New Hilux slipping down driveway

Submitted: Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 10:49
ThreadID: 52859 Views:4503 Replies:9 FollowUps:27
Hello all, just a question RE, my new 4x4 Hilux. I only picked it up a few days ago & have never owned a 4x4 , one thing that is concerning me is that I have a steep driveway that I park on & just noticed that if I drive up & leave it in 1st gear ( switched off) it will slowly continue to creep back down the drive, unless park brake is engaged, I know the brake should always be applied but should it not be able to hold in 1st with out the brake, maybe everything needs to wear in, My other 2wd ute never did this.
Any info greatly appreciated.

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 11:16

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 11:16
Try sticking into low-range 1st gear....heaps more compression effect then and it shouldn't run away.....
AnswerID: 278443

Follow Up By: seb - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 11:24

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 11:24
Hi Roachie, Thas how I have it parked now, but I still feel that in 2WD it should not creep backwards like that.
FollowupID: 542453

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 11:46

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 11:46
Yeh, I guess it depends exactly HOW steep your driveway actually is and what the weight of the hilux is too (although it sounds like it's probably bog-stock if it's new). They don't need time to "break-in" as far as this aspect is concerned....in fact if anything, the motor should be at it's tightest when new.

The grade of the slope is the biggest factor. I got a real surprise a few years ago when doing a driver training course at Spear Creek (near Pt Augusta). One of the exercises was a "stall recovery". I was driving up this quite steep hill in my (then) 4.2TD Patrol which was heavily weighted with accessories. The idea was to simulate a stall whilst driving up this hill. I was in low range 1st gear. I stalled the engine (as required) and applied the foot brake & handbrake, switched off the ignition, moved it into reverse gear, disengaged the handbrake and gradually released the foot brake. This should have left the vehicle "hanging" safely on the engine-compression (engine is still off). What surprised me was that, even in low-range reverse gear, the engine started to loose compression and did small "lurches" down the hill. It was safe enough as I still had the brake pedal covered; but totally unexpected. I ordered a set of Mark's Adaptors low-range cog replacements the next day....and they now reside in the transfer case of my Chev-powered Patrol for the same reason.
FollowupID: 542457

Follow Up By: disco1942 - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 11:53

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 11:53
"low-range 1st gear....heaps more compression effect"

No - compression effect only works at speed, otherwise you would not be able to turn the motor over slowly with a spanner on the front nut to check the tappet clearances. At rest the only thing holding you on a slope is the friction in the motor and drive train - the more of that friction you have the higher the fuel consumption so we don't want too much of that do we. You will always have some leakage past the piston rings, even if it is only through the few thou gap between the two ends of them.

The more the motor is run in, the lower the friction, so the worse that creep will be. If your drive is that steep maybee you should have a chock that you can place loosely behind one of the wheels for safety - or trade it in for an automatic so you can put the gear selector in park.

FollowupID: 542461

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 12:15

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 12:15
? .....engine at top dead centre may assist in some situations...but i thought it was the gearing ratios when in low Which May stop it from rolling backwards or frontwards
FollowupID: 542464

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 14:19

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 14:19
Its got everything to do with compression and gearing ratio
roachiw would have had the compression but the patrols dont come with low range (not a real one anyway)
the new Hilux has the ratio but not the compression new crd come with lower compression
FollowupID: 542478

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 14:35

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 14:35
Yeh, the Patrol's 2.02 low range is a bit of a weakness, but nothing that about $1200- can't fix.

I now have the 2.86:1 low range (43%)......could have gone for the 3.743:1 (85%), but thought that would be just too much reduction for my needs.
FollowupID: 542483

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 14:53

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 14:53
Fishing for a bit of a bite and got 1
the 75 series had the same low range but didnt seem to be an issue
Probably because of a low 1st gear?
I really notice the difference in low range gearing with underground utes between a 75 and a 79
FollowupID: 542485

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 14:59

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 14:59
Onya Davoe....good cast mate.... got me hook, line and sinker!!! hohohoho
FollowupID: 542490

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 15:14

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 15:14
well there ya go...i dont know anything
FollowupID: 542493

Reply By: Member - Olcoolone (S.A) - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 11:45

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 11:45
We have a new Hilux and don't have a problem but we always use the hand brake.

Is it petrol or diesel and how steep is your drive way.

