SOUTH AUS NOT WORTH VISITING

Submitted: Tuesday, Feb 12, 2008 at 18:55
ThreadID: 54506 Views:2942 Replies:8 FollowUps:30
Just finished having a bit of a read provided in previous post and sth aus is hardly worth the time of day because we cant take our travelling companion anywhere
DOES ANYBODY KNOW WHAT THE FINE IS FOR TAKING OUR DOG INTO AREAS AROUND INNAMINCKA
if we cant take her its hardly worth the price of a desert pass????

Bloody Greenies

anyway doesnt matter because the way we are going in australia wont belong and you will only be allowed to park outside national parks etc and look in (ala joanie mitchel song )

Reply By: Willem - Tuesday, Feb 12, 2008 at 19:21

Tuesday, Feb 12, 2008 at 19:21
G'day Steve and Denny

Surely by now you must know that you cannot take dogs or cats into National Parks ANYWHERE in Australia. Yep, Desert Parks Pass isn't dog friendly. You can take your mate to the Town Common at Innamincka which lies on the banks of the famous Cooper Creek.

Innamincka isn't the be all and end all of South Australia though. There is virtually nothing there. There are heaps of places to visit where you can take your dog/cat in SA

Anyway, you should be happy as larry now that you have retired and not so GRUMPY as you sound today....hahahaha

AnswerID: 287105

Follow Up By: Gob & Denny(hampton park vic) - Tuesday, Feb 12, 2008 at 19:37

Tuesday, Feb 12, 2008 at 19:37
goodday willem
8 days to go hooray
must admit i am using a big fishing line tonight just a bit peed off that we will have to leave her home for the full trip as we hope to spend a least a month away while attending the eo gathering and go on further around the area but we will see still time yet

FollowupID: 552317

Reply By: Steve from Top End Explorer Tours - Tuesday, Feb 12, 2008 at 19:27

Tuesday, Feb 12, 2008 at 19:27
Gob & Denny.

I am a firm believer that pets shouldn't be allowed into National Parks.

My reasons are many but mainly for the protection of native wildlife.

The only way you can take a pet dog into a N.P. is if it is a seeing eye dog, a hearing dog, or a companion dog, once your pet has this criteria then you can get a permit to allow your pet into a N.P.

I have just adopted a stray in Jabiru, she has fitted into our family just great, however we can not take her on weekend trips down the road in Kakadu, we will be traveling the west coast at the end of the season and she will not be coming we have already made arrangements for her, and she will be well looked after.

Yes we can have a dog ,no cats in Jabiru, but we must keep them on a lead or restrained behind a fence at all times unless we are walking them within the town boundaries, and they must be on a lead.

I understand how you feel about your pet but there is no place for them in a National Park, IMOA.

See if you can get your pet into the companion dog criteria.

Cheers Steve.

AnswerID: 287107

Follow Up By: Gob & Denny(hampton park vic) - Tuesday, Feb 12, 2008 at 19:43

Tuesday, Feb 12, 2008 at 19:43
goodday steve
not going to get into an argument about with as there are both responsible and irresponsible owners but its about time all nps started to get ther act together as i believe some are now providing day kennels at the entrances to parks and i believe that this should have happened at all np,s a long time ago

FollowupID: 552320

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Tuesday, Feb 12, 2008 at 19:56

Tuesday, Feb 12, 2008 at 19:56
Not to mention National Parks are a haven for feral dogs and cats but you can't shoot them because you can't take a firearm into a National Park - I am somewhat perplexed as to why that is? Given that it is illegal to shoot any native animal?

FollowupID: 552324

Follow Up By: Member -Steve.NT - Tuesday, Feb 12, 2008 at 20:02

Tuesday, Feb 12, 2008 at 20:02
My intention was advice.

A Kennel near a N.P. would be a good Idea.

Mike we can't even kill Cain Toads in Kakadu, Legally any way.LMAO.

