JAYCO CARAVANS

Submitted: Saturday, Nov 03, 2007 at 21:47
ThreadID: 51256 Views:18661 Replies:8 FollowUps:2
To all you Jayco caravan owners or past owners, would you buy a another Jayco van, or would you go for something else?
I am thinking about buying a Jayco destiny with the outback upgrade.
Thanks in advance.
Uncle Phil

Reply By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Saturday, Nov 03, 2007 at 22:11

Saturday, Nov 03, 2007 at 22:11
Gday Phil Yes , had a Jayco Fredom for 4 yrs with no probs whatsoever , only sold it because it no longer suited our needs , we bought a off road camper, but when we are ready to buy another van will definetly look at Jayco again.......Cheers......Dave
AnswerID: 269951

Reply By: Member - Geoff C (QLD) - Saturday, Nov 03, 2007 at 22:46

Saturday, Nov 03, 2007 at 22:46
We replaced our 2002 Freedom which did about 70,000km without problems for a new Destiny Outback in June this year. We have had numerous small irritating problems with it but nothing major. Its due to go back for the the fourth time next week. One thing about Jayco is there is never any problem getting a warranty claim through and we live near Toowoomba Qld. Would I buy another one, not sure, will have to see how this one goes on our next trip.
AnswerID: 269957

Reply By: Member - AJB (VIC) - Sunday, Nov 04, 2007 at 06:38

Sunday, Nov 04, 2007 at 06:38
On my 3rd Jayco now. Change vans when lifestyle change. Had a couple of minor issues but nothing major and these were repaired by Jayco dealers which are all over Australia! Two were/are outback versions and the other (Westport) the inlaws have now and is outback SA/QLD at the moment! Now I have Expanda with outback upgrade but this was mainly for clearance and wheel interchangeabiliy with the tow vehicle.
Jayco's are the biggest Caravan manfacturer in Australia so there will be some problems with some people but some people do stupid things when it comes to travelling and particulary towing!
AnswerID: 269972

Reply By: Ralph C - Sunday, Nov 04, 2007 at 07:40

Sunday, Nov 04, 2007 at 07:40
Hi Uncle Phil,
My Wife and I have just completed 4 months and 17,000 kays with our 2004 Jayco Hawk Offroad Camper travelling on some very rough roads. We previously owned an on road Dove. Jayco have 60% of the van market and build 'down to a price' not up to a quality. About the only thing that did not fall off our Jayco this trip were the wheels!! We lost brakes on several occasions due to stones pulling exposed wires apart underneath. All our water when a stone cracked the exposed drain spigot underneath, our shocks - twice. You don't need them with leaf springs anyway, our on-board power played up, it leaked dust like you wouldn't believe, the doorlock jammed open with dust, etc etc. We spoke to many other Jayco owners who were ready to join our proposed bonfire at Dalhousie Springs using Jayco's due to a shortage of firewood.
Still it did make it home and we even sold the unit for a small profit.
In summary Jayco are 70% of the way there, in making budget vans and campers, as an owner you have to be prepared to spend time every day underneath fixing it Value for money yes but there are sturdier vans out there but you pay more for them.
Ralph C
AnswerID: 269974

Follow Up By: Member - Terry G (NSW) - Sunday, Nov 04, 2007 at 09:10

Sunday, Nov 04, 2007 at 09:10
Uncle Phil
Everything that has been said above is correct - in all the previous posts. I have had an Outback version and a standard version. Bear in mind that Jayco does not label any of their vans/campers as OFFROAD. The Outback is a beefed up version of the standard van. It is not designed to go offroad as such. When I bought mine we were told by the dealer that it would handle country roads and the occasional journey on corrugations. We asked much more of it than that at times and suffered the consequences. Our list of problems was much the same as Ralph C has listed. But when we looked after it, it was fine.

tessa
FollowupID: 532905

Follow Up By: hl - Sunday, Nov 04, 2007 at 15:10

Sunday, Nov 04, 2007 at 15:10
I had a good chuckle when I read the editorial in a recent camper trailer mag. The guy was prattling on about the dangers of buying one of the cheap imports and there was a long list of potential problems. What made me chuckle was that most of them would have applied to the Jayco Flight we once owned.
This was quite a few years ago and I am sure their quality would have improved by now.
The most dangerous aspect of it was as I remember, it had the axle well offset towards the rear and would put about 150Kg on the towball. This in turn would take a lot of weight off the front wheels of the tow vehicle, making emergency stops in the wet interesting. Our vehicle at the time was a Commodore. It would have been ok with a 4WD but the blurb explicitly stated that it could be towed behind a small sedan.
The other "issues" were self tapping screws holding the frame onto the chassis, some of which could be seen coming through the floor in the cupboards.One of the shelves didn't quite fit, so it was obviously "bashed" in place..... that's all I can remember.
FollowupID: 532973

Reply By: cruisen tom - Sunday, Nov 04, 2007 at 15:54

Sunday, Nov 04, 2007 at 15:54
G'day Uncle Phil, We bought a 13ft. Starcraft with off road configuration(H.D. axle 15" cruiser wheels re-inforced suspension and chassis and interior better attached) in 1998. Since then we have travelled approx. 80000kms. on various off road like Oodnatta track Strezleckie . Diamantina and lots in W.A.. We missed a turn on the Chillagoe Mt.Suprise Road and layed the van on it's side.Bent a stub axle and minor body damage. If I hadn't broken drop arm on steering on the Patrol we could have righted the van and kept going.We still have the van but don't use it so much since the arrival of two grandchildren.I'd recommend a Jayco to anyone.
Good Luck
Tom
AnswerID: 270040

Reply By: TassieDave - Sunday, Nov 04, 2007 at 16:42

Sunday, Nov 04, 2007 at 16:42
G'day Uncle Phil
We are onto our second jayco, being a tandem Outback Destiny, about 18 months old. We have taken it all over Tassie on Forestry tracks and took it to Fraser Island last May. We had simplicity suspension put on it from new. Just last month we went to Cloudy Bay on Bruny, against the ranger advice. No worries at all. The new models now have all the interior screw together, unlike our 2001 camper. We will be taking ours to the Flinders Ranges next year. I intend to place protection under it before then.

Fraser wait for Barge

Crossing Eli Creek

You are wecome to come and have a look at ours if you are near Hobart
AnswerID: 270048

Reply By: Member - Wayne B (QLD) - Sunday, Nov 04, 2007 at 22:17

Sunday, Nov 04, 2007 at 22:17
Jayco- no issues on our 2nd and no complaints, some minor repairs to internals due to simply knocks and bumps. It has been offroad and survived and still looks great. For the money you cant complain use the savings and do some additional work to make it more durable. Widen the stone guard,lift the suspension and away you go. it really depends where you take it.

AnswerID: 270102

Reply By: Member - Uncle Phil (TAS) - Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 11:45

Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 11:45
Thanks for all your reply's. From all of your comments, and our gut feeling we have gone and signed up for a 17 ft Destiny.

We are hoping that we will be very happy with our purchase and can enjoy it on our purposed travelling ventures over the next few year before some well owned retirement and some longer trips around this great lands of ours.

Thank again and we might see you on the road.

Uncle Phil
AnswerID: 270522