Submitted: Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 22:01
Ron173
G,Day/eve all,
Got our new trangia 27-1 prior to our weekend run in miniature format for motorcycling.
Playing with it in kitchen, boiled up a couple of pots, just to see how it went.
Now I added 10%
water as per instructions t metho, and it didnt blacken bottom of pots but interiors of both pots turned a dark brown / black whilst boiling a litre of
water.... I'm guessing this is a normal discolouration of alloy due to
water...??
We dont have bad
water.
Interested to hear comments.
Rgds
Ron
Reply By: BIG_red87 - Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 22:14
Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 22:14
Gday Ron
Mine did that too and i haven't carked it yet haha - its not a problem as far as i know.
Big Red
Follow Up By: Ron173 - Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 22:20
Wednesday, Nov 21, 2007 at 22:20
just good to know others the same,
rgds
Ron
Reply By: Member - Tim - Stratford (VIC) - Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 09:30
Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 09:30
G'day Ron,
I've been using a Trangia for a few years now. I haven't had a problem with the pots changing colour. I have the stainless lined set.
As a side issue - I didn't have problems lighting the burner in snow. Had to stick the burner under an armpit to pre-warm the metho - strange sight indeed - before it would light. I've since purchased a burner attachment similar to the MSR style burners that fit into the Trangia - I now run it on Coleman fuel or Shellite - super fast boiling but noisy!
Tim
Follow Up By: Member - Brian A (NSW) - Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 12:52
Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 12:52
Like Redback below, I've had
mine since '81.
I'm interested to know where I could check-out the MSR style burner. Any suggestions?
Follow Up By: Member - Brian A (NSW) - Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 13:19
Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 13:19
Tim,
thanks heaps for this. Looks good.
Reply By: gilghana - Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 11:06
Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 11:06
I got given a trangia recently as a present and was also trying it out in the kitchen! The pots didnt discolour inside (std alu type) but they did take on a brownish glaze where the flames were.
Water was very soft
water.
Delighted with the thing - ideal for a quick brew when I dont really want to rig up a bigger stove.
Gil
Reply By: Redback - Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 11:07
Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 11:07
Bought my Trangia in 1980/81 and have been very happy with
mine, never put
water in the metho though, only
orange juice, LOL.
I sometimes use it if i go away without the camper, best bit of cooking gear on the market IMHO.
Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 16:12
Thursday, Nov 22, 2007 at 16:12
Yup, like others, had one when I used to go to the Rallys all round the place... + many other weekends on the bike.. Never had an issue, but heat will change its colour..
Reply By: Member - Barnesy (SA) - Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 02:27
Friday, Nov 23, 2007 at 02:27
I have the trangia with stainless lined insides, they did discolour a little the first couple of times with heat, but it washed off and hasn't returned. May have just been part of the manufacturing process?
I tried putting some
water in with metho but found it took too long to boil and
cook. I don't bother with
water anymore and it cooks a lot faster.
I have soot on the bottom of pans from cooking in open fires! You don't eat off the outside of the pan so who cares?
Barnesy