Any <span class="highlight">Globalstar</span> customers left on here ?

Submitted: Sunday, Jan 20, 2008 at 18:34
ThreadID: 53712 Views:2424 Replies:11 FollowUps:4
If you're a Globalstar customer who'se recently used your satphone, can you say if the launch of the extra 4 birds has made any difference to your coverage ?

Please, no Globalstar bashing...I'm pretty good at that myself :)

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Sunday, Jan 20, 2008 at 18:45

Sunday, Jan 20, 2008 at 18:45
Did they actually launch more birds???
Or is that another Global$hit rumor spread by the company?

I think they were positioned to cover the northern hemisphere if they were launched at all.

AnswerID: 282734

Reply By: Derek from Affordable Batteries & Radiators - Sunday, Jan 20, 2008 at 19:42

Sunday, Jan 20, 2008 at 19:42
They have launched 2 and 2 more are due up in the next 3 weeks.

My phone has always been a great asset but must admit a while back it would take up to 10 mins to find a satellite and then talk time was only about 5 mins before it dropped out.

The last trip was Birdsville in September 2007 and had no problems at all.

Derek.
AnswerID: 282746

Follow Up By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Sunday, Jan 20, 2008 at 23:53

Sunday, Jan 20, 2008 at 23:53
Glad to hear that you had no probs at Birdsville as we are headed there for the races this year.

D

Simba, our much missed baby.

FollowupID: 547315

Reply By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Sunday, Jan 20, 2008 at 19:57

Sunday, Jan 20, 2008 at 19:57
Haven't used mine for a while, got this months bill in the other day though.

AnswerID: 282749

Reply By: Neil & Pauline - Sunday, Jan 20, 2008 at 20:04

Sunday, Jan 20, 2008 at 20:04
In the sth west of WA still does not work. I refuse to pay an account until I can get coverage. It is 2 years now.
AnswerID: 282753

Reply By: Member - Kim M (VIC) - Sunday, Jan 20, 2008 at 20:12

Sunday, Jan 20, 2008 at 20:12
Footy

As far as I know Globalstar have updated their technology.

From what I understand, they slapped CDMA phones onto the back of a Seagull, Asian Minor, domestic chook and a sparrow.....Sorry footy, could'nt help myself.

Kim
AnswerID: 282755

Follow Up By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Monday, Jan 21, 2008 at 00:05

Monday, Jan 21, 2008 at 00:05
LOL The result has apparently been fowl :)))
FollowupID: 547317

Reply By: Member - John R (QLD) - Sunday, Jan 20, 2008 at 20:30

Sunday, Jan 20, 2008 at 20:30
Their press releases say they put up 8 replacement satellites last year, but I can't see any improvement in availability according to their own website (https://srt.glpconnect.com:2044/osat/).
Not promising?

Cheers, John

AnswerID: 282763

Reply By: Member - Howard (ACT) - Sunday, Jan 20, 2008 at 20:34

Sunday, Jan 20, 2008 at 20:34
Footloose,
I have only used mine in NSW but in areas where there was no CDMA or other coverage and can report no issues.
It did take about 20 minutes in August at dingo dell to get reception( we couldnt get gps because of lousy weather)
but at chitchester Xmas only only about 1 minute.
I have been playing around in front yard with other sim cards ie voda/ telstra gsm and next g and have no trouble getting a fix although only 112 access with other carriers.

I am hoping things will only get better
Howard
Resigned to Retirement

AnswerID: 282764

Reply By: Wayne (NSW) - Sunday, Jan 20, 2008 at 20:45

Sunday, Jan 20, 2008 at 20:45
Footloose,

I have a sat phone linked to Globalstar.
I used it twice in the Vic High Country over the last few weeks and on both occasions I talked for over 6 min each call.

I have also noticed that I have signal more often and stronger than before.

The system is far from perfect but I believe that it is getting better.

I have also installed a hands free car kit with external aerial and the phone is on when ever the ignition is on, so I can tell when the phone is read for a call.

AnswerID: 282769

Reply By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Sunday, Jan 20, 2008 at 23:57

Sunday, Jan 20, 2008 at 23:57
Hi Footloose, we have sent our phone up to the minesite with our son to check with, will let you know what the result is, he returns on Wednesday.

D

Simba, our much missed baby.

AnswerID: 282822

Follow Up By: Footloose - Monday, Jan 21, 2008 at 01:07

Monday, Jan 21, 2008 at 01:07
Ta, will be interested :))
FollowupID: 547331

Reply By: patto - Monday, Jan 21, 2008 at 16:14

Monday, Jan 21, 2008 at 16:14
In December we were working in the Oodnadatta and Strezleki track areas and on most occasions the phones worked reasonably well all be it on occasions there was a small delay in obtaining signal and a few drop outs but it was definitely better than it was previously
AnswerID: 282906

Follow Up By: Footloose - Monday, Jan 21, 2008 at 16:20

Monday, Jan 21, 2008 at 16:20
Interestingly enough you're the second person who'se reported success in the SA remote regions.
FollowupID: 547420

Reply By: Member - John - Tuesday, Jan 22, 2008 at 09:17

Tuesday, Jan 22, 2008 at 09:17
G'day, checked mine the other day and made a call from Melbourne, but at other times it can take a while to get a signal from the same place, so, not 100% yet.

AnswerID: 283077