Cheers Steve.
FollowupID: 552326

Follow Up By: Shaker - Tuesday, Feb 12, 2008 at 20:19

Tuesday, Feb 12, 2008 at 20:19
We had a CAIN toad here in Victoria, but we voted him out!
FollowupID: 552329

Follow Up By: Jim from Best Off Road - Tuesday, Feb 12, 2008 at 20:31

Tuesday, Feb 12, 2008 at 20:31
Ah, no you didn't.

You actually voted out Joan Kirner.

FollowupID: 552330

Follow Up By: Shaker - Tuesday, Feb 12, 2008 at 22:49

Tuesday, Feb 12, 2008 at 22:49
Yes, you are right!
I think I may have had repressed memory syndrome & had put her out of my mind!
FollowupID: 552348

Follow Up By: Bill n Di - Wednesday, Feb 13, 2008 at 10:28

Wednesday, Feb 13, 2008 at 10:28
Steve,

What is a "Companion Dog" and what are the criteria?

Dian
FollowupID: 552385

Follow Up By: Member - MUZBRY (VIC) - Wednesday, Feb 13, 2008 at 12:20

Wednesday, Feb 13, 2008 at 12:20
Well that ruins my day,,,I'll have to leave Wes home when i go to Innaminka.

FollowupID: 552400

Follow Up By: Member - Poppy (QLD) - Wednesday, Feb 13, 2008 at 17:01

Wednesday, Feb 13, 2008 at 17:01
Dogs are allowed in National Parks in Canada, but must be on a lead, surely we could have the same consideration, providing we pick up after them
Cheers Ray
FollowupID: 552450

Follow Up By: Chaz - Wednesday, Feb 13, 2008 at 20:06

Wednesday, Feb 13, 2008 at 20:06
“Not to mention National Parks are a haven for feral dogs and cats but you can't shoot them because you can't take a firearm into a National Park - I am somewhat perplexed as to why that is? Given that it is illegal to shoot any native animal?”

Mike,

Here in SA, you actually can hunt in a National Park, in fact I probably do 90% of my hunting in SA Parks and Conservation Reserves. You just have to be in the right organisation. We are trained and accredited hunters that help the Parks out with feral animal control. I personally take pride in removing feral cats from areas that they don’t belong, but I doubt that many are the result of travellers and holiday makers bringing their pets into a Park. Most would be escapees from farms or neighbouring properties.
I wouldn’t take my beloved pet into a Park, because I know and have seen the result of 1080 baits that get laid for the marauders.
FollowupID: 552528

Reply By: Lyds- Tuesday, Feb 12, 2008 at 20:52

Tuesday, Feb 12, 2008 at 20:52
Unfortunately Steve you are the victim of the carelessness of selfish dog owners.

On a recent trip to Kangaroo Island, they had signs everywhere warning of an endangered bird (plover?) and for folks to keep their dogs on a leash. Well, I reckon about 1 in 5 observed those signs.

I never did see a plover, so who knows if the dogs were going to cause any grief, but if rules are ignored then its ammunition to tighten the screws.

AnswerID: 287134

Reply By: Smudger - Tuesday, Feb 12, 2008 at 22:13

Tuesday, Feb 12, 2008 at 22:13
Your call !
Fact is most of the best off-road tracks in Oz are in SA. Most are in National Parks and you can't (as you a complaining) take your 4 legged child in there ..and I'm sure that the bilbies, wallabies and wombats will appreciate your concern for their welfare.
Most of the rest of us will also appreciate your leaving your child at home.
Fact is, I cannot imagine life without a dog in the backyard ..but the outback no place for them. So, if you want to see some of the best of the outback, leave fido home with the kids and have a great trip. Show him the pics when you get home, I'm sure he'll giva s...t
AnswerID: 287158

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Tuesday, Feb 12, 2008 at 22:40

Tuesday, Feb 12, 2008 at 22:40
Gday Smudger,
"Fact is most of the best off-road tracks in Oz are in SA" Mmmm CRapp!

