as at 9.18am Sunday

An I did vote no.
Jenkie

FollowupID: 505265

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 09:27

Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 09:27
Robyn
That's because there would be some Do-gooder Pricks sitting up all bloody night continually voting to make it look good for themselves , FACIST'S

FollowupID: 505267

Follow Up By: DIO - Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 10:01

Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 10:01
Don't scoff, there are lots of people in the community who are strong believers that urban/city areas are unsuitable for 4 wheel drives. Their arguements may or may not be based on logic however they do manage to get into the press and often achieve headlines. What is the 4wd fraternity doing about it? For many - nothing except to perhaps add to the perception that 4wds belong in the bush, that they are often driven by idiots with an identity/ego problem, they can go anywhere, the bigger the better and therefore their size allows drivers to use their vehicle to intimidate and act aggressivly toward other road users, that they are environmentally unfriendly as they use more fuel. I say there's room on the road for everyone if common sense and courtesy are practised by all.

So if you were to have access to the front page of your local newspaper, what are some of the positive things you would say in defense of allowing 4 wheel drives access to urban and city roads. How would you counter the claims of the anti-4wd fraternity? What evidence could/would you be able to provide to support your arguement? Do you reckon that such an arguement could be made and maintained? What if anything would/might have to change if there was need for a compromise between parties?

Unless the 4wd fraternity get's itself organised into a cohesive and credible group, eventually those anti-4wd members of the community will convince the politicians that there may be votes in it for them and to support legislation prohibiting unrestricted access by 4 wd vehicles in prescribed areas. It will happen. Then you can scoff all you like becuase it won't change a thing.

For example, smoking in a vehicle with a child under the age of 16 years is NOW an offence in SA. Became so 1st of June. Apparently other States are looking at similar legislation in fact it has already been suggested that smoking whilst driving should be completely banned as should eating, drinking or anything likelt ot distract the driver.
Supreme Court in SA found that using a Bluetooth hands free telephone whilst driving a vehicle was illegal. Contrary to what most people thought. This judgement will have nationwide ramifications for all. It might seem that at the moment the only 'legal' way you can use a mobile phone whlst driving is to have a cradle or setup that the enables the phone to automatically answers incoming calls and disconnects at the end of the call - WITHOUT ANY USER INTERVENTION.

Whilst there may or may not have been lobbying by community groups for these types of changes, you can bet that such changes will only fuel support for those who advocate extreme changes such as banning 4 wheel drives in selected areas.

What you going to do about it?
FollowupID: 505269

Follow Up By: Member - Pat C (QLD) - Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 16:34

Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 16:34
60% yes, 40% no as at 4:30 p.m. Sunday.
Not that it counts for anything.
FollowupID: 505334

Reply By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 02:02

Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 02:02
Cretin Alert! Cretin Alert! Flamin' CRETIN ALERT, you IMBECILES !!!
I'm sorry, and do apologise to those carers of disabled people.
But one must wonder, musn't one.
Is it ok to drive my 2wd ute in town (sorry, 'Town'), but not the 4wd version?
On those rare occassions when I must enter Brisbane/Gold Coast zones, will a prior police check/clearance issue a short term visa, or must I park the wheels at The Border, and bribe a camel-driver to smuggle me in. (Evil 4wd driver that I am alleged to be).

And my Sister's lover's cousin's (I can't keep this up) daughter with an AWD ??
Kick 'em out, I say!.
Bloody Sooperoos and Mazdix 6's

Yes, I know there are dropshort posers (God knows why) who run big 4wd's needlessly. But let's not go down the "Gun Laws" path again.
Well Truckster, not sure where I stand on this one:
but I've seen sillier laws passed in my short time on the planet. Jeff
AnswerID: 244280

Reply By: David N. - Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 09:05

Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 09:05
Yeh,
I agree they should be banned, and so should any vehicle driven by "people"!

What a joke!
AnswerID: 244290

Reply By: Member - Bruce and Anne - Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 09:47

Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 09:47
I just voted NO and its now 50% to 50% not a good look.
AnswerID: 244296

Reply By: Members - Chris/Lindsay (VIC) - Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 09:48

Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 09:48
vote is 50,50 right now. Next time I go I will remember not to drive my Suzuki and to take the v8 commodore. That should make them happy.
AnswerID: 244297

Reply By: Russ n Sue - Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 10:10

Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 10:10
Someone has hijacked that poll. It is increasing at the rate of one vote per second and all of the new votes are "Yes".

Nothing you can do about it.

What you can do is write to the Council and remind them that your 4WD is your mode of transport when spending your tourist dollar. Remind them that it is easier to spend your dollars elsewhere if access to your chosen mode of transport is denied.

