Member - Brian (WA)
Just re-filled the 9kg gas bottle at BCF. Still $19.90
Why do you want to pay $25 to exchange a bottle.
Who's over charging
Reply By: Red Frog - Vic - Saturday, Nov 10, 2007 at 17:12
Saturday, Nov 10, 2007 at 17:12
dunno, I pay $15.00 for a 9kg refill at Rays
Geelong
Follow Up By: 96 GXL 80 series - Saturday, Nov 10, 2007 at 22:33
Saturday, Nov 10, 2007 at 22:33
Hi Red Frog,
do you know Rotheram st near the High School?
My grandparents lived there for many years before they passed away, and my Aunty and uncle are in Linthwaite Close.
My parents live at Clifton Springs.
We were good friends with Dick Sarah opposite Kadinia
Park also.
Not sure if the Drive In is still on top of the
hill when coming from
Ballarat, my father erected that screen and the one at Sabastapol at
Ballarat, of course that one has since gone.
Follow Up By: Red Frog - Vic - Saturday, Nov 10, 2007 at 22:49
Saturday, Nov 10, 2007 at 22:49
So you're a
Geelong Lad 96, I knew you had something extra going for you.
The drive in closed 94, I bet you spend a few nights parked up there eh! LOL
Follow Up By: 96 GXL 80 series - Saturday, Nov 10, 2007 at 22:58
Saturday, Nov 10, 2007 at 22:58
No I was only a
young taker then but we lived in
Ararat.
My father also built my uncle and aunties hose in Minerva rd not long after the Drive in screen.
My uncle used to own the
caltex servo that was at the bottom of the
hill from the drive in.
I do remember quite a few good nights at the
Stawell dive in though.
But we better not get into them on here or they will play Blankety Blanks with us.
Follow Up By: BorisK - Sunday, Nov 11, 2007 at 09:02
Sunday, Nov 11, 2007 at 09:02
The
Caltex station is now a block of 2 bedroom units built by my cousin. But the service station 1 block before that owned by Coumans does gas refills and still offers old fashioned driveway
services.
Follow Up By: 96 GXL 80 series - Sunday, Nov 11, 2007 at 19:16
Sunday, Nov 11, 2007 at 19:16
Small world,
my uncle when he owned the
Caltex servo he had an old Jag.
He used to show off how fast it would go down that
hill.
My grandfather worked in the machine
shop at the Railways in
Geelong for years until he lost the eye sight in his left eye due to an accident at work.
Reply By: Edna1111 - Saturday, Nov 10, 2007 at 17:32
Saturday, Nov 10, 2007 at 17:32
Have to agree Brian, just filled two 9kg bottles at Langs Hardware Beennleigh for thirty-two Dollars this morning.
Reply By: Member - Fred G (NSW) - Saturday, Nov 10, 2007 at 18:01
Saturday, Nov 10, 2007 at 18:01
Does anyone else seem to find that exchange bottles don't last as long as having one refilled, in other words not filled properly. Is there a rip off business in place.
Reply By: Member - Clive G (NZ) - Saturday, Nov 10, 2007 at 18:55
Saturday, Nov 10, 2007 at 18:55
Hi Brian.
You guys should take action like us Kiwis did when faced with swap a bottle a few years ago. We voted with our feet, with the result that the swap rip off is dead here now. About NZ$16 to have 9kg filled by a real person.
Cheers. CliveG (NZ).
Follow Up By: Max - Sydney - Saturday, Nov 10, 2007 at 20:21
Saturday, Nov 10, 2007 at 20:21
Biggest problem with refilling is finding as real person who can get away from the console or counter to fill the wretched bottle.
We only need a 4 kg bottle every 18 months or so and i just find it easier & quicker to swap.
Never have to get the bottles tested either.
Max
Follow Up By: Member - Clive G (NZ) - Saturday, Nov 10, 2007 at 21:12
Saturday, Nov 10, 2007 at 21:12
Max.
Fair comment. A real person varies depending on which station and which day, Saturday night being the worst.
CliveG (NZ)
PS. A bottle test lasts 10 years here, how does that compare?
