Metal Jerry Cans - Legal?

Submitted: Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 13:21
ThreadID: 46109 Views:4499 Replies:10 FollowUps:17
Guy at AutoOne tried to tell me today that steel Jerry Cans are illegal.
I know this forum is likely to produce a range of correct answers, but here goes ..Is this true?

Reply By: DIO - Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 13:22

Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 13:22
What sources did they state? Any at all? If not - just cods-wallop.
AnswerID: 243730

Follow Up By: Smudger - Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 13:27

Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 13:27
Should have said ..I'm inSydney. He didn't say who, where, when or why. Just stood theire being a font-of-knowledge. P'raps coz I wouldn't buy one of his plastic containers.
FollowupID: 504610

Follow Up By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 13:33

Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 13:33
Yep.

I'll translate for you:

"I don't have any metal ones so you can be sure they are a bad idea and the badder the idea I can describe the better"
FollowupID: 504611

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 13:23

Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 13:23
Tell him he's dreaming.

P.S.
He's also full of $hit

AnswerID: 243731

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 19:48

Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 19:48
Spot-on John,

The idiot obviously sells placcy jerries (nothing wrong them either by the way) and accordingly reckons that anything he doesn't sell is krap/illegal.

What a joke!!!!

I bet he sells driving lights , but not HIDs and will also tell you that HID driving lights are illegal too. hahaha
FollowupID: 504705

Reply By: 3.0turbob - Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 13:35

Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 13:35
Haven't heard they're illegal, but I have "heard" that you aren't supposed to have them on the side of camper trailer, incase of a side on collision they pose a fire/explosion threat. Makes sense I suppose. However I have mine on the sides of my camper trailer and they've never said anything at the rego checks, so I don't know if I'm legal or not.

Rob
AnswerID: 243737

Follow Up By: Smudger - Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 13:44

Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 13:44
Bugga!
That's double jeopardy for me ..I just bought 2, one for each side of my CT. P'raps I'll paint 'WATER" on the sides.
FollowupID: 504613

Follow Up By: Kev M (NSW) - Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 13:51

Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 13:51
More than buggar,
I have 3 jerries per side on my Trailer and can fit 6 across the front.

Kev

FollowupID: 504614

Follow Up By: Member - Karl - Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 15:51

Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 15:51
Haven't heard that one before - I can't see what the difference is between being on the side or rear. It would seem more likely that you would be hit from behind than the side.

Besides I don't think that being plastic or metal would make any differnce if they were struck by another vehicle in a colloision as they both would bust open.

I have heard that it is illegal for fuel jerry cans to be carried on the front of a vehicle - that is between the bull bar and the grill. When I heard this I thought who would be so stupid, then about three days later saw an old Cruiser with a group of backpackers in it and sure enough they had three jerries of petrol jammed between the bar and the grill. They could see the problem with this but were concerned why the old Cruiser was over heating.
FollowupID: 504648

Follow Up By: Gerhardp1 - Friday, Jun 01, 2007 at 00:17

Friday, Jun 01, 2007 at 00:17
We chatted with a camper trailer builder recently and were informed that new trailers aren't allowed to have cans on the side, but that doesn't affect older builds.

FollowupID: 504777

Reply By: Vince NSW - Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 13:50

Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 13:50
As the metal jerries will be used on a vehicle they are covered by the "Australian Dangerous Goods Code for the Transportation of goods by Road or Rail" (ADG code) Volume 6 of this code was in 2 volumes both about 1.5 inch thick. Vol 7 is STILL in the draft stage and has been for last 2-3 years, but jerry cans or any container for the cartage of DG must comply to the UN standard. All of the metal jerrys I have seen have the UN No on them. (Look arounf the rims for this) So he is full of BS.
Vince
AnswerID: 243741

Follow Up By: Member -Signman - Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 14:19

Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 14:19
Maybe we should have those 'Dangerous & Flammable Goods' plates affixed to the front & rear of our vehicles???
Or, if I've got the missus on board 'Hazardous Goods' !!!!!!!!!!!!
FollowupID: 504624

Follow Up By: Vince NSW - Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 16:32

Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 16:32
Signman
Only need to put DG Sinage up if you have more than 1000 lt. Are you saying the better half is that big ???
FollowupID: 504655

Follow Up By: Member -Signman - Friday, Jun 01, 2007 at 09:49

Friday, Jun 01, 2007 at 09:49
No mate- she ain't that big, just when she's driving across the dunes- she's 'hazardous'.
FollowupID: 504814

Reply By: flappa - Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 13:52

Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 13:52
I would suggest that "illegal" is a load of rubbish.

