Northern Safari DVD.......................................

Submitted: Tuesday, Jan 22, 2008 at 07:23
ThreadID: 53770 Views:3208 Replies:7 FollowUps:9
My Northern Safari DVD arrived yesterday from the EO Shop.

It's a fascinating look at travel in the 1950's. I think the old Buick was a 1949 model 'cos my auntie and uncle had one and they travelled to remote parts of Africa in theirs.

The DVD unfortunately does lend itself to some artistic licence though and towards the end it doesn't make sense.

Some observations:
It is claimed that the film was made in the mid 1950's. There is a shot of the main street in Katherine with a circa 1973 Valiant driving down the street. Also a shot of Derby with some Landcruiser 40's seen.

The ladies in the film never had a hair out of place. Must've been a good hairdresser close to the Robinson River.

The flimsy boat was powered with what looks like a 2horse 2 stroke engine. Yet Keith Adams managed to go sea in it sailing over quite large swells and 140km in distance

When filming rough seas the camera didn't move with the swells and this leads me to believe there was a larger vessel close at hand.

Spearing larger crocs from that flimsy boat must have taken some doing.

Right at the end of the film he suddenly shows us shots of a Platypus and a Tasmanian Devil.....In the Top End or Kimberley?
I know that Platypus are found in the north of Queensland and once roamed areas of the Kimberley but not sure if they are still around in the tropical woodland savannah.

And they didn't carry an axe?????

On the whole I enjoyed the 120 minute story.

Reply By: troopyman - Tuesday, Jan 22, 2008 at 08:00

Tuesday, Jan 22, 2008 at 08:00
I thoroughly recommend this as well . Remember to burn your tyres when you brake down .

Essential reading
AnswerID: 283051

Reply By: Member - bushfix - Tuesday, Jan 22, 2008 at 08:15

Tuesday, Jan 22, 2008 at 08:15
G'day Willem,

I found those Albey Mangels (World Safari) videos at kmart the other day, $7 each, so I bought the series for the kids for a laugh. I know they will enjoy them anyway. I amused myself by putting on the stopwatch to see how long into the video it takes before Alby picks up a fair lady who he just happens to come across.

AnswerID: 283055

Follow Up By: Member -Signman - Tuesday, Jan 22, 2008 at 08:34

Tuesday, Jan 22, 2008 at 08:34
I ended up marrying one of Albey's 'Fair Ladys'...
a bit second hand but still in good condition !!!
FollowupID: 547646

Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Tuesday, Jan 22, 2008 at 08:47

Tuesday, Jan 22, 2008 at 08:47
hah! nice one.
FollowupID: 547650

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Tuesday, Jan 22, 2008 at 08:18

Tuesday, Jan 22, 2008 at 08:18
Heres a piture of him holding his "fishing rod"
AnswerID: 283056

Follow Up By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Tuesday, Jan 22, 2008 at 08:32

Tuesday, Jan 22, 2008 at 08:32
Looks like an old seagull motor.

We used one on my father's 21' trailer sailor 30 years ago, and it used to push it along at 4 to 5 knots. Not many revs, but lots of torque at low revs, like a diesel.

Rated at 4hp from memory.
FollowupID: 547645

Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Tuesday, Jan 22, 2008 at 08:49

Tuesday, Jan 22, 2008 at 08:49
yeah think you're right there Oldplodder. Stacks of those on ebay these days. Been wondering if it is worth considering for my 1965 Quintrex Pram.
FollowupID: 547653

Reply By: Peter 2 - Tuesday, Jan 22, 2008 at 08:33

Tuesday, Jan 22, 2008 at 08:33
We bought those Alby Mangels DVD's too, only watched world Safari 1 &2 so far and both lock up about 4.6, weird!
Good for looking at the scenery and the birds.
Another movie I watched was "The worlds fastest Indian" a very good movie about the true story of Bert Munro taking his Indian motorcycle to Bonneville, mind you for an old guy with a crook ticker he did ok with the women too!
AnswerID: 283061

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Tuesday, Jan 22, 2008 at 09:44

Tuesday, Jan 22, 2008 at 09:44
Bert Munro...

he was Australian wasn't he?

FollowupID: 547659

Follow Up By: Member -Signman - Tuesday, Jan 22, 2008 at 09:55

Tuesday, Jan 22, 2008 at 09:55
I think he was a New Zealander ....
FollowupID: 547663

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Tuesday, Jan 22, 2008 at 10:10

Tuesday, Jan 22, 2008 at 10:10
Signman,,

you need to recognise a bait being cast out.

FollowupID: 547669

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Tuesday, Jan 22, 2008 at 11:26

Tuesday, Jan 22, 2008 at 11:26
I thought it was a great piece of story telling. I believe that he still holds the speed record for that class of bike.
He had a unique way of doing things, thats for sure. e.g. doing the gardening lol
FollowupID: 547679

Follow Up By: KiwiAngler - Tuesday, Jan 22, 2008 at 17:02

Tuesday, Jan 22, 2008 at 17:02
Add him to the list I put up a while ago - maybe he was an Aussie, eating Aussie Pavlova whilst riding an Aussie horse called Phar Lap whilst listening to music by that Aussie band Crowded House and his best mate was Russell Crowe :-)))))))))

the line is in the water :-))))
FollowupID: 547735

Reply By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Tuesday, Jan 22, 2008 at 08:49

Tuesday, Jan 22, 2008 at 08:49
"And they didn't carry an axe?????"

Willem 303 rounds were dirt cheap in those days :-))
AnswerID: 283067

Reply By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Tuesday, Jan 22, 2008 at 15:32

Tuesday, Jan 22, 2008 at 15:32
Another annomoly was at the beging when he shows some footage of Perth the old Entertainment Ctr on Wellington St is shown. Bldg was only built in the 70s

AnswerID: 283136

Reply By: Member - Glenn D (NSW) - Tuesday, Jan 22, 2008 at 23:24

Tuesday, Jan 22, 2008 at 23:24
Hows it going Willem,

At least they werent saying stuff like " I have been travelling all this way on my own" ( except for the camera man and back up vehicle and also the other travellers in the back of the shot ) , and I would have got really stuck except for this great bit of kit ( most expensive item from our major sponsor ) or I never even looked like getting stuck thanks to ( your favourite tyre brand )

Maybe I have watched too many of the dvd's that come with 4WD magazines .

Glenn.
AnswerID: 283225