Follow Up By: DIO - Sunday, Nov 11, 2007 at 10:23
Sunday, Nov 11, 2007 at 10:23
Excellent advice. If only people realised the power of the consumer. If enough people boycott the 'swap a bottle' it will soon die off. The same logic can be applied to say petrol. Boycott the service stations that choose not to discount. If enough consumers do the same thing then more discounting will appear. Can be applied to any consumer transaction if ENOUGH people join to support the move. Remember, The Power of The Consumer is overwhelming. Problem is though there are too many 'jack men' out there who either have loads of cash to spend, no common sense or just can't be bothered boycotting chosen services/businesses etc for whatever reason.
Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Sunday, Nov 11, 2007 at 12:22
Sunday, Nov 11, 2007 at 12:22
Hahaha..
Dio's starting a revolution...take up arms and run for the hills!!!!
Hang on I think hes had them banned too, didnt he?
"Problem is though there are too many 'jack men' out there who either have loads of cash to spend, no common sense or just can't be bothered boycotting chosen services/businesses etc for whatever reason."
Or pepole who dont mind having a choice weather to swap or refill????
Follow Up By: disco driver - Sunday, Nov 11, 2007 at 19:31
Sunday, Nov 11, 2007 at 19:31
Further to DIO's advice.
Consumer boycott may work in the big smoke (ie capital cities or LARGE country towns) but when one lives in a country town of only 250-500 people with only the one outlet for fuel, gas and everything else AND the next LARGE town is 100+ km away, that idea falls in a heap.
The potential savings made by travelling to the larger centre are often swallowed up by the travel costs.
Of course there is also the issue of supporting the local traders so that they can remain in business so the touring public can get fuel, gas and supplies as they pass through. (Said with tongue almost in cheek, as this point is an issue with me.)
Disco.
Reply By: Member - Leave_enough_space - Saturday, Nov 10, 2007 at 20:34
Saturday, Nov 10, 2007 at 20:34
Yep,
Went to Bunning, Belrose today to get a 9kg refill to find they only do 'Swap & Go', since about a month ago. Cost $24.50!!!!
And I still had to wait 10 minutes to get someone to unlock the cabinet.
Follow Up By: Old Nick - Saturday, Nov 10, 2007 at 21:42
Saturday, Nov 10, 2007 at 21:42
Had no option but do an exchange travelling through Millicent in SA the other week, $28.50 and my exchange bottle was
well in date.
Jeez it must cost a lot to cart gas down there!!
Reply By: toolman WA - Saturday, Nov 10, 2007 at 20:39
Saturday, Nov 10, 2007 at 20:39
it would seem that my replaced gas bottle only ever goes to 3/4 on the BBQ gauge where the refilled ones drop the gauge to full. i try to only use the exchange in the emergency situations when some idiot has forgotten to fill the bottles and both are empty and the steak is half cooked. exchange is good for if your old bottle is almost out of date and you need a new one.
Reply By: PeterInSA - Saturday, Nov 10, 2007 at 21:52
Saturday, Nov 10, 2007 at 21:52
Brian,
From memory, I paid $38 to have my 8.8kg bottle filled in a Northern WA town in June. My mate had his changed over for $35. (9kg)
The reasoning I was given, being that to have a bottle filled by a certain time they have to at some stage stop what they are doing and do the fill whereas the exchange bottles they can fill them up say 10 at a time when business is slow.
Reply By: Member - Terry G (NSW) - Saturday, Nov 10, 2007 at 22:17
Saturday, Nov 10, 2007 at 22:17
Took my bottle to the
Innamincka shop a few years ago - wasnt empty but I didnt know when I could get it filled next. I expected to pay for a refill, but the guy came back with it and said "it only took 6kg's" and that's all he charged me for!!! Pity I cant get it filled there every time!!!
tessa
Reply By: AMack - Saturday, Nov 10, 2007 at 22:34
Saturday, Nov 10, 2007 at 22:34
$12.95 here at Leppington.
Follow Up By: Ozboc - Sunday, Nov 11, 2007 at 13:34
Sunday, Nov 11, 2007 at 13:34
really ? he charges me $14.00 ? - i have 2x 9 kg bottles
have spare in those emergency's so that if i do have an emergency i still wont go to a swap place to get gas ...
WILL NEVER USE A SWAP SERVICE EVER ( hope there reading this )
just have to get 3 bottles from them and you could have bought another bottle .. such A RIP OFF
Boc
Reply By: Hoyks - Saturday, Nov 10, 2007 at 23:47
Saturday, Nov 10, 2007 at 23:47
Also around the $13 mark at a servo in Charlstown (
Newcastle)
Follow Up By: Steve Ellis - Sunday, Nov 11, 2007 at 00:55
Sunday, Nov 11, 2007 at 00:55
Try $33.99 @
Mobil Toronto
Newcastle NSW. Absolute Ripoff I will be looking for the one in Charlestown, Hoyks. Which one?
