The real Footloose actually smiles ... occasionally.

Submitted: Thursday, Mar 06, 2008 at 23:32
ThreadID: 55275 Views:2237 Replies:4 FollowUps:9
My secret is out. From time to time I deal with 4wders who are doing a trip. To be honest it's more of a hobby than a money making venture, but it helps me to get away occasionally and pays for the diesel (or used to :(

And no I'm not trying for any free advertising..(if you think that then read no further)

Now I have to tell you that I really enjoy hearing about their trip when they return. I get some sort of perverse kick out of hearing about their great experiences.

I've also been lucky enough to give a few charities that go bush a helping hand.

I've met some really nice folks (and one or two proper B's..as you do)

Sometimes when things don't go as planned, I feel sorry for them. One young bloke and his g/f from o/s only got as far as Vic where they wrote their car off in an accident, luckily no injuries. They were philosophical about it.
Another couple of guys were taking a road car up the OTL. They got as far as Cooktown before a major malfunction at the junction.

But perhaps the biggest kick is when they ring up just to say G'day, especially from o/s "Hi Footloose, you might not remember me but...yadda yadda"

I probably come across on here as a grumpy old buggar who perpetually sees the worst side of human nature.
This is usually far from the truth...most days anyway:)

I have to remind you that for every crook person out there, there are ten nice ones.(of course, most of this forum falls into the nice category...crawl.. crawl)

Yes I know the market is down, oil is up and more tracks are being closed every day.

Things are crook in Talerook
And there's no work in Bourke
No birds in Birdsville
All the Charlies are in Charleville
And the fellas are still in Augathella

But tomorrow is another day. Friday...and we all know what that means...smiles all round ...so bring it on :))

Reply By: Mark & Jo, S/side, Bris - Friday, Mar 07, 2008 at 00:03

Friday, Mar 07, 2008 at 00:03
You know Footy... everything that Bonz, Des and Lucy ever told me about you.. I will ignore it all and come to my own conclusion that really; you're not as bad as they say!!

Jo
AnswerID: 291308

Follow Up By: Footloose - Friday, Mar 07, 2008 at 08:39

Friday, Mar 07, 2008 at 08:39
It's jealously, pure jealousy LOL
FollowupID: 556703

Reply By: Richard Kovac - Friday, Mar 07, 2008 at 00:51

Friday, Mar 07, 2008 at 00:51
It's Tallarook

not Talerook??

Tallarook is a small twon in Victoria..

have you got the other right? :-)

lol
AnswerID: 291312

Follow Up By: Member - Dennis P (Scotland) - Friday, Mar 07, 2008 at 00:58

Friday, Mar 07, 2008 at 00:58
Sorry Richard,
Could not help meself, honest.
Tallarook is a small TOWN, actually not far from Seymour, lol, even had a beer in the pub there when I was a young(er) fella.
Dennis.
FollowupID: 556686

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Friday, Mar 07, 2008 at 01:10

Friday, Mar 07, 2008 at 01:10
Dennis Hi

I was born and raised in Broadford,,

I've had more than a beer in that pup as a young fella, went out with some of the young girls of the town.. LOL

It is good to see a nice Yellow Toyota in Scotland.

where are you from?

FollowupID: 556687

Follow Up By: Member - Dennis P (Scotland) - Friday, Mar 07, 2008 at 01:49

Friday, Mar 07, 2008 at 01:49
Hi Mate,
Originally SA but all over really, spent 12 years out bush in WA before moving over here in '02.

Sorry Footy not trying to hijack your thread. You don't sound like a grumpy old coot to me, lol.
FollowupID: 556689

Follow Up By: Footloose - Friday, Mar 07, 2008 at 08:10

Friday, Mar 07, 2008 at 08:10
Richard, it was late. I was sober. Maybe my glasses were misted.
Anyway I actually thought it was a made up word LOL
FollowupID: 556697

Follow Up By: Footloose - Friday, Mar 07, 2008 at 08:42

Friday, Mar 07, 2008 at 08:42
Dennis no worries mate. Last time I was over there, I don't think there was a Toyota in the entire country...1977.
FollowupID: 556704

Reply By: 96 GXL 80 series - Friday, Mar 07, 2008 at 01:26

Friday, Mar 07, 2008 at 01:26
Re: I probably come across on here as a grumpy old buggar who perpetually sees the worst side of human nature.

You have a lot of mates:-))))) so don't feel left out in the cold.
AnswerID: 291314

Reply By: Gramps (NSW) - Friday, Mar 07, 2008 at 07:49

Friday, Mar 07, 2008 at 07:49
Stop !!! It did'nt work. You're still a grumpy old bugger.

AnswerID: 291335

Follow Up By: Footloose - Friday, Mar 07, 2008 at 08:14

Friday, Mar 07, 2008 at 08:14
Well Grumps, some days ....
FollowupID: 556698

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Friday, Mar 07, 2008 at 09:33

Friday, Mar 07, 2008 at 09:33
I thought that from when Doug stole Willem's grumpy pills, he was the only Grump Old Phart on here. LOL so you can't be the Grumpy one Footy.
FollowupID: 556712

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Friday, Mar 07, 2008 at 12:18

Friday, Mar 07, 2008 at 12:18
Footy,

Oi !!!! Where did this Grumps come from ??? You could'nt possibly be referring to me. I'm always happy.

FollowupID: 556742