Map format for TomTom

Submitted: Friday, Feb 15, 2008 at 16:15
ThreadID: 54601 Views:7060 Replies:4 FollowUps:2
This Thread has been Archived
Hi there, My name is Todd. I am a paramedic in the South East region of S.A. We have two gps units (HP iPAQ rx5965 travel companion's) with Tomtom navigator6.1. This UBD style mapping isn't covering some of the tracks and dirt roads we know are around and have to navigate through to get to patients from time to time. We also know that the CFS (Country Fire Service) has both book and cd regional mapping, that they use. The CFS are happy for us to use the digital mapping of the CFS maps on our gps system but do not know the format that the data needs to be in, to work on our units via the SD card. I am well aware of other 4wd digital maps etc that can be purchased, however we need to both be operating off the same maps in co-ordinated jobs eg vehicle accidents/difficult or isolated recovery/fire standbys. Can anyone please tell me the format these CFS maps need to be in, to work with the Tomtom system/software. Cheers, Todd
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: The Explorer - Friday, Feb 15, 2008 at 16:29

Friday, Feb 15, 2008 at 16:29
Hello - I am 99.99% sure you cannot convert them. Your best bet will be to run OziExplorerCe at same time as the TomTom software. I think (but again not 100% sure) that a program called gpsgate (do google search) will let you split the gps data so that both programs can be run at once so you will have access to both sets of maps.

Cheers
Greg
I sent one final shout after him to stick to the track, to which he replied “All right,” That was the last ever seen of Gibson - E Giles 23 April 1874

Lifetime Member
My Profile  My Blog  Send Message

AnswerID: 287642

Reply By: Skippy In The GU - Friday, Feb 15, 2008 at 18:28

Friday, Feb 15, 2008 at 18:28
Hi ambocat, if you have the CD regional mapping Named

"Lower South East Map Book" , 217 MB this map goes as far north as Willalooka