Castrol Magnetic Oil 10W40...Anyone use it in their 100seriesT/D???
Submitted: Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 00:43
Andrew(WA)
I'm looking for a Good oil...Change every 5000 - 7500k
I don't want to skimp, I want to look after the engine.
Anyone using this stuff?
Castrol site recommends it, but I use it already in a V6 petrol Magna...I thought oil for petrol and diesels were different???? I'm confused.
Might go the Castrol RX super instead!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Reply By: Member - Bucky (VIC) - Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 07:09
Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 07:09
Tried it for a while, earlier in the piece, with our new 3.0 TD Navara.
Was told that Magnatec was full of gums, and clugs up diesels, so I changed straight to
Mobil Synth S..
Not too sure if this is fact or fiction, but I thought, why take the chance !.
Cheers Bucky
Reply By: Member - Mark E (VIC) - Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 07:30
Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 07:30
General consensus on the lcool group is either
Caltex CXJ or Castrol J-Max. Apparently theses 2 oils are specifically designed for japanese diesel engines and have the appropriate additive package for longevity. Best do a search on the lcool group for info.
This issue has been posted numerous times here and a search would find lots of differing opinions, many of whom reckon any good 15/40 oil changed regularly will do the job. There are lots of variables which dictate engine longevity.....oil only being one of those.
Reply By: Member - Kevin J (QLD) - Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 09:29
Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 09:29
When I first got the LC TD 4.2 I was advised by a Lubrication Engineer who I trust to use
Caltex RPM Delo 400 15w/40.
He had gone so far as to contact Toyota Japan and this was the final decision.
The other point made was that the best thing you can do for your diesel is change the oil every 5000 or so and depending on the driving conditions eg bulldust be prepared to change the filters - air and oil - frequently. Dust is the worst enemy of an engine.
Kevin J
Reply By: MEMBER - Darian (SA) - Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 11:56
Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 11:56
Bought an manual 05 GXL with the 1HDFTE donk 2 months ago - had 40,000km on the clock - a lovely car - servicing it myself, I went straight to Magnatec - used that for ages in my Jackaroo with good results - I use nothing but Castrol lubes - I just decided to pick a supplier of worth and run with them - I was impressed by their support - you email them with a query - the techos phone you back ! - AND they know things about your car that most folk don't - suggests they are onto their game, which in this day and age, is impressive to me.
Reply By: Gronk - Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 13:15
Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 13:15
Castrol now doing a Magnetec diesel !!!!!!
Reply By: Member - Olcoolone (S.A) - Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 13:40
Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 13:40
I think alot of people need a life and to get out more.....sure use a good quality oil making sure it is the right grade.
Most people including myself would not be able to tell if a oil was working good or not until it was to late.
Oils have come along way over the years and so has materials used to make the engines.
Changing oil at 5000k means nothing, if you want to do it right go and take a oil sample and get it tested and learn what your engine is doing.
Follow Up By: wigger - Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 14:29
Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 14:29
What's the story on getting your oil tested?
Follow Up By: Pete and Lez - Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 14:48
Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 14:48
Half decent article in current Overlander mag about oil testing.
Follow Up By: Member - Olcoolone (S.A) - Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 18:52
Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 18:52
If you take a sample of your engine oil to a oil test centre (Caterpillar, Castrol and many more), they can test your oil for metal, coolant, contaminant's, and anything else and give you a report with what the engine should be, what it is and recommend what needs to be looked at or changed.
They can also recommend the oil change intervals.
I think it costs about $100.00, we are going to do ours at the next service.
They can also tell you if your oil is good for that engine...taking the "my mate next door" theory away.
Regards Richard
Follow Up By: wigger - Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 19:55
Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 19:55
Ocoolone
If you were going to get your oil analysed, wouldn't it make sense to give them two samples, one at 5k and a second at 10k, so that they could draw conclusions about the best interval for oil changes. It could be that, despite all the hype, the degredation over trhe additional 5000kms was not significant, esp if you used a low ash oil to start with.
