fridge freezer for camping

Submitted: Sunday, May 27, 2007 at 19:28
ThreadID: 45955 Views:4459 Replies:10 FollowUps:23
I'm in the middle of a trying to decide which 12 volt fridge would be best suited for myself and the 3 kids.

I currently have a 62 litre evakool ice box, and it manages fine. But, I hate having to tip out the water twice daily and come July we are heading on a road trip and getting ice daily may not be all that simple.

So I have had a look at the fridge freezers. I like the engel 40, as it can have that extra bit attached to the top, turning it into a 60litre when you need it. But it doesn't have the separate freezer. Then I'm wondering if i really need the freezer.

Is there anyone who has both compartments, and do you actually use the freezer section? I have noticed that evakool do a motorised fridge freezer and I'm swaying towards it, especially the mate esky looking one.

help me to decide if you can...thnx

oh yeah, generators to run them, how much and how good are the?

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Sunday, May 27, 2007 at 19:39

Sunday, May 27, 2007 at 19:39
G'day mate.......a lot of the answers to your questions will relate to how long you are going to be away from "civilisation" for. If you're going to be able to get supplies every few days then you won't need a freezer, as such. If you're going to be on the move most days AND if you have some means of powering your fridge other than the standard starter battery (eg: either a dual battery or a portable unit), then you won't need a generator/solar panel.

We are a family of 5 and we regularly do extended trips throughout this big land. On the few occasions when we know we will be away from good quality supplies for more than about 4 days, I crank-up the Engel to "FREEZE" and we take an esky for the stuff that nneds to be cool (as in "refrigerated"). The Engel holds our frozen meat supplies etc as well as 4 frozen ice bricks. These bricks are alternated every day (2 in the freezer and 2 in the esky). Also, each morning, we atke out the frozen meat needed for that evening and it goes in the esky....helps to keep the fridge-stuff cool and thaws out during the day ready for cooking.

I have a gennie, but it only gets chucked in if we know we are gunna be camped-up at the same spot for several days and will have no other way of keeping the fridge's power supply up to scratch. If we are travelling every day or 2nd day, the camper's batteries are kept up to scratch via the alternator.

AnswerID: 242746

Follow Up By: lynxxy - Sunday, May 27, 2007 at 19:50

Sunday, May 27, 2007 at 19:50
Thanks Roachie for your response, I really appreciate it.

What size Engel do you have? When using it in freeze, can you unplug it for a little while to give your battery a rest.

My camper trailer has a battery in it, and it charges up when I drive. How long can you last with the fridge going from your campervan and is the fridge on for 24 hours.

What size esky do you have?

I really like your ideas on have the two one for freezing and the other - your drinks fridge. Is the Engel frozen down the bottom only?

lyn
FollowupID: 503754

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Sunday, May 27, 2007 at 20:02

Sunday, May 27, 2007 at 20:02
Lyn,
We actually have 2 Engels.....a 40 litre in the back of the Patrol and an 80 litre upright in the camper trailer. The one in the Patrol runs off a 120a/h Fullriver AGM battery and it stays on 24/7, 365 days of the year. These AGM's do not need a ret as such, but I do not like to see it's voltage drop too far.....not even to 12 volts. It is easy to keep the aux battery topped up when you are driving every day. It is used mainly for cold drinks, milk etc.

The camper's fridge also runs 24/7/365 off 2x 105a/h Super Charge Gold Series SLA batteries. It has a tiny freezer at the top that can only hold a couple of packets of sausages etc.

Both the Patrol and camper spend a lot of time here at home during the week, waiting to be used on weekends etc. I keep both Patrol and camper plugged into 240 volts here at home. Both units have a 15 amp 3 stage battery charger, so when they're at home the fridges are running off the 240v and the respective batteries are being charged all the time. The 3 stage charger ensures the batteries are never over-charged either.

On those extended trips I was talking about, we still only have the 2 fridges BUT we also take the old 55 litre esky (nothing flash...one of those blue ones with a white lid). It is that esky which acts LIKE a fridge for us.

In your case, having the large esky already, you're already half-way there. You just need to get a Engel (or similar) of about 32 or 40 litre capacity to use as your deep freeze. It would depend on how many people you're catering for and how long you're gunna be away from civilisation etc.

Hope this helps....

FollowupID: 503764

Follow Up By: lynxxy - Sunday, May 27, 2007 at 20:13

Sunday, May 27, 2007 at 20:13
Yeah Roachie,

I was thinking the 40 or 32 Engel, combined with my big 62ltr esky I should be right. Ill have to scale down on the my clothes etc, but at least ill have cold wine, fresh meat etc. Im only feeding myself and the 3 kids, but I like the idea of plugging it into the 240volts when I get to a caravan park.

Whoa, your battery system appears to be complicated.

