Silver cars less safe on roads

Submitted: Tuesday, Jan 15, 2008 at 13:44
ThreadID: 53514 Views:4024 Replies:14 FollowUps:34
Here's a topic that will get some minds thinking, this is something I have been aware of for many years, why buy a car that's the colour as the road, and the dark grey's look like wet road colour, next time you see one look at the car and then the road,

Silver Cars

Reply By: Kev & Darkie - Tuesday, Jan 15, 2008 at 13:45

Tuesday, Jan 15, 2008 at 13:45
If all drivers drove with their head lights on then there would be less of a problem :))

AnswerID: 281758

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (FNQ) - Tuesday, Jan 15, 2008 at 13:55

Tuesday, Jan 15, 2008 at 13:55
Kev
Have you got headlights on the side of your SILVER 4x4

..Ummm

FollowupID: 546082

Follow Up By: Kev & Darkie - Tuesday, Jan 15, 2008 at 14:11

Tuesday, Jan 15, 2008 at 14:11
I can if you want some :))

FollowupID: 546086

Follow Up By: normo - Tuesday, Jan 15, 2008 at 15:58

Tuesday, Jan 15, 2008 at 15:58
I don't see why cars aren't wired the same as motorcycles as soon as the ignition is on the head lights come on.

How often can you only see the side of a car without some sort of view of the front or rear?
FollowupID: 546104

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (FNQ) - Tuesday, Jan 15, 2008 at 16:32

Tuesday, Jan 15, 2008 at 16:32
Kev
Don'y worry about the lights, I have just the solution

FollowupID: 546108

Follow Up By: Kev & Darkie - Tuesday, Jan 15, 2008 at 17:37

Tuesday, Jan 15, 2008 at 17:37
Your Droopy would look good painted hot pink ;))

FollowupID: 546117

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (FNQ) - Tuesday, Jan 15, 2008 at 17:55

Tuesday, Jan 15, 2008 at 17:55
Yeh...If one had a passenger like in the link down below ...it would

FollowupID: 546122

Follow Up By: Kev & Darkie - Tuesday, Jan 15, 2008 at 18:12

Tuesday, Jan 15, 2008 at 18:12
That is a nice pink leopard, I can hear Dusty growling from here LOL

FollowupID: 546127

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Tuesday, Jan 15, 2008 at 22:08

Tuesday, Jan 15, 2008 at 22:08
Helped my daughter drive her Pulsar from Adelaide to Brisbane last weekend, and I reckon 50% of vehicles had their headlights on. Certainly makes oncoming vehicles more visible.
FollowupID: 546214

Reply By: Mr Pointyhead - Tuesday, Jan 15, 2008 at 13:57

Tuesday, Jan 15, 2008 at 13:57
Currently drive a Sliver 100 series (I did not have a choice of colour). There is a very noticable difference in how much space other drivers give me between lights off and on. I now always drive with the lights on.
It is not only wet weather that makes the car hard to see. It is also hard to see in the shimmer you get on very hot days

Previous 4x4 was a bright red Prado. Still found that drivers gave me more room with lights on compared to off, however the difference was not as big as it is with the silver car.
AnswerID: 281760

Follow Up By: didiaust - Wednesday, Jan 16, 2008 at 06:29

Wednesday, Jan 16, 2008 at 06:29
We almost had a head on travelling toward Burren Junction. Four people in the car did not see the gray car travelling toward us beacuse od the shimmer of the road.

Take care
FollowupID: 546259

Reply By: Notso - Tuesday, Jan 15, 2008 at 14:34

Tuesday, Jan 15, 2008 at 14:34
It all depends on the brightness and or size of the image on your retina.