Follow Up By: Hoyks - Sunday, Nov 11, 2007 at 10:05
Sunday, Nov 11, 2007 at 10:05
I'm not sure exactly which brand it is, but its on top of the
hill, heading south, before the shops and its the servo combined with a Red Rooster.
They had a
sign out the front advertising it as I was driving past it last Tuesday.
Reply By: aargee - Sunday, Nov 11, 2007 at 07:52
Sunday, Nov 11, 2007 at 07:52
I haven't had to deal with 9kg bottles in the past, we always used 4.5 for tenting trips, but since getting a camper trailer we've had a 9kg. Even though the trailer is only 3y.o. the bottle was at the end of its 10year cycle (the prev. owners kept the newer bottle by agreement).
Did a swap and go to renew the bottle, the 'new' bottle is only rated at 8.5kg, just a 9kg filled to 8.5 I thought. But it is physically smaller in girth. Are there different sizes (8.5 & 9)? Or is the size just different makes and quality?
BTW our local little hardware
shop still does refills by weight, you only pay for the gas you use.
- Rob.
Reply By: Axel [ the real one ] - Sunday, Nov 11, 2007 at 10:16
Sunday, Nov 11, 2007 at 10:16
Matillda servos on Nth side of
Brisbane do 9kg refills for $15.95 and 4.5kg for$8.00 , have had some serious discourse over empty / not fully empty bottles at different times , found 1 of my local stations still weighs the bottle prior to fill and at end of fill and charges acordingly , $1.70 per kg ,,
Reply By: Member - John C (QLD) - Sunday, Nov 11, 2007 at 10:33
Sunday, Nov 11, 2007 at 10:33
G'day all!
For Gold Coasters, Nerang Camping and Disposals fill 9Kg for $15 but only on Tuesdays. It must be a slow day.
Would dearly like to know of any
Gold Coast suppliers who charge by weight.
John Angus
Reply By: Member - Brian (WA) - Sunday, Nov 11, 2007 at 10:39
Sunday, Nov 11, 2007 at 10:39
Geez.Seems as though we are still paying to much here in the West. It's interesting the differance's across the country
Reply By: drewab - Sunday, Nov 11, 2007 at 18:54
Sunday, Nov 11, 2007 at 18:54
Gents,
Got our 8.5kg cylinder filled in
Emerald the other week for $30, you have to pay first then they fill it, got the cylinder through the swap system first though. At least they fill it, left it at the caravan park in
Emerald, I said I'd be in a couple of hours after doing the shopping, went back to collect nearly paid for it and picked it up first and it was still empty. The reply was come back in a couple of hours and it will be done. Yeah right.
cheers Drew
Reply By: Faulic_McVitte - Monday, Nov 12, 2007 at 08:25
Monday, Nov 12, 2007 at 08:25
$9 to $10 for a 9kg refill.
Made an adaptor to fill at autogas pump.
Need to make sure bottle is empty and put in 17L
Follow Up By: Mikee5 (Daisy Hill) - Monday, Nov 12, 2007 at 14:13
Monday, Nov 12, 2007 at 14:13
I thought Autogas was a mixture of butane and propane, whereas camping gas is propane only. If so isn't this idea dangerous?
Follow Up By: PeterInSA - Monday, Nov 12, 2007 at 15:37
Monday, Nov 12, 2007 at 15:37
A friend of mine has done the same thing, I am not going to for 3 reasons, the bottle gas does not carbon up
the pilot flame on the frig, I do not want any problems with the frig out in the bush. Secondly the bottled gas has a different smell to the auto gas, hopefully this smell will warn me of any leaks, due to vibration, caused by us travelling over rough roads.
I am not sure also of the impact on
Insurance, if you have a fire for any reason, if you use autogas can the
insurance company opt out of a $60K caravan claim.
Follow Up By: G.T. - Tuesday, Nov 13, 2007 at 12:29
Tuesday, Nov 13, 2007 at 12:29
HIGHLY ILLEGAL. YES I KNOW THAT I AM SHOUTING. G.T.