Taking Camper to Tassie - Subsidy or lack thereof

Submitted: Friday, Feb 15, 2008 at 23:45
ThreadID: 54614 Views:3208 Replies:15 FollowUps:19
I was thinking the other day when cancelling a pending two wee trip to Tassie due to the constant dipping of the reserve bank into our reserves....

Why is it that vehicles are subsidised to travel to Tassie due to the fact that there is no road (at least that's what I understand the reason to be) but the trailer I can tow up any freeway for nix costs a small fortune to tow because it's not subsidised?

Travelling closer to home at the moment is definately easier on the hip pocket, but the far distant tourist destinations will feel the pinch soon.

Reply By: Shaker - Friday, Feb 15, 2008 at 23:48

Friday, Feb 15, 2008 at 23:48
We looked at taking the camper trailer to Tasmania, but the cost was way too much.
AnswerID: 287707

Follow Up By: Member - Bucky (VIC) - Saturday, Feb 16, 2008 at 04:43

Saturday, Feb 16, 2008 at 04:43
A work-mate of mine did it, and I am sure he said $1800 return, (could be wrong ! ) for Mrs, himself, and 2 teenage kids, and hid Jayco Campervan..

Not that cheap.!

Upside was, they had a absolute ball !

FollowupID: 552984

Reply By: Footloose - Saturday, Feb 16, 2008 at 00:02

Saturday, Feb 16, 2008 at 00:02
Dave, if I were a cynic I might suggest that their accommodation industry had something to do with it?
AnswerID: 287710

Reply By: Member - Royce- Saturday, Feb 16, 2008 at 00:04

Saturday, Feb 16, 2008 at 00:04
It must be my age, but I need at least three wee s to get to Tas. !!
AnswerID: 287711

Reply By: Gerhardp1 - Saturday, Feb 16, 2008 at 00:11

Saturday, Feb 16, 2008 at 00:11
It's a Federal Government subsidy system, because the Feds maintain the national highways on the mainland, but obviously there is no road to Tas.

It's not the Tas Govt or the Tas accommodation industry that decides whether trailers/campers/caravans are subsidised or not.

That's a pretty stupid assertion, really.
AnswerID: 287712

Follow Up By: On Patrol (East Coast) - Saturday, Feb 16, 2008 at 08:38

Saturday, Feb 16, 2008 at 08:38
"That's a pretty stupid assertion, really".

No need for that!!!!!

In fact one might question yourself for saying that, when the post clearly states "If I were a cynic"

Get a sense of humour Gerhardp1.
FollowupID: 552999

Follow Up By: Member - Duncs - Saturday, Feb 16, 2008 at 14:00

Saturday, Feb 16, 2008 at 14:00
I asked the question of a rep at the Tassie Government Tourist stand at one of the caravan shows a few years back.

He said the reason for no subsidies on trailers was that they wanted us to stay in the Tassie B&B's, hotels and guest houses

Streight from the horses mouth, one might say.

FollowupID: 553056

Reply By: Peter 2 - Saturday, Feb 16, 2008 at 06:48

Saturday, Feb 16, 2008 at 06:48
We looked at that when we took the family (2A,3K) to Tassie years ago, cost at the time $60 return for the troopy but the cub hardfloor camper was $600. After doing the sums we quickly decided that $600 wouldn't go far for 5 for accomodation for 6 weeks plus we tend to free camp as much as possible.
Taking the tent wasn't an option as the troopy when fitted with the required roofrack to fit everything in would have been over height which would have meant an extra $800 for the troopy.
But yes it is a bit of a con.
AnswerID: 287723

Reply By: Zebra400 - Saturday, Feb 16, 2008 at 06:53

Saturday, Feb 16, 2008 at 06:53

You are getting ripped off because you want to take a trailer, and not a caravan

If you read the small print on the TT-line site, it says:

The prices listed include the deduction of the Bass Strait Passenger Vehicle Equalisation Scheme rebate of $168 for a standard car and trailer, $318 for a standard car towing a caravan and up to $300 for a motorhome/campervan.

