Towing a CT thru the Canning !

Firstly our Trak Shak is more than capable of doing the Canning with us !

But,,,, I got stumped a little on this one, at workplace smoko, by one of the boys.

Do you drop CT tyre pressures, ?
or by doing this does it put more strain on the tow vehicle ?
Will I be better off leaving CT tyre pressures alone ?

My gut feeling is to get the same footprint on both tow vehicle, and the CT.( ie drop pressures) ,, Then everything is easy

I have dropped my tyre pressure to 15 psi, in the Simpson, and up Big Red, both times, but not towed a CT in soft dunes either, as I did not own a CT then.

Thanks in advance for your advice

Cheers All

Reply By: Member - Franga (QLD) - Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 14:04

Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 14:04
Hi Bucky,
My understanding and my practice is to drop tyre pressures on both vehicle and trailer.
I have done this with our Jayco swan when towing through sand and haven't had any problems at this stage.

Franga
AnswerID: 270345

Follow Up By: Member - Franga (QLD) - Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 21:23

Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 21:23
Bucky,
One thing I forgot to mention, when towing, if at any stage you have to back out of your initial approach, and its not straight ahead driving, you may find the weight of the trailer may cause tow vehicle to slew off to side causing a jack knife affect. When this happens its always good to a second vehicle to hook up and tow the trailer back in the direction you want to go.
A bit long winded but I think you'll get what I'm talking about.
It might be best to have a bit of a play close to hme with some back support.

Franga
FollowupID: 533421

Reply By: Member - MrBitchi (QLD) - Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 14:13

Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 14:13
I tend to compromise a bit. I drop the pressures but not as much as the car or I find the trailer bounces too much. Run the car around 18psi on sand and the trailer about 25.

Dropping pressure does improve the footprint but it also increases the rolling resistance and therefore drag on the tow vehicle.
AnswerID: 270348

Reply By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 16:02

Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 16:02
Bucky ,

I remember a huge debate about this in the past , so check the archives .

Be ready for some flak re the camper on the CSR !

Willie .
AnswerID: 270365

Reply By: Wayne (NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 17:12

Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 17:12
Bucky,

Towing a camper on sand is hard on the vehicle, towing a camper with a 3lt motor is harder, and towing a camper on the Canning would be even harder.

Tyre pressure should be lowered for the vehicle as well as the camper and how low you go will depend on the sand.

I never know how low to go until I have driven on the sand and what others have said should be taken as a guide and not a hard a fast rule.

Be prepared to back down off a sand dune.
With the Canning you don't get a straight run at a dune unlike the Simpson.
There is nearly always a tight turn at the base of the dune and then when you do get to the top the is a bowl, similar to what is on the top of Big Red, which sometimes requires a small climb out of the bowl before the decent on the other side.

From what I have been told coming from the north is easier with a camper and you will still have to exit the stock route at well 6.

When you get you permit it should have all this information on it.

It may seem that I am trying to talk you out of taking a camper but I am only trying to give you some idea of what the Canning is like.
The other thing is make sure that you go with another vehicle.

AnswerID: 270380

Reply By: Robsoff - Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 17:47

Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 17:47
Bucky, Forget all the knockers and doubters. Yes, there are some fools and yes, there are some crap CT's and yes you can have a hard time. But...... I have done the CSR and Calverts and beyond towing a Camprite with 3 kids and all the fruitand guess what! I never once got stuck, bogged or dug the crap out the track. Let the tyres down so that te foot print is the same as the vehicle(you can measure the width in the sand if need be) drive cautiously but confidently and dont let all the know all, do gooders talk you out of what they wish they had the smarts or courage to do.
I get sick and tired of reading all the same old arguements about things like this, i reckon years ago you would have heard the same about Fraser or the Cape or the GRR(all of which i have done with a CT with zero issues)
Remember one thing though, you are literally on your own or at the mercy of an expensive recovery if it goes wrong. I personally dont have too much trouble accepting those conditions as i beleive i am prepared and if the worst thing to happen is it costs a few G to get recoveryed then so be it as that is the price i am prepared to pay for my travels.

