Submitted: Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 21:54
garfield
Well the
camp kitchen is getting there, but I need your help with one last thing (I think it will be the last) I need some legs for my
camp kitchen. I need to know where I might be able to buy some trestle type legs - or come up with a system that that doesn't look too shabby and works
well to support one end of the kitchen while the other end is supported by the
camp trailer. Any suggestions? I was thinking of welding something like the pic below, but I don't yet know how to weld and If I can get out of it and do it another way, then I’m hoping I can.
Drifta legs
Thanks in advance
Reply By: Member - MrBitchi (QLD) - Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 22:04
Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 22:04
Sometimes Bunnings have the trestle legs for their folding tables. Or you could buy a table and take the legs off. From memory I paid about $30 for
mine. You can get a complete table now for about $45.
Reply By: howie - Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 22:36
Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 22:36
the slide out kitchen on my cavalier has legs that drop down but are adjustable in length.
i was thinking along the lines of modifying 2 tent poles, keeping the screw-in section as your adjustable bit.
PS having the legs adjustable is quite handy IMHO
Reply By: mfewster - Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 23:07
Monday, Dec 03, 2007 at 23:07
I'm with Howie. Infinitely adjustable legs which can each be at different heights make uneven ground (and it usually is) easy to deal with.
Reply By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 04:03
Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 04:03
Garfield,
You're delicious; beautifull indeed.
Quote. "I think it will be the last".(Gramps voice-over. Hahahafn ha.)
Strewth Garfield, the older I get, the more advice I need. (And YES, that does include morning medication: along with 7L of synthetic oil in a 6L sump: oh dear no drain plug, eh.Sheesh!
If you missed that, I'm glad.
But never mind my seriously degraded mind: MrBitchi is spot on: (IMHO). Go for a free-standing Chinese-made
table.
Why tie yerself to the trailer?
Our
table measures, I dunno.1400x550x80 maybe,($60?, 4 years ago. (Price has dropped). and it's served us brilliantly.You could almost put it on a chain an' drag it behind, it's so forgiving.
At the price,(if you can't buy the legs singly) you could buy a
table and dissect/reassemble the whole sheebang.
Don't let the "Modular People" con you into telling you what you need - ever.
Onya buddy
Jeff.
Follow Up By: garfield - Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 06:51
Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 06:51
what is a chinese fold out
table?
Reply By: Member - Barnesy (SA) - Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 04:53
Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 04:53
I made legs for my
kitchen using 3 different widths of square steel rods and telescoping them to extend down (have a look at photos on rig page).
Cost about $15 to buy steel and couple of hours to weld. This steel is easy to weld as it's 1.6mm thick.
Welded a link from chain onto a bolt to secure legs in place. The legs are very strong.
Other than that buy a
table with legs on already and work out a way to secure to end of
kitchen. Don't make it too complicated, keep it simple. You may have to take legs off every time rather than fold them up.
Barnesy
Follow Up By: garfield - Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 06:54
Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 06:54
Hi Barnesy, mate from what i can see it looks to serve you
well.... do you have any pictures a little closer up? are you much of a welder? i've never welded before in my life, so thats why i was thinking of maybe getting away from doing it like in the picture. welding looks way too hard and complicated.
Mind you i'd liike to learn how to do it :-)
Follow Up By: Member - Barnesy (SA) - Wednesday, Dec 05, 2007 at 01:57
Wednesday, Dec 05, 2007 at 01:57
Welding is not hard to learn. I taught myself in a few hours of practising with a borrowed (very old and
well used) arc welder. The thinner the steel the trickier it becomes. I am by no means expert at it but my small projects hold together
well.
If you are worried about it then maybe you should just buy some pre made legs and work out a way of fitting them.
The other bloke who made the Drifta copy, those legs look simple and good and would do the job. No welding required.
Barnesy
Follow Up By: Member - Barnesy (SA) - Wednesday, Dec 05, 2007 at 02:11
Wednesday, Dec 05, 2007 at 02:11
I did look at making some legs like those others but I wanted something really strong that could handle weight. Fully loaded my kitchen doubles as trailer storage. That's the reason I made h/duty legs.
Plus it gave me an excuse to learn how to weld!
Follow Up By: garfield - Wednesday, Dec 05, 2007 at 09:58
Wednesday, Dec 05, 2007 at 09:58
How do you hold the leg in place? like how does it not slide is what i mean.... when you have pulled out the leg how does it stop it from sliding, is it like a screw and a nut or something like that?
Follow Up By: garfield - Wednesday, Dec 05, 2007 at 21:02
Wednesday, Dec 05, 2007 at 21:02
how thick a wall did you have on that tubing you brought barnsey? did you have to use a different type of electrode to weld it if it was a thin wall?
Follow Up By: Member - Barnesy (SA) - Thursday, Dec 06, 2007 at 08:10
Thursday, Dec 06, 2007 at 08:10
To hold it in place I tack welded a nut to the outer leg and used a chain link welded to a bolt to screw into it. You can just see the chain links on the pics on my rig page.
The walls are 1.6mm thick. If you need advice on welding rods and voltages you would be better to go to a hardware store, or similar, and ask them about what to use for whatever steel you have. Basically the thinner the steel the lower the voltage and smaller the welding rod.
Reply By: Member - John T (NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 06:49
Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 06:49
Garfield,
My Trak Shak kitchen ,which attachs to the rear door lfts off so you can get the cooking done away from the CT. It has 2 fold down legs fitted underneath - not adjustable but then again how many times does one
camp on ground that is not reasonably flat. Oh and I carry a $35.00 chinses fold out table as
well for meal preparation too and use it for the duel fuel stove.
| John T (Lifetime Member)
VKS-737 Mobile 2619
Selcall 2619
"Argue for your limitations and sure enough they're yours" - Richard Bach in "Illusions" Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Reply By: flappa - Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 09:14
Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 09:14
I made a copy of a drifta
kitchen and this is how I did my end legs.
They are cut down tent poles.
Reply By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 11:53
Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 11:53
Mate the "Chjnese" made
table is moulded plastic, sitting on 20mm box-section steel, with H style trestle legs.Various sizes, and stocked by many hardware and outdoor retailers.
Legs could easily be made adjustable.
Just a thought.
Jeff.
Follow Up By: garfield - Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 12:42
Tuesday, Dec 04, 2007 at 12:42
You wouldn't have a picture handy by any chance would you please?
Reply By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Wednesday, Dec 05, 2007 at 19:08
Wednesday, Dec 05, 2007 at 19:08
Garfield, I just tried to post an image, but the gremlins are at play.
Is there an email address I could try?
Don't know if you want to publish an e address. I wouldn't.
Anyway, these tables are pretty common now. My last post was misleading. Legs are all identical. It's just
table lengths that vary.
wrt adjustments: I reckon a piece of pipe inside the tubular legs, with appropriate drill holes to accept a pin, would work ok.
Sorry about lack of image.I'm an outside amateur in this medium.
Good luck eh.
Jeff.