Seconds from disaster

Submitted: Tuesday, Feb 05, 2008 at 12:38
ThreadID: 54260 Views:3018 Replies:9 FollowUps:9
Just add one LC, lots of water, and a driver with no imagination.

George_M

Come any closer and I'll rip your throat out!

Reply By: Dunco (NSW) - Tuesday, Feb 05, 2008 at 12:41

Tuesday, Feb 05, 2008 at 12:41
no link mate...

Is it the one with the bloke twoing a boat across a swollen river ???

AnswerID: 285752

Follow Up By: George_M - Tuesday, Feb 05, 2008 at 12:42

Tuesday, Feb 05, 2008 at 12:42
Yup - that's the one.

He's much gamer than me, particular with a child in the front with him.

FollowupID: 550748

Follow Up By: Dunco (NSW) - Tuesday, Feb 05, 2008 at 12:44

Tuesday, Feb 05, 2008 at 12:44
Not game...an idiot !!!

FollowupID: 550749

Follow Up By: T-Ribby - Tuesday, Feb 05, 2008 at 19:39

Tuesday, Feb 05, 2008 at 19:39
Must have been moron week with a full moon.
T.R.
FollowupID: 550813

Reply By: George_M - Tuesday, Feb 05, 2008 at 12:41

Tuesday, Feb 05, 2008 at 12:41
Ok - so that didn't work!

How do I insert a file to a post?

George_M

AnswerID: 285753

Follow Up By: Dunco (NSW) - Tuesday, Feb 05, 2008 at 12:44

Tuesday, Feb 05, 2008 at 12:44
You have to have it on the web somewhere, then link to it.

FollowupID: 550750

Reply By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Tuesday, Feb 05, 2008 at 13:14

Tuesday, Feb 05, 2008 at 13:14
Try this link to a PDF file of it:

- http://p38arover.com/misc_files/lcwatercrossing.pdf

AnswerID: 285755

Follow Up By: George_M - Tuesday, Feb 05, 2008 at 13:18

Tuesday, Feb 05, 2008 at 13:18
Thanks Andrew -I was beaten by the technology!

Goerge_M

FollowupID: 550753

Reply By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Tuesday, Feb 05, 2008 at 13:29

Tuesday, Feb 05, 2008 at 13:29
He is one of those that is a disaster waiting to happen, the only thing anyone can hope is that the child is not there when it does happen. IDIOT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

D

Simba, our much missed baby.

AnswerID: 285756

Reply By: TerraFirma - Tuesday, Feb 05, 2008 at 14:01

Tuesday, Feb 05, 2008 at 14:01
Very brave man..! You can bet the wifey didn't know about it.! get her name and send her the link, he'll hate Exploreroz forever..! LOL

I would not have had the kid in the car, if she went under and rolled ..????
AnswerID: 285757

Reply By: Member - andrew B (Kununurra) - Tuesday, Feb 05, 2008 at 14:54

Tuesday, Feb 05, 2008 at 14:54
I would have sat in the boat.....quick release fitted to staps of course, maybe could have started the outboard for a bit of xtra push
AnswerID: 285767

Follow Up By: Steve from Top End Explorer Tours - Tuesday, Feb 05, 2008 at 15:02

Tuesday, Feb 05, 2008 at 15:02
Perhaps a few more beers in the boat would have not let it float so bad.LOVL

Water Xings and local knowledge can be done with easy and safety.

Its when you don't have the knowledge is when it goes pear shaped.

I have done many water xings over a meter deep and up to 1.5 km in length safely.

Cheers Steve
FollowupID: 550770

Follow Up By: Member - andrew B (Kununurra) - Tuesday, Feb 05, 2008 at 16:39

Tuesday, Feb 05, 2008 at 16:39
Yep local knowlege can be great...a few blokes from work told a funny story a few years back..... at a flooded crossing they were playing the waiting game as they considered the crossing a bit deep and flowing a bit much, they were in a typical top end cruiser ute with station style bar work etc etc. They saw very new looking sahara comeing the other way, and made the typical comments to each other ("bet its never seen a gravel road" etc etc....). It was as though the bloke in the Sahara could hear then, as he drove into the crossing without stopping, drove across with the bonnet just visible, pulled up next to them, wound down the window, "you weak so and so's", wound up the window and drove off. made them fee real big!

I do prefer caution with water. Local knowlege bought 3 vehicles to an expensive stop a few years back. on the way to a favourate local water hole there was a big puddle that you always just drive through the middle......it managed to get over 1m deep after a while, killed a couple of radiators and 1 hydrauliced engine was its tally I'm told!

Cheers Andrew
FollowupID: 550781

Follow Up By: Waynepd (NSW) - Tuesday, Feb 05, 2008 at 17:12

Tuesday, Feb 05, 2008 at 17:12
Local knowledge or not he (The fool in the pictures) didn't know that the bridge was intact under that water and from the blurb that came with the pics the bridge is 6 or 7 metres above the normal water level. So it was a possible long drop off the side or thru the bridge to a watery grave for both hm and his kid.....he is a bLEEPIN'FooL.... What a waste of a truck and a kids life that would have been
FollowupID: 550785

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Tuesday, Feb 05, 2008 at 17:34

Tuesday, Feb 05, 2008 at 17:34
Waynepd:

If the post and pictures are correct and I don't hear any corrections...?

I'll go with that - he was not driving through 1m of water he was driving over 8m of it on a track he did not know existed any longer, with a young child.

I think the word we're looking for here is not hero but bleep .

FollowupID: 550790

Reply By: time waster - Tuesday, Feb 05, 2008 at 16:41

Tuesday, Feb 05, 2008 at 16:41
Agree with local knowledge on tracks but no one knows with unusual floods like that and like the photographer said who knows how damaged the road was and what about if the trailer caught on the railing, would of been hard fun swimming in that with a kid under his arms.

I reckon if it had a been a lc 100 or similar wagon it would have floated away, the ute tray full of water probably helped hold it down.

Great pictures though.
AnswerID: 285781

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Tuesday, Feb 05, 2008 at 18:05

Tuesday, Feb 05, 2008 at 18:05
Someone should tell him those yota snorkels are in two pieces and not sealed real well.
Lucky boy we all know what would have happened if that engine had ingested a small amount of water.

AnswerID: 285795

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Tuesday, Feb 05, 2008 at 19:27

Tuesday, Feb 05, 2008 at 19:27
i could tell you its proof how good tojos are but i reckon 2 things saved him
1) being a ute there was little enclosed cab to float him off
2) being a ute there was less slab side to cop the current
3) big hunk of V8 holding the front down

anyway at least he was carrying an appropriate spare
AnswerID: 285811