Regards Richard
AnswerID: 278448

Follow Up By: seb - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 12:06

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 12:06
Hi, Olcoolone its A TD 4x4 Hilux. The drive way would probably be around say 30-35 degrees where the ute is parked.

cheers.
FollowupID: 542463

Follow Up By: Notso - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 12:26

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 12:26
Does it creep back in lumps or is it smooth? If it's smooth the clutch may be slipping??
FollowupID: 542466

Follow Up By: seb - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 14:54

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 14:54
Notso,
It more of a creek back in lumps situation.
FollowupID: 542486

Reply By: time waster - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 12:33

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 12:33
I have read somewhere it also a problem with TD Prado's.
AnswerID: 278457

Follow Up By: disco1942 - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 12:58

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 12:58
If the hill is steep it is a problem with most vehicles except automatics (if you park them in park.)

FollowupID: 542468

Reply By: Simmo67 - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 13:56

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 13:56
Cant tell you where I learnt this one....but I've been driving for 20 years and.....

If I am facing downhill I park the vehicle in Reverse.
and If I am facing uphill I park the vehicle in 2nd gear.
and Of course I always apply the handbrake.

My wife has forgotten to put the handbrake on twice over the years, one time the car went into a neighbours yard and the 2nd time knocked me off my feet when I was walking behind the parked car.

AnswerID: 278468

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 14:21

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 14:21
why?
weather you are in 1st or reverse or forwards or backwards it will make zero difference as your motor will quite happily turn backwards against compression if its not going
to be pedantic you are always better off using reverse as it is usually the lowest gear
FollowupID: 542480

Follow Up By: David from David and Justine Olsen's 4WD Tag-Along - Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 09:05

Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 09:05
Not true unfortunately Daveo.

While it may be true for some Toyotas, Some manufacturers spec a reverse gear ratio that is between 1st and 2nd. So 1st is the lowest gear. In many Toyota's 1st and reverse are the same ratio.

http://www.marks4wd.com/vehicle-information/lc-fj40-info.htm

In the Patrols for instance 1st is 4.2:1 and reverse is 3.9:1

http://www.nissan.com.au/patrolcab/specifications.asp

Compression does aid staying on hills but you need to remember it will creep. We uitilise this compression or engine braking when we teach a key start stall recovery, it utilises all methods of braking, compression, hand-brake and foot-brake.

For those who don't know what a key start stall recovery is, it would be worth checking out a good 4wd course, it may save your life.

Dave O

FollowupID: 542602

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 09:34

Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 09:34
i guess i was referring to the hzj utes as it is what i drive normally and as i said it was being pedantic because there wouldnt normally be enough in it to make a noticicable difference
certainly the rest of the statement is true.
after an identical staterment to a simular question in the name of science i parked a ute on a steep hill high range 4x4 and weather it was is 1st or reverse it still rolled back doing 1 "chug" every 13 seconds

as to weather a vehicle will creep in any short term time frame depends on factors such as gearing, steepness of the hill, weight of vehicle.
certainly when we did the training for work none of the tojo utes crept

FollowupID: 542607

Follow Up By: David from David and Justine Olsen's 4WD Tag-Along - Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 09:51

Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 09:51
Yes I've noticed some will creep on my training hill and others won't.
FollowupID: 542609

Reply By: Member - 'Lucy' - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 14:13

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 14:13
Yoo Hoo! -Forum Visitor 'Youidiots' (aka Youpajero) where are you

This problem is right up your bailiwick.

I am waiting in trepidation for your advice re this 'precipitous issue'

AND the following are not acceptable answers:

(1) Change to Nissan

(2) Put a brick/rocks behind the tyres

(3) Shift house

(4) Don't take your foot off the brake pedal

(5) Park in the street.

(6) Park higher up on level ground

(7) Sell the vehicle and buy a 2WD .

(8) Anchor it to a fixed point further up the driveway.

AnswerID: 278470

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 14:19

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 14:19
hahahahaha, I think he's been left at the kiddies creche over the xmas break....... even his mother needs a break from him occasionally.....
FollowupID: 542479

Follow Up By: seb - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 14:57

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 14:57
Lucy, How your post helps I will never know.
FollowupID: 542489

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 18:16

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 18:16
The whole things got me stuffed !!, A decent handbrake will hold anyway, if the handbrake dosen't hold and its in low range first or reverse and still creeps then to me the handbrake is useless or the driveway is so steep the weight of the vehicle is taking over, and the thing is sliding! run for your life.....lol.