FollowupID: 503769

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Sunday, May 27, 2007 at 20:29

Sunday, May 27, 2007 at 20:29
Quote: "Whoa, your battery system appears to be complicated"....hahahaha

And it's about to get a bit more complex. I'm just about to hook up a 3rd battery in the Patrol. It's just gunna be permanently wired to the existing starting battery; the 6.5 Chev needs a bit of grunt to get it fired up on these cooler mornings, so I figure 1500 CCA has gotta be better than 750CCA...hahaha

That'll mean I have 5 batteries (6 if I include the little 7a/h jobbie I use to power the flouro light around the campfire) to keep charged up.......
FollowupID: 503774

Follow Up By: lynxxy - Tuesday, May 29, 2007 at 21:51

Tuesday, May 29, 2007 at 21:51
hey Roachie

I have decided that the Engel 40 Ltr will do the trick. But havent purchased it yet. It comes with an insulation style cover.

But I also asked the local Camp shop about batteries and for around $100 I will be getting one of those big batteries that charge your car battery and the Fridge will run off it for 72 hours non stop. The battery can be charged via 240 volt. Wish I could remember what they were called, but it can apparently be charged by the car 12 volt socket as well?

The 40 ltr fridge I feel wont be big enough, but I dont think ill loose too much space from my 62 ltre ice box...especially now I wont be needing to have some spare space for the ice!

thanks for your assistance and suggestions...it was very well received.

lyn
FollowupID: 504276

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, May 29, 2007 at 22:14

Tuesday, May 29, 2007 at 22:14
G'day Lyn,

I'm very curious about what you will get in the way of a "big battery" for $100- that will run your fridge for 72 hours AND charge your car battery....(or maybe you meant "charge off your car battery"?) Either way, I'm sceptical that you'll get much of a deal for $100-. If you do, all good and well; great.

You see, in my opinion, to run a 40 litre Engel for 72 hours at a nominal ambient temp of, let's say, around 20oC, I am of the opinion you'd need something like my Fullriver AGM 120a/h......and they're about $260-!! Of course it depends on a lot of different factors. A lot of this stuff fits the category of "suck it and see". However, that is the reason for forums like this......hopefully other people have already "wasted" their hard-earned cash to suffer mistakes and then tell people like you of their story, so that you don't have to waste your money.

I strongly recommend finding out what you'll be getting for your $100- and getting back to us on here. I don't claim to be any sort of expert; but I have wasted more than my fair share of cash, buying stuff that wasn't fit for purpose......then having to shell-out more dosh to get what I should've got in the 1st place!!!!
FollowupID: 504292

Follow Up By: lynxxy - Tuesday, May 29, 2007 at 22:40

Tuesday, May 29, 2007 at 22:40
Ok,

The battery has jump leads attached, but sorry I cant think of the brand. Its actually $120, and another friend of mine has the same/similiar battery and they run their autofridge off it. It has 2 x 12 volt sockets in it, as well as a lead to 240volt.

The name of your recommended battery does sound familiar, and I promise ill get back to you with the actual brand. Im buying off a reputable dealer whom I have trusted time and time again. I like you, are sick and tired of buying things that dont work then spending more money to get the things that do work, hence why i continue to purchase off this retailer.

watch this space for more info....
FollowupID: 504312

Reply By: SD - Sunday, May 27, 2007 at 20:09

Sunday, May 27, 2007 at 20:09
Gidday mate, In my opinion I would only consider two fridges, Trailblaza & Engel, Trailblaza are a good rugged fridge but it is fussy on 240volt, built like a brick s/h but has given me a fair amount of grief elec wise 12v & 240 however warranty support was great. Engel is built light like a fridge but has never failed me out in the sticks. Now when I do a big trip ( about a month) I use 60l trailblaza as freezer and 60L Engel as fridge, Gent set, 1 option Honda EU01 or EU02. When I used only the trailblaza I would freeze cryvaced meat in bottom say 6 inches then hinged board over the top with holes drilled for cold flow., Then cold items on top of board. Worked a treat and set at the right temp bottom says frozen & top cold. Board hinged so only have to unload half fridge to get to "freezer". My brother has an Explorer fridge freezer and swears by it, not bad looking either. One last tip. When parked up at night and running of battery, even if you have turned fridge off, don't trust it. Pull the plug every night every time or if you are 500k from anyone you could find yourself in a world of hurt.... experience speaking, Cheers.
AnswerID: 242756

Follow Up By: Snowbunny - Sunday, May 27, 2007 at 20:41

Sunday, May 27, 2007 at 20:41
Ever heard of dual batteries....?
FollowupID: 503778

Follow Up By: SD - Sunday, May 27, 2007 at 22:03

Sunday, May 27, 2007 at 22:03
Mate..... you don't deserve a reply
FollowupID: 503806

Follow Up By: Red Frog - Vic - Sunday, May 27, 2007 at 22:10

Sunday, May 27, 2007 at 22:10
So what happened SD ?
FollowupID: 503809

Follow Up By: lynxxy - Monday, May 28, 2007 at 08:38

Monday, May 28, 2007 at 08:38
excellant ideas and thank you I will try very hard not to forget that pull the plug suggestion.