So you can see the Federal Government gives a larger rebate for caravans, motorhomes & campervans than for trailers. Perhaps this is an item for the 4WD Victoria to push with the govt as to why trailers should receive a smaller subsidy than caravans.

An example of the above can be seen as follows: a 4WD & trailer 12 metres in total length will cost $300 more than a 4WD towing a caravan of the same length for a return trip.

Laurie
AnswerID: 287724

Follow Up By: Member - John - Saturday, Feb 16, 2008 at 07:14

Saturday, Feb 16, 2008 at 07:14
Maybe call the trailer a caravan?

FollowupID: 552987

Follow Up By: On Patrol (East Coast) - Saturday, Feb 16, 2008 at 08:33

Saturday, Feb 16, 2008 at 08:33
Not as silly as it may seem!!!!
My insurance co. says my camper is insured as a carvan. Worth a try maybe.
FollowupID: 552996

Follow Up By: The Rambler( W.A.) - Saturday, Feb 16, 2008 at 12:18

Saturday, Feb 16, 2008 at 12:18
Ihave just booked my car and camper trailer for the ferry crossing and the charge for a car towing a camper trailer is exactly the same as that towing a caravan.The charges are based on overall length and in my case (10.2m) cost is $586 return. It IS different and more expensive if you are just pulling a normal trailer i.e. garden trailer or box trailer not designed for camping.
FollowupID: 553039

Follow Up By: disco1942 - Saturday, Feb 16, 2008 at 14:19

Saturday, Feb 16, 2008 at 14:19
Site Link

If you look at the above link you will find the following definition:

"Definition of a caravan – A caravan is defined as a vehicle towed by an eligible passenger vehicle and designed and constructed primarily to provide sleeping accommodation."

I was surprised to see the subsidies that Laurie quoted above. Any previous time I have looked at the T/T line site motor homes were around the same price as vans - how things move on.

FollowupID: 553058

Follow Up By: Member - Fred G (NSW) - Saturday, Feb 16, 2008 at 14:27

Saturday, Feb 16, 2008 at 14:27
If you have a look at the link I have posted further on, it shows their conditions, and define a camper trailer and a caravan in the same way. The price hike gets outrageous once you go over certain dimensions....especially height and width, which is where we came unstuck, and they say there that you then need to book under the "Freight" section. Apparently height and width are more critical than length up to 12m.
Such a pity for travellers wanting to go in either direction.

FollowupID: 553059

Follow Up By: Member - Fred G (NSW) - Saturday, Feb 16, 2008 at 14:29

Saturday, Feb 16, 2008 at 14:29
Peter, looks like we were on the same wavelength at the same time...LOL...:-))
Cheers from Fred
FollowupID: 553060

Reply By: Member - Nick (TAS) - Saturday, Feb 16, 2008 at 08:43

Saturday, Feb 16, 2008 at 08:43
Yep its a rip off for sure.
How do you think we feel "stuck" here , any holiday on the mainland and we have to shell out around a thousand bucks (one way) just to get of Melbourne, big dent in holiday funds.I would like to head on over every couple of years to tour around but just carnt afford it due to getting across the water.
AnswerID: 287732

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Sunday, Feb 17, 2008 at 16:30

Sunday, Feb 17, 2008 at 16:30
Hey Nick - there has to be some penalty for living in paradise!

FollowupID: 553247

Reply By: Ole Grizzly - Saturday, Feb 16, 2008 at 09:06

Saturday, Feb 16, 2008 at 09:06
Recently had a small trail bike sent across...$286.00
I thought they hanged Ned Kelly ?
AnswerID: 287735

Reply By: Member - Fred G (NSW) - Saturday, Feb 16, 2008 at 09:33

Saturday, Feb 16, 2008 at 09:33
Have a look here. We changed our mind...to dear to take our van.[url=http://www.spiritoftasmania.com.au/fares/non_standard_car.htm ]
AnswerID: 287745

Reply By: Member - Fred G (NSW) - Saturday, Feb 16, 2008 at 09:40

Saturday, Feb 16, 2008 at 09:40
cost of taking your van

Better still try this one.
AnswerID: 287747

Reply By: itsdave - Saturday, Feb 16, 2008 at 11:52

Saturday, Feb 16, 2008 at 11:52
Went this time last year with a Navara and camper trailer, cost around $800 from memory. Was well worth taking the camper over for the 5 weeks we were there as the free camping sites helped cover the cost. Would have no hesitation doing it again when you the in where you can camp.