You said that 'changing the oil at 5k means nothing'. It can only be good for the engine but surely you mean that its possibly unnecessary.
With the oil alone costing $40 per change, the difference in cost is about $400 per 100kms.(between doing it at 5 or 10k)
If the oil coys are doing the tests, surely they have a vested interest in promoting more frequent changes. Wouldn't an independent tester be safer?
Follow Up By: Member - Olcoolone (S.A) - Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 20:24
Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 20:24
You can give them a oil sample at 1000k if you wanted because it is still going to show the same information if anything is wearing.
They can estimate 100% accuracy what the oil is doing and what the long term use will be and when to change it.
As for independent testers, remember these companys are selling there products to people who use alot of oil and by being able to give the customer the correct advice they might keep them as a customer....An example " a transport company has been able to extend it's oil change intervals from 40000K to 100000k may of saved them $50k a year or more.
It is in the best interests of the oil company to give the right advice to there customers.
There are so many other things an oil test can show up.
So why change your oil if it doesn't need to be changed?
Follow Up By: wigger - Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 11:31
Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 11:31
Tks for info. Shouldn't be so sceptical of oil coys. Should have made myself clearer. What I meant was run one lot of oil for 5000, then run another lot for 10000, and give them two samples.Wear may be relatively easy to make predictions about, but I would have thought that shear and soot contamination would increase exponentially and another sample of longer use oil would be required to detect this degredation (but hey I'm no expert and welcome other peoples
views). Anyway, I'll get a test done at the next 5000.
Follow Up By: Member - Olcoolone (S.A) - Monday, Dec 17, 2007 at 12:19
Monday, Dec 17, 2007 at 12:19
Wigger That would be the best thing to do...at least you would have a better understanding of how your engine is going.
Reply By: Shane (QLD) - Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 13:59
Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 13:59
Had a friend that used Magnatec in his car. It ended up glazing the
bore, so he gave it the flick real quick after his rebuild.
Reply By: Member - Robert G (WA) - Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 16:09
Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 16:09
Andrew, I've been using Penrite diesel 15 in my LC100 TD. It is good quality and you can buy it in 10ltr bulk packs with a tap on the container from supercheap. I also change oil every 5000km. Clean oil has to be a good thing for any engine.
Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 15:54
Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 15:54
I don't understand Castrol.
They recommend two petrol engine oils for the 100series TD - Magnatec 10W40 and Edge 5W40.
They don't list any of their diesel engine oils like Magnatec Diesel/ J-max/ RX Super/ GTX Diesel etc etc I stick to Toyota's recommendations and use a 15w40 ci-4 diesel engine oil.
Also they recommend Multitrax for the manual boxes - it must be the worst oil around for cold changes - most people I know have moved to the Castrol VMX-M. Can't use their brake fluids because they are not DOT3.
Follow Up By: Member - Olcoolone (S.A) - Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 10:28
Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 10:28
You should be able use Dot 4 instead of Dot 3 in your Toyota, Dot 4 is compatable to Dot 3 system but you cannot use Dot 3 in a brake system designed for Dot 4.
Or goto Dot 5....then you can only use Dot 5 as Dot 3 and 4 don't mix with it.
Dot 4 is alot more stable then Dot 3.
Rerards Richard
Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 13:06
Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 13:06
Gday Richard,
If your Toyota says DOT 3, as most of them do, you cannot use DOT4. It swells the seals and causes a sticky brake pedal.
Toyota put out a warning a few years ago, which I could dig up and email to you if you like.
As a result, Toyota only sell DOT 3 fluid; Repco released a DOT 3 fluid just for Toyotas. Interesting too is that a few of the Nissans we own are also DOT 3 only.
Follow Up By: Member - Olcoolone (S.A) - Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 14:05
Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 14:05
Thats odd, Dot 4 is ment to be 100% compatable with any braking system that uses Dot 3...I know you can't use Dot 3 in systems that have natural rubbers seals.
Ill have to ask that question tomorrow.
Regards Richard