"..but the outback no place for them" Double CRapp!

There are laws made by fools for fools........
FollowupID: 552347

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Wednesday, Feb 13, 2008 at 00:30

Wednesday, Feb 13, 2008 at 00:30
A lucky dog is one that spends his life travelling with his owner!!! And dont they love it??

FollowupID: 552356

Follow Up By: Member - Tessa (NSW) - Wednesday, Feb 13, 2008 at 09:03

Wednesday, Feb 13, 2008 at 09:03
Hairy
Unfortunately we life in a society where we have to legislate for the lowest common denominator. And you know as well as well as I do that self regulation is a joke. So can you imagine what the NP's would be like if we didn't have laws to control them?

Tessa
FollowupID: 552376

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Wednesday, Feb 13, 2008 at 15:27

Wednesday, Feb 13, 2008 at 15:27
>So can you imagine what the NP's would be like if we didn't
>have laws to control them?

I imagine they would be like the State Forests here in Victoria where most of the restricting laws which apply to NPs don't apply.

Our State Forests have far fewer pest animals because we can shoot them. This encourages the ferals to migrate to NPs where they are safer, unfortunately one consequence of this is that I see more native animals in SFs than I do in NPs because the ferals hunt them. All this despite the fact that dogs are permitted in SFs.

Open up NPs to domestic dogs and hunting of pest animals in my opinion.

FollowupID: 552432

Follow Up By: Member - Tessa (NSW) - Wednesday, Feb 13, 2008 at 17:24

Wednesday, Feb 13, 2008 at 17:24
I didn't realise how intelligent your animals are in Victoria. They can read maps and even know when they have crossed unmarked park and forestry boundaries. Nice to know that some Victorians can.

tessa
FollowupID: 552460

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Wednesday, Feb 13, 2008 at 18:25

Wednesday, Feb 13, 2008 at 18:25
As usual Tessa, you miss the point.

Have you not heard of the concept "survival of the fittest"? Animals are a lot smarter than you seem to think.

FollowupID: 552491

Follow Up By: Smudger - Wednesday, Feb 13, 2008 at 19:05

Wednesday, Feb 13, 2008 at 19:05
No Mickey, I think you missed the point.
FollowupID: 552506

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Wednesday, Feb 13, 2008 at 19:46

Wednesday, Feb 13, 2008 at 19:46
Why?
FollowupID: 552519

Follow Up By: Member - Tessa (NSW) - Wednesday, Feb 13, 2008 at 23:23

Wednesday, Feb 13, 2008 at 23:23
Well, as usual, you come into a thread, take one line out of context, and then attempt to hijack the thread with your uncompromising pedantic views.

tessa
FollowupID: 552588

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Thursday, Feb 14, 2008 at 05:56

Thursday, Feb 14, 2008 at 05:56
Tessa: your attempt to evade answering the question is noted.

I'm not sure how one hijacks a thread about dogs in National Parks by responding with points about dogs in National Parks but then I've pretty much given up on your, so called, logic.

FollowupID: 552613

Reply By: Garbutt - Wednesday, Feb 13, 2008 at 09:18

Wednesday, Feb 13, 2008 at 09:18
You can take your dog into Innamincka Regional Reserve as I said in the previous post you refer to. You can't take woofa to Coongie though. (or use a generator/outboard/fart too loudly)
We were at Innamincka last Sept camped with people who had a dog at Cullyumurra, no probs, there were other small dogs there too.

GB
AnswerID: 287215

Reply By: Russ n Sue - Wednesday, Feb 13, 2008 at 13:54

Wednesday, Feb 13, 2008 at 13:54
I have been a dog owner, though I'm not now. Our old girl passed on about 6 months before we left. What I have observed from the point of view of a traveller is this....

In our experience there are more irresponsible dog owners than responsible ones. Now before half the people on the forum go nuts about this, there are more aspects of responsible dog ownership than just keeping the dog on a leash where required.