It could well be that certain Jerry Cans (Steel or Plastic) dont meet certain requirements to allow them to be filled with Fuel (I'm sure there is a certain ADR for that ?).

AnswerID: 243744

Follow Up By: shade10 - Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 14:28

Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 14:28
yes there is a certain ADR as an ex caltex employee i certainly know the rules but have forgotten the number. all approved containers have a UN no. and /orADR number
tell him to learn his job and AUST regs!!!
FollowupID: 504625

Reply By: Footloose - Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 14:46

Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 14:46
It's a load of Goldilocks !!!
AnswerID: 243757

Follow Up By: Mr Fawlty - Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 17:29

Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 17:29
Goldilocks??? Vass is diss? PMSL
FollowupID: 504667

Follow Up By: Footloose - Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 17:39

Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 17:39
Code. Just saves me having to remember how to type &^(*&^*^)*(^& :)))
FollowupID: 504670

Reply By: Crocabout - Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 15:22

Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 15:22
I used to own a service station in NSW, up until they developed corrosive resistant plastic's all you were allowed to use were metal containers. As long as they have an approval code or other stamped in them your sweet.
Croc
AnswerID: 243763

Reply By: Outa Bounds - Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 17:03

Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 17:03
Hubby recently brought a plastic one & I told him off because it's not lockable! I assumed metal for petrol. I guess maybe plastic ins't such a bad idea after all.
AnswerID: 243782

Follow Up By: Smudger - Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 20:59

Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 20:59
I reckon you've hit a real issue there O/B. The 2 reasons I decided to spend the extra (double) on metal jerry cans were:
1- Lockable. I'll chain mine to the CT with the lock through the cap.
2 - Less chance of holing or splitting on rough tracks.

And I s'pose to be honest,
3 - They look like proper ones too.
FollowupID: 504732

Follow Up By: Outa Bounds - Friday, Jun 01, 2007 at 05:32

Friday, Jun 01, 2007 at 05:32
Illegal is certainly the last thing that would come to mind. Should have asked the bloke why he sells them then, response would have been interesting! If he said for water you should have told him they would rust, he probably would have believed you.

I think his point was probably from hearing that it's illegal to carry petrol in a jerry can in the boot of a car - did he ask where you would be carrying it? Obviously he doesn't have any exposure to 4wding and camping.

Smudger I agree with all your points above, we've generally had metal ones in the past for all the above reasons, but have had plastic for water. Now with the plastic fuel one and the two water ones Hubby plans on lining the jerry holders with carpet because he can forsee a lot of rubbing and of course like you say more chance of breaking a container as a result.
FollowupID: 504781

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Friday, Jun 01, 2007 at 09:14

Friday, Jun 01, 2007 at 09:14
Outabounds, theres no perfect jerry can. The metal cans have their own set of potential problems. They also will rub through and hole on corrugations, and seams can split, and the paint inside can flake off, and the seals can leak. The cheapies have paper thin steel as well. I got rid of my metal cans and just use the plastic now.
FollowupID: 504801

Follow Up By: Outa Bounds - Friday, Jun 01, 2007 at 12:30

Friday, Jun 01, 2007 at 12:30
Can't disagree with you there.
FollowupID: 504863

Reply By: Axel [ the real one ] - Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 17:54

Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 17:54
Ask the salesman what planet he's from ,then send him off to any Australian Army vehicle depot and get him to spruik his bull , would be fun to watch ,,every army in the world uses metal Jerry cans for fuel , you can still buy and use cans made prior to WW2 , just recently bought some from Annaconda camping store which are WW2 Swedish Army in perfect condition , come with a label slot and different coloured metal tags engraved with the contents , benzine ,petrol ,diesel ect , some things never change as the colours of the tags is the same as used today 60+ yrs on.
AnswerID: 243792

Reply By: oldpop - Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 19:45

Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 19:45
Sounds like the f/wits at my local autobarn told I should not fit a colder heat range spark plugs in my VS Comm V6 ruuning on dual fuel because it would blow up the motor left all the parts on counter and went else where never to return absolute d/heads (Auto Barn Narre Warren Vic)
AnswerID: 243818