If there is a 68 tonne truck coming at you and a 2 tonne SUV just in front of it you'll probably only see the truck. If the SUV is a light colour with it's lights on then it presents a brighter image than the truck so it will be more obvious. Motorcyclists face the same problem so you may ask why they mostly wear black and object to having their lights on.??
AnswerID: 281764

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Tuesday, Jan 15, 2008 at 14:46

Tuesday, Jan 15, 2008 at 14:46

I just think it should be made law, that when its dull and raining, its
an offence to drive with your lights off.

Daza
FollowupID: 546091

Follow Up By: V64Runner - Tuesday, Jan 15, 2008 at 15:04

Tuesday, Jan 15, 2008 at 15:04
Oh here we go again - MORE asinine LAWS to become another revenue raising exercise Get real for gods sake.
FollowupID: 546097

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Tuesday, Jan 15, 2008 at 16:58

Tuesday, Jan 15, 2008 at 16:58
Hey V6 4 Runner

If it means saving a few more lives with another law so be it.
only the law breakers worry about extra laws.

anyway cant POOR DIDUMS FIND HIS WIDDLE LIGHT SWITCH.
or have you got your finger up your ASININE ARSE.

Daza.
FollowupID: 546112

Follow Up By: Kumunara (NT) - Tuesday, Jan 15, 2008 at 19:09

Tuesday, Jan 15, 2008 at 19:09
DAZA

Just for your info DAZA you are required to drive with the lights on at night and during periods of low visibility.

That means that when it is dull and raining you are required to have you lights on. That means headlights - not just parking lights.

V64Runner. You comment needs little response. Your comment is asinine. The law requiring lights is to improve safety for all road users.

Tjilpi
Life's great and it just keeps getting better

FollowupID: 546138

Follow Up By: V64Runner - Tuesday, Jan 15, 2008 at 19:18

Tuesday, Jan 15, 2008 at 19:18
Daza you moron you are the assanine one. Any idiot with half a brain knows that you have to drive with the park lights on or headlights on when its getting dark - but there is no law in WA that says you have to drive with your lights on when it raining - it just helps QED.
FollowupID: 546141

Follow Up By: Kumunara (NT) - Tuesday, Jan 15, 2008 at 19:33

Tuesday, Jan 15, 2008 at 19:33
V64Runner

I suggest that before you post you read the Australian Road Rules.

Parking lights are for parking. Headlights are for driving. It is not park lights or headlights. It is headlights only - parking lights are not sufficient.

For you information in Australian (that includes WA) you have to use your headlights during periods of low visibility. That means when it is raining.

There is a legal principal "Ignorance of the law is no excuse".

Tjilpi

Life's great and it just keeps getting better

FollowupID: 546144

Follow Up By: equinox - Tuesday, Jan 15, 2008 at 20:37

Tuesday, Jan 15, 2008 at 20:37
haha sorry couldn't help myself:

W.A. Road Traffic Code 2000 (subsidery legislation for Road Traffic Act 1974)

Part 13 — Lights and warning devices

Division 1 — Lights on motor vehicles

182. Lights on moving motor vehicles.
A person shall not drive a motor vehicle or a combination of a
motor vehicle and trailer, during the hours of darkness or in
hazardous weather conditions restricting visibility, unless it is
equipped with such lights and reflectors as are prescribed by the
Vehicle Standards or the Road Traffic (Towed Agricultural
Implements) Regulations 1995 as those to be carried by that
vehicle or combination, and the lights are lit.

FollowupID: 546183

Reply By: Waynepd (NSW) - Tuesday, Jan 15, 2008 at 14:39

Tuesday, Jan 15, 2008 at 14:39
I have had this opinion about Silver/grey cars for years too.
My car is white but whenever the rain starts my lights go on even though i know i drive one of the more visible coloured cars on the road. Guess who is the last car on the road to think of putting their lights on, the Silver/grey, dark blue and black cars seem to be the ones. The most high risk cars seem to be the most unaware of their invisibilty during times of low light be it rain or dusk or heat shimmer.
I said this in a previous post which touched on this subject...Volvo had the right idea back in the 80's when they rigged the parkers to come on when the motor was running,... mind you that is as close to praise as i can bring myself to offer regarding these mechanical marvels LOL.