Cheers Dave
AnswerID: 287762

Reply By: Zebra400 - Saturday, Feb 16, 2008 at 14:39

Saturday, Feb 16, 2008 at 14:39
Looking at the cost on the TT-Line website, we should ask, why does it cost 70% more to take a 4WD which is 5.1 - 6 metres long than a 4WD that is 5 metres long? My 4WD is 5.3 metres with bull bar & real wheel carrier. It is only a maximum of 20% longer than a 5M car, but 73% more expensive.

I found an amazing facton the TT-line website's rates page. According to their rates, If your combined length of your vehicle & caravan is only 6 metres, guess what, the cost is only $61! Sounds like we tell them the caravan is only 5mm long!!!

Is this a way to get your 6M 4WD for the same cost of a 5M car?

AnswerID: 287783

Follow Up By: disco1942 - Saturday, Feb 16, 2008 at 14:46

Saturday, Feb 16, 2008 at 14:46
They have a number of lines painted across the book in lane that are one metre apart and numbered. Every vehicle that looks like it is over 5m long is stopped at the first one and someone at the rear calls out the length. You cant get away with cheating.

FollowupID: 553061

Follow Up By: Zebra400 - Saturday, Feb 16, 2008 at 16:24

Saturday, Feb 16, 2008 at 16:24

No cheating here. The rates for a car & caravan (total length 6m) is the same as a 5M car (no caravan). However, I think this must be a typo on the website!
FollowupID: 553082

Reply By: Gronk - Saturday, Feb 16, 2008 at 16:58

Saturday, Feb 16, 2008 at 16:58
Going over in October and the costs are ( 2 adults ).....
2 berth cabin $988 return
4x4 $158 return
CT $348 return
All up $1494..........which is dear....but try flying over and staying in B & B's or Motels + hiring a car !!!!!!!!!

$ 348 to take the CT...........c'mon fellas....how do you work out its that dear ????? Thats 2 nights accomodation in a Motel !!!!!!
AnswerID: 287799

Follow Up By: Member - Fred G (NSW) - Saturday, Feb 16, 2008 at 21:40

Saturday, Feb 16, 2008 at 21:40
Gronk, if the $988 for a cabin for two nights ain't gonna worry ya, then the $348 return for your tent on wheels sure ain't gonna worry ya. This post was for people who have real concerns as to where they can get most value for their hard earned. If you consider $348 a bargain for 2 nights motel accommodation, you've responded to the wrong post mate...we're pensioners. Tassi buisiness people can't wait for you to arrive mate......:o-)))
Gronk Packer maybe...????LOL

FollowupID: 553122

Follow Up By: Gronk - Saturday, Feb 16, 2008 at 22:48

Saturday, Feb 16, 2008 at 22:48
You have missed something ???????????
If you are gonna go to Tassie.....then the cheapest way is to go by boat and take your CT or van ?????
If you don't take a CT or van then the cost of accomodation will be dearer ....
If you can't afford it .....don't go...simple as that !!!!!!!
If you have a cheaper way of seeing Tassie, then I'd like to hear it ???
No use whinging about the cost.....it's not going to change......but sure beats paying for airfares, accomodation and a hire car for 2 weeks.. !!!!!
FollowupID: 553139

Reply By: Motherhen - Saturday, Feb 16, 2008 at 18:54

Saturday, Feb 16, 2008 at 18:54
Dave, I understood it was commercial trailers that were not subsidised. A camper trailer is for tourism, so should be treated the same as a caravan.