The mighty dollar will win, don't worry.

Russ.
AnswerID: 244300

Follow Up By: Member - stefan P (NSW) - Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 10:21

Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 10:21
How true!!!
FollowupID: 505275

Reply By: REV'S - Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 11:01

Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 11:01
May I ask why would anyone in there right mind would even consider single out and ban 4wds??

I have owned a Toyota landcruiser 4wd for the past 15yrs and I consider to be a responsible driver with a clean driving record. I pay my road taxes just like anyone else so therefore should have the right to use roads and not have restrictions on me cause I'm in a 4wd, this would be so unfair. We all should have equal rights doesn't matter what your driving.

I have no other option of getting around the city, If this crazy suggestion is brought into practice will 4wdriver get free public transport to take us to our destination if we are banned????

Stop picking on 4wd's. There more to life just get real.......

Cheers Mary Anne

AnswerID: 244321

Reply By: Mr Fawlty - Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 11:50

Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 11:50
One wonders what the Van park owners think of this, if no 4x4's are allowed on the gold coast there goes the busness from all the grey nomads with 4x4's and their vans who fill every spot in every park on the Gold Coast every winter....
naaaaaaaaaa this looks like the work of the irrepesssible Harrold Scrubey...
AnswerID: 244331

Reply By: ev700 - Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 11:59

Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 11:59
Mind you I am not surprised that ABC 512 is lending spin to to this divisive story that could only encourage road rage.

It is probably the standard for Radio 512. By way of example, I remember one of the women jocks on this station who downplayed Fathers' Day by opining that it was not the big event that Mothers' Day was etc.

Maybe the opponents of the ABC have got it right when they say it is full of lefties trying to make others fit in with their particular view of the world.
AnswerID: 244332

Follow Up By: ev700 - Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 12:01

Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 12:01
Going blind, that should have been radio 612 not 512.
FollowupID: 505292

Follow Up By: Ianw - Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 17:36

Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 17:36
Keep your hands off it then!!
FollowupID: 505357

Reply By: Shaker - Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 12:40

Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 12:40
Unfortunately it is the probably the inordinate number of unroadworthy 4 wheel drives that incite people to start these 'witch hunts'.
By unroadworthy I mean excessive illegal lifts, disconnected sway bars, oversize wheels, illegal lighting, these things do little to enhance our image in the eyes of other road users.
AnswerID: 244337

Reply By: Jimbo 2121 - Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 15:28

Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 15:28
A poll that you can vote in as many times as you like has absolutely no credibility.
AnswerID: 244382

Follow Up By: Shaker - Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 15:33

Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 15:33
True ... a bit like Big Brother & all those other so called 'reality shows'.
FollowupID: 505328

Follow Up By: Ianw - Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 17:38

Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 17:38
Yep, betcha it cost you 55c to vote too!!
FollowupID: 505359

Reply By: Mark & Jo, S/side, Bris - Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 17:23

Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 17:23
Pretty bloody dodgy..

I just voted 5 times for the sake of it and the 'votes counted' never even went up by one!

Jo
AnswerID: 244405

Follow Up By: Muddy doe (SA) - Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 17:33

Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 17:33
The site most likely logs your IP address and will only allow 1 vote per IP.

I just tried the same thing..lol

Muddy
FollowupID: 505356

Follow Up By: Mark & Jo, S/side, Bris - Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 17:37

Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 17:37
It probably logged my bank details, favourite food, smell and hobbie at the same time!!!
FollowupID: 505358

Follow Up By: Ianw - Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 17:44

Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 17:44
I just voted 5 times. "votes counted" only went up once. So probably only allows one vote per IP Address.
FollowupID: 505360

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 18:20

Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 18:20
Just in case anyone wants Jo's IP address bank details favorite food, small and hobbie I just had them emailed to me by the poll-bot, hehehehe

FollowupID: 505381

Reply By: Brian B (Brisbane) - Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 17:47

Sunday, Jun 03, 2007 at 17:47
G'day Truckster,

More of the usual crap again hey?

All jokes aside however we as a group have no voice. When was the last time anyone at a state or national level got some solid media coverage and explained our point of view etc and tried to counter some of this garbage that we regularly see.

If you harassed anyone as much in the workplace as 4wd owners suffer then you would have a bloody good case against them.

I still think the solution is to get hold of a well respected, well known 4wd owner who is media friendly and every time some of this crap surfaces then that is the face that replies to it. Similarly when clubs and individuals do something good that person again needs to be promoting it. I know this is a simplistic view of the solution but just as a general idea I think it has merit.

In its absence we just continue to bend over on a daily basis.

What do you reckon?
AnswerID: 244410