hot cruiser

Submitted: Sunday, Jan 20, 2008 at 18:22
ThreadID: 53711 Views:2318 Replies:8 FollowUps:9
hey all

I own a 2000 model 100 series with what looks like an aftermarket
safari turbo set up & the old 1hz donk
I have had it for about 6 months and all was well untill I went to tow a mate home who rolled his ute, travelling on the hume back home the cruiser began to get hot, not quite to the red but close enough while travelling up any sort of hill, once she was on the flat or not under to much load the temp came back down to normal.
I can travel up any of the mountains down toward the coast no worries at all, she just can't handle the extra weight
What I am thinking is that the turbo is plumbed straight into the factory exhaust system, which may be restricting the system?
Any advice welcome folks, I need to pick up a caravan next week and need the big girl reliable.
Coolant and radiator all seem to be in good nick.
God I miss me hilux
Robert

Reply By: Member - Hanker (NSW) - Sunday, Jan 20, 2008 at 18:33

Sunday, Jan 20, 2008 at 18:33
As large mandrel exhaust as can be fitted will probably solve the problem and a good tune up, preferably not on a dyno as they tend to run too much fuel which not only causes excess heat but fuel waste.
Cheers Hanker
AnswerID: 282731

Follow Up By: Member - Matthew ,United Fuel- Monday, Jan 21, 2008 at 14:24

Monday, Jan 21, 2008 at 14:24
a good tune up, preferably not on a dyno

Im not sure these two words go together.Tell me how else you set it up correctly without driving around all day.

MAtt
FollowupID: 547395

Reply By: Member - Shane D (QLD) - Sunday, Jan 20, 2008 at 19:24

Sunday, Jan 20, 2008 at 19:24
Is the fan working properly?
They have a viscous cuopling that detriates over time and the fan gets lazy and not engaging when it's supose to (when it gets hot)
Thats what i'd check first
Shane
AnswerID: 282741

Reply By: Outnabout David (SA) - Sunday, Jan 20, 2008 at 19:32

Sunday, Jan 20, 2008 at 19:32
The problem is more than likely in th cooling systen and sound like a partially bocked radiator. Take it to a rad specialist and get it properly cleaned. It is not all that expensive. Could be thermostat, fan coupling etc but 9 times out of ten it is the radiator. Do not flush out with a garden hose and think this will clear any blockage.
AnswerID: 282743

Follow Up By: wdric - Sunday, Jan 20, 2008 at 19:47

Sunday, Jan 20, 2008 at 19:47
The above two would be the best place to start
FollowupID: 547260

Reply By: borrie - Sunday, Jan 20, 2008 at 20:26

Sunday, Jan 20, 2008 at 20:26
Thanks fella's
Will try the obvious first and go for the cooling system, all looks clean with no blockages in the fins so I will get the radiator looked at asap, how the bloody hell can I check the fans operation?
I mentioned the exhaust because it really looks restricted if you look at the diameter of the pipe from the turbo to the exhaust
will ring someone in the morning to see if they can go over it
for me
Robert
AnswerID: 282761

Follow Up By: Harry - Sunday, Jan 20, 2008 at 21:00

Sunday, Jan 20, 2008 at 21:00
Had similar problem with my 1HZ overheating on hills then cooling down under little load.
Changed waterpump, nope still there,did the radiator thing, nope still there, thermostat, nope ,still there. :>((
IT was the BLUDDY RADIATOR CAP.
Try that.
The new truck dont ave 1. :>))
FollowupID: 547274

Follow Up By: Member - Shane D (QLD) - Sunday, Jan 20, 2008 at 21:05

Sunday, Jan 20, 2008 at 21:05
If it has been sitting for a while, you should here the fan roar on start up(even if cold), then drop away, once the temp builts, you should here the fan start to align with the motors RPM, that is to say the more you rev the louder it should get and hang on for awhile.
Another way is to grab the fan(motor OFF) by hand and check for resistance, if fan turns easily(almost freespools) she's gone, If your near a new car dealer pop the bonnet of something similar,do the same test to give a guide to what to look for(resitance).
To fan will of course turn, just not as easily
What have you got in front of radiator? may be contributing factor.
Shane
FollowupID: 547277

Follow Up By: borrie - Sunday, Jan 20, 2008 at 21:14

Sunday, Jan 20, 2008 at 21:14
Hey shane

yeah nothing in front other than the air con condenser, have tried the resistance and it feels like a bit is there.
I know what your saying about the sound and I'll pay a bit more attention tomorrow on the way to work.

