CHINESE TOYOTAS

Submitted: Thursday, Jan 31, 2008 at 14:09
ThreadID: 54077 Views:3209 Replies:7 FollowUps:22

Just watching the midday news on ch 2, they were saying that the
extremely cold weather is causing problems to the manufacturing
industry in China, re Power Usage, and Transportation, they showed
Toyota Vehicle Plant, making the 200 series 4wd, they said there is a slow down in deliveries caused by the cold weather, they also
mentioned a major Ford Plant with the same problem,
any body waiting for there new Chinese Toyota.

Daza

Reply By: Member - barry F (NSW) - Thursday, Jan 31, 2008 at 14:21

Thursday, Jan 31, 2008 at 14:21
Luv it !! Now sit back & enjoy the friendly response from Nissan owners.
AnswerID: 284724

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Thursday, Jan 31, 2008 at 14:30

Thursday, Jan 31, 2008 at 14:30
Before I get hate mail, I am just stating what I saw on the news,
and to be fair, Nissans are made all over the world, and stuffed up
in Australia. but gees HE HE --- Rickshaw Toyatas, wow.

Daza
FollowupID: 549483

Follow Up By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Thursday, Jan 31, 2008 at 14:37

Thursday, Jan 31, 2008 at 14:37
Don't forget that Ford just sold Land Rover to Tata in India too. :o)

Pity the price doesn't reflect their concept of the low price car they just developed. $A3000.00 ea.
FollowupID: 549484

Follow Up By: Member - Tony W (VIC) - Thursday, Jan 31, 2008 at 20:11

Thursday, Jan 31, 2008 at 20:11
Not that there is anything wrong with managed chinese manufacturing, but I think what you saw on the news was stock footage of a bunch of Asians making cars in a factory, edited into other footage and voice overs. Probably originally from Toyota PR.

Landcruisers are only made at 2 toyota plants, Yoshiwara & Aichi in Japan.

FollowupID: 549555

Follow Up By: garrycol - Thursday, Jan 31, 2008 at 20:35

Thursday, Jan 31, 2008 at 20:35
Not true - chinese copies are made in China - they are not sold as Toyotas or Landcruisers

It's a copy of Toyota Land Cruiser 110. Huaxiang introduced this car in 2002 and the model name is "Fuqi 6500". In 2003 Huaxiang worked together with the company Zhongxing which for a while also sold this model. But in 2004 the co-operation stopped. Huaxiang still produces this model. The factory is located in Jiangxi province. Only a handful of cars are made each year.

Huaxiang website: http://www.hxfqmotor.com

FollowupID: 549561

Reply By: troopyman - Thursday, Jan 31, 2008 at 14:59

Thursday, Jan 31, 2008 at 14:59
Just bought a new corolla . The manufacturers plate says made in japan , wank wank . Just bought a new 200 series as well . The manufacturwes plate says made in japan , wank wank .
AnswerID: 284730

Follow Up By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Thursday, Jan 31, 2008 at 15:19

Thursday, Jan 31, 2008 at 15:19
Probably was made in Japan. The plate that is.
FollowupID: 549488

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Thursday, Jan 31, 2008 at 15:21

Thursday, Jan 31, 2008 at 15:21
Hi Troopy
May be they make the bodies and other parts and have them assembled in Japan, I can only repeat what they said.
that wank - wank is that a speach impediment.

Daza
FollowupID: 549489

Follow Up By: TerraFirma - Thursday, Jan 31, 2008 at 16:01

Thursday, Jan 31, 2008 at 16:01
200 Series made in Japan according to Toyota. I would suspect the extreme weather in China is affecting everything made in China, including Nissan's 3 Litre Turbo Diesel Engine..!
FollowupID: 549493

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Thursday, Jan 31, 2008 at 16:02

Thursday, Jan 31, 2008 at 16:02
Oops that should be speech not speach.
FollowupID: 549494

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Thursday, Jan 31, 2008 at 16:17

Thursday, Jan 31, 2008 at 16:17
Just checked on google apparently Toyota has a deal with a
manufacturing plant at a place called Tinajin.

