Suspension Seats

Submitted: Friday, Jul 13, 2007 at 14:36
ThreadID: 47674 Views:6087 Replies:10 FollowUps:22
Has any one used these seats

www.stratos.com.au/products/ltss/

I am looking for new front seats that will fit in my Triton and possibly a 100 series when I upgrade the Triton.

I was considering the XT LTSS one with the turn table to help getting in and out of the vehicle, as well as arm rest and air lumber adjustment.
I will be getting both front seats as I don't always do all the driving.

Opinions appreciated

Thanks Kev

Reply By: Member - Barry M (NSW) - Friday, Jul 13, 2007 at 16:07

Friday, Jul 13, 2007 at 16:07
Kev, several years ago I fitted an aftermarket seat to my Hilux sprayrig. I was after
better support, & a pump up lumbar support & it certainly provided that. It wasnt
a stratos & I cant find the brand name, but it came from Melbourne & cost a little
above half the going rate for other seats such as stratos. It came complete with
adaptor to suit seat slide & was simple to fit. Cost was around $850 inc freight,
but this would be more now. Perhaps a google might find them. The seat has given great service under tough conditions & only now is getting a little soft on
the outside due to constant entry & exit. I will try a google & get back to you of I can find it. I dont think a suspension seat will be suitable or adviseable in your
triton due to lack of headroom.....oldbaz.
AnswerID: 252229

Follow Up By: Kev M (NSW) - Friday, Jul 13, 2007 at 16:14

Friday, Jul 13, 2007 at 16:14
I don't think cost will be an issue, I'm after comfort and good lumber support.
I am hoping the good DVA will pay for the seats :)

The height issue may come back and bite me though, as stated below hopefully Stratos will get back to me about suitability and the seat belts.

FollowupID: 513295

Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Friday, Jul 13, 2007 at 16:07

Friday, Jul 13, 2007 at 16:07
Kev,

Havn't used these, so can't give you any feed back on these Stratos seats.

But I did have the standard Mitsu suspension seats in my NB (1986) pajero.

Mitsu dropped them on later models because of seat belt laws.
i.e. how do you get a lap/sash seat belt off the pillar and floor work properly with a suspension seat.
1. seat belt tension/adjustment changes all of the time.
2. If you are at the bottom of seat travel, the seat belt could be loose and in an accident, you could slide out under the belt.
So how will your seat belts work with these?
On full up travel, the seat belt tries to cut you in half.

Talking to a friend who does truck mods, most suspension seats now have the seat belts attached to the seats. But that means extra strong seat mounts.

Personally I loved them, especially on long runs on bitumen roads we call highways, they just took that jarring out from a firm suspension and LT tyres. Wouldn't use them in a 4wd situation, too much movement.
Wife hated them, felt she wasn't in control of the car when driving, and she is prone to car sickness, so wouldn't use it on the passenger seat either, just felt too 'floaty' for her.
AnswerID: 252230

Follow Up By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Friday, Jul 13, 2007 at 16:09

Friday, Jul 13, 2007 at 16:09
Additonal note.
As Barry says, would you have enough head room.
My old NB had the raised roof, and seat travel was about 2 to 3".
Wouldn't work in my NJ, roof is too low.
Maybe that is why they dropped them in the NC, low roof line?
FollowupID: 513293

Follow Up By: Kev M (NSW) - Friday, Jul 13, 2007 at 16:12

Friday, Jul 13, 2007 at 16:12
Good points,
I hadn't considered the seat belts.

I have sent them an email chasing more info.

Thanks Kev

FollowupID: 513294

Reply By: Member - Fred L (NSW) - Friday, Jul 13, 2007 at 16:12

Friday, Jul 13, 2007 at 16:12
Hi Kev,
My wife has a medical condition that made it necessary for me to get one of these seats for the front passenger side of a patrol. There were 3 aspects we were looking at. 1. Easing of the less sharp bumps 2. Easing of sharp bumps like corrigations and 3. the ability to to be held in the bucket style. This 3rd point is a problem for the passenger in conditions where there is a lot of rocking and rolling. As you know, the driver holds onto the steering wheel and also can anticipate the coming thump. Well - after all that, she reckons that there was a substantial improvement. I could definitely feel the easing in bumpy conditions when I used it but as for the rest it does not bother me much. Anyway, her opinion was very valid and very positive. I don't know about the driver seat though. I did not go for it but at Warraweena last week I noticed a rig with both front seats upgraded. Depends on what is there in the 1st place because I was very happy with the patrol seats.
It cost us about $1800 without the lumber pump.
Fred
AnswerID: 252231

