Generator Protection at Night

Submitted: Saturday, Mar 08, 2008 at 17:24
ThreadID: 55333 Views:2913 Replies:7 FollowUps:6
Camping in the bush we use the generator at night and early morning. We carry the generator in the Cruiser during the day. Around 4pm I lift the Honda 20I out, top up with fuel and around dusk start it up. Prior to going to bed or adjourning to the fire, I turn the generator off and put back into the cruiser. Do the same for the morning session without the fuel top up.

We keep the generator in the cruiser at night so its not impacted by the dew/moist air and so it won't go missing even thou there is probably no one around for 20K's.

I am not sure my back will survive 4 lifts a day for 3 or 4 months and am thinking of chaining the genie to a tree and using a small "Blue" tarp to cover the genie and pegged down for when the generator is not being used at night.

Constructive comments on light weight generator covers appreciated.

Reply By: Motherhen - Saturday, Mar 08, 2008 at 17:40

Saturday, Mar 08, 2008 at 17:40
Hi Peter

If we camp in the bush and use the genny, there is no-one in cooee, so security has not been an issue. I have heard others say they chain it to a tree.

I hadn't thought about bringing it in overnight, but think this your best option for security and as you mention keeping it dry.

I have camped in designated free camps (eg Saw Pit camp in Victoria), where people were using their gennies, and they did not have chains or locks; just neighbours who were fellow campers like us.

The Honda is very light so lifting it should be too much trouble. If it is, you might end up with muscles like Popeye after a couple of weeks.

AnswerID: 291632

Follow Up By: PeterInSa - Saturday, Mar 08, 2008 at 17:53

Saturday, Mar 08, 2008 at 17:53

Re The Honda is very Light, You may be thinking of the 10I, the 20I must be over 20KG for a 1m lift, and I had a weak back a week back.

FollowupID: 556965

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Saturday, Mar 08, 2008 at 18:01

Saturday, Mar 08, 2008 at 18:01
Sorry Peter - i thought 23 kg was light. This was just one of the reasons we chose the Honda 2kva (the 3 kva was quite a bit heavier). My husband has a bad back, and mine is just average for my age, but i only complain when something is 40 kg. But as you say - if there is no-one around for many kms, just put a tarp over it when you go to bed.

FollowupID: 556967

Reply By: Member - shane (SA) - Saturday, Mar 08, 2008 at 17:58

Saturday, Mar 08, 2008 at 17:58
could you not make a frame on the aframe just to sit it on so not muck lifting, then chain to the aframe.
AnswerID: 291635

Reply By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Saturday, Mar 08, 2008 at 17:59

Saturday, Mar 08, 2008 at 17:59
I carry a security 'chain' for a bike. One of those hardened steel cables with plastic coating with a built in lock.

I don't always use it, but when I do, I chain it to a tree. On a couple of occasions I have chained it to a wheel on the CT when we have been away fishing or similar.

I sometimes leave it out overnight and have never bothered to cover it, but I guess it is a fair point. We have one of the Honda covers which would be good enough protectioin from dew (if I remember to put it on). I generally bring it in and put it under the annex. But as you say, that a bit of lift and carry each time. I'm young enough to handle that for a while yet.

Norm C
AnswerID: 291636

Reply By: Hoyks - Saturday, Mar 08, 2008 at 18:11

Saturday, Mar 08, 2008 at 18:11
Just lift a corner at a time and tuck a small tarp over it.

If you are worried about it walking, there are cable locks for motor bikes that have a 120 dB alarm fitted to the cable. If the cable is cut or the alarm tampered with, the alarm sounds.

Damaco lock alarm
AnswerID: 291641

Reply By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Saturday, Mar 08, 2008 at 23:26

Saturday, Mar 08, 2008 at 23:26
Gday Peter

A mate of mine has his permanantly mounted on draw bar of his caravan, to cover it whilst driving or to keep the dew or rain out at night he uses an outboard motor cover , you see them cheap in tackle shops at times , does the job for him , so im going to buy one for mine as well...

Cheers......Dave
AnswerID: 291703

Reply By: cackles - Sunday, Mar 09, 2008 at 12:11

Sunday, Mar 09, 2008 at 12:11
saw a family use a cheap plastic dog kennel, worked really well.
finding the space for it could be a challenge though.

cackles
AnswerID: 291755

Reply By: redmeatgrr - Sunday, Mar 09, 2008 at 13:38

Sunday, Mar 09, 2008 at 13:38
I heard of a couple that were watching a movie in their caravan in a national park when suddenly the screen went blank for a few seconds and then the movie was back on.

They were powering the tv from their brand new Honda gennie.

Next morning they got up, went outside but their Honda chained to a tree was gone, in its place - one of those $90 gennie jobbies from Bunnings.

The chain was still there next to the tree where they had used it to secure the gennie to the tree, one link obviously broken with bolt cutters by the thief who swapped the gennies.

Clever, huh?

Would anyone have a better idea than a tree, a chain and a padlock...?
AnswerID: 291769

Follow Up By: redmeatgrr - Sunday, Mar 09, 2008 at 13:45

Sunday, Mar 09, 2008 at 13:45
Thanks, Hoyks.

Fix already reported...
FollowupID: 557099

Follow Up By: PeterInSa - Sunday, Mar 09, 2008 at 17:21

Sunday, Mar 09, 2008 at 17:21
3 years ago I paid $2000 for my Honda 20I, even thou they can be purchased now for around $1800 its a big inconvenience if its " borrowed" and you are 1000kms away from a good deal in a capital city and have to negotiate over the phone.

redmeatgrr I think I would notice if our Honda was swapped for a $90 unit most are around 3 times louder, then again I suppose its how interesting the movie is.

FollowupID: 557122

Follow Up By: rayj - Monday, Mar 10, 2008 at 19:52

Monday, Mar 10, 2008 at 19:52
Urban myth.
Been around for years
FollowupID: 557313

Follow Up By: Krakka - Monday, Mar 10, 2008 at 22:31

Monday, Mar 10, 2008 at 22:31
Buy a REAL chain and a REAL padlock from a locksmith, set you back about $600.00, but they will need a gas axe to remove it.
FollowupID: 557371