: 503217

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, May 25, 2007 at 12:22

Friday, May 25, 2007 at 12:22
your saying it only did 1240klms?
FollowupID: 503247

Follow Up By: SARocks - Saturday, May 26, 2007 at 11:32

Saturday, May 26, 2007 at 11:32
correct 1240 kilometres
more than 1000
less than 2000
the guy was on the point of a heart attack and calmed him down and arranged a tilting tray top vehicle to make the pickup
FollowupID: 503456

Reply By: F4Phantom - Thursday, May 24, 2007 at 23:48

Thursday, May 24, 2007 at 23:48
I know this topic has been dicussed endlessly before but with modern common rail you dont need a v8 to get the power and torque. A 3.0L if it is a good engine in reliability, should be fine, it will be easy to equal the same NM as the v8 and probably the kw too. Reliability is the key issue not engine size. also fuel economy.
AnswerID: 242202

Follow Up By: Leroy - Friday, May 25, 2007 at 08:30

Friday, May 25, 2007 at 08:30
I was driving a new 3.0td hilux for the past few days. Those new motors are fantastic. Lots more torque than my 3.0l Patrol but then it's prob a bit heavier to lug around.

Leroy
FollowupID: 503205

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, May 25, 2007 at 08:39

Friday, May 25, 2007 at 08:39
I'm old fashioned! I know these new sewing-machine engines are great on power, torque and economy......the stats are there for all to see.

BUT.....in the real world I reckon I'll stick with the old adage of "there is no substitute for cubic inches".

Thanks all the same, but I'll keep my 6.5 V8 Chev for the time being........
FollowupID: 503207

Follow Up By: F4Phantom - Friday, May 25, 2007 at 11:07

Friday, May 25, 2007 at 11:07
I am old fashioned too, I cant stand oil pumps to get oil around the engine, I much perfer spoon dippers, so much more reliable, why did we ever change. And dont get me started on fuel injection. Carbys all the way so that we get the benefit of more fuel consumption, less power, more pollution, more time and money tuning the carby and less engine life. I agree, old technology is superior.

If you dont understand how common rail works, just ask someone, I promise you wont be made to feel a little silly when it comes to the fact that common rail is an apsolute revolution in diesels and old style diesels are in a completly different class. A 6.5L diesel will not give you the power or torque of the new BMW 3.0L diesel. If you want to bring up reliability, fine but remember when your engine was new it was far from perfect, also there is not alot of evidence to suggest a common rail is less reliable than an old crappy diesel.
FollowupID: 503238

Reply By: Robin Miller - Friday, May 25, 2007 at 08:48

Friday, May 25, 2007 at 08:48
The new V8 fitted to the Nissan pathfinder in USA will do me nicely thank you - although if its a knobled as cruiser petrol V8 , I'll just stick to existing 4800 big lazy straight 6 motor.

AnswerID: 242233

Follow Up By: tomjones83 - Friday, May 25, 2007 at 09:31

Friday, May 25, 2007 at 09:31
Im with you there Robin,

Fuel efficiency doesnt phase me in the slightest... i am more interested in something silent to ride in until you let the horses out with the right foot.

i know it is all a matter of preference but there is nothing like the feeling of a big six in the patrol kicking back to 2nd gear at 70 clicks to merge onto a highway... no waiting for turbos to spool or anything like that! petrol all the way!!
FollowupID: 503215

Reply By: Tonbo - Friday, May 25, 2007 at 10:23

Friday, May 25, 2007 at 10:23
Just wait till the global warming / climate change rego tax comes in on all vehicles over 6 cylinders, even higher for the petrol guzzlers. Its only a matter of time.

I will be laughing all the way to the bank with my CRD 2.5 turbo intercooled miser, 9.6 litres / 100kms : )

I wonder how a hybrid powered vehicle will handle the rough stuff, basically sitting on a hydrogen bomb !
AnswerID: 242257

Follow Up By: F4Phantom - Friday, May 25, 2007 at 11:00

Friday, May 25, 2007 at 11:00
Hybrid or hydrogen? Hybrid electric diesels are the way of the future. Hydrogen on the other hand is a load of crap, it is the stupidest idea I have ever heard of. Hydrogen is not an energy source, its an energy carrier - and not a very good energy carrier. Electric cars mixed with diesel engines is the closest thing we have to the ultimate power plant technology.
FollowupID: 503233

Follow Up By: Tonbo - Friday, May 25, 2007 at 14:34

Friday, May 25, 2007 at 14:34
Jeez got out of bed on the wrong side ?

Hybrid " a blend or mix of different breeds "

That could be a Hydrogen fuel cell / electric motor, Hydrogen gas is highly flamable, hence the bomb comment. Perhaps in the future it may be different due to technology

" its only a matter of TIME" = meaning "in the future"

So thanks out of date jet fighter for reminding me why I dont visit this site and dont renew my membership. Sorry for having a different view.

Dont worry be happy
Tonbo
FollowupID: 503270

Follow Up By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Friday, May 25, 2007 at 22:27

Friday, May 25, 2007 at 22:27
Crikey Tonbo

"So thanks out of date jet fighter for reminding me why I dont visit this site and dont renew my membership. Sorry for having a different view."

Every day on here someone has a shot at someone about something...just the other day i was told by a certain member (who i think misunderstood me) to F off if i couldnt take a joke (also called me a prick i might add...lol.) both our posts got deleted......but dosnt meen im not going to renew my membership....just shrug it off and move on......Cheers .....Dave
FollowupID: 503391

Follow Up By: F4Phantom - Saturday, May 26, 2007 at 00:21

Saturday, May 26, 2007 at 00:21
Tonbo... sorry to come accros like that, I didnt mean you couldnt have a different view to me, but simply, if your view is different to mine, its wrong.

I like iron pigs, even if they are out of date.
FollowupID: 503424

Reply By: Redback - Friday, May 25, 2007 at 10:41

Friday, May 25, 2007 at 10:41
Oh dear that's not good ;-))

AnswerID: 242263