swimming on fraser island

Does any one go swimming on fraser island in the ocean? i've been told that its dangerous as theirs a feast of different types of sharks etc. that will have a piece of you is there safe spots? besides the fresh water lakes?

Reply By: Rosco - Qld - Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 14:08

Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 14:08
I would generally agree about swimming in the ocean proper, however there's a myriad of small gutters where you can splash about and generally immerse yourself safely.

Common sense is really all that's required.

AnswerID: 267178

Follow Up By: Mr Fawlty - Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 17:25

Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 17:25
Yes Rocoe, common sense is all that is required, that applies to most things though.
FollowupID: 529607

Follow Up By: muddyboy - Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 18:00

Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 18:00
I have found generally that the problem with common sense is that its not that common
FollowupID: 529615

Follow Up By: Rosco - Qld - Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 21:52

Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 21:52
True gentlemen ... but I was using the term with all due respect to the perspicacity and sagacity of our fellow forumites .. ;-)
FollowupID: 529659

Follow Up By: Mr Fawlty - Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 17:24

Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 17:24
Strewth Roscoe... in laymans terms if you please.... some of us only had a public school education!
FollowupID: 529770

Follow Up By: Rosco - Qld - Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 16:06

Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 16:06
Sorry mate ... :-(. Next time I'll try to limit it to words of no more than three syllables ... ;-))

FollowupID: 530047

Reply By: Dave from P7OFFROAD Accredited Driver Training - Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 14:18

Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 14:18
I'll have a paddle around on the beach, but I wouldn't call it swimming.

There is way too much wildlife (and in close too) for me!
AnswerID: 267182

Reply By: troopyman - Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 14:32

Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 14:32
The place is crawling with sharks at fraser . There in the ocean as well .
AnswerID: 267183

Follow Up By: Mr Fawlty - Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 17:19

Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 17:19
Yes the sharks are everywhere at Fraser and attack Tourists 24/7....
FollowupID: 529605

Reply By: fil - Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 14:34

Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 14:34
Hi Muddyboy,
Went on one of those senic flights off the beach several years ago. Yes there were quite a few sharks out there, but we were assured by the pilot that they were not of any danger to us.

What was of concern though was the rips and currents that were visible from the air, and i would certainly not be swimming on the ocean side. I was led to believe that the west coast of the island was safe, but i doubt it could be as nice as the freshwater lakes.
AnswerID: 267184

Follow Up By: Garbutt - Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 14:44

Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 14:44
The sharks were of no danger to you as long as you stayed in the plane!
FollowupID: 529573

Follow Up By: muddyboy - Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 17:46

Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 17:46
THOSE WILD AND CRAZY PILOTS.. I BET HE WOULDN'T SAY THAT IF HIS PLANE WAS SITTING IN THE WATER
FollowupID: 529612

Follow Up By: Blaze - Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 02:14

Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 02:14
Snap Garbutt.... was thinking the exact same thing....

Actual facts are they will have far more chance of departing us on the road travelling there than being bitten...
FollowupID: 529675

Reply By: firestorm - Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 15:46

Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 15:46
Just got back from Fraser, and no one swims in the ocean. Was told mainly cause of the sharks and rips, but also saw massive jellyfish washed up on the beach.

Go for a swim in lake Mackenzie instead it's great.

AnswerID: 267195

Reply By: firestorm - Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 15:47

Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 15:47
Just got back from Fraser, and no one swims in the ocean. Was told mainly cause of the sharks and rips, but also saw massive jellyfish washed up on the beach.

Go for a swim in lake Mackenzie instead it's great.

AnswerID: 267196

Reply By: Member - Troll 81 (QLD) - Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 16:31

Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 16:31
When we go I go in knee deep in the ocean if that...but you can find plenty of little holes that get's created with the tides that you can swim on when it's low tide. I have seen sharks there in the surf many times maybe 50m in
AnswerID: 267203

Reply By: Philip A - Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 16:32

Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 16:32
I was fishing one day near Ely Creek.
Walked in thigh depth water to a bank up to my knees.
I wondered why no bites.
Idly looked North to see four sets of dorsal and tails at least a foot long ( 1 inch of dorsal =1 foot of shark) herding fish about 75 metres away.
Ever seen anyone run on top of the water?
Regards Philip A
AnswerID: 267204

Follow Up By: muddyboy - Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 17:24

Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 17:24
well I think that covers it pretty well doesn't it.. seems that its along way to go to not even get wet!! either you get bitten in the water or the dingoes get you on land, and then you got to look out for all the touts trying to have a piece off you as well i think it might be safer to go on an African safari
FollowupID: 529606

Reply By: Mr Fawlty - Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 17:24

Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 17:24
I wonder why there are so many sharks there and none at Noosa just down the coast and people swim in the ocean with gay abandon (though she can swim well) in Hervey bay and never seem to be attacked by sharks...I reckon it's a myth - more chance of a dingo biting your tyres than being attacked by a shark.
AnswerID: 267213

Follow Up By: muddyboy - Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 17:35

Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 17:35
yes thank you for that very astute observation , I was wondering the same.. what about all those people who jump off perfectly good boats into the water and go scuba /skin diving on the reef VIC HISLOP seems to have a real concern about northern Queensland
Anywhere come to think of it VIC has a concern about swimming in the ocean altogether! which if you see his site may well be well founded! maybe Ill take my chances with a freshwater eel , well then again, oh dear this isn't getting any better is it?
FollowupID: 529609

Follow Up By: Footloose - Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 17:45

Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 17:45
Actually there have been fatal shark attacks at Hervey Bay.
I used to take my boat out to the west coastof Fraser. There's no way I'd swim on either coast of Fraser. Stick to the freshwater lakes.
As for Noosa, do the schools of fish visit there ? Are the beaches netted and patrolled ?
Someone once told me there were quite a few sharks at Noosa. They were mainly to be found in the real estate places :))
FollowupID: 529611

Follow Up By: muddyboy - Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 17:54

Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 17:54
DEAR FOOTLOOSE that sounds as if you,ve meet a shark
the only difference between a shark and a real state agent is you can humor a shark
FollowupID: 529614

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 21:23

Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 21:23
Here's a little trick Handy taught me.......
Grab a bit of meat.(roo leg works), tie it to the Mrs's leg, grab her rum can and hurl it out as far as you can.
While she's in there, jump in, have a dip and make it back to shore before she does....all's good.
AnswerID: 267259

Reply By: Members - Chris/Lindsay (VIC) - Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 21:45

Thursday, Oct 18, 2007 at 21:45
In 1996 I swam at Fraser, unaware of the danger but was later told I was lucky to not get bitten. I think someone was looking after me.I would stick to the lakes. Christine.
AnswerID: 267265

Reply By: Member - MrBitchi (QLD) - Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 07:59

Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 07:59
Geez, some of you guys are un-bloody-believable!

When was the last time anyone actually heard of a shark attack on Fraser???
When was the last time anyone actually heard of a Dingo attack on Fraser??? Dingo attacks are far more common than shark attacks but we still camp on the beach! Would perhaps be safer in the water..... ;-)

On a serious note, the main problem with swimming in the ocean on Fraser is the unpredictable currents and rips and the fact that help is a long way away. If you're not a bloody good swimmer then exercise caution.
A good spot to have a swim is at Waddy point. Nice sheltered beach, good spot for all the family to have a dip.
AnswerID: 267318

Follow Up By: Axel [ the real one ] - Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 09:06

Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 09:06
Yep , you got it right ,the sharks vs rips ect , same thing on East side of Moreton , then you see everyone swimming out on the calm side thinking its good and safe , lovely dolphins ect , last trip over less than 30metres off Coomboya campgroud got a 10ft shovel nose and 2hrs later a 14ft grey nurse ,,
FollowupID: 529693

Follow Up By: Andrew (Bris) - Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 11:33

Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 11:33
The reason we don't hear of shark attacks on Fraser, is that most people are smart enough not to go swimming there in the first place.
e.g. No swimmers - nobody to be bitten by a shark.
FollowupID: 529706

Follow Up By: Member - MrBitchi (QLD) - Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 18:04

Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 18:04
So I guess the 100's of fishermen standing thigh deep in the surf don't count :-|
FollowupID: 529776

Follow Up By: Mr Fawlty - Saturday, Oct 20, 2007 at 15:40

Saturday, Oct 20, 2007 at 15:40
Axel, shovel nose sharks rummage along the bottom for their food and have never attacked humans and the last recorded human attack by a grey nurse was in 1949 at Coogee Aquarium where a grey nurse accidentaly bit the arm of it's "trainer"....
FollowupID: 529924

Follow Up By: Axel [ the real one ] - Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 10:15

Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 10:15
Large article on swimming with sharks / stats ect in todays Sunday Mail. . , problem on Fraser and Moreton islands is the relative distance from any form of "help" ,large and dangerous rips ect, miles and miles of deserted beach , yes pure bliss but also rather dangerous for the foolhardy ,
people drown every year on the most popular patrolled beaches aka : the surfers paradise strip , so what hope for the unwary on the east coast of Fraser + Moreton ?? and no , standing thigh deep casting a line is not swimming., lol.
FollowupID: 530000

Follow Up By: Member - Dale A (VIC) - Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 12:01

Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 12:01
Have to agree re the sharks. I'm no expert but have been diving for 30 years. met many a grey nurse shark and they have never bothered me. Sounds stupid but a grey nurse has a smallish mouth for a shark and we are just too big for them. Something in their brain tells'em we are just too big to be food.

Bull sharks,hammerheads, greats whites etc on the other hand scare the crap out of me. Nothing like a school of hammerheads passing above you to make you soil your wetsuit.

I havent been to Fraser for about 15 years but lived there for a time as kid and then used to visit every once in a while.
Rips are deadly.

Like others have said , i'd stink to the lagoons and if at the beach just stay in the shallows.
Use your common sense.

