6.5 diesel to GQ

Submitted: Saturday, Feb 09, 2008 at 15:06
ThreadID: 54396 Views:4059 Replies:10 FollowUps:25
Righto boys and girls, am seriously looking at N/A 6.5 chev diesel for my dual fual GQ and am looking for first hand experience, pros and cons and mileage etc. Will be getting Brunswick to do it and they do radiator clutch and HS diffs etc.
scott

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, Feb 09, 2008 at 15:42

Saturday, Feb 09, 2008 at 15:42
Mine is a GU and is VERY VERY heavy. It is NA diesel, but also has LPG injection. I'm getting around 15 to 16 litres/100 klm, which is on a par with what my last GU (4.2TD) was getting.

Pros are that you'll have a truck with oodles of torque right off idle and it'll sound like a truck oughta sound.

Cons: There's really only one......$$$$$$. You have to be sure you're gunna hang on to the Patrol for many years to come, otherwise you won't get the value out of it. Let's say your GQ is currently worth $8K (okay, maybe $10K). You're gunna spend around $24K on the conversion, right? Now, once it's done, try selling it for $32K.......no way on earth!!!

Don't expect it to be able to light-up the tyres at the traffic lights. It's a big solid truck motor. You don't see many Kenworths and Macks spinning the wheels when they take off.....power is delivered in a civilised manner. I drive mine as though it's hauling a triple road train....all movements are slow and deliberate; she ain't no shopping trolley.

Good luck with the conversion.

AnswerID: 286552

Follow Up By: Member - Bucky (VIC) - Saturday, Feb 09, 2008 at 15:59

Saturday, Feb 09, 2008 at 15:59
Good call Roachie !

Telling factor is the $$$$$

Bloke down here did it, but he had a Tax problem, did it when I first got the Navara,, ( 4 years back ) cost him $22k then, and that included shipping it to Perth and back.

Great tow package, with his massive caravan..

By the way,,, how's those "left handed cooper tyres going" ??? worn them out yet ??

hehehehehehehe

Cheers Mate

FollowupID: 551706

Follow Up By: Ferret - Saturday, Feb 09, 2008 at 16:13

Saturday, Feb 09, 2008 at 16:13
roachie, call it an early middle age crisis. (39) Had V8s for years before going to the GQ which I've had 5 years and for some reason don't really wanna get rid of it...must be sentimental. The old girl has a quite a few mods so if i spent 26-27k on it that would still be cheaper that a good GU and i'd have the v8 back and all the power I'd want. It isn't very sensible but you're only here once and the minister for finance has given it the nod so..... vroom. Did you get diffs done with yours and did the lpg make much diference?
FollowupID: 551708

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, Feb 09, 2008 at 20:29

Saturday, Feb 09, 2008 at 20:29
G'day Bucky..... Mickey T's are still hangin' in there champ....

Ferrett,
Mine was already done when I bought it in November 2006. In fact the original owner bouught the it in late 2000 as a brand new GU 4.2TD and he immediately got Brunswick's to rip out the 4.2 and install the 6.5. He also had the back chopped off from brand new and the LPG was fitted 4 months later in April 2001.

Being a 4.2 originally, the diffs were already the right size (3.9), so they didn't have to be touched. I've fitted the 35" Mickey Thompson MTZs to try and keep the revs down a bit. She's running @ 2000 rpm at 100k/h in 5th. I would like to fit a Marks Adaptors taller 5th gear to get the revs down to 1800 at 100k/h, but can't justify the $$$ at this stage. (I do already run the Marks Adaptors transfer case gears to get the speed down in low range).

FollowupID: 551759

Reply By: furph - Saturday, Feb 09, 2008 at 19:30

Saturday, Feb 09, 2008 at 19:30
I went for a ride in one (converted GU). Thought it had no more go (infact, less) than a 4.2 turbo L/C.
What did impress though, was the racket that motor made. My old ('76) 2.25 diesel Landy is quiet by comparison.
The faster it went, the louder it got. I thought it was the exhaust system, but no, all mechanical clatter.
Unless you have to have a V8, there must be better options for the money.
furph
AnswerID: 286575

Reply By: Eric Experience - Saturday, Feb 09, 2008 at 19:56

Saturday, Feb 09, 2008 at 19:56
Scott.
The conversion makes no sense. Dollars per klm.
If you want more power it is a lot easier and cheaper to swap you petrol motor for a bigger one. The fuel saving is not going to pay back in the shorter life of the vehicle and the vehicle is worth nothing as resale. The noise and the constant breakage's are a deterrent. But if you get off on smelly motors, go for it. Eric.
AnswerID: 286585

Follow Up By: jdwynn (Adelaide) - Sunday, Feb 10, 2008 at 08:16

Sunday, Feb 10, 2008 at 08:16
"constant breakage's" - please explain Eric?

