P Plate Speed Limits

Submitted: Sunday, Jan 20, 2008 at 10:15
ThreadID: 53691 Views:13845 Replies:6 FollowUps:9

I have a friend whose daughter has just got her P Plate Licence in NSW. At the moment they are in QLD for his brothers wedding and he has let his daughter drive part of the way in QLD.

They are under the impression that P Platers in QLD have NO restrictions on speed limits other than to drive at the posted limits: ie if on Bruce Hwy and the limit is 110K then she can do 110K legally.

Because of this belief, he is letting her drive at the posted speed limits in QLD and then when they get to the border, he takes over so that he can drive at the posted speed limits instead of her being restricted to 90K in NSW.

I reckon thats not right. If she has a P Plate in NSW and is restricted to 90K, then thats is 90K in any state regardless of the state she holds her licence in.

I thought that all the states have agreed now on P Plate speed limits

Am I right, or is my mate right.

Cruiser

Reply By: Baz & Pud (Tassie) - Sunday, Jan 20, 2008 at 10:37

Sunday, Jan 20, 2008 at 10:37
The legal P plate limit in Tassie is 80 kph and i would assume that if you were from NSW and driving in Tassie you would have to abide by the legal limit in this State, not a legal eagle but i think your mate is WRONG.

Baz
Go caravaning, life is so much shorter than death.

AnswerID: 282657

Follow Up By: Member - Fred G (NSW) - Sunday, Jan 20, 2008 at 10:50

Sunday, Jan 20, 2008 at 10:50
Why on earth would one encourage ones daughter to drive at 110kph when she has just got her red "P's".
When she gets pulled over, they both should be locked up..:-((
FollowupID: 547170

Follow Up By: stefan P (Penrith NSW) - Sunday, Jan 20, 2008 at 15:48

Sunday, Jan 20, 2008 at 15:48
"Why on earth would one encourage ones daughter to drive at 110kph when she has just got her red "P's"."

because a crash at 90KPH hurts so much less!!

she is under supervision from an experienced driver, if she is not doing to well I am sure he would say slow down or resume driving duties.

cheers Stefan

FollowupID: 547222

Follow Up By: Member - Fred G (NSW) - Sunday, Jan 20, 2008 at 16:32

Sunday, Jan 20, 2008 at 16:32
Some peoples words of wisdom say it all.....
FollowupID: 547224

Reply By: Nav 8 - Sunday, Jan 20, 2008 at 11:21

Sunday, Jan 20, 2008 at 11:21
WA is now the posted speed limit for P platers, used to be 80 Kph.. Nav.
AnswerID: 282666

Follow Up By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Sunday, Jan 20, 2008 at 12:52

Sunday, Jan 20, 2008 at 12:52
Hi Nav 8, when did the speed for P platers go to posted limit, I thought that it went up to 90K, I certaintly would not be in a car with a P plater going at 110K, a little bit more experience is required IMO anyway.

D

Simba, our much missed baby.

FollowupID: 547199

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Sunday, Jan 20, 2008 at 14:35

Sunday, Jan 20, 2008 at 14:35
Nav 8 is correct we have a 16 yo in the house and i have been looking at the rules
100kph for l platers 110 (obviosly depending on posted limit)
FollowupID: 547214

Follow Up By: Nav 8 - Sunday, Jan 20, 2008 at 19:22

Sunday, Jan 20, 2008 at 19:22
I agree with Dunworkin re the experience. Not sure when the change came in must be a couple years ago now. Still why worry most P platers didn't abide by their speed limit anyway. Its about time we had universal road rules right across Australia.... Nav.
FollowupID: 547257

Reply By: Member - Mike DID - Sunday, Jan 20, 2008 at 12:30

Sunday, Jan 20, 2008 at 12:30
In NSW L platers are limited to 80, Red Ps to 90k and Green Ps to 100k.

I still see so many Red P platers doing 115ks on the freeway - but they won't be doing it for long - instant loss of licence.
AnswerID: 282680

Reply By: Ray - Sunday, Jan 20, 2008 at 19:06

Sunday, Jan 20, 2008 at 19:06
I don't have P plates and never have. What concerns me though is all the different regulations among the states. I though we were doing down the road to standard road rules throughout the Commonwealth????????????
AnswerID: 282738

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Sunday, Jan 20, 2008 at 20:00

Sunday, Jan 20, 2008 at 20:00
The Australian Road Rules contain certain regulations - the states can add their own.

Provisional Driver conditions aren't included in the ARR - yet !
FollowupID: 547267

Reply By: DIO - Monday, Jan 21, 2008 at 10:42

Monday, Jan 21, 2008 at 10:42
Think you'll find that if she has a NSW P-Plate she has to abide by the requirements of the Sate of issue. Not by the limits of the State she is visiting. For goodness sake, once she crosses borders, the conditions of her licence don't automatically change - do they? Same applies to any licence or registration.
AnswerID: 282866

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Monday, Jan 21, 2008 at 11:56

Monday, Jan 21, 2008 at 11:56
no, States set their requirements for driving in them, therefore she has to follow them when travelling interstate.

Road rules and conditions are two seperate areas......vehicle size, number of passengers etc are conditions......speed limits WRT P Platers are road rules.

FollowupID: 547380

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Monday, Jan 21, 2008 at 19:37

Monday, Jan 21, 2008 at 19:37
In general you always have to comply with the laws of the state you are in.

In NSW I don't expect to get booked if I drive at 64km/h, if I go to Victoria I will drive at 2km/hr below the speed limit.

If you come to NSW don't walk around with a pocket-knife or Leatherman - here it's illegal to carry any knife at any time without lawful excuse - $500 fine and criminal record for 10 years.
FollowupID: 547489

Reply By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Monday, Jan 21, 2008 at 11:50

Monday, Jan 21, 2008 at 11:50
With the L plater at least, when travelling interstate, they still need to adhere to the conditions of their licence. They also have to obey the State's road rules. For example, if the NSW road rule is 80km/h max for L Platers, then they have to obey that when travelling in NSW.

I assume it would be no different with P Platers ie. follow the State's Road Rules. (90km/h in NSW etc)

It is their responsibility to obtain the necessary requirements in each state before travelling.

AnswerID: 282877