Dale
FollowupID: 530007

Reply By: Mr Fawlty - Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 17:30

Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 17:30
Now this is getting ridiculous! You people never cease to amaze me, you'll singlehandely cross any desert, you'll drive where no man has gone before but your all a bunch of pansies when it comes to swimming in the surf....Naaaaaaaaaa come on strip off to you're budgie smugglers and enjoy the surf....There is nothing more exhilarating (well there is but I'm not allowed to go into detail here). Yu're all a pack of WIMPS!!!!
AnswerID: 267392

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 17:37

Friday, Oct 19, 2007 at 17:37
Fawlty: we must meet up and share a couple of gin and tonics :)
FollowupID: 529771

Follow Up By: Mr Fawlty - Saturday, Oct 20, 2007 at 15:34

Saturday, Oct 20, 2007 at 15:34
Harding, that's a damned spiffing idea old chap. I can tell a fellow chap by their choice of drinks. I know I'm a pensioner (according to Mr Bilson I'm well off though) so instead of shareing the G&T's I could afford to buy a few of my own. I see only one problem though, if we got together I recon the non surfing wimpy members of the forum would consider that us non wimp non members were coalescing and thus causing a threat to those who pay good money to not have to read the adverts....
Lets Liase and organise when our paths X...
FollowupID: 529923

Reply By: Andrew Main - Saturday, Oct 20, 2007 at 10:14

Saturday, Oct 20, 2007 at 10:14
Oh pleeeassseee.....

I have to admit that I am not familiar with Fraser Island at all but as someone who for many years was terrified of sharks and is now an enthusiastic scuba diver I think this is all a load of drivel.

There are sharks everywhere, down here in Victoria people happily swim all over the Mornington Peninsula and Phillip Island with a colony of seals and a bunch of sharks (probably including great whites) a mere couple of Kms from them. A lot of the larger sharks have ranges of several thousand kms.

There are between 1-3 fatal shark attacks each year IIRC in Oz, you are just as likely to get chomped upon if you are in Victoria as you are in NSW or Queensland. If you wish to increase you chances of attack then try spear fishing and carrying the fish around with you or swimming near a food source (i.e. seals) if Fraser has a large seal colony (I don't know?) then I wouldn't swim there if it doesn't then you are just as likely to be attacked 50 kms up the coast.

You're more likely to be killed on the road driving there.

AnswerID: 267496

Follow Up By: Mr Fawlty - Saturday, Oct 20, 2007 at 15:54

Saturday, Oct 20, 2007 at 15:54
I could not agree more Andrew, I think it's "good for business" to up the hype on Fraser about the sharks....I think that there are those of us who simply don't like the sea and in a forum such as this that would logically be the majority of participants who show no fear of anything on land but have preconceptions about venturing into the ocean, sure in the tropics there are some very nasty and dangerous critters, you won't find me wandering around in mangroves or swimming in the ocean in the wet... But it sure amazes me the seething throng that as you say schnorkel, swim and scuba dive in our oceans without event, more people drown in waist deep backyard pools than are taken by sharks...
I grew up in Coogee & Bondi and have been a "surfer" for over 40 years and I have had to be rescued only once, and stung by bluebottles many times, never been attacked by a shark though.
Yep you are 1000 times more likely to be killed on the road by some drunken fool than you are to be attacked by a shark or croc in the ocean.
FollowupID: 529927

Reply By: Mr Fawlty - Saturday, Oct 20, 2007 at 16:09

Saturday, Oct 20, 2007 at 16:09
See I'm just like SWMBO - I have to have the last word on everything. Ok I'm converted after reading this article I'm staying out of the watwer and only gonna shower from here on in...

Parasitic Fish In Freshwater Lakes and Rivers
Report from Charles Reamer
Much as it may sound like nothing but an old scoutmaster's tale, the parasitic fish does exist. Actual close encounters with the Candiru (Vandellia cirrhosa) must be fairly rare, judging from the dearth of medical literature on it, but it's still high up on my own personal list of Scary Things to Avoid.
The candiru is a member of the catfish family and can be found in lakes and streams in tropical areas throughout the world. It's tiny — only about an inch long, if that — and, according to Enyclopedia Britannica, "has been known to enter the urethras of bathers and swimming animals." That's hardly the worst of it.
"Once in the passage," the Britannica continues, "it erects the short spines on its gill covers and may thereby cause inflammation, hemorrhage, and even death to the victim." The little bugger can only be removed by surgery.
Why, you ask, would a fish want to swim up there in the first place? Audubon magazine explains:
Candirus primarily set up house inside larger fish, where they feast on the host's blood. They are attracted to nitrogen, which usually leads them to a gill chamber, but apparently they can't distinguish between one nitrogen-emitting orifice and another: They have been known to follow a stream of urine right to its source.

AnswerID: 267542

Follow Up By: Member - Dale A (VIC) - Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 12:08

Sunday, Oct 21, 2007 at 12:08
LOL, was watching house on TV a few weeks ago with the missus and they had a storyline on someone who had one of these lodged in the throat of their trouser snake.

made me wince just thinking about it.

Dale
FollowupID: 530009