I forgot one night too.

had to wait for the ranger to come around and start me up...then I got booked for not wearing a seat belt on the beach....

ahhh what a great weekend that was.
FollowupID: 503861

Reply By: Brew69(SA) - Sunday, May 27, 2007 at 20:22

Sunday, May 27, 2007 at 20:22
A fridge is like tv mate. You can never have a big enough one. We have a 70lt and wish we had a 110lt. Thats even when there are 2 of us.
AnswerID: 242759

Reply By: Jimbo Vic - Sunday, May 27, 2007 at 20:32

Sunday, May 27, 2007 at 20:32
There is IMHO only one choice.

Waeco CF80. Can be set up as all Fridge, or stick the dividers in and it has a fridge and freezer compartment. It is a versatile unit.

Can be had from The Fridgeshop for about a Gorilla ($1,000).

Please note I previously owned an Engel 39L and it was wonderful. I just couldn't justify the cost of another Engel in the bigger size.

Having owned both, let me state.....

They both keep things cold.

Choose your fridge on the interior dersign that suits you rather than brand IMHO.

AnswerID: 242760

Follow Up By: lynxxy - Monday, May 28, 2007 at 08:18

Monday, May 28, 2007 at 08:18
Hi Jim,

BCf mentioned that they get a lot of returns from the waeco fridges. Im a bit concerned the thing will break down on me while out west with the kids.

The prices between them have eased somewhat, but to tell you the truth I prefer the inside of the Waeco, with its light and seperate dairy section.

Just concerned with their mechanical ability.

I wonder if anyone has first hand breakdowns and what is it that is supposed to break down.

lyn
FollowupID: 503854

Follow Up By: Ford Rodeo - Monday, May 28, 2007 at 08:58

Monday, May 28, 2007 at 08:58
I agree with Jimbo. Weaco CF80 is a winner. Works a treat. Never skipped a beat in 3 years. Holds plenty of Dark and Stormy's and food aswell. (got to have your priorities in order!!!LOL)
One thing I would suggest, is to go bigger rather than smaller. Have had lots of mates upsize, not one downsize.

Phill

FollowupID: 503869

Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Monday, May 28, 2007 at 19:45

Monday, May 28, 2007 at 19:45
"Im a bit concerned the thing will break down on me while out west with the kids. "
Bollocks.
With that attitude you better not take the car of the highway.
FollowupID: 503997

Follow Up By: lynxxy - Tuesday, May 29, 2007 at 21:43

Tuesday, May 29, 2007 at 21:43
brew 69

yep ok...

Great advice...thanks for that.

FollowupID: 504271

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Sunday, May 27, 2007 at 20:58

Sunday, May 27, 2007 at 20:58
We have two engels, used one as a freezer for a while, but didn't like it. With a freezer, in the morning we had to decide what we were having for dinner so it could thaw - we'd rather choose this at beer o'clock when we know how hungry we are and what the firwood is like. We don't precook meals either, and now own a vacuum pack machine - so our meat is all vacuum packed and refrigerated. The only thing I miss is frozen brocolli and cauliflower.

So one 40l engel fridge does us - even when we were carting the kids around with us.
AnswerID: 242771

Follow Up By: Gronk - Sunday, May 27, 2007 at 21:40

Sunday, May 27, 2007 at 21:40
I have a Waeco 60ltr and have just bought a vacuum machine !!

How long can you leave the vacuumed meat in the bottom of a fridge ( set at 0deg ) ???? 7 days ?? 15 ??
FollowupID: 503795

Reply By: Derek from Affordable Batteries & Radiators - Sunday, May 27, 2007 at 21:43

Sunday, May 27, 2007 at 21:43
Hi Lynxxy

Have a look at my new fridge/freezer. Fridge/Freezer

It is a genuine 51.7L and I have measured the 40L Engel (36,556L) and the 57L Engel combi (54.405L).

I have run tests and you can view these here. Test

Derek
AnswerID: 242780

Follow Up By: Red Frog - Vic - Sunday, May 27, 2007 at 22:16

Sunday, May 27, 2007 at 22:16
any fridge full of 4xxxx is good
FollowupID: 503811

Follow Up By: Derek from Affordable Batteries & Radiators - Monday, May 28, 2007 at 07:53

Monday, May 28, 2007 at 07:53
The good thing is that there are 15 in the freezer so you get to drink them quick.
FollowupID: 503849

Follow Up By: lynxxy - Monday, May 28, 2007 at 08:35

Monday, May 28, 2007 at 08:35
yeah Derek, it looks like an interesting option.

