UHF Antenna Mounting on 120 Series Prado

Submitted: Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 10:44
ThreadID: 48870 Views:9770 Replies:11 FollowUps:10

I seek advice on the best way and position to mount an UHF antenna on a 120 Series Prado that doesn't have a bull bar. I would also like to know a suitable light weight antenna preferably GME brand. It would only be used for short range communications.

Thanks and regards
Glenn

Reply By: keepingitreal - Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 10:51

Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 10:51
g'day "SC", the best isn't necessarily the most practicable. Best is in the middle of the roof, however you have to drill a hole. I use a GME aerial with spring and ground plane mounted on a bonnet mount. Just make sure to have no other Aerials near it. Works well both short and long distance. This is my 2 bobs worth, regards

Keepingitreal (NSW)
AnswerID: 258043

Reply By: Stu050 - Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 11:23

Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 11:23
G'day Sacred Cow,
I use a GME AE409L mounted on a "z" bracket on the front guard.
It is groundplane independant, and I have had no problems with sending or receiving. I have a HF antenna on the bullbar, and there is no cross interference on either unit.

My .02
AnswerID: 258052

Follow Up By: Sacred Cow - Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 11:38

Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 11:38
Stu,

Thanks for your response. I presume you are using bracket MB407SS. My concerns are: Is there enough clearance between the mudguard and the bonnet for the coax cable and also for the bonnet to be opened without scrapping off the paint? There seems very little clearance with the 120 Series.

Glenn
FollowupID: 519322

Follow Up By: Stu050 - Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 11:46

Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 11:46
Glenn,
No problems at all, the co-ax fits through the join. I don't know the part number for the bracket, but it attaches to one of the guard bolts, and is made of stainless steel.

I did have to do a bit of judicious bending of the bracket to clear the bonnet, but it has been on various vehicles for nearly 10 years now.

Stu
FollowupID: 519324

Follow Up By: Mick - Tuesday, Aug 21, 2007 at 09:28

Tuesday, Aug 21, 2007 at 09:28
I think you'll find that the most suitable bracket is MB4077S or as an alternative try JTY659ZZ. Alternately just go to Dick Smiths and get a bracket that fits. On the cable fitting question measure the diameter of the cable. Measure the amount of space you have to fit the cable through. If the cable is exactly the same size as the gap you will probably remove paint, If it is smaller than the gap it should fit. I don't think you will actually end up scrapping the paint but scraping it is a chance.
FollowupID: 519499

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Tuesday, Aug 21, 2007 at 22:39

Tuesday, Aug 21, 2007 at 22:39
"Is there enough clearance between the mudguard and the bonnet for the coax cable and also for the bonnet to be opened without scrapping off the paint?"

On my NP pajero I loosened the bolts and increased the Bonnet-Mudguard gap slightly.
FollowupID: 519676

Reply By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 14:44

Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 14:44
Glenn ,

I have mine on the left hand half of the bull bar . Not so far across that bush will destroy it , and not to close to my line of sight when driving .

If it's on the roof , there is a good chance of destroying it on an overhead branch .

Get one of those big thick white f'glass jobbies from ARB . I have destroyed three wire ones and one solid glass one , but I cannot dent "the white jobbie ".

Willie .
AnswerID: 258079

Follow Up By: Member -Signman - Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 15:17

Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 15:17
G'day Willie
He ain't got a bullbar!!!
FollowupID: 519351

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 15:48

Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 15:48
OOPS
FollowupID: 519362

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 21:27

Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 21:27
LOL silly sausage :)))
FollowupID: 519452

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 22:47

Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 22:47
I'm a duffer.
FollowupID: 519475

Reply By: traveller2 - Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 15:10

Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 15:10
Middle of the roof is the best, after you have had the vehicle for a couple of years it doesn't matter and a secondhand buyer doesn't usually care.
Out of the way of trees and the light fingered brigade etc and I could get away with a 150mm stubby for most locations.
AnswerID: 258085

