Inflatable Boat

Submitted: Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 19:21
ThreadID: 47814 Views:4944 Replies:7 FollowUps:2
I am interested in taking a boat on my next trip around the block but don't want to put a tinny up on the roof of my car.I have been looking at inflatable boats that can take two people and a small amount of gear. This I can fit into the back of my 4wd as the seats will be removed and should be able to fit in a small motor as well. I'm sure some of you out there would have had experience with inflatables so would like to hear from you and your experience in such things as the brand of boat, engine size, hard or soft floor, etc, and also how did you find them in general. Any input would be great, more the better.

Reply By: blackmax11 - Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 19:37

Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 19:37
I carry a Quicksilver 2.7 Metre Airdeck and a 5hp Mercury outboard. The advantage of the airdeck is it is able to be rolled up complete once deflated, only takes about 15 to 20 mins to fully inflate ready to use.
The 5hp pushes the boat onto the plane with 2 people of average size with our gear.
It is all carried in the back of the L/C 100 series, no worries. The engine is a 2 stroke as it is light and outperforms any 4 stroke. Hardly uses any fuel if run in the mid to 3/4 throttle range.
KEN
AnswerID: 253013

Reply By: madfisher - Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 19:53

Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 19:53
We have a sevlor fish hunter, which we use to use to fish water holes that were to hard toi fish from the bank. While it served its purpose we now use a large plastic canadian to do the same thing. One problem with the inflatable because ours did not have a hard floor I never liked the idea of a fish rolling around in the bottom of the boat with a lure in its mouth . We have not used the inflatable scince buying the canoe.
AnswerID: 253016

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 19:57

Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 19:57
>we now use a large plastic canadian to do the same thing.

And there was me thinking they only came in English and French varieties :)
FollowupID: 514105

Reply By: Member - colin J (VIC) - Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 21:11

Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 21:11
Hi bill13,
We had a 3.6mt Zodiac with the inflatable floor. Weighed about 35 kg, could carry 4 adults easy but used it mostly with just the two of us. Had a 15hp Mercury which again weighed about 40 kg so manageble, but the thing would fly, such fun. The boat when folded up was approx. 1.0mtrx500mmx450mm. Stuck it in the back of the Pajero with the seats folded out of the way and then stuck the motor on top of it. Still plenty of room for heaps of other stuff.
Regards Col.
AnswerID: 253047

Reply By: ChrisO - Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 21:17

Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 21:17
G'day Bill,

I have a Quicksilver 3.8 with a 15hp Yamaha. It has a hard floor ply floor that separates into about 5 pieces. When folded up, both the boat & motor fit in the back of my 100 series Landcruiser behind the rear seats and on top of my drawer system. I use it for fishing and accessing surf in remote locations. You do have to be careful with lures etc. when fishing but it is way less bulky than putting a tinny on the roof.
AnswerID: 253049

Reply By: The Landy - Thursday, Jul 19, 2007 at 18:12

Thursday, Jul 19, 2007 at 18:12
I have been looking for the same and initially had thought the 270 Quicksilver would suffice with a 5hp. In the end bought a 340 Quicksilver with 15hp, the roll up size is not significantly different to the 270 and for a lot of trips we can take it on the trailer.

Looking forward to lots of fun!
AnswerID: 253377

Reply By: ERIC DRUMMOND - Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 08:30

Sunday, Jul 22, 2007 at 08:30
I have been in the inflatable boat industry for over 25 years.
Tips you should know.
Make shore you by a boat made of Hypalon fabric.
Inflatable floors a lot easier.
Dont look at boats with outboard brackets.transom models only
Look at motors with integral fuel tanks.
Dont over horse power.
Small low preasure/high volume 12 volt air pump makes inflation easy.
Enjoy.
ERIC D
AnswerID: 253799

Follow Up By: Member - Vincent A M (NSW) - Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 19:39

Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 19:39
how are you you Eric, you must have been in it for longer than 25 years if this is my 30th year in august. but back to the craft I agree with you
FollowupID: 515331

Reply By: Member - Vincent A M (NSW) - Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 19:33

Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 19:33
As I have been in the industry for 30 years all I will say is this
All good small & large & commercial inflatable boats are made from a Fabric called Hypalon & will have glued seams, all the big names, made there reputation using it & still do on there commercial craft but sadly most have moved to a cheaper fabric on smaller craft, Not all, Organizations like Surf life saving & the Australian defence demand that it is made of hypalon fabric. the secret to getting a good one is finding one made of it & with all the fittings being computable (Most are Not) & I would suggest a craft with a drop stitched inflatable floor

Hypalon craft are easily repaired (most other fabrics have to have a controlled environment temp approx 18-25 & humidity below 72%) try that in Aust & travelling
they will not tell you this but ask to look at the instructions on the glue

buy a good one & you will get 20 years out of it without a problem

I hope this helps, I personaly will not say a brand as this is not the forum for it, but will say i would not financaly gain if i did as i only build larger commercial craft

good luck
AnswerID: 254274