Go well and dont be put off.

Rob

PS am now awaiting the Flak!!
AnswerID: 270382

Follow Up By: Wayne (NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 18:43

Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 18:43
Rob

Doing the Canning once and not getting stuck does not mean that it is easy and everyone will not have a problem.

Making it sound easy is worse than telling it like it is.

I bet this Prado owner thought it was easy too.

FollowupID: 533385

Follow Up By: Member - Terry G (NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 18:59

Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 18:59
Say no more - Wayne has said it all!!!

tessa
FollowupID: 533389

Follow Up By: Crackles - Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 20:17

Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 20:17
It amuses me how people buy very capable vehicles, spend a fortune modifing them, then say how easy it all was when in fact they dont realize how close they were to getting stuck on many occations. They then go on to recommend, (often to beginners) how they too can easily do the same trip with little knowledge of their ability, vehicle setup, weight to be carried or track conditions. On a trip like the Canning where the stakes are higher than most, one should possibly be a little conservitive and emphasize the hazards a little more. It's the remoteness more so than the difficulty of the track that adds the danger.
Cheers Craig..........
FollowupID: 533403

Follow Up By: Off-track - Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 00:03

Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 00:03
Good onya Rob! Gotta love these knowitalls!
FollowupID: 533457

Follow Up By: Wayne (NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 00:15

Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 00:15
Off-track,

Not a "knowitall", just relaying what I have seen and done.

FollowupID: 533458

Follow Up By: The Landy - Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 10:50

Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 10:50
Wayne has travelled just about every track and combination thereof on multiple occassions....discount his advice at your peril...

Trust all is going well Wayne...always enious when I read of your travels.

B,J & T
FollowupID: 533517

Reply By: Crackles - Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 19:37

Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 19:37
"Firstly our Trak Shak is more than capable of doing the Canning with us !"
How did you come to that conclusion Bucky if you haven't been before particually seeing what others have done in the past is often irrellevant? ;-)
The Conditions on the Canning change from week to week depending on the heat, wind & rain. On my 1st trip we struggled all the way through the dunes (without a trailer), several people pulling out due to the difficulty, yet on the next run it could have been done in 2WD. Only problem that time was the track was flooded for over 50 kilometers & we had to pull out ourselves. The Canning is like no other trip as the additional weight of water & fuel adds a conciderable burden to both car & trailer.
But back to your question, definately let the camper trailer tyres down to the same pressure as the car. If as others above have said the trailer bounces too much, just slow down.
AnswerID: 270399

Follow Up By: Laura aka diver 1 - Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 20:01

Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 20:01
I think what he meant Crackles was that its a strong built thing, not cheap like some and is built to take the rough stuff like he did with us last yr....

Laura.
FollowupID: 533401

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 22:38

Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 22:38
Just to add to Crackles' comments, no Camper Trailer is 100% reliable. We had a TrakShak break an axle on Googs track a few years back - Spent the afternoon taking everything apart and welding it up, so in our group of 10, we had all the necessary equipment to fix it. Called it the "Trash Shak" after that which was a bit unfair as they are as good as anything on the market.

Heres the evidence:
FollowupID: 533439

Follow Up By: Blaze - Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 23:40

Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 23:40
Ditto to everything Crackles and Phil have said above. Pretty easy really to work out, if we take a wheel bearing's or axles as a fairly common failure items when off road. With a CT you know have 6 bearings and axles to worry about instead of 4.

