question about drawbars

Submitted: Sunday, Feb 17, 2008 at 10:37
ThreadID: 54660 Views:6278 Replies:10 FollowUps:9
This Thread has been Archived
i'm putting a new chassis under my caravan over easter and i'm trying to work out the drawbar that needs to go on it. does anyone know how you calculate a drawbar lenght, as in how far it needs to go back under the van in relation to how far it sticks out the front of the van. and does where the axel sits under the van relate to what lenght you need to make the drawbar.

any help would be much appreciated, or a good link to working this out.

cheers
RUMPIG
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: DCTriton - Sunday, Feb 17, 2008 at 10:54

Sunday, Feb 17, 2008 at 10:54
I guess a lot depends on the van itself... I'm no expert but I would be inclined to run the drawbar back to the spring hanger on each side and weld it to the hanger also, reinforcing the hanger itself... If it's a heavy van, perhaps a center bar also running as far back as is practical, it adds stability and is a great place to put the jockey wheel...
AnswerID: 287905

Reply By: Member - Doug T (FNQ) - Sunday, Feb 17, 2008 at 11:00

Sunday, Feb 17, 2008 at 11:00
Why not go ask an engineer/Caravan,Trailer manufacturer.

gift by Daughter

Lifetime Member
My Profile  My Blog  Send Message

AnswerID: 287908

Reply By: Louie the fly - Sunday, Feb 17, 2008 at 11:10

Sunday, Feb 17, 2008 at 11:10
Why wouldn't you duplicate what is already there? That is a generally accepted "engineering best practice". You need to make sure that the drawbar is secured to a few points on each side and the welding is of an acceptable standard. If you are not a competent welder my suggestion would be to employ one.

My experiences have shown that a longer drawbar does generally makes it easier to reverse the trailer, and as your bulk load is further rearward, the ball weight should reduce slightly.
AnswerID: 287914

Follow Up By: rumpig - Sunday, Feb 17, 2008 at 17:20