Follow Up By: Kev M (NSW) - Friday, Jul 13, 2007 at 16:18

Friday, Jul 13, 2007 at 16:18
Sounds good Fred,
I need the seats as my recovery from a spinal fusion is not going as well as planned,

How does the seat belt system work? in reference to above posts

Thanks Kev

FollowupID: 513297

Reply By: Member - Fred L (NSW) - Friday, Jul 13, 2007 at 16:48

Friday, Jul 13, 2007 at 16:48
The seat belt does not change at all. From what I can tell there was no change.
Fred
AnswerID: 252237

Follow Up By: Kev M (NSW) - Friday, Jul 13, 2007 at 17:40

Friday, Jul 13, 2007 at 17:40
Thanks Fred

FollowupID: 513313

Reply By: Rock Ape - Friday, Jul 13, 2007 at 16:53

Friday, Jul 13, 2007 at 16:53
Kev,
sorry to hear you are not recovering as well as could be expected, seating is so individual that it is impossible to say one seat or another.

All the better range of seating offers what you want, but it will be what your back that that counts.
KAB offer a good range as many others do, just don't get caught up in the racing seat area.

As for your back, mate who had the same OP some years ago, got cranky with the male nurse who was turning him over day after day, asked him to be a little more gentle as it was hurting big time. Nurse laughed big time and said, I will do what ever I want.

Wrong person to say that to,X bouncer, not smart. 12 months later he decked the nurse.

And to all the nurses out there who are great people, we owe you all heaps, for looking after us, as you know there are always those in your profession that will destroy all the good work.

The same guy has been working his own farm now for a long time, so there is light at the end of the tunnel

The Ape
AnswerID: 252238

Follow Up By: Kev M (NSW) - Friday, Jul 13, 2007 at 17:46

Friday, Jul 13, 2007 at 17:46
Ape,

My main concern is how to tell if the seat will be any good once installed, as it is all well and good to sit in the demo ones on the showroom floor but what is it really like in the vehicle.

As for nurses, when I was in hospital it took 4 of them to turn me on my side and that hurt, so I know where he would be coming from with only one doing it. The self administer device was programmed for every 3 minutes but it was actually 3 mins 16 secs :)
The tunnel is a little dim ATM it was 13 weeks yesterday and I'm still worse than before surgery.

FollowupID: 513315

Follow Up By: Member - Michael J (SA) - Friday, Jul 13, 2007 at 18:12

Friday, Jul 13, 2007 at 18:12
Kev,

Can't help too much with seats as I reckon the type of vehicle, suspension tyres etc will play an enormous part.

However in regards to your spinal fusion, just look forward. Yeah I know it does not feel too good ATM and I felt the same. Roughly 4 months before I felt that I could see any improvement at all. Sometimes seemed like two steps forward and one step back.

BUT, everyday after the op is a day forward, no matter how slight or no matter what your perception is. The body is a great healer, and the mind will help too.

Stay with it pal and I wish you a speedy recovery.

16 years since mine and I can drive the Troopy with basic seats, basic tyres and over long distances without undue problems.

Michael
FollowupID: 513322

Follow Up By: Kev M (NSW) - Friday, Jul 13, 2007 at 18:20

Friday, Jul 13, 2007 at 18:20
Michael,

I am just getting itchy feet, 13 weeks off work and not able to drive any great distances is a real PITA (driving that is).
I should be greatful that I am as mobile as I am ATM as in all honesty it was a bloody big operation. 2 x 2" screws in through the back, bone removed from my left hip and grafted to 2 spots on the front of my spine. The incision through my front is longer than a C Section incision.

I am tempted to go to the trip next weekend at Turon river to see how I go.

FollowupID: 513323

Follow Up By: Rock Ape - Friday, Jul 13, 2007 at 18:40

Friday, Jul 13, 2007 at 18:40
There you go Kev,
people who have been there and done that .