There should be a programme of education provided to the public covering this safety issue but it won't happen.
AnswerID: 281765

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Tuesday, Jan 15, 2008 at 14:55

Tuesday, Jan 15, 2008 at 14:55
Scandinavia has _very_ different natural light conditions to Australia.
FollowupID: 546095

Follow Up By: Member - Matt (Perth-WA) - Tuesday, Jan 15, 2008 at 16:02

Tuesday, Jan 15, 2008 at 16:02
Nah all the dark cars have their FOGLIGHTS on so they dont need to turn well adjusted low beam lights on...they just blind every one!
FollowupID: 546105

Reply By: Mike Harding - Tuesday, Jan 15, 2008 at 14:52

Tuesday, Jan 15, 2008 at 14:52
I have little doubt this is an extremely silly statistic.

It is inevitable that some colours will be over-represented in accidents just as it is inevitable that male drivers who part their hair on one particular side of their head, will be over-represented.

"Lies. Damned lies and statistics!"

AnswerID: 281769

Follow Up By: geocacher (djcache) - Tuesday, Jan 15, 2008 at 16:45

Tuesday, Jan 15, 2008 at 16:45
I tend to agree. The statistics never refer to number of accidents for a given colour per capita of cars of that colour sold.

Some colours like Silver are very popular and therefore there will be a greater number involved in incidents than there will be of say, Purple cars.

Doesn't mean purple cars are safer though....

FollowupID: 546109

Reply By: V64Runner - Tuesday, Jan 15, 2008 at 14:59

Tuesday, Jan 15, 2008 at 14:59
After having driven over ONE MILLION MILES not KILOMETRES in my life I have never had to use my headlights except to see where I am going. My attitudes is - if you cant see my car on the roadthen what the hell are you doing driving if you cant see me or any other car etc Get the hell off the road as you are a danger to other road users and youself. In over 45 years of driving in many countries I have never had difficulty seeing other vehicles in the rain, or overcast conditions. And in fog everyone uses YELLOW Fog lamps NOT white !

Now this will create a huge tidal wave of vitriolic posts - dont waste your time posting to me as I will delete then as fast as they come in. Never had a motor vehicle accident in over a million miles of driving behind the wheel of all my company cars. I just pay attention at all times- and that includes even now that I am retired.
AnswerID: 281771

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Tuesday, Jan 15, 2008 at 15:45

Tuesday, Jan 15, 2008 at 15:45
In the lower Blue Mountains they have signs up promoting the use of headlights in daytime to improve safety- hardly anyone does - this helps explain it.

Have you noticed how when you're driving into the setting sun all the cars that are hard to see with the sun behind them don't bother to turn their lights on - after all, they can see the cars coming towards them very clearly - yes, this explains the "thinking".

How much does it cost to have headlights on in poor visibility ?????

Statistics of one are really convincing.
FollowupID: 546102

Follow Up By: Waynepd (NSW) - Tuesday, Jan 15, 2008 at 18:04

Tuesday, Jan 15, 2008 at 18:04
Well V64runner,
not all of us are blessed with 20/20 vision into our dotage as you obviously have been but for the rest of us mere mortals there is a concern and it is rightly raised here. The problem is not necessarily one of inattention but of the colour choice of some vehicles in adverse conditions, I want to live where you live if you don't have misty rains on dark and cloudy days, with droplets formng on rearview mirrors and silver cars in adjacent lanes hiding behind the spray of your vehicle.