But I have read in the past that parts are v.cheap.

Cheers JD
FollowupID: 551849

Follow Up By: Eric Experience - Monday, Feb 11, 2008 at 14:48

Monday, Feb 11, 2008 at 14:48
JD.
The drive line and suspension on the Nissan's is sturdy by most standards but it will brake with the extra load. Because of the noise you tend to drive every where in 5th, so fifth is likely to be replaced after a short while. The king pin bearings flog out and dump the oil. I don't know of anyone who has one of these conversions for a long time , most end up moving on well before they have benefited from any fuel savings over petrol . Eric.
FollowupID: 552102

Follow Up By: jdwynn (Adelaide) - Monday, Feb 11, 2008 at 20:36

Monday, Feb 11, 2008 at 20:36
thanks Eric, interesting stuff
FollowupID: 552175

Reply By: Member - Matthew ,United Fuel- Saturday, Feb 09, 2008 at 20:36

Saturday, Feb 09, 2008 at 20:36
I converted mine to a Vortec 350 Chev Marine combo which delivers more Kw and torque than the N/A 6.5"s.

The whole conversion cost me less than 10K including a BRAND NEW crate motor,4 bolt mains,hydraulic roller cam,aluminium manifold etc etc,complete.

Anyway i get 350K's around town from 88 litres of LPG and towing my 18" van at 110 i get 280K's.

Its up to you man ,but it a lot of money,they are noisy,heavy,and underpowered for what they are.

Just my 2c worth and by no means am i bleep canning the idea,i see heaps of them at work for dyno's and other reasons and they sound great.

MAtt
AnswerID: 286591

Reply By: desert - Saturday, Feb 09, 2008 at 20:37

Saturday, Feb 09, 2008 at 20:37
Eric is spot on. The dollars just don't cut the mustard. You'll 'sorfed off at the noise and slow rev's of the 6.5. Fuel economy is just not there over and above 4.2. Since you are already running dual fuel, why not look to 5 litre EFI Holden or even 5.7 litre Chev. Gunna cost half as much, twicwe as much go and will be heaps cheaper to run AND service.
AnswerID: 286592

Reply By: Member - Matthew ,United Fuel- Saturday, Feb 09, 2008 at 20:37

Saturday, Feb 09, 2008 at 20:37
I converted mine to a Vortec 350 Chev Marine combo which delivers more Kw and torque than the N/A 6.5"s.

The whole conversion cost me less than 10K including a BRAND NEW crate motor,4 bolt mains,hydraulic roller cam,aluminium manifold etc etc,complete.

Anyway i get 350K's around town from 88 litres of LPG and towing my 18" van at 110 i get 280K's.

Its up to you man ,but it a lot of money,they are noisy,heavy,and underpowered for what they are.

Just my 2c worth and by no means am i bleep canning the idea,i see heaps of them at work for dyno's and other reasons and they sound great.

MAtt
AnswerID: 286593

Follow Up By: flyboy - Saturday, Feb 09, 2008 at 22:59

Saturday, Feb 09, 2008 at 22:59
Hey Matt,

Do you have any knowledge on any suitable V8 Petrol conversions for a GU Patrol, 3.0 Manual? Would be great if there is something suitable that would utilise the existing box, just to keep the cost down.I don't seem to have seen anything in particular for the GU.....I am just looking at my options for when, probably not if, the big bang occurs!!!

Any advice would be appreciated.

FollowupID: 551807

Follow Up By: Member - Matthew ,United Fuel- Saturday, Feb 09, 2008 at 23:30

Saturday, Feb 09, 2008 at 23:30
I believe that the same conversion can be done to replace the ZD30 with a petrol chev engine although there is some minor issues with electronics on the GU's.

See no reason why you cant change to petrol.

Have a look here.
http://www.marks4wd.com/products/engine-trans-conversions/nisgqe.html

Matt
FollowupID: 551818

Follow Up By: Ferret - Sunday, Feb 10, 2008 at 11:45

Sunday, Feb 10, 2008 at 11:45
Greetings, can i ask who did your conversion and what probs you have had. Over heating etc, did you get radiatoror diffs done, how long ago and would you do it again etc etc, what is it like on petrol? Sorry for so many questions but need to be sure of my decisions.
FollowupID: 551881

Reply By: Trevor R (QLD) - Saturday, Feb 09, 2008 at 21:30

Saturday, Feb 09, 2008 at 21:30
Look at Brunswicks website, they advertise 6.5 Chev to have 170HP and 130KW and no doubt these are flywheel figures. My 4.2 GU runs 168 rear wheel HP and 126 rear wheel KW. I'll bet my bottom dollar it wouldn't cost you 20 grand to get a 4.2 running these figures in your GQ. The only diff is torque below 1500 -1600rpm, this is where the Chev eats anything else, any rev above 1600 and the 4.2 will go harder for sure. 5 grand will get you a s/hand 4.2 turbo motor and if you add another 5 or 6 grand to get it worked and installed you still got another 12+ grand to go and enjoy your new found youth LOL!!!

