plastic bags

Submitted: Tuesday, Feb 12, 2008 at 16:35
ThreadID: 54503 Views:2610 Replies:13 FollowUps:6
I'm after some very strong plastic bags, the type that you get when you buy a snatch strap etc.
Some of the one's i store my gear in are stuffed and i want to replace them. Any clue's were i can get them in Adelaide?
All my searches just turn up big manufactures that produce bags for Coles etc.
Lyndon
Now is the only time you own
Decide now what you will,
Place faith not in tomorrow
For the clock may then be still

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Tuesday, Feb 12, 2008 at 16:41

Tuesday, Feb 12, 2008 at 16:41
Mining supplies you can get green bags of all sizes.
i use them from everything from storage to rubish bags to chigh lift jack covers to oil changes
900x450x 150um
AnswerID: 287071

Reply By: Kev & Darkie - Tuesday, Feb 12, 2008 at 16:42

Tuesday, Feb 12, 2008 at 16:42
Have you tried the bags that are used to cryovac meat??

AnswerID: 287072

Reply By: ExplorOz Team - Michelle - Tuesday, Feb 12, 2008 at 16:43

Tuesday, Feb 12, 2008 at 16:43
Lyndon, the woven plastic (like hesian) type can be picked up from lifestock feed shops or big petshops (eg. in WA we have City Farmers, Pet City). But, may I suggest you consider making your own bags to do the job? Even if you only have limited sewing skills a basic draw string bag is simple to make - we make all our own gear bags. There is a wide range of fabric at reasonable prices from stores like Spotlight.
Michelle Martin
Marketing & Customer Support
I.T. Beyond Pty Ltd / ExplorOz

AnswerID: 287073

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Tuesday, Feb 12, 2008 at 17:34

Tuesday, Feb 12, 2008 at 17:34
maybe we should get you to make em for us blokes...thats womens work!!
FollowupID: 552300

Reply By: Member -Dodger - Tuesday, Feb 12, 2008 at 16:46

Tuesday, Feb 12, 2008 at 16:46
I use the bags that you buy for grocery shopping that are supposed to replace plastic bags.
They are made of strong material and are a handy size for snatch straps etc. Best part is Woolies and Coles sell these bags for $1.
Gotta be happy with that.
I used to have a handle on life, but it broke.

Cheers Dodg.

AnswerID: 287074

Reply By: Member - lyndon K (SA) - Tuesday, Feb 12, 2008 at 16:51

Tuesday, Feb 12, 2008 at 16:51
Thanks for the reply's. I would like the really tough clear plastic one's, as i'll have a few it's easier to know what's in each.
Cheers Lyndon

AnswerID: 287077

Reply By: Moose - Tuesday, Feb 12, 2008 at 17:18

Tuesday, Feb 12, 2008 at 17:18
G'day Lyndon
Buy some thick plastic sheeting from the likes of Bunnings and then get the missus to sew them up to your size requirements. You can even add press studs or velcro.
Cheers from the Moose
AnswerID: 287081

Follow Up By: Member - lyndon K (SA) - Tuesday, Feb 12, 2008 at 17:28

Tuesday, Feb 12, 2008 at 17:28
Great idea Moose,only thing is we are now in the 21st century and she doesn't have a sewing machine! Buttons are the limit(if i'm lucky)

FollowupID: 552297

Follow Up By: Moose - Tuesday, Feb 12, 2008 at 17:34

Tuesday, Feb 12, 2008 at 17:34
OK - alternative suggestion.
You can sew the bags using fishing line. Just lay them on a board (folded into the desired end shape) and go around the edges to be sealed with a nail and hammer. Once you've made the holes just thread up a thickish needle with fishing line and work your way around. Doesn't have to be pretty - just functional so even if you can't sew it doesn't matter.
You can even add a smear of glue such as Quick Grip before sewing if you want a really good seal.
I make all my shovel and axe covers that way using old tyre tubes. Very hardy.
FollowupID: 552298

Reply By: Hoyks - Tuesday, Feb 12, 2008 at 17:55

Tuesday, Feb 12, 2008 at 17:55
I think you will find that most of those 'bags' are actually a plastic tube that is heat sealed and cut as each item is dropped in.