Can you take that partition out and make it one big fridge?

I like the engel and using a board with holes as one person on this forum suggested. That way I dont have to decide what to have for dinner until beer oclock and thats important...or at least wine oclock...dont drink beer.

But the evakool acts like a normal esky too, meaning you wont need the cover.
FollowupID: 503858

Follow Up By: Derek from Affordable Batteries & Radiators - Monday, May 28, 2007 at 14:54

Monday, May 28, 2007 at 14:54
Hi lynxxy

The fixed freezer is part of the design and uses a twin wall evaporator core. This is part of the design for low power consumption.
FollowupID: 503946

Reply By: Richard W (NSW) - Monday, May 28, 2007 at 08:46

Monday, May 28, 2007 at 08:46
I've got a 20L Two Zone on the 40L Engel.
I believe you can run the Engel as a freezer and the Two Zone as a fridge although I've never used it this way. I keep the coldies and meat in the bottom and vegies and other stuff in the top. Power is a 100AH AGM battery which will run the fridge for about 3 days without charging and average opening of the fridge. For an extended stay in caravan parks I take an extension cord and get a powered site.
AnswerID: 242834

Follow Up By: lynxxy - Monday, May 28, 2007 at 22:10

Monday, May 28, 2007 at 22:10
Im wanting to get the 2 zone too. ARB were saying that using the top zone will drag a bit out of your motor and you need to be carefull not to burn it out?

Does it stay as cold or do you need to turn it up further?
FollowupID: 504032

Reply By: Sea-Dog - Monday, May 28, 2007 at 11:15

Monday, May 28, 2007 at 11:15
With 3 kids you will soon be wanting a big fridge... in short go for a big one if you have room for it..

I have run the Waeco 80 for a few years as I had the wife + 3... and it did us just fine...

Now that the kids are deciding whether or not to come along on trips the fridge has spare room it is even better as I can fit more drinks in it..

For extended trips you will have to decided whether you want to run the fridge as a freezer and draw the extra power or have your meat cryovac so that it lasts longer..

My vote is the Waeco CF80.

AnswerID: 242860

Reply By: Member - Rotord - Monday, May 28, 2007 at 11:27

Monday, May 28, 2007 at 11:27
Hello Lynxxy

I have a 40ltr Engel with a Two Zone and , yes , you can run the bottom section as a freezer and the top section as a fridge . Simply remove the blue mat from the bottom of the Engel and put it in the bottom of the Two Zone , and set the temp control to neat max cooling . No real trouble running it off the car battery with a generator top up twice a day .
AnswerID: 242862

Reply By: Outa Bounds - Monday, May 28, 2007 at 15:10

Monday, May 28, 2007 at 15:10
Hi Lynxxy,

We have 2 young kids and have a 60L engel. It will fit enough food for a week away pretty much. I find that packing the meat in frozen it takes a few days to defrost (even when the fridge is on a relatively low setting). Have never used it in freezer mode, but even on low you have to be careful how you pack some stuff like tomatos as such veggies seem to be prone to freezer burn. We also recently got an evakool eski in which we put mainly drinks and some fridge stuff if need be.

The 80L engel just seemed too big for us, we had a 40L back when it was just the two of us.

With our old set up we found with 100Ah in batteries in the camper we had enough to power the engel and some night lights for about 4.5 days. Our new set up means the fridge is in the car - the draws were modified so the 60L sits nicely on a slide in place of the passenger side draw.

We did consider other brands but hubby finds it hard to go past the Engel, it has the good reputation and he particularly likes the rubber seals as opposed to foam.

Get a fridge - 40 / 60 / 80 depending on what you think suits and keep your evakool for the overflow or purely for drinks.
AnswerID: 242917

Follow Up By: lynxxy - Tuesday, May 29, 2007 at 22:04

Tuesday, May 29, 2007 at 22:04
Is your engel the fridge freezer dual component one?

They are rather expensive, and on top of that they are so heavy and you would need to get a slide fitted into the back of the car.

I would rather have something that me and the eldest could manage without too much difficulty, lifting it in and out of the car. moving it around the tent, etc eetc.

thanks for your help.
FollowupID: 504282

Follow Up By: Outa Bounds - Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 14:21

Wednesday, May 30, 2007 at 14:21
It can be used as a fridge or freezer but not both at once. We purchased the slide as well because as you mentioned otherwise hard to get access into it. We also found this with the 40L on a slide on top of the draw system, was a tad too high for easy access and awkward to open the lid all the way properly (back of an 80 series).
FollowupID: 504426