We took our caravan and paid the price - well worth it to tour beautiful Tassie and get to camp in some glorious locations. Still cheaper than paying for accommodation which is generally in towns - not places we want to stay.

Wake up to mornings like this when free camping

AnswerID: 287808

Follow Up By: Member - Fred G (NSW) - Saturday, Feb 16, 2008 at 21:03

Saturday, Feb 16, 2008 at 21:03
what was your price motherhen and how long ago ??? for what size rig ??? I have submitted my rig details for a quote so interesting to see what it comes back as.
FollowupID: 553116

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Saturday, Feb 16, 2008 at 22:57

Saturday, Feb 16, 2008 at 22:57
Hi Fred

We went 12 Feb 2006, which was i recall in the 'shoulder' period (ie between peak and off peak). We had a Nissan Patrol and 18' Bushtracker. The measurements on the ticket (taken from our measurement of overall length bull bar to rear of caravan), with them using a standard amount for the Patrol, was Patrol 5 metres & caravan 7.2 metres. We got a 'red hot special' on a day crossing. Return was a night crossing with a porthole cabin leaving 1 April on a 'ship saver' fare. Total for the 2 crossings was $1284. With the ship saver, it was non refundable if we had to cancel, but we could re-book any time within a period of one year. We could have deferred our return subject to availability if we wanted to extend our stay in Tassie.

Well worth it to tour the beautiful island, and meet the locals.

FollowupID: 553140

Follow Up By: Member - Fred G (NSW) - Sunday, Feb 17, 2008 at 15:53

Sunday, Feb 17, 2008 at 15:53
M/H you have talked us into it. Off in April.
Lots of research to do now, like turning left or right when disembarking.
Ta from Fred and Christine.
FollowupID: 553243

Reply By: Member - Fred G (NSW) - Sunday, Feb 17, 2008 at 15:51

Sunday, Feb 17, 2008 at 15:51
This may help others wanting to take their full caravan over .
Just got a quote emailed back for my rig.... Triton and 17ft full Jayco caravan...over 12m and under 13m long, over 2.1m high, and under 2.4m wide...quoted cost is $409.00 one way. For an ocean view recliner in a secure lounge area is $159.00 P/P each way (2 of us).
So we will be happy to do the day crossing without the recliners, and just use the ships other facillities.
At under a grand return we will be happy enough to do it this April, cause as they say, you only live once.
How strict are they with dimensions? anyone know? the width of my van is a fraction over 2.4m about 50mm over.
Cheers all
Fred.
AnswerID: 287955

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Sunday, Feb 17, 2008 at 16:48

Sunday, Feb 17, 2008 at 16:48
Hi Fred

Good on you. They don't come and measure rigs, but as you drive in, there are grids on the road, so they could see if someone got it very wrong. Someone once reported they made and error and quoted the vehicle length and the caravan length, not allowing for the bit in between! They had to pay a lot more extra than if they'd got it right. A tiny discrepancy will not be measured.

We chose to travel on the uppermost enclosed deck and there were heaps of available tables and chairs. We just chose one along the side and left our stuff there if we wandered around, although my husband stayed put most of the time while i raced around and outside with my camera. Food and drinks for sale on most decks.

So many spectacular views - this one from Mt Wellington overlooking Hobart and views greater than 180 degrees around.

Mh

FollowupID: 553253

Follow Up By: Member - Fred G (NSW) - Sunday, Feb 17, 2008 at 17:38

Sunday, Feb 17, 2008 at 17:38
Many thanks M/H for your much appreciated help and information. We are very excited now we have made the decision to go, and look forward to it. I visited Tassie twice in the 60's whilst in the Navy, Hobart and Burnie for good will visits, but did not get to see too much other than pubs close to the wharf. Probably have about 20 days up our sleeve over there, leaving 2 days each way to get to and from Melb.
Cheers from Fred and Christine.
FollowupID: 553267