I drove a turboed 6.5 in a 75 series ute (light as hell compared to my overweight GU wagon) and without a doubt, my GU pulled and went much harder than this turbo chevvy cruiser. Put crawler gears in your GQ transfer case for offroad work and the 4.2 will crap all over a 6.5 with standard GQ gears at any rev range.

BUT!!!!!! a 4.2 will never sound like a 6.5 hehehehehe so do what suits you. At least you have the brains to get other opinions and are better equiped to make the right decision for yourself.

Good luck to you,
Trevor.
AnswerID: 286603

Reply By: Waza & Wend - Saturday, Feb 09, 2008 at 23:15

Saturday, Feb 09, 2008 at 23:15
Ferret hi,

Just had a 6.5 put in my 100s. With only 500k's on the motor I am getting better economy than the 4.5 petrol it took the place of.

I have read all the replies, and I can only respond with my experience.

I LOVE IT. Yes, it is loud, and yes it cost a lot of money, plus I got the Chev box put behind it, but I intend to keep it for a few years so I know I will get a return on my 'money spent'

If you want some more info, send me a mm.

Wasa
AnswerID: 286629

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Sunday, Feb 10, 2008 at 00:10

Sunday, Feb 10, 2008 at 00:10
G'day Wasa,

Mate, seems like the only blokes who knock the good old 6.5 are those who don't own one. (jealousy maybe?) hahahaha
FollowupID: 551825

Follow Up By: Member - Matthew ,United Fuel- Sunday, Feb 10, 2008 at 00:23

Sunday, Feb 10, 2008 at 00:23
No jealousy here Roachie.

They definately have there place,i just think i could spend the extra 10K i saved on other toys .

OH and my neighbours will thank me for not waking them up every morning.

Matt
FollowupID: 551826

Follow Up By: Ferret - Sunday, Feb 10, 2008 at 11:38

Sunday, Feb 10, 2008 at 11:38
I think i'm a bit stupid, can't figure out the mm. Any way, what sort of mileage are you getting and did you have the diffs changed. Who did the job for you?
FollowupID: 551880

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Feb 11, 2008 at 13:05

Monday, Feb 11, 2008 at 13:05
Ferret, mm only available to paid-up members; that's why you can't work it out......

I'll have to let Waza answer the other questions about his diffs and economy figures......
FollowupID: 552088

Follow Up By: Waza & Wend - Monday, Feb 11, 2008 at 20:06

Monday, Feb 11, 2008 at 20:06
Ferret,

Like I said, I have done about 800k's on the motor, so to early to get accurate economy figures, however I can tell you that my old 4.5 petrol i was using 23.5 lts per 100k's. So far I am getting 16.5 and that is with the standard (4:3) diffs.

I had the conversion done by Brunswick Diesels and it is back in now getting 3:7's put in while the diff lockers are getting done.

Wasa
FollowupID: 552167

Reply By: V8 Patrol - Sunday, Feb 10, 2008 at 08:37

Sunday, Feb 10, 2008 at 08:37
Hi Scott,

Not a GQ, but I recently had a Chev put into my GU 3.0L.

Same or better fuel economy as my 3.0L was, running with big tyres & overloaded to hell !.

Absolutely no problems with the conversion so far (done by Brunswick's) at only 12,000 km.

Yep, it's no rocket & it won't eat hills at high speed like my modified 5.7L petrol V8 Monaro does, but pulling & off-road it is the best.

AnswerID: 286649

Reply By: Pezza (Bris) - Sunday, Feb 10, 2008 at 09:11

Sunday, Feb 10, 2008 at 09:11
Like Trevor, I have driven about 4 or 5 GQ's with 6.5's in them in various guises, in my opinion, these engines are good for boat anchors, They're old technology (which can be a good thing) noisy, doughy and slow.
Brett at On Track 4wd here in Brisbane do the injected 5lt into a GQ for 8k and a 5.7 gen3 into a GU for 13k, drive in drive out, the 5.7 will run off the dyno at 290 rwhp, aprox 290 kw at flywheel or just under 400hp.
The recent 5.7 they did into a GU is getting 7 - 7.5 km per lt (13 - 14 lt/100km) round town towing a tradesman trailer.
No Roachie, I am certainly not jealous :-) Give me my blown 4.2 petrol any day instead of 6.5.