Never had a car accident? The old reply to that to old farts with a perfect driving record is....yeh but how many have you caused? possibly because you changed onto someone in a silver car and just driven on unaware?
Delete away mate it'll still be here when you get back
FollowupID: 546123

Follow Up By: V64Runner - Tuesday, Jan 15, 2008 at 19:07

Tuesday, Jan 15, 2008 at 19:07
I now wear glasses, and exercise caution, becasue of hoons driving over powered vehicles. I have been a lead foot in my 20s, but the fastest car on the road back in the the late 1950s never developed more than 100 BHP !! and that was my British Austin A105 Westminster complete with heater demister radio and Yellow foglamps made by Lucas as standard equipment.And that would touch 97 Miles Per Hour, on a good day.( Probably you idiots have never seen one let alone heard of them) I have had two vehicles go up the back of me at 9.OO A.M on the Mitchell Freeway in Perth because they were too busy yacking on their mobiole phones - in 2007. I have a hands free system, and neither have I been the causes of other peoples accidents. Have come across many during my working life and am still working as am self employed and prefer working to sitting around at home waiting fot the 6x3 box. Business interests with my sons company takes me over seas three to four times a year. Hope to be active as long as Sir Charles Court was.
FollowupID: 546137

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Tuesday, Jan 15, 2008 at 20:58

Tuesday, Jan 15, 2008 at 20:58
Hi V64 Runner.

No hard feelings, try to keep your record in tact.

WE WILL ALL END UP LIKE SIR CHARLES COURT, SOONER OR LATER.

Daza
FollowupID: 546188

Follow Up By: madfisher - Wednesday, Jan 16, 2008 at 10:00

Wednesday, Jan 16, 2008 at 10:00
v6 your atitude is Damn you Jack I am ok. Very selfish. Having your lights on in the daytime may just save your life. As a professional Driver it is the fitst thing we drill into new chaps starting ofrf with our Co. I know as we get older we all hate change, but you need to get into the 21 century mate.
FollowupID: 546314

Reply By: troopyman - Tuesday, Jan 15, 2008 at 15:46

Tuesday, Jan 15, 2008 at 15:46
I agree about the silver . Especially at dawn and dusk .
AnswerID: 281779

Reply By: Member - Doug T (FNQ) - Tuesday, Jan 15, 2008 at 16:36

Tuesday, Jan 15, 2008 at 16:36
I think this link will show you all just how....umm...err... nice a ..CAR can look. STUNNING I must say.

Car Lovers Only

AnswerID: 281784

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Tuesday, Jan 15, 2008 at 17:06

Tuesday, Jan 15, 2008 at 17:06
NICE

Daza.
FollowupID: 546114

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (FNQ) - Tuesday, Jan 15, 2008 at 17:08

Tuesday, Jan 15, 2008 at 17:08
Daza
Oh to be young again ....dream...drool

FollowupID: 546115

Follow Up By: Waynepd (NSW) - Tuesday, Jan 15, 2008 at 18:08

Tuesday, Jan 15, 2008 at 18:08
What a beautiful filly, the Mustang that is LOL
FollowupID: 546124

Follow Up By: Member - Ed. C. (QLD) - Tuesday, Jan 15, 2008 at 18:09

Tuesday, Jan 15, 2008 at 18:09
Car???

What car????

I didn't see no car ;-))))

Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"

FollowupID: 546125

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Tuesday, Jan 15, 2008 at 18:37

Tuesday, Jan 15, 2008 at 18:37
Not a bad colour Doug!, the car looks allright as well!...lol

Axle.
FollowupID: 546131

Follow Up By: TD100 - Tuesday, Jan 15, 2008 at 19:41

Tuesday, Jan 15, 2008 at 19:41
Nice Headlights might i add :)))) TIC
FollowupID: 546146

Follow Up By: Member - Gomax (VIC) - Wednesday, Jan 16, 2008 at 17:25

Wednesday, Jan 16, 2008 at 17:25
That'd be Mustang Sally then....
FollowupID: 546382

Reply By: geocacher (djcache) - Tuesday, Jan 15, 2008 at 16:53

Tuesday, Jan 15, 2008 at 16:53
When I worked at General Motors in their engineering department in the '90s there was a big study done in the US that determined that other drivers percieve a car with it's headlights on (low beam) to be closer than it actually is.

