Common Rail Diesel Engines

Submitted: Thursday, May 01, 2003 at 08:32
ThreadID: 4676 Views:22808 Replies:3 FollowUps:4
This Thread has been Archived
Hi guys,

A question from a complete novice when it comes to diesel engine types.

Can somebody enlighten me: What is a common rail Diesel Engine and without going into too much technical detail, how does it differ from say a Turbo Direct Injection Intercooled Diesel.

Thanks in advance

PT
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: GUPatrol - Thursday, May 01, 2003 at 10:46

Thursday, May 01, 2003 at 10:46
Paul,
A conventional diesel, direct injection or indirect injection has an injector pump driven by the engine (often mechanical pump) but later models range from elctronic timing control to semi electronic, these kind of pump have mechanical plungers to inject diesel into the engine (via injectors) at a set pressure (the pressure depends) indirect injection uses less pressure and is less precise.
This kind of pump requires pipes to each injector and at every stroke there is a noise as the diesel is driven to high pressures to be properly atomised.
A common rail diesel (ie: Land Rover Discovery) does not have a precise pump with a plunger, instead it has a rail where all injectors connect and a very powerful electric fuel pump to keep the pressure constant (Very high pressure), each injector is operated individually electronically by the ECU (Electronic control unit), that way the injection can be quieter and more presise and each injector can be controlled individually even cutting some out and some in depending on the circumstances (you can notice this listenging to a TD5 while being driven on slow tracks).
There is another type as used by caterpillar where there is a common rail but the injector is operated by engine oil pressure (ie Jackaroo engine).

Will
AnswerID: 18886

Reply By: StephenF - Thursday, May 01, 2003 at 11:31

Thursday, May 01, 2003 at 11:31