Pezza
AnswerID: 286652

Follow Up By: Ferret - Sunday, Feb 10, 2008 at 09:52

Sunday, Feb 10, 2008 at 09:52
Does he know anyone in Perth that'l do it for that price, 13-14 litres 100k is interesting. People i know with V8 pertol gqs say they are very thirsty so i'd like to know how they get that economy.
Many thanks
FollowupID: 551864

Follow Up By: Pezza (Bris) - Sunday, Feb 10, 2008 at 14:31

Sunday, Feb 10, 2008 at 14:31
Ferret,
Have a look at the age of the V8 in these GQ's, most have older style engines in them, ie. carby fed 308's or 350's, or early VL 4.9lts or the vortec inj 350 chev or similar, hence the crap fuel evonomy.
These gen3 5.7 or even the 6ltr I'm talking about are the new technology engines out of 2001 -2 onwards, these engines are getting 12 km/lt or 8.3lt/100 in the sedans and utes they were in, obviously you can't expect that sort of economy when they're in a 2.5tonne truck with the aerodynamics of a brick, but not forgeting that the latest commodores weigh in at somewhere around 1.7 tonne, no lightweights.
The biggest thing is that the commodores run high top gearing so the engine sits on about 1700rpm at 100kph, with the gaering of a Patrol they would sit on about 2100-2300 rpm, big difference in fuel economy, the idea is, since you have the power, to up the diff gearing to 3.9:1 or even 3.5:1 and stick 35's on to lower your cruising rpm's.
When around town the engines have that much torque that you just don't need to work it anywhere near as hard as a 4.5 or 4.2 TD, don't get me wrong, if you were to go across the desert trying to dig 2 trenches and leave a 4 meter high roost behind you at every dune ur gonna chew the fuel.
Basically, you just can't beat new technology.

I have no idea if there is anyone over west that does these conversions, there are a couple of guys doing them over here, Binskins at Pt Macquarie is another one, might have to give them a ring or make a trip out of it.

Pezza
FollowupID: 551921

Follow Up By: Ferret - Sunday, Feb 10, 2008 at 14:52

Sunday, Feb 10, 2008 at 14:52
D'oh ' now i'm confused
FollowupID: 551925

Follow Up By: Member - Matthew ,United Fuel- Sunday, Feb 10, 2008 at 17:39

Sunday, Feb 10, 2008 at 17:39
Your only confused because you dont know what you want.

If its already petrol/gas fit a petrol engine like the vortec or LS2, the fuel tank wont hold enough to cover the gas if you go diesel/gas so you will need a long range tank fitted in place of the gas tank,the gas tank will need to be moved to inside or up along the chassis rail,etc etc.

Sounds like a shifight to me.

Matt
FollowupID: 551969

Follow Up By: Ferret - Sunday, Feb 10, 2008 at 17:45

Sunday, Feb 10, 2008 at 17:45
Need to do some research on Chev terms, is the LS2 the Gen 3 or....
FollowupID: 551972

Follow Up By: Member - Matthew ,United Fuel- Sunday, Feb 10, 2008 at 18:09

Sunday, Feb 10, 2008 at 18:09
Yep GEN3 is LS1 or LS2,LS1 is 5.7L and LS2 is 6.0L
FollowupID: 551975

Follow Up By: Ferret - Sunday, Feb 10, 2008 at 18:20

Sunday, Feb 10, 2008 at 18:20
Mmmmm, 6.0l, just need to find someone good in Perth who would take the job on
FollowupID: 551978

Follow Up By: Member - Matthew ,United Fuel- Sunday, Feb 10, 2008 at 18:24

Sunday, Feb 10, 2008 at 18:24
Ring chevpower in maddington and ask for Phil Hardy

Tell him matt from united fuel injection sent you,they do a good job.

MM me and i will give you the phone number.

MAtt
FollowupID: 551979

Follow Up By: Ferret - Sunday, Feb 10, 2008 at 18:37

Sunday, Feb 10, 2008 at 18:37
Cheers, not a member so cant mm but will look 'em up. Many thanks for you help, plenty of food for thought.
FollowupID: 551984

Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Sunday, Feb 10, 2008 at 21:20

Sunday, Feb 10, 2008 at 21:20
Horses for Courses i spose Pezza. I'm sure you love the get up and go the TB42 with a s/charger gives you. How do you go on remote travel? What sort of range do you have? Would your rig be capable of doing a Simpson crossing given the lack of lpg in the bush?
FollowupID: 552016

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Feb 11, 2008 at 16:38

Monday, Feb 11, 2008 at 16:38
The issue with the Chev diesel conversion is $23k.

I think there are better options for $23k.. Like updating the whole rig. Yours + $23k on a tradein = better.
FollowupID: 552120