Therefore they are less likely to pull out from a side road, or commence overtaking toward a car with it's lights on than they were if it had no lights on.

Further they worked out that the running light style of lighting such as those used on Volvos were too dim to have had any effect on distance perception.

As a result GM divisions (eg. Holden, Subaru, SAAB etc.) worldwide tended toward designing vehicles that turned lights off when the key was off and the drivers door opened, rather than just beeping at the driver. If the car turned them off people were more likely to just leave them on.

I can say that in 10 years of ambulance I've never been to an accident during the day where the vehicles involved were running low beam durng the day. It's only anecdotal evidence, but I've been to a lot of prangs.

We also find that alternating headlights with the red & blues on are far, far more effective than the red & blues alone during the day time. They can be seen from further away, and they attract much more of the drivers attention.

AnswerID: 281787

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Tuesday, Jan 15, 2008 at 17:05

Tuesday, Jan 15, 2008 at 17:05
Dave, I have no doubt that what you say is correct: however I suspect it’s the case because vehicles with red and blue flashing lights and alternating flashing headlights are the exception rather than the rule just as vehicles with their headlights on in daytime are the exception.

Once all vehicles do the lights thing (in whatever manner) we’ll become use to it and they will fade into the background as the norm – that’s human behaviour for you….

FollowupID: 546113

Follow Up By: SoloGirl - Tuesday, Jan 15, 2008 at 20:19

Tuesday, Jan 15, 2008 at 20:19
Dave,
Is that a Honda XR400 in your little pic?
FollowupID: 546176

Follow Up By: geocacher (djcache) - Wednesday, Jan 16, 2008 at 00:11

Wednesday, Jan 16, 2008 at 00:11
Red & Blue lights were an exception rather than the rule and they were less visible without the headlights though.

There are times particularly driving toward the sun in the morning & evening where many colours of vehicle are invisible without their lights on until they are much closer. Vehicles with their lights on can be seen from a far greater distance.

Given that two vehicles travelling at 100kmh toward each other are narrowing the space between them at about 108 metres every 2 seconds you don't have to be seen much earlier to buy your self & family an extra 500 metres of safety margin.

For those that choose not to, I don't really care. But I've seen the results countless times. It can happen to anyone, and it's not pretty.

FollowupID: 546249

Reply By: SoloGirl - Tuesday, Jan 15, 2008 at 20:20

Tuesday, Jan 15, 2008 at 20:20
I'm not going to say a word about this topic after my little accidents with the tree/bullbar and that bl**dy pole in the carpark!
AnswerID: 281831

Reply By: V8Diesel - Tuesday, Jan 15, 2008 at 21:11

Tuesday, Jan 15, 2008 at 21:11
My 100 Series is silver and my Crewman is dark charcoal grey.

Lights on 100% of the time. Costs nothing and can't hurt I reckon. What's the problem?

AnswerID: 281843

Reply By: Rossco td105 - Wednesday, Jan 16, 2008 at 10:29

Wednesday, Jan 16, 2008 at 10:29
G'day,

Owned two silver 100 series, never been involved in a crash. Drive with lights on. If you can't see my vehicle on the road you may need to be paying more attention.

Ross.
AnswerID: 281903

Reply By:- Wednesday, Jan 16, 2008 at 16:09

Wednesday, Jan 16, 2008 at 16:09
I remember hearing a study that actually said that silver cars were the safest on the road so did a quick google and found this. Not sure if it the one I remember.

http://www.newscientist.com/article/dn4504-silver-cars-are-the-safest-on-the-road.html

AnswerID: 281952

Reply By: Member - SNAKE (Raoul)QLD - Wednesday, Jan 16, 2008 at 23:13

Wednesday, Jan 16, 2008 at 23:13
Dont know what you are all on about,Ive had 4 silver cars and only smashed each one once.Cheers Snake
AnswerID: 282016