Not happy,.... seriously not happy, GMH

Submitted: Thursday, Mar 06, 2008 at 12:51
ThreadID: 55245 Views:2853 Replies:15 FollowUps:10
On 29 January my wife had a tangle with a Wallaby at a 110k on the Highway in our 07 Rodeo Twin Cab.
Couple of 360's and finished up in the gutter. Shiny side up fortunately. She was fairly shaken but not hurt. That was the good news.

Insurance Co took a week to assess. OK I'll cop that, we're pretty regional.
Now for the whammy. The two airbags were ordered at the time along with other parts. Everything is here except the passenger Airbag which is expected in "about" two weeks into Melbourne then another week to get here.

All up it will over two MONTHS to get a replacement Airbag.
I'm told the car is not able to be driven as it is technically unroadworthy and the panel place will not release it.

So we're without a car for over two months because a Manufacturer cannot provide a common spare part for a very popular car. I just don't get it. It sucks.

How would I be if I had to use it for business? Hire a car at $100 a day for a couple of months.

You hear these stories about oddball low volume cars, but not a "common as can be" 2007 Rodeo. Surely there rests a responsibility with the Manufacturer to provide parts in a timely manner.

I wonder just how common this sort of thing is and do we all just have to accept it?

Reply By: GoneTroppo Member (FNQ) - Thursday, Mar 06, 2008 at 12:53

Thursday, Mar 06, 2008 at 12:53
Bugger those typos it should have read 100k
AnswerID: 291135

Follow Up By: Member - Matt M (ACT) - Thursday, Mar 06, 2008 at 15:30

Thursday, Mar 06, 2008 at 15:30
Don't worry mate, in 10 years you will be telling the story and it will be up to around 200kmh anyhow.

Glad all OK.
FollowupID: 556554

Reply By: Kev & Darkie - Thursday, Mar 06, 2008 at 13:07

Thursday, Mar 06, 2008 at 13:07
Hasn't the insurance company got the option of a hire car if they can't repair it in a timely manner??

AnswerID: 291139

Follow Up By: GoneTroppo Member (FNQ) - Thursday, Mar 06, 2008 at 13:25

Thursday, Mar 06, 2008 at 13:25
Only if you tick the optional cover box and pay the addditional premium when taking out the policy.

Needless to say I did not tick and pay.
FollowupID: 556535

Follow Up By: gottabjoaken - Thursday, Mar 06, 2008 at 13:37

Thursday, Mar 06, 2008 at 13:37
and funnily enough, GoneTroppo,
absolutely no influence brought to bear of course, but guess which orders are filled first...

(cynical...)
Ken
FollowupID: 556540

Reply By: Member - Doug T (FNQ) - Thursday, Mar 06, 2008 at 13:35

Thursday, Mar 06, 2008 at 13:35
Can't blame a particular make for that, anything with airbags would be in the same boat, besides if she were in a Nissan or worse still a small car things would have been a lot worse than a 2 month wait , Think of the consequences of living alone.

AnswerID: 291141

Reply By: JimDi - Thursday, Mar 06, 2008 at 14:53

Thursday, Mar 06, 2008 at 14:53
Had a not dissimilar problem with Ford some years back after my wife had a minor prang. The parts were unavailable and after 3 months I had a run in with the repairer who stated the insurance co. would not release until repaired. The problem was the parts were just not available. It was a crumpled rear end, not mechanical, just replaceable components.
My solution was to eventually pressure the insurance co. I stated that if THEIR repairer could not repair in a fair amount of time then they should write the vehicle off and pay me my money.... and I persisted with heaps of daily phone calls.
To their credit the NRMA gave up on Ford and sourced the part themselves. It took another two weeks to source the parts.

This is of absolutely no use to you but it shows nothing much has changed in fifteen or so years.
JimDi
AnswerID: 291151

Reply By: Rut Tearer - Thursday, Mar 06, 2008 at 15:20

Thursday, Mar 06, 2008 at 15:20
What surprises me is the number or makers that don't have parts for vehicles that are 7 years old or younger, I thought it was law. It sucks for sure...
AnswerID: 291156

Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Thursday, Mar 06, 2008 at 16:14

Thursday, Mar 06, 2008 at 16:14
Don't worry, at least you get another year out of the airbags until you have to replace them at your own cost.

Not sure what GMH recommend, but some manufacturers recommend replacing air bags every 10 years, otherwise the vehicle is unroadworthy to it's original design. Some have pushed it out to 15 years for replacement.

I think there could be some cheap 2007 cars in 2016.
AnswerID: 291169

Follow Up By: GoneTroppo Member (FNQ) - Friday, Mar 07, 2008 at 08:24

Friday, Mar 07, 2008 at 08:24
I suspect that is a little know issue. How come it is not publicised?

How much to replace airbags in a car with 8 or 10 or 12 of them?