Reply By: Crackles - Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 17:47

Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 17:47
If you have a snorkel a short flexable rubber antena can be fitted in behind the air ram on an L bracket. Coax runs down the groove along the side of snorkel then in under the bonnat. Only stipulation is it needs to be a ground independant type. (Not expensive) Benifits are the antena is above the roof so the ground plane doesn't block the signal yet is protected behind the ram making it unbrakable no matter what trees & bushes one drives under.Cheers Craig.............
AnswerID: 258122

Reply By: Skippy In The GU - Tuesday, Aug 21, 2007 at 08:02

Tuesday, Aug 21, 2007 at 08:02
A quarter wave on the roof is the best place, or you could make a small bracket coming out from your rear tyre same as HF bracket. Then you wouldn't see it swaying around when driving.
AnswerID: 258221

Reply By: MEMBER - Darian (SA) - Tuesday, Aug 21, 2007 at 12:30

Tuesday, Aug 21, 2007 at 12:30
Best is on the roof as others have said (height counts for a lot) - best way to do this IMO is via a low profile roof rack (eg. Rola - they have UHF mounts as accessories for the bars). Next best might be the Z bracket that pokes out of the bonner gap. Bull bars are convenient but they have certain dynamics that are generated by road surfaces - get a lot of stresses on the antennas - certain types can break (1 week is enough to snap some wire types, when in the bush).
AnswerID: 258272

Reply By: Sacred Cow - Tuesday, Aug 21, 2007 at 16:37

Tuesday, Aug 21, 2007 at 16:37
Thanks fellas for all your input. There is only a clearance of between 3.5 - 4.0 mm between the bonnet and mudguard so it is unlikely that the coax cable will fit. Usually coax is 5.0 mm diameter minimum. I am now looking to see if I can mount a stub antenna on a roof rail and run the cable down the rear tail gate channel.

Glenn
AnswerID: 258297

Reply By: Member - Drew T (Melbourne) - Thursday, Aug 23, 2007 at 08:22

Thursday, Aug 23, 2007 at 08:22
I hate having to stare at any antenna through my windscreen, especially if it is wobbling around on bummpy roads. My answer was to make a small L shaped bracket and use small rivnuts to bolt it into the upper end of the gap on the hinge side of the rear door. Mounted just low enough that the lower end of the antenna is protected from branches etc but the antenna element itself has great line of sight above the roofline. Doors opens/closes without touching the bracket at all. Very easy to do & I dont have to look at and antenna all day!!

I have some photos but the procedure for inserting photos on this forum is way too complex!

AnswerID: 258556

Follow Up By: Sacred Cow - Thursday, Aug 23, 2007 at 09:57

Thursday, Aug 23, 2007 at 09:57
Drew,

That sounds like a great idea. Could you please try to overcome the almost insurmountable technical problems to post some photos?

Glenn
FollowupID: 519915

Reply By: Sacred Cow - Thursday, Aug 23, 2007 at 09:58

Thursday, Aug 23, 2007 at 09:58
Drew,

PS What are rivnuts?

Glenn
AnswerID: 258570

Reply By: Member - Drew T (Melbourne) - Thursday, Aug 23, 2007 at 19:34

Thursday, Aug 23, 2007 at 19:34
aha .. i think i've cracked it .. but not sure how long these images will remain on the image hosting site i used

mmm .. looks like i need a bit of repainting on that bracket :--)

you can also see that when i go on longer trips i move the antenna onto another bracket on the roofrack but i get terrific reception mounted on the lower mount anyway so i dont reckon this is necessary (the roofrack mount was the first mount i made!!)

You could use pop rivets instead of rivnuts, but i already had a rivnut kit. rivnuts are like pop rivets & you install them almost like a pop rivet. with a rivnut you are left with what looks like a pop rivet with a threaded hole in the middle that you can screw a bolt into. pretty sure you can buy rivnut kits at Bunnings etc.
AnswerID: 258659

Follow Up By: Sacred Cow - Thursday, Aug 23, 2007 at 20:37

Thursday, Aug 23, 2007 at 20:37
Thanks Drew. A great job!

Glenn
FollowupID: 520035