Tyre air pump

Submitted: Sunday, Jan 20, 2008 at 13:53
ThreadID: 53702 Views:1832 Replies:8 FollowUps:9
Any suggestions on the idea of fitting a suitable tyre air pump to a Troopy that reaches all wheels. Yes I can carry one, but with everything else loaded, the thought of having one located somewhere that I could just unwind the hose, switch her on & inflate appeals.

Reply By: Wayne (NSW) - Sunday, Jan 20, 2008 at 14:13

Sunday, Jan 20, 2008 at 14:13
Rumbler,

In the back of the Troopie on the passenger side where the jack lives. You should be able to fit a compressor in there. The length of the air hose will determine if all tyres can be reached. Most hoses are 7 mt and that should be long enough.

One place that I will not put a compressor is under the bonnet. Heat, water and dust are the three things that a compressor don't need.

AnswerID: 282695

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Sunday, Jan 20, 2008 at 19:41

Sunday, Jan 20, 2008 at 19:41
Hal-a-bloody-lool-ya.....and amen to that!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

For the life of me I will NEVER understand why people fit their compressors under the bonnet. Never have; never will (mind you, I couldn't fit it under there even if I wanted to.... hahaha
FollowupID: 547259

Follow Up By: Wayne (NSW) - Sunday, Jan 20, 2008 at 20:23

Sunday, Jan 20, 2008 at 20:23
Roachie,

Have you have been sniffing silicon again?

Like you I don't have room to fit anything under the bonnet of the Troopie. I have two compressors in a box that is portable, but when I fit the diff locks the compressor will be in the back or in the side panel.

FollowupID: 547270

Follow Up By: Wayne (NSW) - Sunday, Jan 20, 2008 at 20:26

Sunday, Jan 20, 2008 at 20:26
Roachie,

Have you have been sniffing silicon again?

Like you I don't have room to fit anything under the bonnet of the Troopie. I have two compressors in a box that is portable, but when I fit the diff locks the compressor will be in the back or in the side panel.

FollowupID: 547271

Follow Up By: Member - Olcoolone (S.A) - Sunday, Jan 20, 2008 at 21:53

Sunday, Jan 20, 2008 at 21:53
Whats wrong with fitting it under the bonnet?
FollowupID: 547296

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Sunday, Jan 20, 2008 at 22:16

Sunday, Jan 20, 2008 at 22:16
thats where the biggest compressor you own is mounted, though it would be good to mount that in the back where the jack lives too, then the bonnet area could be used for batteries etc.
Hang on, they dont like dust heat and water either?
FollowupID: 547304

Follow Up By: Rumbler - Tuesday, Jan 22, 2008 at 19:12

Tuesday, Jan 22, 2008 at 19:12
Thanks Wayne
I'll consider, but somewhere protected & safe sounds like something to think about.
FollowupID: 547758

Reply By: Member - Doug T (FNQ) - Sunday, Jan 20, 2008 at 14:32

Sunday, Jan 20, 2008 at 14:32
Mine is fixed between the passenger seat & cargo barrier and have a switch on the roof console. and a spare bluetongue in a storage box

AnswerID: 282700

Reply By: Twinkles - Sunday, Jan 20, 2008 at 16:09

Sunday, Jan 20, 2008 at 16:09
I fitted one under the bonnet but moved it into the tray of my Hilux because of heat etc. I have a canopy and access it through the side window. I bought an ARB unit. The one that will run 2 diff locks and do tyres. It's quite quick and hasn't overheated, although it hasn't had much use yet.
AnswerID: 282711

Reply By: Peter 2 - Sunday, Jan 20, 2008 at 16:35

Sunday, Jan 20, 2008 at 16:35
I originally mounted the blue tongue just inside the back door on the drivers side, hose was about 7 m and reached all four wheels.
A better place to mount it is on the cargo barrier, plenty of airflow and can be reached by opening the side window.
AnswerID: 282713

Reply By: MEMBER - Darian (SA) - Sunday, Jan 20, 2008 at 17:23

Sunday, Jan 20, 2008 at 17:23
Inside somewhere out of the dust and engine heat is good as mentioned above - the main thing is to do it ! A compressor allows you to adjust pressures up and down as often as indicated - (not just when you pass a servo) - your tyres will thank you for it ($$) and you can proceed more reliably in sand etc. - you can install snap on fittings as required - the hose can be stored elsewhere and 4-5m should do the car and a trailer easily. My first model ARB job has been a winner to date.
AnswerID: 282722

Follow Up By: Harry - Sunday, Jan 20, 2008 at 18:04

Sunday, Jan 20, 2008 at 18:04
G'day Darian,
I have just up-graded the old ARB to the new, and it is all they claim it to be.
Just tripped through the high country over Xmas and when on good roads pumped all 4 tyres from 30lbs to 45 plus camper, so that makes 6 tyres in 6mins. If it had been my older ARB, it would have been probably 15mins or more.
Quite impressed to say the least. :>))
FollowupID: 547240

Reply By: BMKal - Monday, Jan 21, 2008 at 03:54

Monday, Jan 21, 2008 at 03:54
Saw an interesting idea the other day. Bloke had a compressor mounted somewhere inside the rear of his 4WD (not sure where but it doesn't matter). He then plumbed the outlet to a snap-on air fitting mounted inside the fuel filler cover flap. Drilled hole through body panel next to fuel filler and mounted air fitting through hole.

It means that his air point is external but protected - saves getting crap in the fitting or interference by "undesirables" in the community.

Not all 4WD's will have enough room behind the fuel filler flap for this, but have checked mine and think I'll be able to do it pretty easily. I carry a roll of hose in the back of the vehicle now - that won't change. Just means that I'll be able to pop the fuel filler flap from inside the car, then snap the hose onto the fitting and it will reach all tyres on my wagon and camper trailer from there.
AnswerID: 282831

Follow Up By: Member - Matt (Perth-WA) - Monday, Jan 21, 2008 at 13:31

Monday, Jan 21, 2008 at 13:31
Yep and the best part is security of the fittings and clean too. Stop the mud etc gunking them up when you place fittings around the vehicle.!

Yes it was a very good idea and it was in one of the latest 4WD magazines.

FollowupID: 547392

Reply By: Rod W - Monday, Jan 21, 2008 at 14:44

Monday, Jan 21, 2008 at 14:44
I managed to fit an old aircon compressor to the engine of my Troopy (4.5lt petrol). I made the bullbar base as the air tank resivour. Works a treat.
AnswerID: 282892

Follow Up By: BMKal - Tuesday, Jan 22, 2008 at 02:30

Tuesday, Jan 22, 2008 at 02:30
Top idea Rod. I've seen similar done with rock sliders, but I reckon you'd have a bit more reservoir capacity with what you've done.
FollowupID: 547619

Reply By: Rumbler - Tuesday, Jan 22, 2008 at 19:14

Tuesday, Jan 22, 2008 at 19:14
Thanks to everyone who replied.
You guys have so much collective experience & "been-there & done-that" know-how.
Thanks, I'll check out some of the suggestions.
AnswerID: 283163