Will an outboard in the back of a waggon give petrol fumes

Submitted: Friday, Feb 29, 2008 at 22:59
ThreadID: 55064 Views:2638 Replies:11 FollowUps:5
Hi all I am considering buying a Porta Bote and a new Yamaha 4 hp 4 stroke out board, it has its own built in tank and you can close off the vent in the filling cap and i will carry it in the back of my Commodore Station Wagon. My question is does anyone have any experience of carrying an outboard and even though I will seal off the filler breather will I get petrol fumes from the carburettor on a long trip. I can also go for the option of using a separate 12 litre tank instead of using the inbuilt tank.
Thanks in advance for any comments.

Reply By: Notso - Friday, Feb 29, 2008 at 23:23

Friday, Feb 29, 2008 at 23:23
It will sti nk even with a searate tank, the carby, etc will have residual fuel in it.

Hot car horrible!
AnswerID: 290146

Follow Up By: sandman55 - Friday, Feb 29, 2008 at 23:25

Friday, Feb 29, 2008 at 23:25
Thanks Notso thats what I was worried about
FollowupID: 555477

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Saturday, Mar 01, 2008 at 01:51

Saturday, Mar 01, 2008 at 01:51
Sorry to be a frick but ....Mate...if you carry something that contains fuel and it can breath it will smell????
AnswerID: 290159

Reply By: Member - Peter D M - Saturday, Mar 01, 2008 at 06:24

Saturday, Mar 01, 2008 at 06:24
i have travelled extensively with a 15 hp 2 stroke yamaha motor in my rodeos'. it is a snug convenient fit on the floor between the back and front seats. i have never noticed any fumes even without draining fuel. i carry the tank in my canopy and haven't noticed fumes in there but i do have an open scupper vent in the roof to pressurise the back to keep out dust.

regards peter
AnswerID: 290168

Reply By: res.q.guy - Saturday, Mar 01, 2008 at 07:31

Saturday, Mar 01, 2008 at 07:31
Hi Sandman
I travelled for 2 yrs around Aus. with a 18 hp Tohatsu in the back of an 80 series without any problems.
Carby was empty, fuel tank was on A bar of caravan.
Neil
AnswerID: 290171

Reply By: obee - Saturday, Mar 01, 2008 at 08:02

Saturday, Mar 01, 2008 at 08:02
give it a try for a week around town. only way to find out. But empty the carby by running it or maybe the carby has a drain plug like my gennie has.

Owen
AnswerID: 290173

Reply By: obee - Saturday, Mar 01, 2008 at 08:03

Saturday, Mar 01, 2008 at 08:03
give it a try for a week around town. only way to find out. But empty the carby by running it or maybe the carby has a drain plug like my gennie has.

Owen
AnswerID: 290175

Reply By: Tony - Saturday, Mar 01, 2008 at 08:52

Saturday, Mar 01, 2008 at 08:52
Travelled around NQ with a 15hp 2 stroke in the back. Only had a bit of exhaust smell for as short time after use.

Run the motor out of fuel before putting away in the back.
AnswerID: 290192

Reply By: Trevor R (QLD) - Saturday, Mar 01, 2008 at 12:04

Saturday, Mar 01, 2008 at 12:04
I've got a little 2hp with tank on top of motor and it travels in the back of the GU when I go away at xmas and have not noticed any overpowering smell of fuel (maybe an initial touch of fuel smell but not worth worrying about and my kids are closer to the smell than me so I am very concious about it)

Cheers, Trevor.
AnswerID: 290225

Reply By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Saturday, Mar 01, 2008 at 12:55

Saturday, Mar 01, 2008 at 12:55
Sandman, make sure you check out laying a 4 stroke on its side. A 2 stroke is much more forgiving in this area. The engine oil from a 4 stroke can easily leak out, both into the motor and into your car I'm told.

I went to buy a new Honda 20HP 4 stroke for our travels, to replace a Mercury 15HP 2 stroke I had sold with my old boat. After I described how we would use the motor (lots of travelling with motor in back of ute, loading and unloading, lots of remote area (croc country) use etc, the dealership owner said ' Mate I'd love to sell you a Honda, but for your needs, you want a good 2 Stroke and I recommend Yamaha, but unfortunately I don't sell them. I now own a Yamaha 20 HP 2 stroke.

Not saying don't buy a 4 stroke, just look into it to ensure it is right for your plans.

Norm C
AnswerID: 290233

Follow Up By: sandman55 - Saturday, Mar 01, 2008 at 21:12

Saturday, Mar 01, 2008 at 21:12
Thanks for your reply Norm I was aware of that and your right I will be moving it from car to beach to boat and back again and storage in the shed and I could come to grief. One dealer concerned me (and it was probably a sales pitch) she said the time will come when we will be restricted in inland waterways to using 4 strokes and not 2 strokes. Another reason is I am not a real serious fisherman and the fuel of a two stroke is supposed to get stale when it gets old (I don't know how) and the smaller motors don't have oil injectors it has to be mixed.
I'm going to have to think about this, also one draw back of the smaller 4 stroke motor is their sump only has splash lubrication and I wonder if this shortens the life of the motor.
Thanks again for your reply.
FollowupID: 555627

Follow Up By: Members - Bow & Nan - Sunday, Mar 02, 2008 at 16:06

Sunday, Mar 02, 2008 at 16:06
I use a pump to suck the oil out of the sump before transporting my Yamaha 20HP 4 stroke. Keep the oil in a 2L container and refill the sump next time I use the motor.

According to Yamaha it is safe to transport the motor on its side with the oil in the sump but I do not take the risk.

I am camped at Wooli at the moment and our NP friends are trying to ban 2 strokes from the river.

Image Could Not Be Found.
FollowupID: 555746

Follow Up By: sandman55 - Sunday, Mar 02, 2008 at 20:59

Sunday, Mar 02, 2008 at 20:59
Thanks for that info Bow & Nan its interesting that Yamaha say its safe to transport the motor on its side. I wouldn't do that but it can tip accidentally.
About the boat and motor situation my wife and I have been discussing it and we are starting to lean towards maybe getting a 11ft tinny on a trailer but we are looking at all options. Thanks again for your reply.
FollowupID: 555825

Reply By: sandman55 - Saturday, Mar 01, 2008 at 20:35

Saturday, Mar 01, 2008 at 20:35
Thanks very much guys for all your replys I really appreciate it. We are going to think about it for a bit. I will possibly give it a try and if we have trouble with fumes I will maybe make a bracket off my tow bar and mount it there. The long term plan is to get an AVan and we would then mount it on the draw bar. Thanks again every one.
AnswerID: 290283

Reply By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Sunday, Mar 02, 2008 at 21:52

Sunday, Mar 02, 2008 at 21:52
Sandman, I note from a follow-up above that you are thinking about a small tinnie on a trailer as another option. Since your travels are likely to be mostly on the bitumen (Commodore), I think this is a great option.

A 3.5m tinnie with an 15 HP outboard will plane very well with two people. You can set it up with swivel seats, rod holders, sounder etc very easily. You can add an elec motor if you wish.

Biggest advantage is that you can leave it set up. As a result you WILL use it heaps more. And of course, when travelling, you can carry lots of stuff in it.

Get the right boat and it can become a rooftopper if you ever upgrade to a 4WD and want to head for more remote areas.

Have fun either way.

Norm C

AnswerID: 290481

Follow Up By: sandman55 - Sunday, Mar 02, 2008 at 22:08

Sunday, Mar 02, 2008 at 22:08
Thanks Norm
FollowupID: 555848