I think I've just scared myself!!!!!!
FollowupID: 556700

Reply By: normglenda - Thursday, Mar 06, 2008 at 16:30

Thursday, Mar 06, 2008 at 16:30
Hi GT
Main thing is no one was injured. I live in the country and hitting animals is pretty common around here.
The roos that I have hit have not caused to much damage. A bullbar may be the way to go, and of course do not swerve to much to avoid hitting them. ARB and Eastcoast ,we find the best bars.
AnswerID: 291172

Reply By: Member No 1- Thursday, Mar 06, 2008 at 16:46

Thursday, Mar 06, 2008 at 16:46
the only crash repairer I take my cars to are ones that can provide a loan car..some charge but its generally a pittance as compared to hire co's
AnswerID: 291174

Reply By: howesy - Thursday, Mar 06, 2008 at 17:41

Thursday, Mar 06, 2008 at 17:41
I cant believe that there would be none in the country. Even so I order stuff off ebay and have it here in 3 to 5 days (calendar) and I get stuff overnight courier. What total rubbish they are heaping on you ring current affair and push hard to get it on air I bet they find one overnight magically and have it couriered there.
AnswerID: 291191

Follow Up By: donks1 - Thursday, Mar 06, 2008 at 19:55

Thursday, Mar 06, 2008 at 19:55
problem is air bags are classed as hazzardous materials, so sea freight is the only option.. even when they arrive here in aus, they have to be transported on a specific truck in a special case,(sort of a safe)

second problem is the fact your car is made in Thailand. notoriously slow for their supply rate

donks
FollowupID: 556605

Reply By: Wetty - Thursday, Mar 06, 2008 at 17:43

Thursday, Mar 06, 2008 at 17:43
You should try getting a diesel astra repaired after a Cruiser runs up your bum. . . . parts were not even in the country, 3 months off the road! Fortunately I was in the car when it happened and as a result, the noddy that hit me (while on his phone) forked out for a hire car. . . . . what it cost him for the car was nothing compared to what the coppers would have gone him for if I had've mentioned it to them.
Wetty
AnswerID: 291193

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Thursday, Mar 06, 2008 at 18:05

Thursday, Mar 06, 2008 at 18:05
Why did the airbags deploy just from hitting a roo? they should definitly not. quite bad injurys can be sustained from airbags and their only purpose is to preserve life in a serios accident.
My neice had a fairly bad accident and the airbags did not deploy for this reason
AnswerID: 291199

Follow Up By: GoneTroppo Member (FNQ) - Friday, Mar 07, 2008 at 08:27

Friday, Mar 07, 2008 at 08:27
They deployed when she hit the bank down the side of the road head on after the 360's.
I'd say the airbags and seat belt pretensioners did save her from injury.
All up it was about $11,000 worth of damage.
FollowupID: 556701

Reply By: Steve - Thursday, Mar 06, 2008 at 20:26

Thursday, Mar 06, 2008 at 20:26
phew....glad I've got a Land Rover ;)

sorry Troppo, not being flippant but they, often justifiably
get a caning for their lack of customer service - but Holden and Ford? No excuse.
AnswerID: 291233

Follow Up By: GoneTroppo Member (FNQ) - Friday, Mar 07, 2008 at 08:21

Friday, Mar 07, 2008 at 08:21
I've got a Land Rover too.
In 14 years I've never had to wait longer than a few days for parts. Even in the bush!
The Defender was used in anger for severe off road stuff so things did get broken. LRA were always excellent.

But then every one knows that the Asian stuff is way superior in every way including parts back up.

BTW the bloke at the panel shop said "you should be glad you didn't get a new Hilux some parts for them are even worse"
FollowupID: 556699

Follow Up By: Steve - Friday, Mar 07, 2008 at 08:52

Friday, Mar 07, 2008 at 08:52
Old myths die hard mate - people believe what they want to believe

Looking forward to the "do" at Cooma in a couple of weeks

;)
FollowupID: 556705

Follow Up By: GoneTroppo Member (FNQ) - Friday, Mar 07, 2008 at 09:02

Friday, Mar 07, 2008 at 09:02
Unfortunately I'll have to miss it.
I was there in 98 for the 50th. Talk about overdosing on Landies!!! Great weekend.
FollowupID: 556706

Reply By: HGMonaro - Thursday, Mar 06, 2008 at 20:51

Thursday, Mar 06, 2008 at 20:51
I had to buy upper and lower radiator hoses for a Subaru Outback and one had to come from Sydney, the other from Japan! I told the service guy I couldn't believe it, they claimed they never need them. Maybe no one ever crashed a Subaru! The hose turned up in about 2 weeks. Their cust service rang me sometime after I'd sold the car (not because of the hoses!) and I gave them a huge serve about it. I think it went in one ear and out the other. I can understand some parts may not be stocked but radiator hoses. When ordering a couple for our Prado, the Yota joint had one but had to order the other in, but that only took a couple of days.
AnswerID: 291242

Reply By: Muzzgit [WA] - Thursday, Mar 06, 2008 at 23:11

Thursday, Mar 06, 2008 at 23:11
Get used to it everyone. A couple of doors up from me is a panel shop and I walk past most days to get to the cafe for coffee and lunch.

The owner is constantly experiencing long delays for parts. He had a late model jeep cherokee for 4 weeks waiting for a drivers side door skin, he currently has an XR8 ute without a front bumper which was approved for repairs mid January.
AnswerID: 291296

Follow Up By: Member - Vince B (NSW) - Friday, Mar 07, 2008 at 21:58

Friday, Mar 07, 2008 at 21:58
Hi Muzz.
I work in a panel shop & sourcing parts is a real problem, especially european makes.
Vince
FollowupID: 556857

Reply By: John R (SA) - Friday, Mar 07, 2008 at 08:53

Friday, Mar 07, 2008 at 08:53
Bad luch Troppo. At least your wife is okay.

Like you, I am sure that law obliges a manufacturer to have parts available for x years post manufacture. It would be interesting to know how many years post manufacture, and just how available those parts are meant to be.

Although it won't speed your problem up, it may give some bargaining chips when dealing with holden.
AnswerID: 291347