Roof Rack Basket vs Pod
Submitted: Wednesday, Aug 08, 2007 at 17:11
me2@neuralfibre.com
I'm tossing up between a mesh basket w/ bag or one of these plastic "pods" to throw on the roof. Need it to hold tent and sleeping gear only.
The pod would be easier at the "lid" is self supporting.
The basket would give me somewhere to throw firewood.
Either will be going on a set of Rhino Bars and be only put on for trips. (The bars stay on)
No gas / fuel /
water / wheels going up there.
Anyone who owns either, all comments appreciated.
Thanx
Reply By: zumzum - Wednesday, Aug 08, 2007 at 18:03
Wednesday, Aug 08, 2007 at 18:03
I'm not an expert but you have to think about corrugations/vibrations .... If you intend to travel a lot on corrugation maybe a "REAL" roof rack is a better option. I'm buyng a roof pod (small size) for my (small) car but I have an heavy duty roof rack on my landcruiser.
SECURITY is an other think ... if you travel near city and you intend to "fill" the roof rack with expansive stuff .... maybe a locable roof pod is the way ....
Luca
Reply By: RobAck - Wednesday, Aug 08, 2007 at 18:08
Wednesday, Aug 08, 2007 at 18:08
We have been using a wire roof basket for around seven years now. It offers the following advantages; it flexes which is great when off-road as it does not transfer a high downforce into the brackets and the vehicle itself. Given it is now on its second Prado and has covered over 70,000 kms off-road then I reckon we have a very good idea of its capability and durability. Another advantage is when you want to tie things down the wire mesh
grid gives you a whole lot more points than any other form of roof rack. Only drawback is it is a bit noisy when empty but that does not happen often and it is light enough to pull off and leave in the shed when not needed. We have used roof pods and found them useful but it all depends on what you want to put in them. For example a gas bottle will not fit unless you lie it down and that is not a great idea.
The basket is on a set of three HD (square type) Rhino bars and it all works perfectly.
As part of your selection process I suggest you lay everything you think you want to put on the roof rack/pod on the floor of the garage/shed, then measure the surface area you need. That way you have a much better idea of if it will all fit in.
We have also supplemented our roof basked with a Rhino bag which holds the chairs, table etc and that saves tieing them down.
One option I have seen used is a long narrow basket and a pod which seems a practical option
RobA
Follow Up By: AndrewX - Wednesday, Aug 08, 2007 at 23:27
Wednesday, Aug 08, 2007 at 23:27
Why is it not a good idea to lie a gas bottle down? Will it leak? I guess that even though it will withstand enormous internal pressure the gas will run out if it placed horizontally. Think about it!! The only "not great" idea is actually putting a gas bottle on the roof whether it be on a basket or in a pod - actually may even be illegal.
If you want to carry sleeping gear and a tent then the pod is the go. I've seen so many baskets and bags fail when the going gets wet, dusty or rough.
Reply By: stefan P (Penrith NSW) - Wednesday, Aug 08, 2007 at 18:10
Wednesday, Aug 08, 2007 at 18:10
G'day Paul
I have a full length basket, so can only comment on them. I only use it to capacity on rare occasions, but it has proven to be very handy, Those 'pods' in my opinion are very limited in their practicality. But are probably better with fuel consumption and security of your load. Mate as always I guess it comes down to what does the job best for YOU. I chose the basket as it gives more options, but thats what I need.
Cheers Stefan
Reply By: Mike Harding - Wednesday, Aug 08, 2007 at 18:15
Wednesday, Aug 08, 2007 at 18:15
The pods are great and I wouldn't swap for a basket BUT they are a plastic moulding and will not take the punishment a basket would. I use
mine for lots of small light things plus sleeping bags pillows etc. You may have problems with a tent or other heavy objects causing damage to the pod base.
Reply By: Richard W (NSW) - Wednesday, Aug 08, 2007 at 18:16
Wednesday, Aug 08, 2007 at 18:16
I'm another one who has used a roof basket on 3 commercial Rhinos on two vehicles.
The original brackets to anchor the basket to the roof rack were hopeless so I replaced them with U Bolts and lock nuts.
This setup has done the OTL, Tanami and Plenty/Donahue without any issues.
Reply By: Shaker - Wednesday, Aug 08, 2007 at 19:06
Wednesday, Aug 08, 2007 at 19:06
I have both a roof pod & a steel mesh basket with roof bag.
If I had to settle for one only, I would choose the basket & bag as it is far more versatile & as mentioned able to carry firewood.
It can also carry swags, which I doubt if many pods would be able to do.
Reply By: swampy66 - Wednesday, Aug 08, 2007 at 20:00
Wednesday, Aug 08, 2007 at 20:00
Paul,
i have both -
i use the basket (without bag) when i have an oversize load - ie swags etc.
i use the pod when its all sleeping gear and clothes i want to keep dry or secure.
have fun
Reply By: whyallacookie - Wednesday, Aug 08, 2007 at 20:21
Wednesday, Aug 08, 2007 at 20:21
I'd go the bag and basket.
When we looked around we were warned by a couple of
places that sell both about the PODS strength. (This included the one marketted as being the strongest)
They both have seen them crack and fracture with use on corrugations etc. They swear by them for interstate travel and similar on normal road vehicles travelling on bitumen roads.
One commented on seeing several the owners had ended up modifying and putting a flase ply floor in which seemed to make them last longer but eventually they suffer the same fate.
As others have said this setup is so versatile and the rack bags keep everything
well protected. The downside is the lack of security in comparison to a pod. (Someone needs to come up with a strong, lightweight steel mesh cable net you can lock over. (Or perhaps hinge a second basket upside down on top and padlock it!)
Reply By: Member - Scoof (SA) - Wednesday, Aug 08, 2007 at 23:53
Wednesday, Aug 08, 2007 at 23:53
Can only comment on a pod .We use it for all the bedding,cloths, shoes,towels the pod can be opened from both side's by one turn of the key.
Easy to lift on and off.
No
water or dust leaks great bit of gear.
I have never put anything heavy in it I am sure it wouldn't handle anything heavy it would crack.
Reply By: pepper2 - Thursday, Aug 09, 2007 at 10:13
Thursday, Aug 09, 2007 at 10:13
Greys on line auctions currently have 100 new roof pods for auction with no reserve might be the place to buy