This debate will never end on this subject, just always remember how remote it is where your going...
FollowupID: 533452

Follow Up By: Crackles - Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 18:21

Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 18:21
With a dry weight starting around 800kg, all those jerrys & no doubt a few on the other side to balance it the trailer must have been pushing 1.4 tonne Phil? :-)
The recent Flinders trip certainly gave a good indication of trailer ability on the Cu track with 6 of the more popular ones in the convoy. Long draw bars being the worst feature of the lot.
Dropped in on a friend today just back from a trip up North and his bullet proof million dollar Jurgens camper had snapped the draw bar in half. This was after last year being replaced when the walls fell off it. Seems that cost has little to do with ability offroad.
Cheers Craig...........
FollowupID: 533592

Reply By: Robsoff - Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 21:40

Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 21:40
OK, maybe i am underestimating people. Yes i have a vehicle modified for this type of work, yes, i am mechanically minded(that is my work), yes i understand the remoteness. Yes, it is true i have only done the CSR once(and nearly every other track in Australia for that matter)
What i am saying is use your head, get the info, do your homework, be prepared, but dont be put off by all the "dont tow a trailer" brigade who for one reason or another continue to make things seem out of reach to those who may have all the above but lack the confidence and then get totally put off by all the negative comments.
I would love to just take the cruiser and a swag but with 3 kids and a wife i like to have a few more comforts and if that means i tow a camper then so be it, it hasn't stopped us yet. We also dont "go alone" so i guess i forgot to mention that little safety feature as if we did get stuck then it still is not a big deal to snatch or winch out of trouble.

Anyways i dont want to be accused of someone coming to grief out there on my say so. So Bucky mate, do a bit more homework and then make up your own mind but at the end of the day i would have no issue in doing it again or any other track with my camper in tow.

Cheers, Rob
AnswerID: 270426

Follow Up By: Member - Scoof (SA) - Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 22:43

Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 22:43
Robsoff ,

Good on yu mate, if you do your home work and make sure vehicle and trailer are up to scratch should have a great trip.

We got the same when we towed across the Simpson couldn't believe the knockers.Most have never done it so why they mouth off , had me beat.

Happy Travels,

Scoof
FollowupID: 533440

Follow Up By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 23:22

Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 23:22
ditto.

And to answer your question - watch how much the tyres bag. Monitor how well they are riding on the sand.

Don't just balls up the dunes without knowing what you are dealing with - get out and check them out and assess the best route first up.

In my case the trailer tyres go right down - about 12psi, but it is not a heavy nor heavily loaded trailer and it is running 285/75R16s.
FollowupID: 533450

Reply By: Member - Ed. C. (QLD) - Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 21:43

Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 21:43
I think this bloke http://www.direct4wd.com.au/tours/trailers.htm sums it up pretty well..
YMMV
Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"

AnswerID: 270427

Follow Up By: Robsoff - Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 22:01

Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 22:01
Thank you. Some real info from someone who must have driven it more than once;)

Cheers, Rob
FollowupID: 533432

Follow Up By: David from David and Justine Olsen's 4WD Tag-Along - Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 22:29

Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 22:29
Jol is probably the most experienced man I know when it comes to outback travel
FollowupID: 533438

Follow Up By: Member - Scoof (SA) - Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 22:53

Tuesday, Nov 06, 2007 at 22:53
Ed.C.

That is great advice.
I went to a night were Jol gave a talk fantastic guy.He knows his stuff.

Cheers Scoof
FollowupID: 533442

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 02:23

Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 02:23
Definitly drop the pressure of the CT probaly to les than the vehicle due to less weight.
While I havnt done the trip a quick glance at the fuel used in the treck notes shows most used barely more than they would in ideal Highwy conditions indicating it is as I have been told by those that have done it that it just a long dirt track for which a CT should be fine
AnswerID: 270464

Reply By: Willem - Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 08:18

Wednesday, Nov 07, 2007 at 08:18

If you are running tubeless tyres then 16-18psi on the tow vehicle and 10-12psi on the trailer should do it nicely

If you are running skinnys on splits then 14-16psi on the tow vehicle and 8-10psi on the trailer will bee good.

Driving skills are important though and it would be good to get some serious practice in towing the trailer on soft sand.

AnswerID: 270479