Vic High Country Feedback

At age 62 and no longer interested in speed (in fact look for every opportunity to go slow without obstructing others), I would like to know from you experienced explorers where I will have the most difficulty negotiating the Vic high country in my 2dr 07 Wrangler as I am new to this caper and as I am semi-retired have the opportunity to explore mid week
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Tony - Wednesday, Jan 30, 2008 at 13:20

Wednesday, Jan 30, 2008 at 13:20
With A/T tyres, I don't see you having any difficulty with the regularly used tracks.

Get the Roof Top map, it will be a good guide on where to go.
AnswerID: 284501

Reply By: Mr Pointyhead - Wednesday, Jan 30, 2008 at 13:23

Wednesday, Jan 30, 2008 at 13:23
Vehicle is more than capable, the only things that could be issues are the quality of standard tyres and the lack of fuel range.

However, the main thing to need to address is ensuing that you as the driver have the skills to negotiate the terrain safely.

I would suggest joining a 4x4 club to get the training and experience you need or you could do it through a commercial training provider.

Also, you may wish to consider a tag-a-long type trip for you first few trips to gain experience from others before setting out on your own.

AnswerID: 284502

Reply By: Mike Harding - Wednesday, Jan 30, 2008 at 13:28

Wednesday, Jan 30, 2008 at 13:28
I am not familiar with the Wrangler but it looks as if it's capable of tackling most things in the HC... HOWEVER....

Much of the HC is not for novices to 4WDing and even more of it is not for novices on their own. It is hard tough country with many very steep and rocky ascents and descents which can result in serious injury to persons and vehicle if things go wrong. I'm not trying to scaremonger but I do want to emphasise it's not country to be taken likely.