This is important.ask the supplier ( cause it is going to cost big bucks) to let you try the seat, if they say no, go to someone else. most will be cool if their product is good.

Hope it works out.

The Ape
FollowupID: 513331

Follow Up By: Kev M (NSW) - Friday, Jul 13, 2007 at 19:36

Friday, Jul 13, 2007 at 19:36
It's looking good,
Thanks Ape

FollowupID: 513344

Follow Up By: Member - Michael J (SA) - Friday, Jul 13, 2007 at 20:17

Friday, Jul 13, 2007 at 20:17
Kev,

My op sounds very similar to the one you had, in fact I guess most spinal fusions are about the same.

You will know when you are well enough to go on a trip...don't go just to see if you can, could put you back weeks.

FYI, my operation was in the November, and it took until July the next year before I was confident enough to drive much distance. I then went from Broken Hill to Darwin in a Jackeroo -with no upgraded suspension- towing a boat and then on to Nhulunbuy. Don't force it.

When you sort out your seats please put a post up as to the benefits/cost etc
because I suspect there are more than a few out there that are suffering back problems too.

Michael
FollowupID: 513346

Follow Up By: Kev M (NSW) - Friday, Jul 13, 2007 at 20:33

Friday, Jul 13, 2007 at 20:33
Michael,

SWMBO has me on a very short leash ATM :))

I will post when the seats are sorted

FollowupID: 513352

Reply By: smort - Friday, Jul 13, 2007 at 18:01

Friday, Jul 13, 2007 at 18:01
Hi Kev

have two in my isuzu truck - dramatic improvement on standard seats - the wheels are right under the seats - forward control - lots of bang and crash and much less of it transferred to occupants - couldnt be happier - you do need a few inches for the paralleogram type suspension to operate - no other suspension seat that I know fits in the isuzu - may be the bees knees for you but given yr conditions I would be looking for someone with them to have a look and maybe a try before buying.

AnswerID: 252250

Follow Up By: Kev M (NSW) - Friday, Jul 13, 2007 at 18:08

Friday, Jul 13, 2007 at 18:08
Hi Smort,

I loved the one in the FD Hino truck I was driving at work last year, it was the comfort from that, that has made me consider a suspension seat. The only hurdle is what one and will it fit.

FollowupID: 513321

Follow Up By: madfisher - Friday, Jul 13, 2007 at 20:29

Friday, Jul 13, 2007 at 20:29
Hi Kev,
sorry to hear the back is still crook. Hope it improves soon.
We have 4 Isuzus with standard seats at work and they are back breakers, also have a UD with a suspension seat , what a difference it is a pleasure to drive you can also change how floaty the seat is from memory.
Cheers pete
FollowupID: 513349

Follow Up By: Kev M (NSW) - Friday, Jul 13, 2007 at 20:36

Friday, Jul 13, 2007 at 20:36
Pete,

Sounds the same as the one in the FD, I was fortunate enough to be the only one to drive the FD so I had it set up for my weight and seating posture. The only issue I had was there was very limited lumbar support, but what do you expect for a standard item truck seat.

FollowupID: 513353

Reply By: David - Friday, Jul 13, 2007 at 18:18

Friday, Jul 13, 2007 at 18:18
Hi Kev M,

In regards to the statos suspension seat, have had the same problem with my back, 5 ops including fusion.

I got a second hand seat from a mate, best thing i have done to my truck ( 80 Series). It made a big difference while driving, made it a lot more comfortable eg stopped all jarring and bouncing around.

I got the proper mounting bracket to fit my truck from opposite lock, it then fits into standard mounting holes.

The seat belt mounting ,stays the same as it was, as you are using the same mounts.

As far as the seat moves up and down a max of 10 cm at the most. The seat has an adjustment that you can use to make it as much spring as you like.

Mine came with the plastic lumbar support and so far have found this to be good enough, I also have the back of the seat fairly straight that suits me best.

I have been using this seat for the last 4 years without a problem and would recommend them to anyone at all.

Hope this helps,

Give a man a fish and he will eat for a day. Teach him how to fish, and he will sit in a boat and drink beer all day.

AnswerID: 252253

Follow Up By: Kev M (NSW) - Friday, Jul 13, 2007 at 18:22

Friday, Jul 13, 2007 at 18:22
David,

Fusions are bloody awful aren't they.

