Food / Menus

Submitted: Tuesday, Nov 13, 2001 at 01:00
ThreadID: 548 Views:2750 Replies:9 FollowUps:0
This Thread has been Archived
All,
I am a complete novice at 4WD trips. I am planning my first trip away this Christmas and whilst it won't be "outback" I will be trying to think along the lines of remoteness so that I can judge my planning skills etc.
My problem is food variety. If I where on my own 48 cans of baked beans would do! but this will be a family trip with wife and three children (7,4,4). This makes it hard as the children are fussy eaters.
We won't have a fridge. I appreciate this is not the best equipped trek but the budget is tight.
Can anyone suggest some good foodstuffs to take?
I am thinking along the lines of vacuum packed meat (archive indicates it will last 2 wks - without a fridge?), tins, UHT milk and dried stuff. Space is not a problem - yet - but variety menus are!
Thanks in advance,
Mike
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Graham - Tuesday, Nov 13, 2001 at 01:00

Tuesday, Nov 13, 2001 at 01:00
You must atleast be taking an Esky? How are u going to keep the beers cold.
Seriously if you are taking an Esky try packing your fav meat in serving size portions and packing them in tupperware containers and freezing them. with a bit of planning take out your evening meal in time to thaw. we find taking stir fry sauces with meat and rice or noodles makes a tasty meal and also has the whole campsite commenting about the aromas. When u get really organised with a fridge/freezer, get yourself one of those mini weber's , a frozen chicken or an easy carve lamb roast... bloody sensational and it is lees of a chore than cooking bangers on a hot plate.
you gotta luv it.

Graham
AnswerID: 1421

Reply By: Les - Wednesday, Nov 14, 2001 at 01:00

Wednesday, Nov 14, 2001 at 01:00
Mike... I take the baked beans, but also cans of
tuna, steak and veges, sausages and veges. The mini weber is a good idea, I find I can always find fresh meat.
AnswerID: 1428