Robert
FollowupID: 547281

Follow Up By: borrie - Sunday, Jan 20, 2008 at 21:19

Sunday, Jan 20, 2008 at 21:19
Harry

Will get a new cap first thing and then let an expert check it out, I hope it's fixed though cause the only way I'll know for sure is when I pick the caravan up next weekend.
Not the best time to discover it's still cactus eh

Cheers Fellas

Robert
FollowupID: 547284

Follow Up By: Member - Shane D (QLD) - Sunday, Jan 20, 2008 at 21:27

Sunday, Jan 20, 2008 at 21:27
If you can spare 30 mins, put a piece of cardboard across the radiator( as close as you can) and fast idle 1500-1800 and closly monitor temp and the fan SHOULD kick in once the temp rises (10-15min)and stay with rpm, not fade away quickly
MAKE SURE you keep an eye on the temp,
I have 2 toyotas, my 100 sereis (1HZ) fan is quiet and hard to hear when in vehicle, however my petrol MWB leaves no doubt it's working
Shane
FollowupID: 547286

Reply By: Rock Crawler - Monday, Jan 21, 2008 at 08:47

Monday, Jan 21, 2008 at 08:47
dont waste time and money , flush out your block , there are chemicals out to that help remove scale . new radiator and problem fixed.
AnswerID: 282854

Reply By: Member - Hanker (NSW) - Monday, Jan 21, 2008 at 17:56

Monday, Jan 21, 2008 at 17:56
A good diesel mechanic can tune your fuel pump in 10 to 15 minutes. Its done in Newcastle quite often. It is called seat of the pants tuning using with the aid of vision, look into it, you may even learn something nothing is impossible.
AnswerID: 282919

Reply By: Bazz - Monday, Jan 21, 2008 at 22:19

Monday, Jan 21, 2008 at 22:19
Borrie.

Had a couple of turbo diesels 97,2002.One with a Safari Turbo and the other with a Garrett turbo. Had the fuel wound out to the max to give it some more performance( plus ran 13 pound boost on turbo) they went like the proverbial" cut cats" but if you ran them on a hot day over 3200 rpm they both over heated. Mate of mine who owns a radiator shop told me it wasn't the cooling system that was making it run hot but was the amount of fuel being pumped into it.

Hope I've helped, Baz.
AnswerID: 283012

Follow Up By: borrie - Tuesday, Jan 22, 2008 at 15:45

Tuesday, Jan 22, 2008 at 15:45
Thanks Fella's

Went to a reputable bloke here in Goulburn, here's what he reckons
flush the system, he checked the coolant with a litmus test, it was cactus so he recommends the flush, new cap and thermostat
and go from there.
I can get a bigger aluminium radiator for it if it's still getting hot after these changes.
This all makes sense of course so I'll give it a good service, flush the system and replace the parts and see how we go this weekend.
I'll let you all know how I go.
By the way Baz, what sort of fuel economy did you get?

Robert
FollowupID: 547720

Reply By: Bazz - Tuesday, Jan 22, 2008 at 21:10

Tuesday, Jan 22, 2008 at 21:10
Borrie.

On a 8000klm trip in the 2002 turbo manual diesel,mostly dirt 2 people fully loaded, av speed 125 kph, 16 lts per 100klm.

Same trip roughly ,2 extra people fully loaded 2005 V8 Auto petrol 15.835 lts per 100 klm.

Baz

PS .Just bought another V8 petrol, 2007 model.
AnswerID: 283193

Follow Up By: Member - Hanker (NSW) - Wednesday, Jan 23, 2008 at 21:26

Wednesday, Jan 23, 2008 at 21:26
Litres or gallons?
FollowupID: 548028