We have a machine for sealing it at work but the tube is hard to come by.
AnswerID: 287085

Reply By: Member - barry F (NSW) - Tuesday, Feb 12, 2008 at 18:32

Tuesday, Feb 12, 2008 at 18:32
G 'day Lyndon, have a look in the yellow pages under "Packaging retailers" they may have what you want in small quantities.

I married a bag, but she's not plastic, she is strong though, but she is not for sale!! Will get back in my kennel now & behave before she sees what I said!! Cheers
AnswerID: 287092

Reply By: Louie the fly - Tuesday, Feb 12, 2008 at 19:32

Tuesday, Feb 12, 2008 at 19:32
Lyndon, InFront Camping have a range of bags in various sizes.

InFront
AnswerID: 287109

Follow Up By: Louie the fly - Tuesday, Feb 12, 2008 at 19:42

Tuesday, Feb 12, 2008 at 19:42
For plastic bags you could try The Packaging Company. They do a range of bags (we buy endless bag on a roll from there) but you may have to buy a qty, like min 100 or something.
FollowupID: 552319

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Tuesday, Feb 12, 2008 at 21:49

Tuesday, Feb 12, 2008 at 21:49
Lyndon,

Halls Canvas Goods at Hackham used to sell very thick zippered clear plastic bags in all shapes and sizes. Phone them up and find out if they still make them. They may even custom make some to fit your gear.

60 Cottage Lane, HACKHAM, SA 5163
ph: (08) 8384 3117 fax: (08) 8384 1010
AnswerID: 287149

Reply By: Peter_n_Margaret - Tuesday, Feb 12, 2008 at 23:03

Tuesday, Feb 12, 2008 at 23:03
Go to your friendly Vet.
He will have pet body bags, about 4 sizes.
Very tough, & cheap.

No kidding!
AnswerID: 287170

Reply By: Member - Au-2 - Tuesday, Feb 12, 2008 at 23:53

Tuesday, Feb 12, 2008 at 23:53
Plastic can be heat sewn with a hot iron and some Alfoil. I have used large garbage bags cut to the size required, then place Alfoil over and under the edge to be sealed and press with iron. Be sure not to leave the iron on one spot too long as it will totally melt the plastic.
OzeSheila.
AnswerID: 287177

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Wednesday, Feb 13, 2008 at 07:36

Wednesday, Feb 13, 2008 at 07:36
REALLY?........i'm going to give that a try

is there any chance that swmbo is not going to scream and scream at me...i mean, if something goes wrong how hard is it to get melted plastic off the bottom of the iron..
FollowupID: 552365

Reply By: Member - lyndon K (SA) - Wednesday, Feb 13, 2008 at 08:28

Wednesday, Feb 13, 2008 at 08:28
A big thankyou to all for the feed back, i'm sure i'll work something out with the idea's above.
Cheers Lyndon

AnswerID: 287202

Follow Up By: Member - Au-2 - Wednesday, Feb 13, 2008 at 14:14

Wednesday, Feb 13, 2008 at 14:14
Hi Lyndon, if you put Alfoil between the iron and the plastic you should have no probs. Just make sure you have plenty between the surface (ironing board?) you're using and the plastic you are working on. Use a narrow strip on top about the width of a ruler and only use the tilted edge of the iron, using the ruler effect to make a straight line/seam and you shouldn't make too much mess. If an 'accident' should happen let the iron cool and the plastic should peel off. If that doesn't work, rub a candle over the hot iron and wipe with very thick folded paper towel--do this over newspaper, as the wax will run and cause another stain. Practice on some plastic shopping bags first, to get the hang of it. By the way, I find that the padded, zipped top, cooler bags, sold by Coles, are very good for the smaller stuff. The padding provides a buffer between things when travelling and the two handles make for easy handling.
Ozesheila.
FollowupID: 552410