Cheers Axle
FollowupID: 542509

Follow Up By: seb - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 18:34

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 18:34
Axle, The example I was giving is when its in 2wd 1st gear,it slowly creeps back without hand brake ( I always apply brake) but I am wondering if it should do this, me thinks not. I am keeping it in 1st L4 and there is no creep.
FollowupID: 542514

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 10:54

Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 10:54
seb, meet Lucy: often the fingers start typing WELL BEFORE the brain is engaged.

FollowupID: 542616

Reply By: DIO - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 17:44

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 17:44
M'mmm, hopefully no damage other than pride. Perhaps it may pay to check the Owner's Handbook for manufacturer instructions on how to secure the vehicle when parked. they may suggest parking brake be engaged - for safety.
AnswerID: 278496

Follow Up By: seb - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 18:37

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 18:37
Dio, no damage nothing happened ,read the post properly.
FollowupID: 542515

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 19:05

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 19:05
a look at the specs shos 1st gear to be 4.3-1 nd diff ratio 3.7-1
sounds low enough but I know my driveway isnt steep at all but if i pull up in second it can chug very slowly (lc 80).
I have parked it on moderatly steep hills in 1st without problems but if your driveway is steep enough then yea no doubt it will chug
AnswerID: 278510

Reply By: TerraFirma - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 22:07

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 22:07
Off course a new Hilux will slip down a driveway, it doesn't like being parked , it needs to be run at least twice a day, prefers adventures rather than bitumen and certainly doesn't like sitting still.
AnswerID: 278547

Reply By: Member - Christopher P (NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 22:09

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 22:09
Ok i have seen the case ofd a toyota hilux go thru a gate because of the handbrake, it was auto and the guy jumoed out to open a auto electric gate and lock it open with a key, handbrake on 7 notches, as he got out said vehicle decide to go for a drive as he left it in drive and hand brake on.

KNOW WHYON EARTH WOULD YOU BE LEAVING THE HANDBRAKE OFF AND IF I WAS DRIVING PAST AND YOUR CAR CAME FLYING OUT OF YOUR DRIVEWAY AND HIT ME I WOULD TAKE EVERYTHING YOU OWNED????

SILLY SILLY.
AnswerID: 278548

Follow Up By: seb - Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 00:27

Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 00:27
Chris maybe your a little bit THICK read my post again. & I always use the park brake, its something that happened before I applied the park brake the ute did not roll out of the drive way. What the hell has one of your stupid mates leaving a ute in D with the brake on got to do with my post.
SNAPPER HEAD.
FollowupID: 542580

Follow Up By: Member - Christopher P (NSW) - Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 07:23

Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 07:23
Are these not your own words????

"I have a steep driveway that I park on & just noticed that if I drive up & leave it in 1st gear ( switched off) it will slowly continue to creep back down the drive, unless park brake is engaged"

You do redeem yourself with this
" I know the brake should always be applied but should it not be able to hold in 1st with out the brake"

Mate all i am saying is that there are people out there who will do this! I dont want you to be in court because you couldn't be bothered to put hand brake on because "My other 2wd ute never did this".

The weight factor comes into this the more weight the more pulling force applied to running gear hence slippage!
Newton's first law! "for every reaction there's an equal and opposite reaction"

Sorry if i was a bit harsh but i read it out to my wife and she also picked up on it!

Oh No i am not thick but i do call it how i see it!!!

FollowupID: 542584

Follow Up By: seb - Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 09:58

Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 09:58
Chris, Yes they are my words. I still don't see where I have said that I actually park my ute this way. In a follow up I also said.

The example I was giving is when its in 2wd 1st gear,it slowly creeps back without hand brake ( I always apply brake) but I am wondering if it should do this, me thinks not. I am keeping it in 1st L4 and there is no creep.

Maybe I should have made my post more clear.
I was simply testing it out to see if it held, & yes my petrol 2WD never did this does not mean it was parked without the handbrake. I always park any vehicle in gear & parkbrake applied on flat areas also,Looking at the drive this morning it may not be as steep as I first mentioned. I don't trust parking brakes, just like any other part of the vehicle they can fail, hence my concern.
FollowupID: 542610

Follow Up By: Pete and Lez - Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 11:10

Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 11:10
Seb, WHO CARES? JUST USE YA HANDBRAKE. Gee, why are my tyres flat, but only on the bottom. I thought they were supposed to be round?
FollowupID: 543196