Do you use your winch?

Submitted: Friday, Mar 07, 2008 at 23:43
ThreadID: 55312 Views:3605 Replies:24 FollowUps:1
This Thread has been Archived
I've long had a theory that the greatest majority of winches hanging off fourbies are effectively very expensive car jewellery.
So thought I'd float the question and see what winch owners will tell us.

Fact is, I've just a accquired an 80 series which sports a winch bar, and has HD suspension, so am re-thinking my bias. I get off the track a fair bit and we're planning a couple of trips in the next year or so, including the Simpson and the Cape. I know a few blokes with winches and they have never used them. I've been off-roading for over 20 years and have never been in a position where I've needed a winch.
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: John S (NSW) - Saturday, Mar 08, 2008 at 00:07

Saturday, Mar 08, 2008 at 00:07
Smudger,

To me, having a winch is like having insurance. I would rather have it and not need it, then get caught out.

In saying that, the only times I have used a winch is to help recover someone else, to do landscaping (the fun/lazy way), or a quick lift to load the trailer.
AnswerID: 291512

Follow Up By: stefan P (Penrith NSW) - Saturday, Mar 08, 2008 at 10:48

Saturday, Mar 08, 2008 at 10:48
Only once used mine to recover my car. BUT pulled heaps of trees down with it!! LOL As you said landscaping the fun and lazy way HEHEHEHEHEHE

Cheers Stefan
FollowupID: 556910

Reply By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Saturday, Mar 08, 2008 at 00:12

Saturday, Mar 08, 2008 at 00:12
Hey Smudger,
Maybe you need to ask the question differently; do you use your winch in a situation that you could not have recovered from by another means. This should eliminate all the pro-winch folk who will try to defend their purchase. I'm not anti winch, I'm just practical- minded. There are hand winches, max trax, snatch straps, shovels, etc,