Your info is just what I was after, I gather that all I'll need is to get a new mounting base when I change vehicles.

Thanks Kev

FollowupID: 513324

Follow Up By: David - Friday, Jul 13, 2007 at 18:33

Friday, Jul 13, 2007 at 18:33
Kev,

That's right you just buy the mounting base to fit the vehicle that you want, very easy to do.

Fusions are just a real pain in the are..!!!!!!!!!!

Take it easy and don't push yourself to quick. Just one tip, make sure you have plenty of stops along the way when travelling, it make it a lot better in the long run.

Hope all works out.

Give a man a fish and he will eat for a day. Teach him how to fish, and he will sit in a boat and drink beer all day.

FollowupID: 513327

Follow Up By: Kev M (NSW) - Friday, Jul 13, 2007 at 19:36

Friday, Jul 13, 2007 at 19:36
Thanks David

FollowupID: 513343

Reply By: Mr Cruza (ACT) - Friday, Jul 13, 2007 at 21:15

Friday, Jul 13, 2007 at 21:15
Kev.
Do yourself a HUGE favour and mention to your Dr, that you want to go out and play, The biggest issue post fusion is the soft tissue swelling around the transverse processess(more esses than i need i think) and the fact that your muscles will need to retrain themselves as they are under pressure the most whilst in the sitting position. Give it time and the wait will be more than worth it. No one here on the forum would like to hear that as a consequence of jumping the gun that it may put your 4 wheeling days to an end. Another side effect depending on where your fusion was (usually L-4,L-5,S-1) is the ability to keep the missus happy, if you irritate the area(the fusion area) then this may also be a thing of the past. In a nutshell listen to what your body(back) is telling you. The wait I'm sure will be worth it.
Cheers 4 now
Ashley
AnswerID: 252272

Follow Up By: Kev M (NSW) - Friday, Jul 13, 2007 at 21:28

Friday, Jul 13, 2007 at 21:28
Ashley,

Yep it was an anterior and posterior fusion of the L5-S1.
My current rehab is 2 Pilates classes a week to strengthen the core muscles, as well as 2 hydro sessions and 3 hands on physio sessions.

Don't know how well the romancing is going as I'm not game to try :)

FollowupID: 513364

Reply By: Mr Cruza (ACT) - Friday, Jul 13, 2007 at 21:33

Friday, Jul 13, 2007 at 21:33
Kev.
Go easy it all comes to he who waits. the seat issue will work out over the period of your rehab, if you twist or stretch the fusion , then the damage is done and there will be little prospect of the surgeon wanting to touch you again. Take it easy.
Cheers 4 now.
Ashley
AnswerID: 252279

Reply By: haagendrinker - Wednesday, Jul 25, 2007 at 16:10

Wednesday, Jul 25, 2007 at 16:10
Kev,

Im thinking about getting the stratos 3000 LTSS. Have you made a decission yet or found out much more info?

Cheers Shane
AnswerID: 254409

Follow Up By: Kev M (NSW) - Saturday, Aug 11, 2007 at 18:45

Saturday, Aug 11, 2007 at 18:45
Shane,

The purchase of the seats is on the back burner ATM as I am hunting for a new vehicle, but that said I will be getting the above mentioned seats when I get the new one.

I had a reply from Stratos and the seat would fit in most vehicles but they don't recommend the turntable for dual cabs as the seat hits the centre pillar and the centre console.

FollowupID: 517935

Follow Up By: haagendrinker - Sunday, Aug 12, 2007 at 09:08

Sunday, Aug 12, 2007 at 09:08
Thanks Kev. Looks like Ill get the XT LTSS for my 105 cruiser. Big dollars so its a big decission. Ive only found two people that have them fitted, but they LOVE them.
Ill let you know how I go.

Cheers Shane
FollowupID: 518018

Follow Up By: Kev M (NSW) - Sunday, Aug 12, 2007 at 15:16

Sunday, Aug 12, 2007 at 15:16
Shane,

That's what mine will end up in.
I intend to chop the back end of a standard model to make it a dual cab, install GXL rear seats and the Stratos ones in the front.

The rear will have an alloy tray and a custom sit on top canopy.

Happy days

Kev

FollowupID: 518052