Things like picking up the poop, that so many owners don't do, what about stopping them from peeing on other peoples tyres, table and chair legs etc?,preventing the dog from barking unduly, keeping the dog away from places where people are eating or preparing food, not letting the dog go for a swim amongst ther bathers at beaches, rivers and waterholes, having dogs sitting on their lap or breathing down the back of their neck while they are supposed to be concentrating on driving....the list goes on.

We a getting paranoid these days and now try and stay where there are no dogs. Like I said, I like dogs, I just don't like other people's dogs having part of their holiday with me!

Russ.
AnswerID: 287257

Follow Up By: Member - BIGDOG G (WA) - Wednesday, Feb 13, 2008 at 15:16

Wednesday, Feb 13, 2008 at 15:16
Well said Russ

Cheers.............BIGDOG
FollowupID: 552428

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Feb 13, 2008 at 20:55

Wednesday, Feb 13, 2008 at 20:55
I agree 100000% with Russ....couldn't have said it better myself. I love dogs, but they have to abide by MY standards and I don't appreciate them bounding around camp willy nilly while their owner does SFA about looking after them.

FollowupID: 552549

Follow Up By: Member - Zig (WA) - Thursday, Feb 14, 2008 at 04:40

Thursday, Feb 14, 2008 at 04:40
I agree 100%. I love dogs and have had some too.
It really pisses you of when a dog has a crap just outside your campsite when you are cooking/eating and the owner just walks away with a smile on his/hers face. Or comes up and sniff your food when eating, piss on you chair and walks away.
FollowupID: 552611

Follow Up By: Member - Olcoolone (S.A) - Thursday, Feb 14, 2008 at 13:17

Thursday, Feb 14, 2008 at 13:17
Yeap well said Russ, we have two black labs that are trained very well and we ulso use them for retreving trials.

When we go away they go into boarding and it gives us a break away from them and I expect it's the same to them.

Even that our dogs don't wander far from us and are well behaved we still have to keep an eye out for them and look after them.

I don't think it is fair on the dogs to travel with us everywhere but the still manage to clock up about 6000 K a year travelling.

Regards Richard
FollowupID: 552677

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Feb 13, 2008 at 14:27

Wednesday, Feb 13, 2008 at 14:27
Short notice drinks Friday night at Stamford?
AnswerID: 287263

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Wednesday, Feb 13, 2008 at 18:31

Wednesday, Feb 13, 2008 at 18:31
Cheers, what shall we bring?
FollowupID: 552495

Follow Up By: Gob & Denny - Wednesday, Feb 13, 2008 at 20:49

Wednesday, Feb 13, 2008 at 20:49
sorry mate no can do busy moving out of the rental house ready for the big day 22-02-08 but would love to catch up for drinks soon

hairy just yourselves are you staying o/n or just passing thru

lmao
FollowupID: 552547

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Thursday, Feb 14, 2008 at 23:38

Thursday, Feb 14, 2008 at 23:38
Na ..Sorry Mate just pulling the pizz...Be good to catch up one day though.

Hairy
FollowupID: 552800

Follow Up By: Member - MUZBRY (VIC) - Friday, Feb 15, 2008 at 12:58

Friday, Feb 15, 2008 at 12:58
love to but,,,,,little wes is having his 37 th birthday and i have been asked to come along and pay, like a good father should. Next time pick a day when there is no birthday. Thanks for the invite.
Murray

FollowupID: 552882

Reply By: Member - Poppy (QLD) - Wednesday, Feb 13, 2008 at 16:57

Wednesday, Feb 13, 2008 at 16:57
Hi Steve
I will be going to the EO gathering and I am taking my dog
From what I can gather, dogs are allowed at the town common and that is where we will be.
Cheers Ray
PS. See you there
AnswerID: 287283

Follow Up By: Pete and Lez - Wednesday, Feb 13, 2008 at 19:57

Wednesday, Feb 13, 2008 at 19:57
Gee, bet your dog loves being tied to a leash for a week.
FollowupID: 552525