BFG Mud terrains, sidewall splits

Submitted: Sunday, Feb 03, 2008 at 19:28
ThreadID: 54201 Views:2836 Replies:6 FollowUps:7
This Thread has been Archived
I've been running BFG MT's for about twelve years now on a Jeep J20. My current set is my first of the new style (with rim protectors). The tread's getting pretty low now and I was reckoning on replacing them before winter. Last week one of them beat me to it and blew out at speed.
Over the years I've destroyed a few of them on various stakes and such like but I've never had one just let go. More alarming is that when I examined the other three tyres they all have fresh splits in them on the corner between the sidewall and the tread. Basically I'm going to have to scrap a full set of tyres before they are worn out.
This is the third set of BFG's I've had on this vehicle and out of all the sets I would say these have had the easiest life. The previous sets did a lot of long, heavy and fast road trips combined with a lot of off road, including beach trips which occasionally had them down below 10 psi (quite severe on a 2.5 ton V8 vehicle!) These have had none of that and yet here we are, four ruined tyres.
Has anyone else had a similar experience and have BFG done anything about it? Mine were one of the first of the new style sold in Tassie and perhaps there were some teething problems?
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Stephen M (NSW) - Sunday, Feb 03, 2008 at 19:43

Sunday, Feb 03, 2008 at 19:43
I would be ringing/ go and see them, the supplier first and tell them the same story. I have A/T's on mine not muddies with that new style of rim protector. Will keep my eye on them. I have had bfg's a/t's on the hilux previously and like yourself never had any issues with them hence why I put them on the prado. Keep us informed of the outcome. Regards Steve M
AnswerID: 285412

Follow Up By: 96 GXL 80 series - Sunday, Feb 03, 2008 at 21:11

Sunday, Feb 03, 2008 at 21:11