FollowupID: 549495

Follow Up By: donks1 - Thursday, Jan 31, 2008 at 21:24

Thursday, Jan 31, 2008 at 21:24
at least you got a JAP plated corolla

you could have bought one of the Sth African built models

Jap built vin no. start JTD

Sth African start AHT.

not something that they advertise

donks
FollowupID: 549569

Follow Up By: troopyman - Thursday, Jan 31, 2008 at 21:33

Thursday, Jan 31, 2008 at 21:33
All corollas coming to australia are from japan . If i looked at every plate while driving them of the car ships , i would guarantee they are from japan . Get it !!!!!!!
FollowupID: 549572

Reply By: sastra - Thursday, Jan 31, 2008 at 16:33

Thursday, Jan 31, 2008 at 16:33
Oh no,

Am I sensing some chinks appearing in some Toyota owners' egos! :-))

Luv ya work

Sastra
AnswerID: 284745

Reply By: DIO - Thursday, Jan 31, 2008 at 16:43

Thursday, Jan 31, 2008 at 16:43
Nothing to really worry too much about.

Mercedes Benz are manufactured or assembled in the following countries:
Argentina (Buses, Trucks and the van Sprinter. the first factory of Mercedes-Benz outside of Germany)
Austria (G-Class)
Brazil
China
Egypt
Bosnia and Herzegovina
India
Indonesia
Malaysia
Mexico
Nigeria
South Africa
South Korea (Mercedes-branded Musso and MB100 models manufactured by SsangYong Motor Company)
Thailand
Turkey
United Kingdom (The SLR supercar is built here at the McLaren Technology Centre in Woking).
USA

BMW apart from German manufacturing they also have plants in South Africa. South African-built BMWs are now exported to right hand drive markets including Japan, Australia, New Zealand, the United Kingdom, Singapore, and Hong Kong, as well as Sub-Saharan Africa. Since 1997, BMW South Africa has produced vehicles in left hand drive for export to Taiwan, the United States and Iran, as well as South America.

They also have a major production facility in the USA. the birthplace of every X5 Sports Activity Vehicle, Z4 Roadster, M Roadster, Z4 Coupe and M Coupe and soon-to-be X6 and X3.

Rolls Royce are developing a manufacturting plant Virginia USA as well as thier home plant in UK.

GMH (Holden) manufacture Pontiac GTOs (Monaros) for the US market as well as engines for numerous other auto manufacturers.

So as you can see, country of origin doesn't really mean much these days. All depends on where manufacturers can get the best deal from the various governments.
AnswerID: 284746

Follow Up By: furph - Thursday, Jan 31, 2008 at 18:13

Thursday, Jan 31, 2008 at 18:13
Caterpillar, still the worlds major producer of earthmoving equipment has its largest manufacturing facility in China.
I am quite happy with a made in China tag, beats a lot of local stuff hands down.
Quite often, its where the technology and manufacturing management originated that is a determining factor.
If it sells on a global market it has to be, and would be, competitive
FollowupID: 549518

Reply By: Dave Thomson - Thursday, Jan 31, 2008 at 18:43

Thursday, Jan 31, 2008 at 18:43
Good cast Daza, but it did't work, they sussed you out mate LOL..............
AnswerID: 284782

Follow Up By: Bros 1 - Thursday, Jan 31, 2008 at 19:29

Thursday, Jan 31, 2008 at 19:29
Maybe a change of bait will do the trick. LOL.
Bros.
Work is the curse of the down and out bludger.

FollowupID: 549546

Reply By: Mike Harding - Thursday, Jan 31, 2008 at 20:24

Thursday, Jan 31, 2008 at 20:24
Doug won't be a happy bunny :)
AnswerID: 284802

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Thursday, Jan 31, 2008 at 20:44

Thursday, Jan 31, 2008 at 20:44
Might have to try my Chinese made Plastics, I have only had a few
Hardie Heads bite.

Daza
FollowupID: 549564

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Thursday, Jan 31, 2008 at 21:25

Thursday, Jan 31, 2008 at 21:25
Well... that's Queensland for you....
FollowupID: 549570

Reply By: Member - Olcoolone (S.A) - Thursday, Jan 31, 2008 at 21:25

Thursday, Jan 31, 2008 at 21:25
Caterpillar has a full fabrication and assembly plant employing 600+ people in Burnie Tasmania.

You will find the car companys manufacturing outside there own country has managerment from there own country running the show and over seeing it.

Another thing is you will find manufacturing companys have plants all around the world not so much for cheap labour but for convenience as one factory may only make a few products and it is to hard to change production lines.

Regards Richard

AnswerID: 284830

Follow Up By: Member - Derek L (QLD) - Thursday, Jan 31, 2008 at 22:07

Thursday, Jan 31, 2008 at 22:07
So true plants are popping up all over the world to cope with supply and demand. USA built earthmoving machinery takes a good 3 months to get down here.
FollowupID: 549593

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Thursday, Jan 31, 2008 at 23:48

Thursday, Jan 31, 2008 at 23:48

you should do some research on the Cat plant in Tas. you may fined it was brought off one of there old apprentice's, there main plant in Aust. in in Tellamarine (spelling) Vic.

FollowupID: 549624

Follow Up By: Member - Olcoolone (S.A) - Sunday, Feb 03, 2008 at 19:03

Sunday, Feb 03, 2008 at 19:03
Richard, I know the Tullamarine place well as I go past it every month when doing training in lovely Melboure.

Tullamarine is a manufacturing plant for truck bodys, cabins and attatchments but also covers logistics for equipment, components and spare parts along with training, management and financial services.

Cat Burnie is a full manufacturing plant where they build under ground mining equipment from scratch for the world market and are the leaders in there field, it's called "Caterpillar Elphinstone" the Elphinstone part comes from a manufacture called Elphinstone who use to build logging equipment including trailers but got taken over by Cat.

Dale Elphinstone is still on the board but the company is wholy owned by Cat USA but Dale still ownes local Cat dealership called "
Wm Adams Tractors Pty Ltd"

Yes I do research but it is also one of the industries we are involved in.

I used Cat Burnie as an example of where you don't think things are made.

Regards Richard
FollowupID: 550263

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Sunday, Feb 03, 2008 at 19:48

Sunday, Feb 03, 2008 at 19:48
Sorry

didn't mean to tell you to do some research I meant you should do some research..LOL

The Tullamarine plant used to make graders 17k 12g 120g etc. but not Lennie's as the frame was built by Steelweld the place I did my apprenticeship with 30 years ago in West Footscray.

yes use to go to Willaim Adams all the time getting parts, could not get them from Tullamarine becouse it was Cat inc. but could get them from the Caltex servo across the road..

FollowupID: 550271

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Kath - Sunday, Feb 03, 2008 at 21:26

Sunday, Feb 03, 2008 at 21:26
Richard, interested to hear about Elphinstone. I visited their plant a few years back looking at what they had to offer on mobile weighing scale operations. They had a scale that was capable of being on a piece of farm plant I was to buy.

Found they were a very professional outfit with their scales and great flexibility. They were also making gear for the French Antarctic Expeditions too
FollowupID: 550315

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Sunday, Feb 03, 2008 at 21:59

Sunday, Feb 03, 2008 at 21:59
John Hi

I use to work for Pavement technology 11 years back now and we use the scale on the cement spreader trucks. Now I do some work for Western Stabilisers, and they still use them.

It's hard to go through life not knowing as much as someone else... LOL

FollowupID: 550321

Follow Up By: Member - Olcoolone (S.A) - Monday, Feb 04, 2008 at 19:55

Monday, Feb 04, 2008 at 19:55
Thats OK Richard, Im so use to other knobs saying I wrong on this forum...LOL, your so polite, I was waiting for Mike to make a comment!

Don't know if Tullamarine are still making graders, I know they still make cabs and attatchments for them.

The world is such a small place.

Regards The Other Richard

FollowupID: 550601